Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your pet hate in traffic!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭highdef

Tommy. That makes sense that there once two lanes for turning right at the Howth Road. Just like coming from Donaghmede at Kilbarrack Fire Station. However, if I were to be turning right at this junction on the Howth Road and I was in the right "lane" (no markings to decipher the two lanes), would I be 100% or near enough in the right if a car also turning right in the left "lane" hit me whilst performing the manouvare? AFAIK, in the Rules of the Road book, when approaching the head of a "T" junction without lane separating and direction arrows, you should keep to the left when turning left and to the right if turning right. Am I correct in saying this? I ALWAYS keep to the right at this junction even though I always want to end up on the left lane of Fairview. It really keeps me on edge and there have been more than then occasion where there has been a bit of beeping and showing of fists going on!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 TheBride

I agree with ALL of the above and also hate the dicks sitting in their cars in traffic picking their noses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

ugghh.. have a rotten story about someone picking their nose if anyone want to hear it. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭mudflapgirl

the list is long and tireless - top few are (in no order)

- no indicators - every car has them - most work (I hope anyway!) it's not that difficult! I'm not psyhic how the hell am I supposed to know which way you're turning?!

- roundabouts - no-one seems to know how to take them/use indicators on them etc etc

- over-taking lane hoggers doing bout 40mph in 60mph and so on - the other lane is there for a reason. feel free to do 40mph just don't make eveyrbody else do it if they don't want to.

- lane jumpers - chaning one lane to the next and back and so on for about 5 miles - generally with no indicators.

- people who don't know to dip thier lights at night when someone is in front of them/coming towards them (I experience this every morning!) - this group also includes the people who drive around during the day with them on too. wtf?

- the sh**head behind you flashing, beeping, waving fists etc at you when you're doing the speed limit (mostly in 60mph areas but also in 40mph now too) and there's no room to either pull over so they can pass or room for them to overtake.

- people with kids going nuts on the backseat - I can barely drive looking at them how can they drive with them in the same car.

- people who pull out from side roads in front of you, causing you to jam on and then proceed to go very slowly (20mph etc) if they were gonna go that slowly couldn't they have waited til you passed?

the list could go on and on but we'd be here all day really. and could also include: most women (I am one before you all start shouting) especially the chinese and black ones (not to be racist but they tend to be worse than white women) I tend to get away from them as much as I can after a few experiences like this: 1) a black woman jammed the brakes on in front of me consistantly for about 2 miles with nothing in front of her - either she wanted me to crash into her or was extremly nervous and prolly shouldn't have been on the road. 2) a young chinese girl swerved from one lane (turning lane) into another (straight on lane) in front of me without indicating - obviously realised she was in the wrong lane or something and just swerved without looking.

Go on Hashslinging, Tell us :D

Does it involve being rear ended with a finger up one's nose???

much worse than that... one damp early (5:45am) morning on my way to work on the dart, myself and a mate were hungover talking about the previous nights outtings. There was a suited business man sat in the seating section in front of us. we were still talking away when we noticed him looking behind at us, in a sort of sly way. So next thing this wan**er does is turn his head to the side stick his finger up his nose and pull out the biggest boogy you've ever seen, then AAAGFGHHHHH :PUKE: sticks it down his gob!!!

Still having nightmares about that one.

Hmmm lovely. I can imagine just how bad your nightmares would be after seeing that :o

• Registered Users Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Loads of things. Most have been mentioned already but especially roundabouts. People just don't seem to have a clue. The other night at the Dunkattel (Jack Lynch tunnel) roundabout some twit in a Rover 200 came from the tunnel in the middle lane and went all around the roundabout to Little Island (360 degrees back to fourth exit) at a constant speed without indicating. Nothing he did showed that he was aware of what was going on around him. It was like he had a mental picture of his route and nothing else in the universe existed. Everybody had to get out of his way. Some guy had to brake hard to avoid him and I had to do the same at the next exit (he was that slow). He was shocked when I beeped at him.

