Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxegen - The Aftermath.... whatcha think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The Darkness' appearance fee was €1.5 million

Complete and utter rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 awhyte

Did anyone see that streaker in campsite A Sat morning chasing the civil defence girls looking for a hug? he was f***in funny. Did ye see his sh***y socks, hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Originally posted by karlh
    btw, they did get at least €1 million for Bowie cancelling. The Darkness' appearance fee was €1.5 million (staggering but true considering their fee for Glasto last year was €200)

That was a bull**** rumour of the highest order. Started by the band themselves as part of their act. There isn't a hope in hell that a non headline (as they were when they were booked) act, with a single album and little staying power, would pocket €1.5million for a 90 minute show. Even if that's what they were asking for, the tight **** at MCD would tell them to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Cerdito

I really enjoyed Oxegen. In my opinion the organisation was way better than Fairyhouse (I wasn't at the one last year), especially 2001 when the place was just a muck-fest. The ground in Punchestown seems a lot firmer and less likely to turn to muck (I guess you could say the going was good to firm;) ).

Some of the ways I think the festival has improved from other years:

- Better sound at the main stage, they seem to have different stacks than before, it was really clear.

- Less queues for everything.

- Friday night at the campsites was cool with big cinema screen and a campsite stage, also they never had bars on the campsite in Fairyhouse

Anyway, the bands I saw were:

Goldie Lookin Chain (Appalling Chav scum)
    Scissor Sisters (excellent, best showmanship of weekend)
    Franz Ferdinand
    Kings Of Leon
    The Strokes (a fat Julian Casablancas entertained us all with his antics)
    Belle & Sebastian
    Saucy Monkey (at school with the bassist)
    Madchester Experience (weren't as good as I remembered from the gaiety)
    Buck 65 (bizarre...really bizarre)
    Muse
    The Shins (never heard their music before, they were brilliant)

Anyway, here's to Oxegen 2005!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Had a great weekend at the even, my favourite acts had to be Elbow, Michael Franti and Muse. Michael Franti definitely topping, his gig was amazing, he was 100% with you and even hoppd down off the stage afterwards to meet people. Elbow's were a1 aswell, interaction, and their music. I was up the front of the pit for Muse and I really thoroughly enjoyed them, Ash and the Darkness were fun too that night.

Other worthy mentions include Franz Ferdinand and Pj Harvey, aswell as Alphastates who I thought put on quite a good gig, though I had to leave early to go see The Waiting Room in the New Band Tent.

Gigs I didn't like were Scissor Sisters, Black Eyed Peas and the Cure, the last I found really boring, then again I am not exactly a big fan of them.

Went through the whole weekend only spending €10 at the event, and that was a well deserved pizza, it was delicious. Not worth the price tag, but not as much as a rip off as €2 for 500ml of water when you could get free drink at a fountain...

I was camped right up by the toilets in campsite A, pretty much between the A5 and A6 towers, the atmosphere the first night was electric, and kudos to whoevers guitar we borrowed for tunes all night. Also, wasn't that shoe in the urinals just class :) Now there's entertaining pissing.

And finally as mention by another poster, what WAS up with everyone whistling the kill bill tune at the event, I know i was whistling it in work before I came and was whistling it when I came into the event, but I was taking a jacks trip the Friday night and I heard a few people whistling it, I could hear people whistling it while I was going to sleep, and it only escalated over the course of the weekend until it was resounding around the event from what I could tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

i'll get the moaning out of the way first...

the prices of food in the venue and esp. in the campsite was fukkin horrific... those breakfast rolls that fast deteriorated into a bagette with 2 sausages and ketchup... for 8euro ...madness. the price for burgers, chips etc... etc.. was also robbery, and some of the fukin stalls had no prices up...

and of course the wather was sh.t also...

but the w/e, and camping over was a winner... crazy antics on the fri and sunday nite... didn't drink too much on the sat nite...

