Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Importing from the UK - definitive guide (Q&A)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

The_Fitz wrote: »
    That's what cartell says.

195 still a lot better than 600 anyway!

I'm going to tell you right now that the cartell.ie site is wrong. I brought a 16 Auris 1.2 in a couple of months ago. The nox on the v5 is 39, so if I brought it in now it would cost 195 extra in nox charges. I just put it's UK reg into cartell.ie and it's saying 80 euro. I would be going by what the v5 says, as that's what the vrt office will go by.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,768 ✭✭✭deezell

The_Fitz wrote: »
    That's what cartell says.

195 still a lot better than 600 anyway!

Ok, I have a slight error in my UK derived nox figure, its 37, not 39, so nox of €185. Now in relation to your purchase, there are multiple entries in the Irish revenue spreadsheet for Vauxhall 1.4 petrol Astra. There are a number which indeed have a nox of only 16, hence charge of €80, and one also of 37, with a charge of €185. Its odd how there should be such variation when co2, engine, power are all the same. Only the Astra ES variant is down as 37 nox, the Active, Energy and SRI are all only 16 nox, hence €80 charge. Here's a snippet of the spreadsheet from the revenue site.

499540.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

bazz26 wrote: »
    I went over with someone about 2 years ago. Bought in Preston. Flew into Manchester and got the train up to Preston, then got the ferry back from Hollyhead which was a 2 or 2.5 hour drive. Plenty of choice in that part of the UK - Preston, Manchester, Liverpool, etc.

I bought in Blackburn and did the same apart from staying the night I got the car. I’m from down the country in Ireland though, about a 2hr drive from Dublin so staying over was just personal choice to make it a bit easier instead of a full day of constant driving/travel.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

ricimaki wrote: »
    For ferries, you can also get one with P&O from Liverpool to Dublin too. It's 8 hours overnight with a cabin, so could be handy for people with a bit of a drive after they get off. Doesn't cost much more than going through Holyhead either.

Has anyone got a car from Dace specialist car centre Manchester, or the other Dace dealers before?

Met a lad who bought car from them and he was happy out with it and their service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

VRT Sneaky Nox Charge
    Warning Check nox level before importing.

A friend of mine brought over a Jag xf from the uk in December.
    He made the appointment to pay the vrt. They gave him a date
    in Jan. When he went there they wanted an extra €3100 from him
    for the new nox charge introduced from 1st Jan 2020. Very little
    in the press on this but it more or less wipes out any saving you
    would expect by purchasing in the UK. I've included the table pricing

below. (this is on top of the vrt)

Commenting on Budget 2020, SIMI Director General Brian Cooke

"SIMI is relieved that the Minister has not increased VRT for new cars in Budget 2020.
    The replacement of the 1% diesel surcharge introduced last year on new cars with a nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions-based charge to all passenger cars registering for the first time in the State from 1 January 2020 is a welcome announcement." (I'm sure it is to some but not your average punter. Check the charges in attachment below)

mickdw wrote: »
    Ya I believe mercedes policy is not to sell to Irish resident and your dealer is just getting around that by offering to send to friends address.
    One of the haulage companies advertising on donedeal is now offering a service to get around this. Might be worth a look.
    Not true, bought a 220d from a UK MB main dealer and they gave me the V5

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Tabby McTat

Thanks. I'm going to push them on it again. Have spoken to a main dealer in NI and also Preston. Both confirmed they would give me the full V5C.

I have read up a bit and it sounds like it should take 3-5 days to get it posted to a UK address, or max 2 weeks. Still much better to take it away with you obviously.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,367 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It certainly was true. Perhaps policy is now changed but in the times where sterling was very favourable to buying from Ireland, mb UK would not sell a car to Ireland, instead directing people to Irish dealers.

VRT Sneaky Nox Charge
    Warning Check nox level before importing.

A friend of mine brought over a Jag xf from the uk in December.
    He made the appointment to pay the vrt. They gave him a date
    in Jan. When he went there they wanted an extra €3100 from him
    for the new nox charge introduced from 1st Jan 2020. Very little
    in the press on this but it more or less wipes out any saving you
    would expect by purchasing in the UK. I've included the table pricing

below. (this is on top of the vrt)

Commenting on Budget 2020, SIMI Director General Brian Cooke

"SIMI is relieved that the Minister has not increased VRT for new cars in Budget 2020.
    The replacement of the 1% diesel surcharge introduced last year on new cars with a nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions-based charge to all passenger cars registering for the first time in the State from 1 January 2020 is a welcome announcement." (I'm sure it is to some but not your average punter. Check the charges in attachment below)
    If you bring in the right car, it has small effect only.

It certainly was true. Perhaps policy is now changed but in the times where sterling was very favourable to buying from Ireland, mb UK would not sell a car to Ireland, instead directing people to Irish dealers.
    Maybe it was at some stage , I don't know. I was referring to the present and recent past.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,245 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Kitty6277 wrote: »
    I bought in Blackburn and did the same apart from staying the night I got the car. I’m from down the country in Ireland though, about a 2hr drive from Dublin so staying over was just personal choice to make it a bit easier instead of a full day of constant driving/travel.

In the Midwest here myself. Got some rest on the ferry across before starting the 2 hour drive down the M7. No doubt it was a long day but worth it for the savings at the time. My buddy bought a Kuga Titanium X, most of them here were lower powered and speced.

Sterling was cheap as chips last August, no problem buying from MB preston.

deezell wrote: »
    Sterling was cheap as chips last August, no problem buying from MB preston.

