Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

jes-computer.de

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

15 days in total from order to delivery, yes. I'm normally impatient as well (I love Komplett with DHL delivery) but this stuff was for a computer I'm building as a housewarming present and I knew I had circa 3 weeks before the house would be warmed so to speak :)

C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭-ADREN-

Not so bad so, but for me.. i dunno..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Khalim

i'm sorry but i just wanted to know, do jes-computers usually send out a message giving out your GLS tracking number or do you have to e-mail them for it?

the reason is because they say it was delivered on the website for my order but i haven't received any tracking number.

thanks

Khalim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

Jes reply to how and when I pay for the delivery:
    Hello,
    please pay in advance via swift bank transfer. Just use the details you've used
    for the last transfer!

Thanks.

If I hadn't emailed them when would I have found this out? Im gonna be waiting even longer now and have to go to the bank again to transfer €30; and because banks are lazy I can't do it until monday.:mad:
    So anyone ordering in the future if it doesn't give you the delivery costs, email them straight after you place the order to find out the cost of delivery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

Originally posted by maxheadroom
    Somebody had a serious problem with Jes + german post here before, can't remember who though.

Thats me. And despite swearing that i would never go back to them, i gave them one last shot. I ordered 20ish optical mice for work, as they were a hellofalot cheaper from jes than from komplett.

Anyway, i have ANOTHER horror story.

Order Date: Friday 11 June, 2004 at 00:09
    I ordered 10 optical mice, and 4 80mm fans. I paid about a week later ( no more than 10 days).

07/08/2004 Delivered

They CLAIM that the parcel is delivered, but i have yet to see ONE mouse appear, and no sign of any Securicor note saying that the parcel is ready for collection.

I've emailed them twice, and have recieved no answer. At the moment i am contemplating getting my soliciter to send em a nice letter/fax. That should get things going. To be perfectly honest, my two experiences with Jes have been the biggest disasters ever. They refuse to answer e-mails, they seem to not care about when people have problems. They never take action to resolve problems, they are ******* idiots.

I will never ever ever order from them again. I would prefer to pay the extra and get 1st class service from komplett (which is what ive always gotten off them). They generally reply within 30 minutes, whereas jes seem to relish NOT replying.

TO HELL WITH YOU ALL, GERMANS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭brian_ire

well im in the process of whats turning out to be a major disaster with jes-computer.

in fairness tho, the guys at jes have been really good at keeping me informed and they always reply to my emails with an hour.

i ordered the parts for a new rig and the Athlon 64 3000+ processer was out of stock (the OEM version) so they offered me the retail version at a reduced rate. Only 7euro cheaper tho. i emailed em back asking what was the best they could do on the Athlon 64 3200 1meg cache version, which they offered at 250euro. Which is grand except now theres the problem that i owe them the difference. But again we came to a comprimise, i bought the Athlon 64 3200 via paypal and they are refunding the differnece. This meant i wouldnt have to do the whole bank transfer thing again.

i can only speak for my experience but despite the huge set backs... i order the goods on 28th june and they were only sent today, i have to say i',m happy with jes.

Hmm im starting to get worried now, with €700 of mine after being transfered to them this wednesday. Does the german post methode have a tracking no. service thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

so which shipping method is better/faster GLameS or post?

btw, how does paypal paying work? you get transfered to the paypal page streight away after you confirm the order? or do you have to go to paypal manual enter their email and pay them? is there a separate option for entering the shipping price or is included in the whole price(summed up)

do you get confirmation email with tracking number? like with Komplett?

i never got any sort of confirmation numbers... ever. even when i sent several e-mails asking fir the trackuing number they refused to answer, or they answered but didn't give me the number.

I only got the number after about 10 e-mails, and just caught my parcels before they went back to germany.

ehh what you mean caught your parcels? as in, I migh not at the house when my delivery comes, what will happen to it?

they are suppsed to leave a note of delivery, and you have to ring and they will delivery it to you the next day

Ahh right.. few next day isnt so bad.

Originally posted by -ADREN-
    ehh what you mean caught your parcels?
    They were just being sent back to germany as they couldn't find my house.

Its a bit hard to find a house in dublin when there is no contact details on the parcel, and the address reads

Mc Gowans
    Templerush
    Ireland

Wrong name, wrong address, right country...

EDIT: It took a further 2 weeks after i found the parcels until i actually managed to get them delivered to my house... VERY stressful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭subway_ie

Originally posted by Mutant_Fruit
    They CLAIM that the parcel is delivered, but i have yet to see ONE mouse appear, and no sign of any Securicor note saying that the parcel is ready for collection.