highlights... ask and the strokes, altho having seen both play at least twice each b4 in smaller venues, the experience wasn't as good... esp. for the strokes, where we were the crowd was slightly ded, and few rocker purists annoyd the fuk outa me, saying **** like 'ohh such posh rock nonsense' ... they didn't havta watch them!

it was my first time camping and i had a great time overall... but i must say tho if i had such a good time this w/e i'd say if the weather was good-to-average :) and the headlining acts were a bit better ... it would be the most amazing thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Originally posted by Tusky
    Really glad I didnt go to oxegen with you , you sound like a right dry ****e.

hehe exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Cannibal Ox

Did anyone see that streaker in campsite A Sat morning chasing the civil defence girls looking for a hug? he was f***in funny. Did ye see his sh***y socks, hilarious
    That was ****ing funny.
    I just woke up, took a couple of pulls of a joint looked up and saw that crazy bastard running about the place, thought I was seeing things.

Anyone else see Bin Laden? Saw him getting a lift on the back of a medic van at one point. Damn funny. And the guy with the Iraq flag singing "Hey Saddam, Saddam, sit down next to me" or some **** like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭snoopish

Fantastic weekend!!! OCS were amazing, a great way the end the weekend! sissor sisters, micheal franti, franz ferdinand, strokes, kings of leon,franklin,jimmy cliff! ALL ROCKED!and ASH ofcourse...well they should have been headlining! they were brilliant! And to top it all off everynight was the campsite parties! especially the sunday night...all nighter;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 darque

I had a ball! Twas my first Witness/Oxegen experience and was well pleased overall...

Highlights for me:

MUSE! (feckin class!)
    Faithless
    Snow Patrol
    N.E.R.D. (pissed at the clash with The Strokes mind)

The only thing that annoyed me was the prices (obviously enough). I payed for a weekend camping ticket but never made it to the feckin campsite! We ended up stayin in the van in car park 5! Miles from the main arena but sure at least we had our few sausages in the morning, I don't think The Darkness were able for the slot they got either, I mean they put on a good show in fairness but they just don't have the material to pull off headlining a festival like Oxegen yet imo. And what's with the lack of programme thingys!?! I mean, the least ya deserve to know is what time the bands are coming on at after paying 130 euro for a ticket! They could have at least had enough to go around too....tis a bit of a nuissance havin to nag people all day so ya dont miss out....

Bands I wanted to see but didnt:

The Killers
    The Strokes....

Didn't intend on seeing the Chemical Brothers but managed to get in so stayed for a while, enjoyed it but it was way too packed and hot in there....unpleasent to say the least....

Overall, I enjoyed the weekend, rain and all and though a bit battered and bruised I'll be makin' my way back next year for sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭dirtyharry1971

Got a ticket at the last minute for the full weekend with camping got a call at 3AM friday night(sat morn) - was even better that way coz I had lost all hope of going. Serious session not many scumm bags at it either (which surprised me) everyone woz there for a good time & didnt let the rain bother em. Only downer was the cost but who gives a f*ck it's only once a year!!

Artists That Stuck in my mind

Chemical Brothers - Class have not stomped like that since I woz 18!!!
    N.E.R.D - (surprisingly)
    Wu-Tang - Quality! pity bout the rain
    Muse
    Basement Jaxx - Talk about happy vibes from a crowd! Big shout out to all of U
    and f*ck it the Darkness where cool coz I was so waisted by then

Was there 2 years ago and I had a better time this year by far
    Will definitely see you all next year!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 awhyte

Everybody after every event cribs and moans about the price of the s**t food...... don't buy the crap. Bring your own grub, keep a gas bbq out in your car and go out everyday for an hour and cook something and bring in sandwiches and other s**t to keep ya going for the rest of the day, how easy is that. Everytime I went out to the car people had bbq's going and were drinking and playing music, everyone should do the same and maybe the following year the prices might go down. You have to let them know that we don't need their crap food that they need our business and let them suffer. And as for 10 euros for a gig timetable, what a bunch of thieving b******s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

The music was great but so too was the craic in the car park.

