Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which networking course?

Options
  • 13-08-2004 9:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭

I interviewed for a job yesterday. Looks like I might actually land it :D Half the job involves knowing about computer hardware and software. 2nd nature to me at this stage. The other half is networking. I have no networking experience but the company may be willing to give me a shot as I said I would be willing to get some networking certs on my own time. I would have about 2 weeks in the job before the guy I'm replacing leaves and then it's up to me to look after a few small networks and be able to set up a few networks. What courses or certs should I aim for: MCP's, Windows 2003 Server, Cisco? I have most of the Cisco CCNA covered but that was about 3 years ago and we had very limited hands-on experience. Where would I do them - online, evening courses? How much? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭aaf

Has anybody got any advice on the above? I know a similar thread was posted a few months back but I can't find it. Could do with some ammo to help me land this job!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

If you need get some basic knowledge in networking have a look at Network+.

Theres a good few training centers around Dublin that do it

BCT
    BIC
    FÁS also do online couses.