I'm delighted - they have changed that policy so.

They probably realized in HQ their silly policy was costing them a fortune in lost revenue and were just sending Irish customers to them from non franchised dealers and worse rival brands instead rather than back to Irish dealers.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭kingstevii

What's the story with the vrt's valuation of cars? I was interested in buying a 2014 ix35 diesel from the UK priced at 4350 sterling. Vrt is 4200 euro? Plus Nox?

• Registered Users Posts: 73,457 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

kingstevii wrote: »
    What's the story with the vrt's valuation of cars? I was interested in buying a 2014 ix35 diesel from the UK priced at 4350 sterling. Vrt is 4200 euro? Plus Nox?

Yep. Around €1900 on top (assuming it’s 1.7)

Your vrt figure seems high for 2014, at 23% vrt for either engine option in manual, it suggests an OMSP of €18,260, which is very high for a 2014 model. If the car you're looking at is an auto 4wd, VRT is 30%, which suggests an OMSP of €14000, which would be about right. Give us a bit more info, model variant, milage, engine etc, say
    " 2014 ix35 premium auto 2l, 50k miles". You'll get a more accurate response from the petrol heads here!
    [/QUOTE]

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭kingstevii

deezell wrote: »
    Your vrt figure seems high for 2014, at 23% vrt for either engine option in manual, it suggests an OMSP of €18,260, which is very high for a 2014 model. If the car you're looking at is an auto 4wd, VRT is 30%, which suggests an OMSP of €14000, which would be about right. Give us a bit more info, model variant, milage, engine etc, say
    " 2014 ix35 premium auto 2l, 50k miles". You'll get a more accurate response from the petrol heads here!
    [/QUOTE]

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F174131213454

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭tippgod

Does anyone know what is going to happen after the 1st of February. ?.
    Going to buy a diesel Up north but just waiting for the right one

I don't think anyone can know.
    There will be a transition period but I'd say it's within the power of the government here to decide that vat is due immediately on imports if they wish.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

this is what Revenue says.

https://www.revenue.ie/en/customs-traders-and-agents/brexit/information-for-businesses/vrt-implications-of-trade-with-the-uk/vrt-implications-of-importing-cars-from-the-uk.aspx

Customs duty and VAT payable on cars imported after 1 February is the current position. I don't know if that will change.

Also don't forget the NOx levy , introdiced 1 January, severe on diesels, will add a couple of grand to the bill potentially.

VRT will be €2099, thats a rate of 19% of €11050 OMSP.
    Vrt Statistical Code

Car had an advisory in August MOT,

"Monitor and repair if necessary (advisories):
    Nearside Rear Suspension arm pin or bush worn but not resulting in excessive movement (5.3.4 (a) (i))"

Passed Sept MOT, so assume it was fixed.

Nox is 131gm, thats a whopping €1875.

About €9800 all in on your doorstep.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,990 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Isambard wrote: »
    this is what Revenue says.

https://www.revenue.ie/en/customs-traders-and-agents/brexit/information-for-businesses/vrt-implications-of-trade-with-the-uk/vrt-implications-of-importing-cars-from-the-uk.aspx

Customs duty and VAT payable on cars imported after 1 February is the current position. I don't know if that will change.

Also don't forget the NOx levy , introdiced 1 January, severe on diesels, will add a couple of grand to the bill potentially.
    Nope.
    Only in the (very unlikely) event of a no deal, will this happen.

As it stands, the transitory agreement means no change until 31-12-20.
    "If the UK approves the Withdrawal Agreement there will be no change to the registration process during the transitionary period. The information outlined here relates to procedures which may be in place in the event of a no-deal Brexit."
    https://www.revenue.ie/en/customs-traders-and-agents/brexit/information-for-businesses/vrt-implications-of-trade-with-the-uk/index.aspx

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

nox tax raised on Joe Duffy earlier, some dope flipping cars moaning she could be put out of business over it. said she had a large stock of cars which were now worthless. I am assuming any business worth their salt would have been on the ball when this was announced on October budget and registered them. Fair enough maybe they dont have that capital to do all of that, then sell the yokes back asap.

t's terrible Joe!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭toby2111

I'm on the ferry now coming back with the car. I'll book vrt next week sometime. Can I wait until next month to tax it? Or will tax automatically start from the date it's vrt 'd?

Tax starts from the date you get an Irish reg number.

On the recent nox tax, I only had a look now. The government/revenue introduce a new tax for environmental reasons apparently, its fairly heavy in some cases. They introduce this in October...now considering a budget and their thorough discussions and consultations they have had undoubtedly with the Environmental Protection Agency in the massive benefits to the environment this additional nox tax will yield, I'm estimating they should have been planning this for the guts of a year, if of course they did actually plan it.

So it's introduced in January 2020...and we've a f*cking excel spreadhseet download to work off which could've been banged up in 20 minutes by lad on PLC basic excel course. The image on the spreadsheet is even out of resolution. Big "Reset" blue button put in which I'm guessing whatever retard managed to insert was dead proud of himself.

Or...actually, they came up with a tax in late September to suit more revenue and claim its a victory for the Green agenda...then some lad in office is presented with three months to come up with a magnificent piece of software to help the public out, so he gets this piece of sh*t spreadhseet together. Incredible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

Big "Reset" blue button put in which I'm guessing whatever retard managed to insert was dead proud of himself.

When you use the word "retard" what do you mean?

Oh sorry, I should’ve elaborated, I meant somebody who is retarded.