If you're talking about where it says "Delivered" on the order status page - that just means that the package has left the JES warehouse and is in the hands of the courrier - which means it'll be at least 3-7 working days before you actually get your package. Which probably just means there's something seriously wrong with GLS/Securicor/DHL/whoever.

ok the best thing to do is:

once you order something from jes, email them right away! and ask for the tracking number, do you get an email from them notifying you that they sent the package? if no ask for the date! now, find out how many days does it take for it to arrive, 3-4? after 3 days start ringing GLS and give them your tracking number and start bothering them, until they find your parcel and deliver it!

Note: GLS usually deliveres in the morning to the city centers! at about 9:30 - 10 is the time they deliver here(Inchicore D8) so be at home! you don't want to miss them trust me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭vigos

has anyone tried the jes-computer.de site recently? I just got faced with a user login box when I was looking to browse the site to lookup prices for a mobo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Originally posted by vigos
    has anyone tried the jes-computer.de site recently? I just got faced with a user login box when I was looking to browse the site to lookup prices for a mobo.

Just on it there worked fine for me- if you need to login - loging or create acc with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Originally posted by CyberGhost
    Note: GLS usually deliveres in the morning to the city centers! at about 9:30 - 10 is the time they deliver here(Inchicore D8) so be at home! you don't want to miss them trust me!

The general consensus about GLS from this and other Boards is that they are atrocious in Dublin/Leinster and as good as anybody else in Connacht/Ulster/Munster . They have 5 Depots outside Dublin .

Cork, Knock, Letterkenny, Limerick and Wexford.

I am in Galway and have no problem whatsoever selecting them for my deliveries .

It appears that they are a shambles in Dublin though.

M

whoop-di-do.

GLS once again have lost my package. Feckin ********.
    thank you for your e-mail. GLS had some problems with your adress. I've called them just today and gave them your phonenumber. So the package will be delievered during this week.

Jes also gave me the tracking number, which i was amazed at. Hopefully i'll be able to get the package off jes without too much heartbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Beno

Does anyone actulally know what all the jargon on gls tracking sevise actually means
    it just gives the codes for where it is and whats happenend to it.

Tracking & Tracing (Standard)
    All parcels
    Parcel number Status No. Date Time Remark Status Text Depot
    70155679696 2204 19.07.2004 16:27 Routing Error 9007
    1020 17.07.2004 :48 NIF InBound scan 9826
    1023 17.07.2004 :48 NIF OutBound scan 9826
    2 16.07.2004 :38 Parcel Data Entry I-Point 7000
    1001 16.07.2004 :13 HUB-Flow STANDARD 1
    1020 16.07.2004 :13 NIF InBound scan 9004

Was on to a nice lad from jes there today via e-mail, the response to my e-mails were extreamly fast and i'm well impressed so far. He said he had recieved the money that I sent by pay in advance (no problems there either). sent on wednesday last got there this morning.

He told me that the Chenbro Gaming case was out of stock and wondered do I want to wait or change case, I said Id wait, and he included an artic vga cooler on my request for free.

He also said he would e-mail the gls tracking no. the second they send the items off.

Very pleased so far.

-Coz.

Getting fairly pissed off now. Jes are really starting to jerk me around.
    I got two emails today: one in german telling me it would be two weeks before my monitor would be in stock and would I like to swap it for another of the same value.
    And another in english telling that case I ordered was no longer stocked and would I like to swap it for another of equal value. Each email also came with a new order number. I replied to the english version which was from a specific employee at jes only to get an auto-response telling me he was on vacation.:rolleyes:
    Basically going mental at this point I emailed the shop address with the names of the two replacement parts and all three order numbers.
    Its very messy and Im sure ths won't be the end of it.
    I don't know if I've followed the right procedure. This is one of the mails I got:
    Dear MR. Casey,
    your Computercase is unfortunately end of life, but you can order (ordernumber 17330) for the same money.
    We ask you for appreciation.
    I just replied with the name of the new case? Will that do it?

On a side note what do you think of the new
    case and monitor?

lmao! your computercase end of life! Kaput!

how long does it take for them to deliver your order? not the whole process only the delivery

Just to add icing to the cake, I just emailed komplett to see where my order from them is and it turns out the keyboard I ordered is kaput too!:dunno:
    Again Im left wondering when I would've found this out had I not emailed them?

maaan! you have a very kaput week my friend!

I guess they would ship it when they would get it back in stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

About to order from jes but how do i pay for the stuff?
    Whats advanced payment? And Paypal how do i get that to work? Have a mastercard i can use

Jozi

I got a kaputt IDE cable from jes, and a kaputt 15euro fan! Grrr.