There was a band playing from the back of an open Van at about 01.00 and everyone was wasted. We also had a nice warm fire ablaze.

Best weekend in long time, makes going into town look like drinking at a bus stop on a rainy Sunday morning on your own, somewhere you never been before, crying, listening to Enya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

@darque

Unbelievable

Can't believe you moaning and so many others cried for not getting in to see Chem Bros.

Such a whinge, you must be forty.

You should be strung up by your moany little neck.

Ruining it for others.

UNBELIEVABLE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Thought it was one of the best weekends I've ever had.The music was good enough-Snow Patrol,Bell X1,Muse,Belle and Sebastian and Jerry Fish were fairly stunning (got to shake Fishes hand when he was in the crowd on Saturday!).The real craic was to be had in the campsite though-had a chugging contest to decide if Alien was better than Predator in campsite a4 on Friday.The all night smoking parties were the best thing about it.Was in the carpark for a while on Sat night--madness.My best moment came at half six on Monday morning-"STOP POWDERING YOUR NOSES YE PUFFS AND WAKE UP!!!"-those security guards gave as good as they got abuse wise-the tent bonfire really pissed them off though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 darque

Unbelievable

Can't believe you moaning and so many others cried for not getting in to see Chem Bros.

Such a whinge, you must be forty.

You should be strung up by your moany little neck.

Ruining it for others.

UNBELIEVABLE!!!

...excuse me but i wasn't moaning! I enjoyed it while i was there...which wasn't too long, just because they aren't my thing! I wouldn't flame you cause you weren't into something! Plus no-one can deny that the decision to put 'em on indoors was a bit off, it was packed and hot in there...was in not? I'm not moaning, that was my experience as it happened, it's not like i just stood there with a puss on me while i was there, i enjoyed my time there just wasn't comfortable there after half and hour ok!! I didn't ruin anything for anybody, don't be pissy with me just cause you didnt get in, that's your fault not mine.....i didn't take up much space or for long either so back off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭dellytots

Dat was my first of many oxegen/ witnegens 2 cum. It was f***in deadly!

i was one of the first der at 12 on friday!

Campsite A4 we rocked!! Marco - polo etc yeah dat was me and my mate

saturday was deadly. But chemical bros, massive attack and the cure on at the same time was bad plannin, wanted to see all 3! And did, missed parts of each set! But dey wer all great! Electric 6 wer deadly too(queen at the end) and franz ferdinand wer pretty funky.

Sunday Muse wer the highlight. We got soked n danced in the mud! The darkness cover of street spirt was the only gud part of there set!

Stayed up all sunday nite tent hoppin(we shouted marco who ever shouted polo was the next tent we visited) Very drunk on flagans of cider dont remember much!

Took down our tent, while still drunk and slept all moday! Best weekend of my life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

Originally posted by dellytots
    Dat was my first of many oxegen/ witnegens 2 cum. It was f***in deadly!

i was one of the first der at 12 on friday!

Campsite A4 we rocked!! Marco - polo etc yeah dat was me and my mate

A4 did rock-you may have heard the response of a hideous scream(bbbbwwwwaaahhhhhhrrrrrggghhhh or "get a grip of your life") to marco-that was me and my mates.You should've popped into the tent around the Mayo flag with all the muse music coming out of it-that was us-we were pretty out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭spectacleinrock

Had a great weekend!

