Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Importing from the UK - definitive guide (Q&A)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

just v5 one a4 page front and back complete.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

just v5 one a4 page front and back complete.

Does it say anything on the back of the log book at the bottom in the additional info section? Most v5s would say vehicle was previously registered/used in ..... on .... date.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,307 ✭✭✭✭Esel

ya its LHD
    all i have is the v5 doc
    thanks for all the advice guys ill just have to go to the nct centre next week and see what happens.
    It would be much better if you investigated further yourself and tried to get some proof of a 1983 registration before you go near the NCT centre, imo.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DieselPowered

olewy wrote: »
    Checking the tax disc status tomorrow (had already taken a note to do this) with the dealer.

Already discussed here many times, especially recently - no need to care about the tax disc status, its probably out anyway. You are heading for the boat when you buy the car so don't waste your money on six months tax when you will be less than 4 hours to the boat for export...:)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Already discussed here many times, especially recently - no need to care about the tax disc status, its probably out anyway. You are heading for the boat when you buy the car so don't waste your money on six months tax when you will be less than 4 hours to the boat for export...:)

Not entirely true, large dealers have procedures and most won't let the car off the forecourt without it being taxed. Doubly important where they know it is going overseas. They are effectively the last registered keeper (although the v5C is not issued in their name) and thus any automated fines (ANPR) will come to them. The motor trade in the UK is not on its knees unlike Ireland and the ones with any cop on will insist on the tax. Others may not have the experience and may not insist. Arnold Clark is pretty big,however.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,307 ✭✭✭✭Esel

It has also been said here many times that a dealer will not let the car off the lot if it is untaxed...

@OP: Have the dealer tax it for 6 months, then post the disc back to them and they should get it refunded for you.

Not your ornery onager

Marcusm wrote: »
    Not entirely true, large dealers have procedures and most won't let the car off the forecourt without it being taxed. Doubly important where they know it is going overseas. They are effectively the last registered keeper (although the v5C is not issued in their name) and thus any automated fines (ANPR) will come to them. The motor trade in the UK is not on its knees unlike Ireland and the ones with any cop on will insist on the tax. Others may not have the experience and may not insist. Arnold Clark is pretty big,however.

Not entirely true either.
    I have a lot of experience with main dealers only for export to Ireland. While they all ask you about the status of tax (if its out) they have never insisted or refused to allow the car to leave the forecourt, despite what you read. This is my experience. Don't always believe what you read. If you want to buy 6 months tax disc, then go ahead, or save yourself the hassle.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,328 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I have a lot of experience with main dealers only for export to Ireland. While they all ask you about the status of tax (if its out) they have never insisted or refused to allow the car to leave the forecourt, despite what you read. This is my experience. Don't always believe what you read. If you want to buy 6 months tax disc, then go ahead, or save yourself the hassle.

I'm not sure what is "not entirely true" about my post; unlike you, I wasn't stating anything categorically, merely pointing out that some dealers have certain requirements and that people's experiences vary. That is indisputable. The poster is already putting himself under a lot of pressure to try and close this deal on a Sunday. By suggesting he raise the tax point, I am trying to help him out. Having him leave it until the day is unlikely to help him.

As it happens, I don't worry about having to pay the tax disc - as I live in the UK, it's generally required to keep the car on the road.

Marcusm wrote: »
    large dealers most won't let the car off the forecourt without it being taxed, and the ones with any cop on will insist on the tax. Others may not have the experience.

I was referring to above.
    I only deal with large main dealers with lots of experience.
    Every dealer is different so your opinion of others who won't, is of course, your opinion. Its been discussed here at length, any both situations seems to be commonly interpreted.

I had a woman who came to me one day to register her car and said the dealer point blank refused to leave her drive the car out of the forecourt until she taxed it.

It was the first ive heard of it happening to anyone, but it obviously happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 whatyamacallit

cais wrote: »

Can you share name of dealer? I am also looking to buy from UK. How was yr experience?