It'd cost more to ship it back to them than it would to buy a new one down the road.

Originally posted by jozi
    About to order from jes but how do i pay for the stuff?
    Whats advanced payment? And Paypal how do i get that to work? Have a mastercard i can use

Jozi

advanced payment is bank transfer - do a seach(type in: jes-computer) there are many many threads about it!

paypal, is an electrinic money transfer, which means you don't have to go to the bank or anything

go to www.paypal.com, and register

At Jes-computer, when you chooce advanced payment, you then have to go to the bank, and tranfer the money, it will probably clear in 5 days, and they will send you the product

when you choose paypal, when you click confirm, at the end of the order, you will be transferred to the paypal page, and you pay, the order will be sent out the next day if it's in stock

also! when you pay by paypal, you get charged 3% of total price of the order

while you pay 75c(no more) when you transfer money at the bank

BUT! many people got charged lots of money when they transfered money - they got robbed, so be careful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Khalim

just wanted to add something to the above:

the bank transfer(advance payment) would cost 75c ONLY if you have the SWIFTCODE and correct IBAN. if they have to query the form details, they'll charge 20 euros for it.

after making your order at Jes - they will send out confirmation e-mail to you. print this out and bring it to your bank for your bank transfer.

and the SWIFTCODE is GENODES1RWT

oh and a word of warning - be aware that if you're transferring money from your bank account - it is advisable to do it at your own branch. this is to avoid the bank transfer form getting lost in transit between the branch you visited and your own branch. (happened to me-hopefully won't happen to anyone else, sigh...)

or alternatively, if you have a 24 hour banking facility, just do it over the phone.

hope wasn't too long-winded/confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

i dunno, AIB setup an online banking thing which is great, ive used it before on many occasions. the only problem with it is...

To set up Non-AIB accounts for funds transfer, please contact 24 Hour Banking on 1890 24 24 24 (International + 353 1 6670024) with the relevant account details.

now why in the hell do i have to use my ****ing phone?!?!?!!! why cant i setup non-aib accounts online???? i know there's a logical explanation somehere, i just cant see it.
    anyways, it annoys me. its my money i should be able to send it where-ever i like, aib or non-aib

I guess they would ship it when they would get it back in stock
    No they weren't going to be getting anymore in stock; that was the point.

I cleared everything with jes today with a string of emails. In all fairness they are helpful and prompt its just hiccups like this seem more worrying when you've transferred over a €1000 to them.
    My order will be sent as soon as the hard drive I ordered comes into stock. They're also giving me this case instead of the lanfire even though its more expensive.

Komplett however are complete pricks and I canceled my order with them and Im going to get the stuff off overclockers. They wouldn't let me change the keyboard through email like jes had done and there was no way of doing it on the site so I just canceled the order.
    Seems to be cheaper on overclockers anyway and everything I want is in stock.:D

Must add a success story to all this grimness.

Sent money on a wednesday the recieved it on Monday.

I e-mailed just wondering if they had got it on the monday.
    10Mins later reply, yes we got your money, unfortunatly we donh have the case you want in stock, would you like to choose another one or wait till we have it in stock again.

2nd e-mail
    Ill wait, how long will it be.

5mins later,
    We should have it by the end of the week (thur/friday)

3rd e-mail
    ok thats fine, may I have a free fan.

2mins Reply,
    yes ok, (not as blunt as they way im putting it, but i got an Artic Case fan).

End Of e-mails.

So im thinking im not getting the delivery until well into next week.

Came home to-day and it was all here, my sis signed off gls and it was in my house :).

Didnt even have time to ask for my tracker no. , the package was allready here.

Well, there you go,

I must be just lucky.

-Coz.

(Dont get me started on me actually trying to get all the stuff together though, what a different story, but then again thats me not jes or gls.)

wait wait wait......

are you guys asking for free stuff yourselfs or are they offering you first?

haha
    what do you think???

jes say to themselves "lets give this guy a free fan without him asking"

OR

he says to them "look, seeing as the case is out of stock and im gonna have to wait, will ye give me a free fan?"

i paid through paypal, i never heard or asked a thing about did payment work. and got what i wanted a few days later. i think it was 3 or 4 working days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

I also have a success story. Transferred money on Tuesday, it cleared and shipped on the following monday. I had chased them up about my address because they'd gotten it woefully wrong the last couple of times I'd ordered. They said they'd gotten it right this time, and gave me a tracking number. I was following it on the tracking, and GLS's "new" tracknig system is even worse than the old one, no theres no way of knowing what country your package is in, only depot numbers.

