Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Algal bloom south coast ?

Options
  • 27-07-2004 12:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

I had to abort a planned swim this morning at Clonea Strand, Dungarvan (ye all know where I live now :) There was a fairly strong red/brown colour in the water. It was so strong that at a depth of 8 inches, my feet looked orange! The sea was very calm, and I also noticed a very slight slick (not oily, more streaky) on the surface. There was no unusual smell that I could detect. I've been swimming regularly at this fine Blue Flag beach for a few years and this is the first time I've seen this kind of colour in the water.

One of my fellow swimmers rang a guy she knows in the environment section of Waterford Co Co, and he says they are aware of a non-toxic algal bloom on the south coast at the moment. I'm no expert on this stuff, but it looked very concentrated. I think I'll skip swimming and diving for a few days.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,697 ✭✭✭jd

There was some kind of bloom off the Wexford coast- it was quite bad a few months ago.
    The charter skippers thought it was affecting catches. Certainly when I brought in my line, the business end was quite foamy (this was shore fishing). Wexford harbour was brown and foamy at he same time .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Originally posted by Anemone
    I had to abort a planned swim this morning at Clonea Strand, Dungarvan (ye all know where I live now :)

My family has a mobile home on casey's caravan park. Where do live.... ofcourse if you don't want to answer a internet weirdo like myself i understand!