Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FHM High Street Honeys 2004

• 30-07-2004 11:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭

The new FHM High Street Honeys have been released to the public!! Who's your favourite to win lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭midget lord

FHM is porn for those that wont buy porn, so ive been told....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Right.... Sure it is.... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

Oh God, you poor thing that's not porn.

what would you call it then guys?

Ok even if it is porn.. Whats the problem? Even thought its obviously not porn and Marie Claire or Cosmo shows more bare chested women...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

are you old enough to reach the top shelf yet? Its a mens magazine, just like all of the womens magazines, few sex tips, some articles, a few interviews with women with non nude photographs. Same routine different gender.

uberwolf wrote:
    are you old enough to reach the top shelf yet? Its a mens magazine, just like all of the womens magazines, few sex tips, some articles, a few interviews with women with non nude photographs. Same routine different gender.

It be evil, the devils work.. Praise the lord..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

You must have led a sheltered life if you consider FHM to be porn :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Where be the pics? So I can, erm, choose? :)

I hope you all realise that cumshots are not the only form of porn around.

FHM is softcore porn. A 'mans' magazine has to have some sort of softcore porn to sell it to these 'men'.

Uberwolf, you can keep your personal insults, if you want to discuss something try a different approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Is it safe to say you're a woman?

Uberwolf, you can keep your personal insults, if you want to discuss something try a different approach.

ok fair enough
    uberwolf wrote:
    Its a mens magazine, just like all of the womens magazines, few sex tips, some articles, a few interviews with women with non nude photographs. Same routine different gender.

FHM is softcore porn. A 'mans' magazine has to have some sort of softcore porn to sell it to these 'men'.

God, that's a sad reflection on you. You've never actually looked through FHM, have you? As someone has already said, Cosmo etc show more exposed boobs anyway.

BTW, the Sun has semi-naked women on Page 3. Does that make it 'porn' too?

Get back to the convent. Mother Superior is calling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I hope you all realise that cumshots are not the only form of porn around.

Depends on your viewpoint really doesn't it? Many women's magazines have pictorials and advertisements (containing women) with more explicit pictures than men's magazines. That must be porn too?
    Or is it only porn when it's being sold for a sexual purpose, and to the opposite sex?

Men's magazines aren't sold for a sexual purpose - i.e. they're not sold for the purpose of sexual arousal or titillation - (although sexuality is a big selling point, like everything else these days), therefore they're not porn.
    por·nog·ra·phy Audio pronunciation of "Pornography" ( P ) Pronunciation Key (pôr-ngr-f)
    n.

1. Sexually explicit pictures, writing, or other material whose primary purpose is to cause sexual arousal.
    Ergo - not porn.

So your saying that the pics put in FHM are there for a purpose other than sexual arousal?

Blah, blah, blah, blah?

There must be something wrong with Boards.ie 'cos all I can see of your reply there is "Blah, blah, blah, blah".

I'm just going to switch from Classic style to Broken Record style to see if that makes a difference.

No, still the same...

Try to make a convincing argument that FHM = Porn and post again...

So your saying that the pics put in FHM are there for a purpose other than sexual arousal?
    Well, there are interviews, which are usually accompanied by pictures. The point of the pictures is to go "Oh yeah, attractive lady", but that doesn't necessarily define sexual arousal. On top of that the bulk of the magazines are articles without actual pictures, self-help guides, pisstakes and general stuff. If you think some pictures of women in provocative clothing are "softcore porn", then you must be outraged by some of the ads on TV, or on posters. Sure that ad for Sprite Zero is just softcore porn by your definition. To go even further and disregard the rest of the content, by calling the entire magazine softcore porn is just ridiculous.

Things like playboy and penthouse and hustler are softcore porn - they also contain articles, but they're just filler that nobody reads. The point of the magazine is sexual titillation.

ChipZilla wrote:
    There must be something wrong with Boards.ie 'cos all I can see of your reply there is "Blah, blah, blah, blah".

I'm just going to switch from Classic style to Broken Record style to see if that makes a difference.

No, still the same...

Try to make a convincing argument that FHM = Porn and post again...

now to be fair midget lord doesn't claim to have seen a copy of FHM his/herself, just that he was told once that it contained pornographic material. So this is no more than a repeated second hand account of the naughty magazine. As far as I'm concerned the abrasive posting style is a not unsuccessful form of trolling anyway.

So back on topic. Haven't seen the high street honeys yet. Any particularly good looking girls there, hoping to launch a successful career in modelling

Tis a shame we can't get some pictures up for a comparitive analysis...

There are quite a few potential winner but for me, Number 75 - Guinevere Bickerton pips it.. If even just for the name...

Well uberwolf, if the poster has never clapped eyes on that which he/she is going on about, how are we expected to take him/her seriously?

To cast your votes..

Go to www.fhm.com/honeysvote

One thing to note though is the lack of Irish ladies and gingers.. Shocking!! :confused:

Nicely made argument seamus.

seamus wrote:
    Well, there are interviews, which are usually accompanied by pictures. The point of the pictures is to go "Oh yeah, attractive lady", but that doesn't necessarily define sexual arousal. On top of that the bulk of the magazines are articles without actual pictures, self-help guides, pisstakes and general stuff. If you think some pictures of women in provocative clothing are "softcore porn", then you must be outraged by some of the ads on TV, or on posters. Sure that ad for Sprite Zero is just softcore porn by your definition. To go even further and disregard the rest of the content, by calling the entire magazine softcore porn is just ridiculous.