Anyway, I got up early on Wednesday morning expecting to have to ring GLS and chase down my package and then the doorbell rang and GLS handed me the package, and got me to sign for it on some electronic doodad.

guys are the tracking numbers you get 12 digit?

this idiot gave me a 12 digit number, and gls asks for 11?

I entered both ways, but still it says no data or something, damn those idiots!

k, just rang GLS-Ireland, talked to a very nice fella!

explained stuff and gave me an address.

http://www.generalparcel.com/

Guys! use this address! it's much better than gls-ireland.com

it's basically the same with no stupid jargon BS!

when I entered my number, it clearly said! "In England - Hub"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Listen lads I realise that I'm dragging a dead thread back to life here but I was just about to transfer money from my BOI a/c to Jes, so I rang up BOI and tried to register Jes as one of my transfer a/cs and was then told that I afto actually go into my bank in person to do it - this at 5:30 in the day:mad:. Christ that's mad - oh and get this "The charges aren't that great" so I'm also going to get charged on top of this crap, primitive service :mad:. I though most of you guys used the phone to transfer the cash...... :confused:

Originally posted by OfflerCrocGod
    Listen lads I realise that I'm dragging a dead thread back to life here but I was just about to transfer money from my BOI a/c to Jes, so I rang up BOI and tried to register Jes as one of my transfer a/cs and was then told that I afto actually go into my bank in person to do it - this at 5:30 in the day:mad:. Christ that's mad - oh and get this "The charges aren't that great" so I'm also going to get charged on top of this crap, primitive service :mad:. I though most of you guys used the phone to transfer the cash...... :confused:

actually most of the guys go to the bank!

so count, gazoline or bus tickets + time = is it worth it?

if you aren't ordering too much go with paypal!

paypal was so easy, for an extra 3 or 4 quid on 130 euro who cares? but in saying that, online banking has a long way to go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

Originally posted by OfflerCrocGod
    oh and get this "The charges aren't that great" so I'm also going to get charged on top of this crap, primitive service :mad:

Nah, I use the bank, tyhe local branch is easily walking / cycling distance :)

And, they're not allowed to charge you more than about 75c...

stevenk wrote:
    paypal was so easy, for an extra 3 or 4 quid on 130 euro who cares? but in saying that, online banking has a long way to go...
    I ordered over €1000 of stuff so I went with the bank as charges were important in this budget gaming rig.

you are upgrading to play doom3 don't ya? :D

CyberGhost wrote:
    you are upgrading to play doom3 don't ya? :D
    :D It's for my cousin for that very purpose - since the rig will be built by me I hoping to be able to play it before handing it over:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭naitkris

pity one can't order from komplett.de and elsewhere as jes.de are purely better than komplett.ie because of the 5% less VAT in Germany than Ireland. komplett.ie has to put up 21% VAT while jes.de has to charge only 16%.

komplett.ie should really locate their operations to the cheapest VAT rate country in the EU and they'd see way more business, at least this is the way it seems from lots of people here buying from jes.de due to them having cheaper prices mainly because of VAT difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

naitkris wrote:
    pity one can't order from komplett.de and elsewhere as jes.de are purely better than komplett.ie because of the 5% less VAT in Germany than Ireland. komplett.ie has to put up 21% VAT while jes.de has to charge only 16%.

komplett.ie should really locate their operations to the cheapest VAT rate country in the EU and they'd see way more business, at least this is the way it seems from lots of people here buying from jes.de due to them having cheaper prices mainly because of VAT difference.

If a company sells more than a certain amount to consumer's country they have to reg for VAT in that country and charge the same VAT to customers from that Country.There is a thread about it on boards somewhere (I can't find it!). There was a court case (or EU law or something) about this variation in tax rates....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭naitkris

pekelly wrote:
    If a company sells more than a certain amount to consumer's country they have to reg for VAT in that country and charge the same VAT to customers from that Country.There is a thread about it on boards somewhere (I can't find it!). There was a court case (or EU law or something) about this variation in tax rates....

looks like jes.de will soon have to register for VAT in Ireland in such case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

I've just ordered from them and I'm wondering if someone could give information, in English, on what exactly I need to do with regard to payment by money order?

How will they match my order against my payment? Do I need to email them or...?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭tapest

Hya, Mixie
    Long time no hear...Had a gut feeling I might find you hovering here and now
    What ya getting ? If its a secret we won't tell anyone...right guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

You know, I actually had to think for a minute to work out who you are....

Ordered an x800 pro. I'm sure the lurvely graphics warrents the pricetag :rolleyes: