Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

June Bank Holiday - Heinken Weekend - Galway

• 12-05-2001 12:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭

Hey all!

Announcing "A Rather Large P!ssup" (TM)(R)(Patent pending) for the June Bank Holiday weekend!

There's a few of us 4th year students finished our final exams just about then, and there's a mad big Heineken Green Engergy Festival on here. What more excuse could you need?!?

Well, we'll give you one anyway! Courtesy of Mr. Linus Heineken and "Galway Big Top" productions, these bands are playing in my back garden[1]:

* Ash, supported by Muse, Fri June 1st, 19:00
    * Morcheeba, Sat June 2nd, 19:00
    * Ocean Colour Scene, supported by Relish, Sun June 3rd, 19:00
    * The Waterboys, Mon June 4th, 19:00

Pricing information: roughly IR£15 a day, but less if you do 2 or 3 days etc. Round IR£43 for 3 days afaik.

For not much more information go to http://www.heinekengreenenergy.ie/cork_gal_htm/index.htm which is a pleasant looking, graphically intensive, and uninformative site really!

There should be plenty of tickets available in the shops but don't forget Messrs Murphy and Sod!

Notes:
    1. The venue may be changed from my back garden as the upstairs toilet got clogged up (aww, Dav!!!!), and by law we need two. Sorry, I think I may be able to rent out the racecourse or somewhere for it. No, of course the site doesn't say where it is (yet)! smile.gif

Post your intentions, and if anyone is really stuck for a place we'll find you somewhere (in Eyre Square (to put your sleeping bag)).

Hope to see lots of people for a major session!

Alastair.

--

Addendum, #fortress.ie 12-05-2001! Soz Joe, couldn't resist! smile.gif

[05:39] <Wyverne> lol
    [05:39] <Trojan> huh
    [05:39] <Trojan> is it that funny?
    [05:39] <Wyverne> yeah its kewl
    [05:40] <Wyverne> u serious about that though, or are u just gonna organise a fun **** up
    [05:40] <Trojan> nah, it's a mad big concert weekend
    [05:40] <Wyverne> really
    [05:40] <Trojan> does it really sound like takin the ****?
    [05:40] <Wyverne> organised by you ?
    [05:40] <Trojan> no!!
    [05:41] <Wyverne> yeah a bit
    [05:41] <Trojan> Heineken weekend
    [05:41] <Trojan> erm
    [05:41] <Trojan> check out the url i supplied
    [05:41] <Trojan> those bands are playing
    [05:42] <Trojan> just not in my back garden
    [05:42] <Trojan> dunno venue yet
    [05:42] <Wyverne> ahh ok
    [05:42] <Wyverne> when ?
    [05:42] <Trojan> lol
    [05:42] <Trojan> you been drinking much?
    [05:43] <Wyverne> yeah
    [05:43] <Trojan> hang on I'm gonna edit it for you
    [05:43] <Wyverne> when is june bank hol weekend
    [05:43] <Trojan> I'm just gonna add on this log file, sorry.
    [05:43] <Trojan> smile.gif
    [05:44] <Wyverne> lol
    [05:44] <Wyverne> yeah sure go ahead

It's not a p!ss-take, there is a big mad huge concert on! Cmon down!

[This message has been edited by Trojan (edited 12-05-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

A Rather Large P!ssup?

Will there be drink involved?

Tell me when and where...

Will we have any music at this p!ssup???

I am a guy who does not function well without music and drink...
    But when both go together?
    Lunacy abounds...

Now... Where's my inflatable sex doll!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

It's in the Castlegar Sports Grounds, isn't it? Can't wait to see Ash again.

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    So I turned around to Jack Charlton and said: "Well of course it's not a football Jack, it's an '86 Chardonay!!!"
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    Tribes 2 Goodness
    The Dawn of the Beefy King approaches...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Ok, got our tickets -it was IR£99 for 6, that's £16.50 each.

Dav, you're right, it's on in the "Castlegar Sports Centre".

Gates are 7pm each day, with the acts being on at 7.30pm.

Someone pointed out to me that Muse are not supporting Ash, but are in fact sharing the bill.

They're still playing first though! smile.gif

Hope to see some of you guys down, gonna be a class weekend!

Al.

Um, six tickets for who?

Is one mine?
    Do I owe you £16.50?

When will I give it to you?

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by AngelWhore:
    Um, six tickets for who?

Is one mine?
    Do I owe you £16.50?

When will I give it to you?
    </font>

Go directly to jail.

Do not pass go.

Do not collect £200.

smile.gif

I'm afraid it's one ticket per day, so that's only 3 days for 2 people. smile.gif

You may still purchase them in Zhivago or HMV though.