Cheers

Experience was very good and I saved myself about €2,500 including all expenses. I bought a 5008 from Snow Peugeot Romsey.

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Just in case anyone is interested, I have a great recommendation for specialist secondhand Audis (in the A3,4,5,6 brackets) - http://www.knickerbrookcars.co.uk. Had an excellent experience, owners are very up-front and honest and car was perfect.

No affiliation of course - just satisfied customer who recommends top class service for cars that you would buy over the internet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Hollzer

Hi all just wondering in light of fact that anyone can call themselves a 'dealer'. Is it best to go through an official manufacturer dealer type. I contacted one official Ford dealer but he wasn't very helpful but afraid of not having warranty/cover if not using Ford garage.
    Any advice?

Hollzer wrote: »
    Hi all just wondering in light of fact that anyone can call themselves a 'dealer'. Is it best to go through an official manufacturer dealer type. I contacted one official Ford dealer but he wasn't very helpful but afraid of not having warranty/cover if not using Ford garage.
    Any advice?

If you go through the main website for the brand, in this case, Ford UK and look for used vehicles, it will scan across all the dealers, not just one, you should have a better option for searching for what you are looking for.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Sorry, I've not read through all 184 pages so forgive me if this has been asked before. I returned to Ireland some months ago but my car currently can't be insured as it needs the VRT. I've owned the car from new in 2007 so do I still have to pay the VRT? I was advised I wouldn't have to as its been in my possession for over 5 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Mince Pie wrote: »
    Sorry, I've not read through all 184 pages so forgive me if this has been asked before. I returned to Ireland some months ago but my car currently can't be insured as it needs the VRT. I've owned the car from new in 2007 so do I still have to pay the VRT? I was advised I wouldn't have to as its been in my possession for over 5 years.

No VRT will be due,but it must be presented for registration. It can be insured but Revenue will be informed if not reregd' within 30 days.
    All details are available on Revenue/VRT website.

aujopimur wrote: »
    No VRT will be due,but it must be presented for registration. It can be insured but Revenue will be informed if not reregd' within 30 days.
    All details are available on Revenue/VRT website.

Oh right, I did have it insured but it ran out after the 30 days. I have been a bit hesitant to get the registration done cos I'm not sure about staying due to lack of jobs but need the car insured etc. So I guess I should call them tomorrow and see what the craic is if I do decide to go back to the UK in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Harcrid

If I was you and I was staying here for the near future I would get it cleared in Ireland now. If you ever have to return to the UK it's very easy to get the car re-registered. As far as I can recall its one form to fill in and approx 50 pound fee to get it back on UK plates.

mince pie. You should be exempt from paying vrt, but you need to ring your local revenue office and get an exemption before you go near the nct centre.

To bring the car in for exemption with revenue, you need some of the following items from your time in the UK...

Get the printer out:
    - Electricity bills
    - Gas bills
    - Phone bills
    - Bank statements
    - Invoices
    - Proof of address

Know someone who has gone through this recently, Irish, working UK, returned to Ireland having owned the car for 8 months beforehand,
    just took a few hoops to jump through, but all do-able.

Also - insurance, depending on who you are insured with, some will stop insuring it after 30 days, some after 60 and some will keep going on UK plates until you tell them to change.;)

To bring the car in for exemption with revenue, you need some of the following items from your time in the UK...

Get the printer out:
    - Electricity bills
    - Gas bills
    - Phone bills
    - Bank statements
    - Invoices
    - Proof of address

Know someone who has gone through this recently, Irish, working UK, returned to Ireland having owned the car for 8 months beforehand,
    just took a few hoops to jump through, but all do-able.

Also - insurance, depending on who you are insured with, some will stop insuring it after 30 days, some after 60 and some will keep going on UK plates until you tell them to change.;)

Oh, any idea on who will insure with the english plates???

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Hollzer

Ok so now it would appear the majority of Ford dealers do not have a Galaxy unless its silver (and at that none with everything I'd ultimately hope for). Bad enough getting a bus but it should at least be a colour I want!
    Any advice on telling a 'reputable' dealer from a scammer? It's difficult to tell from a website.