Things like playboy and penthouse and hustler are softcore porn - they also contain articles, but they're just filler that nobody reads. The point of the magazine is sexual titillation.

I have read FHM once. Many people have said to me that the articles are usually pretty good and generally quite interesting. However the article is predominently bought for the pics, the same way the Sun newspaper is mainly sold, wait for it, not because of the incredibly informative journalism, but because of the thrash that is between both covers, including page 3. And thats not saying that the ladies are not fit, they are.

Also i never disregarded the content by calling it softcore porn, my point is that it sells more than it would if those pics werent in it. Hence the pics increase sales. Same with the Sun. It reports on the same ****e that the irish star reports on, yet it outsells it.
    Originally posted by Chipzilla

nicely made agrument Chipzilla.

BTW, im a man. I like an auld debate see, its better than work!

Can ye send this to a different thread lads... There are more important things to discuss here :D

Seriously though..

Also i never disregarded the content by calling it softcore porn, my point is that it sells more than it would if those pics werent in it. Hence the pics increase sales. Same with the Sun. It reports on the same ****e that the irish star reports on, yet it outsells it.

Colour newspapers sell more issues than pure black and white, FHM pics may boost circulation but that doesn't define them as porn. Thats an entirely seperate issue.
    chipzilla wrote:
    Well uberwolf, if the poster has never clapped eyes on that which he/she is going on about, how are we expected to take him/her seriously?

To be fair that was my point... ;)

Also i never disregarded the content by calling it softcore porn, my point is that it sells more than it would if those pics werent in it. Hence the pics increase sales.
    I wouldn't argue against that at all. Sex sells. Everyone knows it. I think its fair to say most things wouldn't sell as well if ads didn't use beautiful women and provocative imagery. Doesn't mean that the ads or the images are porn.

My girlfriend used to think FHM and Maxim were softcore porn. Then I showed her some porn. Now she agrees with me.

seamus wrote:
    My girlfriend used to think FHM and Maxim were softcore porn. Then I showed her some porn. Now she agrees with me.

What is it with people on this place broadcasting the fact ye got gurlfriends... It does not take away from the fact you are a nerd ;) You are not sociable :p

Ok, so how about some of those pics then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

It's not porn... and who doesn't like looking at lovely ladies?! Interview with Sameul L Jackson in last months was cool. He's a lunatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

I buy FHM every month, and I don't usually buy it for the pictures. I buy it coz it has some interesting stuff in it. You can't pass judgement on a magazine you've only read once. I've pretty much been reading FHM since I was 17... I wouldn't have touched the Playboys at that age, since there was a lot of embarressment involved there. I've also read the other mens magazines Front, Maxim, GQ (I think) and the one or two others that are in that classification. They're all pretty much the same.

If they're all considered to be softcore porn, then I may as well be buying Playboys instead of FHM.

And, with regards to the Sun vs Star debate, the Weekly Sport has more topless women, of course, that's not available everywhere. It also seems to be a lot more sensationalist, but that's tabloids for ye... I'm sure people do by that for its excuse the phrase "titillating content". I find it funny when I read it. It pretty much makes The Sun look like the Irish Times... It's all trivial matters and titties.

sydicespecial.jpg

\0/

and whats more midget lord, the card says borderline ;)

Ah damn, does that mean we have to post pics now? :p

Kennett wrote:
    Ah damn, does that mean we have to post pics now? :p

I feel its my duty as a dirt bag to get some pics up here.. We have to make an informed decision loike

True, true. Post away, I say! :D

There is a distinclty blonde thing going on in the 4 pictures.. maybe i like blondes :confused:

Charlotte Joines

Rebecca Farhall

Michelle Francis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Think i will go for No. 89 Susan Willson, fap fap fap ;)

Last years standard was higher, IMO.

Dr. Dre wrote:
    Think i will go for No. 89 Susan Willson, fap fap fap ;)

Last years standard was higher, IMO.

Yeah she is mighty nice.. I think its too easy to say the standard was higher last year.. There is far more, how do I say it, dirty biatches in it this year, i.e. they all got their baps out to try and win..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

did you by any chance take those pics with a camera phone?

Stephen wrote:
    did you by any chance take those pics with a camera phone?

I did.. Took them with my Nokia 7610 and compressed them down.. They were originally about 230kb and I reduced them down to 30kb odd with Fireworks... Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

followed the link to last years pics would to see more of number 3 anna frond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

thought they looked a bit grainy - just wondering :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

not to shabby if i do say so, that susan willson!

(89)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

can you believe these girls are off the street :eek: yeah right

I know young lads who have got bet down for less. Keep it down now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Hehe, yeah, much more skin this year. Oddly enough, did you ever look at porn and think "I wonder what she looks like with clothes on"?

The fact is, often women look more appealing in well-done, revealing clothes than nothing at all, if one for the "I'd love to rip them off and ...." factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,325 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

All of them :D - how about posting the entire magazine cause it would be unfair to vote without seeing them all. I can't find it on the website.

I think the point of that is to buy the mag.. and I am fooked if I am spending that much time looking at gurls.. might cause serious health probs that