Al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

rite well I may just pop up to harrass the good citizens of Castlegar. (Where the Fvck is castlegar btw???) I sincerely hope that its no where near Castlebar. No really, it better not be Dav.
    smile.gifsmile.gif
    hehe
    Will there be other merriment aside from the actual event itself???

Corneilious - there shall be many activities to be had. The concerts themselves are a mere suggestion of what to do with yourself!!!

Castlegar is not near Castlebar - it's just outside Galway city.

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    Tribes 2 Goodness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭crazydaisie

saw counting crows there last year for free, a guy i know was working out there...mmm, wouldn't mind seeing Morcheeba or Ash...interesting...

Good stuff - the more the merrier (and the higher the cost of a round).

Neil - I'll get tickets for the 2 of us (like Al did) and you can sort me out when you come down.

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    We were all set for a game of Ice Hockey when Frank Williams says "Sorry lads, I've forgotten my skates!"
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Right you Galway heads!

We need a venue for a couple of crates of beer and some of those disposable barbeques (used one lately, they're great).

Depending on crowd size, behind my house is alright (we're beside the RTC), otherwise (if we've a huge crowd), what about down by the "beach"[1] in Renmore?

Oh, and lets pray for this weather to keep up! smile.gif

Al.

1. There's picnic tables and grass and stuff, seems alright smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I might head up for the Sun, I'll have to see how work is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

Dav I hope you didnt buy those tickets for meh yet??

I wont be able to go up on Sat cause its my sisters birthday...so the earliest (If its worth goin all the way up at that stage) I could get up would be sunday.
    frown.gif

I'll give ye a ring anyway. wink.gif

N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

me too smile.gif should be a very drunken weekend and by God i will make sure of that. now, where's my passport, galway is somewhere in europe? right?

adnans

No panic Neil - I didn't get you any tickets - Just got 2 today for Ash/Muse cause they're really the only ones I wanna see.

Al, my cous and a couple of his mates may come along too - good time guaranteed if they do!

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Sound Dav, I'm thinking a couple of crates out at my house to start us off - it's practically empty (maybe 1 or 2 other res) so tunes will be bangin' smile.gif

Will you do your wedding-planner trick for me?

Al.

HAAHAAHAA!!!
    OK, I need a list of who's going...

Ken? You coming along to Ash and Muse on Friday?

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kharn:
    HAAHAAHAA!!!
    OK, I need a list of who's going...

Ken? You coming along to Ash and Muse on Friday?

</font>

Me?

Just got my ticket today...
    Really just going to see Muse, they kick ass...
    Couldn't give a rats ass about Ash, but HEY! I'm not complaining about seeing them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Oogy_Boogy

Oogy_Boogy

Indeed - I've just noticed, the top 3 threads on this board are all Galway related - proof indeed that this is the best town in the planet!!!

/me wuvs Galway

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Calling all dudes, dudettes and muppets!

The Heineken Green Energy Extravaganza is upon us!

As of 1600 hours (that would be 4pm), tomorrow, Friday, you are welcome to partake in the festivities at 159 Glasan (student village immediately opposite main gate of GMIT). Taxi drivers know where it is (Procabs are 091 - 565900). We shall be moving on to the concert (Muse followed by Ash) round 1830 (figure it out) or so. Gates are open at 1900. smile.gif

Tickets can still be bought for £16.50 in Zhivagos or HMV.

We may be next door, so follow the noise, and don't forget to BYOB!

Cya there! Any questions, email me with your mobile number: stuff at amdsoft.com

Al.

RARRRR!!!!!!

Gonna see if I can sneak out of work early, but probably not frown.gif I'll be out as soon as I can. I'll get b33r too and we'll be grand!

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Trojan:
    oh my god</font>

Amn't I?

Muse = very good
    Ash = excellent

Morcheba tonight - no idea what to expect - seems to me that they're really mellow and chill out so I guess I'd besast drink lots and hope for the best!!!

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness

Have fun Dav, you big happy muppet...

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Kharn:

Morcheba tonight - no idea what to expect - seems to me that they're really mellow and chill out so I guess I'd besast drink lots and hope for the best!!!
    </font>

Hhehehehehehehehehe

He loved it, as did everyone who went. Class stuff!

Rob, wherefore arth thou?

Al.

Indeed - Morcheba was the surprise gig for me - had no idea I'd enjoy the music as much as I did!

Ocean Colour Scene and Relish were very good too.

Didn't go to The Waterboys yesterday as my wallet was in tears.

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    Tribes 2 Goodness