Oh, any idea on who will insure with the english plates???

Its a hard one to say, if you are looking for insurance on an english import for the first time, you are more than likely transferring your insurance either from a UK company, or your Irish insurance will facilitate the temporary cover on UK plates, but you will probably run into the same issue now that you have reached a limit with your current provider (of 30 days), I'm just not sure if you can ring up and ask for 'extended cover' on UK plates because another provider has stopped. best thing is maybe speak with the likes of 123.ie or insureforsure.ie who reach out to all the different companies, explain the situation you are in, and maybe some broker will take you on until you get the car cleared which could be up to two months depending on Revenue (as you are seeking an exemption)_.

Hollzer wrote: »
    Ok so now it would appear the majority of Ford dealers do not have a Galaxy unless its silver (and at that none with everything I'd ultimately hope for). Bad enough getting a bus but it should at least be a colour I want!
    Any advice on telling a 'reputable' dealer from a scammer? It's difficult to tell from a website.

Hi Hollzer, like i mentioned if you deal through the main website ie Ford.co.uk the dealers will (should) be all legit and will usually provide some warranty and guarantee. If they don't have your colour, you can either wait or look through other dealers (who may not be so straight up).
    Other sources could be like CarGiant UK or Autotrader.

Its not recommended to purchase private in the UK as you will not get any guarantee and there is usually no come back, but do as you wish.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭DHFrame

I've looked through all the posts for this question. There is a lot of them so apologies if this has already being asked. What do you do if you have a bankers draft for the amount of the advertised price but you negotiate a new price? E.g. If you have a bankers for 9400 but you negotiated for 9000? Do you ask for a cash difference from the dealer or wait for a new bankers draft?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

DHFrame wrote: »
    I've looked through all the posts for this question. There is a lot of them so apologies if this has already being asked. What do you do if you have a bankers draft for the amount of the advertised price but you negotiate a new price? E.g. If you have a bankers for 9400 but you negotiated for 9000? Do you ask for a cash difference from the dealer or wait for a new bankers draft?

Not really an answer, but it makes more sense to initially get a draft for a few hundred less than the asking and pay the difference in cash. That way you've room for negotiation without needing a new draft

DHFrame wrote: »

No offence to you and your bankers draft, but I wouldn't take a bankers draft from anyone without it clearing first and that could be a day or two.
    Will the person you are buying the car from spring this on your? It just wouldn't be good for you not to get the car there and then. Bank transfer would go through quicker via one of the online currency transfers (Transfermate.com)

Suggestion to get a lower priced draft and pay the balance in cash would be the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Hi Hollzer, like i mentioned if you deal through the main website ie Ford.co.uk the dealers will (should) be all legit and will usually provide some warranty and guarantee. If they don't have your colour, you can either wait or look through other dealers (who may not be so straight up).
    Other sources could be like CarGiant UK or Autotrader.

Its not recommended to purchase private in the UK as you will not get any guarantee and there is usually no come back, but do as you wish.;)

What's the difference between purchasing privately versus purchasing from a dealer?

I mean, it's not as if you are going to put the car back on the ferry to avail of a warranty, is it?:confused:

What's the difference between purchasing privately versus purchasing from a dealer?

I mean, it's not as if you are going to put the car back on the ferry to avail of a warranty, is it?:confused:

Its possible to transfer the original manufacturers warranty from a main dealers
    or a second hand purchase warranty to Ireland after a purchase in the UK on relatively new cars (you would need to check your specific model/brand).
    Private purchases out of the UK have limited or no after sales support.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Its possible to transfer the original manufacturers warranty from a main dealers
    or a second hand purchase warranty to Ireland after a purchase in the UK on relatively new cars (you would need to check your specific model/brand).
    Private purchases out of the UK have limited or no after sales support.

So, to be clear, you are saying that Manufacturer's Warranty can ONLY be honoured if you buy the car in question from a dealer?