Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Text File On Webserver HD using CGI and C/PERL

Options
  • 11-08-2004 9:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭

Hello Everyone,

Im looking for a bit of help. I am new to the game of setting up webservers. However I have managed to install an Apache webserver on Windows XP.

I have a number of question which I hope someone out there may know:

(1) What is the best way to go about setting up a CGI-bin on an Apache webserver on XP.

(2) What I want to do is to ask a user to click Button1 or Button2 on my HTML website homepage. If the user presses button1 I want to call a program in my CGI-bin to write the letter A to a text file on my server PC desktop. If the user presses the other button (button2) I want to call a program in my CGI-bin to write "B" to the same text file(overwrite it if possible). Whatever the user presses must be sent/saved to a text file on the hard drive of the server PC. What is the best way of doing this?

(3) I really want to use a C program(as opposed to PERL) in Cgi-bin to send "A "to a text file whenever button1 is pressed and "B" to the same text file whenever button2 is pressed.

(a) Is it possible to run a C program from the Cgi-bin and execute it from the internet(I am using my own server).

(b) Does the server or Cgi-bin have to be configured in a special way to execute C programs?

(c) If it is possible then how should I best compile the C/C++ to suit this application? How do I transfer my C files from my folder on desktop to the Cgi-bin when I am ready to do so?