High points:

*sissors sisters cheering me up in the rain! They were excellent and ana matronic was amazing!
    * dancing insanely to basement jaxx and then running down in time to catch i believe in a thing called love and stadium clapping.
    *watching my friend brush his teeth with dutch gold
    *discovering lying downwards on a slope makes you really drunk really fast.
    *hearing the portaloos being cleaned and being one of the first to use them sat morning!
    *eighties dancing to “i had the time of my life”
    *goldie looking chain- hilarious!
    *it being so easy to get into the pit for bands i wanted to see
    *loosing my phone,for the third witnness/oxegen gig in a row, only to discover that this time a lovely person picked it up and i got it back the next day.
    *despite not having a timetable seeing most of the bands i wanted to see
    *never having to buy a pint inside the venue.
    * my wine still tasting good even on sunday, due to the terrible weather it was still cold.
    * having wellies
    *discovering a packet of chipsticks in my tent monday morning
    *not bumping into my ex!

Low points:

*sunday night portaloos
    *friends separated into a and b campsites
    * 30 min walk between a and b campsite
    *paying 10euro for a veggie lasagne
    *all the scumbags that arrived on saturday night in the b campsite - real pain in the ass
    * friends making me leave during the cure then could hear them playing all their hits from the campsite
    *the mud beside the urinals...enough said
    *the yellow drinking water.
    * the dickheads in the first aid in the pit not allowing me to stay with my friend, only then for them to not accompany her into the tent and her collapsing and nobody in the place noticing.
    *the lack of mobile network and lack of meeting points and never being entirely sure which stage to goto because of constant rumours of bands cancelling etc.

All in all it was an excellent weekend and compared to previous witnness the atmosphere generally stayed very upbeat. It was badly organised, especially the lack of info on line-ups and times and i wouldn’t even have minded paying for them but were sold out at the stalls we tried on saturday at 3o’clock! It will seem like a really silly thing to complain about but there was nowhere to leave rubbish. I was at a festival last summer in belgium where if you picked up 20 empty beer glasses, you got a free beer. It was great cause the place was spotless and you got free beer! But then we’ll always find something to complain about....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Emerson

Here's a few photos I took on Sunday. Took a fair few of the shockin' bold guy who got up on the roof at Basement Jaxx..
    http://www.iol.ie/~emerson/oxweb/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

fan-fecking-tastic did any body catch giveamanakick on saturday!!class out muse were the best thoguh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Originally posted by Emerson
    Here's a few photos I took on Sunday. Took a fair few of the shockin' bold guy who got up on the roof at Basement Jaxx..
    http://www.iol.ie/~emerson/oxweb/

Great pics Emerson! Flair play t'ya!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

It was good fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Mr_Overlord

Originally posted by dimerocks
    fan-fecking-tastic did any body catch giveamanakick on saturday!!class out muse were the best thoguh

yeah i did 2 man set feckin quality!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭RichyX

Best bits:
    - Simple Kid, altho the sound was ****e in the Green Room for alot of acts
    - Ash
    - Franz Ferdinand being as great as I'd hoped
    - GLC, You knows it!
    - Electric6, wandered in since had nothing to do. Were brilliant!
    - Divine Comedy, just to see that feckin genius in person
    - Drunken 17yr old girlies
    - Drunken chase, over barriers and everything on sunday night, fueled by a litre of vodka & Lucozade

Worst bits:
    - The pit for Ash, there was a bit of argy-bargy going on and there were ****ing girls and a guy with crutchs running through it all. ****ing 16 yr olds should be baned (enforced like!)
    - Scumbags going around B7 and falling on tent for a laugh. Thought they'd skip ours and the **** fell on my head! Tried to bottle him through the tent but he got away.

Suprises:
    - N.E.R.D being class
    - Not loosing anything! Thought I was asking for trouble bringing the good phone and digi cam.
    - A good nights sleep on the Saturday.

I had a laugh. The front of the stage for Snow Patrol was a bit crazy, I love SP, their music is cool. But there was some moshing going on there.

I spent Sunday around campsite B telling everyone that Derek Davis had died. My friends were giving out free hugs.

Derek Davis died!? :(

No, false rumour. It was the funniest joke in my life. You had to be there.

Cruel joke but I guess it's a decent way to make conversation :)