I hate people who think it's some sort of race whenever I'm around just cos I have a fast car. I was heading for the dual carraigeway the other day and there was a guy in a Corolla with his finger up his nose behind me. I hit the dual carragieway and put the boot down, leaving him well behind. About three minutes later I see him catching up to me - he must have been doing 95. I take my exit, slow down and take the roundabout at the top of the ramp at a sane speed when I hear tyres squealing behind me. The twat must have raced right up to the roundabout and was taking it way too fast to catch up to me. wtf he was trying to prove I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Draíochta

Taxi drivers! even their personalities (another subject)

Bus lane users, I hate people going about a mile down a bus lane esp. when you want to take the same turn as them. I go down the end of the Chapalizard bypass every day and it gets to me.
    I remember when the Chillies were playin in the park this summer, I was on the afore mentioned strip of road that day, then one person decided he would skip the traffic and use the bus lane, very soon the bus lane was full, why? because that route was closed, then a Guard on his bike came along and made his way down the line. He got most of them because nobody would let them out, I guess they must have felt the same as me.

Ah, I know it's not nice but I was happy, I don't like when people act like sheep.

No offence to any chinese people... but they have no road sense at all!! one ran out right in front of me while driving at 15mph on a main street. another on his bike just randomly changed direction heading right for my front bumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Draíochta

No offence to any chinese people... but they have no road sense at all!! one ran out right in front of me while driving at 15mph on a main street. another on his bike just randomly changed direction heading right for my front bumper.

You have no idea, I was in china last year. WORST DRIVERS IN THE WORLD! can't say that for certain, haven't been all around the world, but they are bad, beep all the time for no reason. They even beep to tell you that they are about to cut across you dangerously. And bikes everywhere, it is just insane!

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭eoinín

the list could go on and on but we'd be here all day really. and could also include: most women (I am one before you all start shouting) especially the chinese and black ones (not to be racist but they tend to be worse than white women)

why do you even bother saying "not to be racist" and then go on to say such a ridiculous racist thing like that? Why not just say "hey everyone, here's a big fat racist comment that has no factual basis whatsoever". This sort of telling of one's own anecdotal experience as "fact" is exactly how racism starts... Can you provide any sort of statistical evidence of how racial minorities in Ireland are responsible for a higher proportion of accidents, bad driving, etc? I'd be most impressed if you could... Do you honestly think that minorities are worse drivers or are you just choosing to mention incidents with minorities? Have you never had bad experience with white people driving? It seems that some people here are happy to linger on the one or two bad driving experiences they observed involving minorities and tend to ignore the awful performance of the white Irish on our roads...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

It really annoys me when chubby chicks with belly tops are visible from my car. I have to drive really fast to get away from the big wobbly lumps of dough. FOR THE LOVE OF HUMANITY, COVER UP THE OVERHANGING BELLIES!!

'ceptr

At least I'm not a racialist....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It really annoys me when chubby chicks with belly tops are visible from my car. I have to drive really fast to get away from the big wobbly lumps of dough. FOR THE LOVE OF HUMANITY, COVER UP THE OVERHANGING BELLIES!!

'ceptr

At least I'm not a racialist....
    no but maybe try looking at the road rather than at womens bellys :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Correct, but the thread was about 'pet hates in traffic', not how bad a driver the 'ceptr is. Or that he likes driving and looking at chicks and sometimes by the time his jaded old eyes focus it is too late and AAAAAARGGHHH a tattoo of the sun around a saggy bellybutton that looks like a rotten grapefruit AAAGH MY EYES - OH IT BURNS MAKE IT STOP...

'ceptr

anyway, [going off topic], what do you drive that enables you to see 'chicks' bellys? Do you drive a farmer wagon?

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭klaus23

My New York-inhabiting uncle maintains that the reason people drive bad is possibly not down to their training, as most people nowadays get much the same test/lessons etc - but that the issue is that people are in their own space, and thus feel that bit more invincible.

Next time you're in traffic, watch the amount of people picking their nose and eating it. There's windows all around them, but somehow they think that they are at home in their own living room.

Think about it. You're walking down the street, and to walk into a shop you would have to cut across four people walking in the same direction. You wouldn't do it them, because someone would have something to say.

But somehow it's ok to do the same thing on a roundabout... because there you are, snug in your cocoon and **** everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭klaus23

kbannon wrote:
    Do you drive a farmer wagon?

A Volkswagen Jetta or a Nissan Bluebird?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

hahaha them jetta's were bullet proof

klaus23 wrote:
    A Volkswagen Jetta or a Nissan Bluebird?
    Close, but no - I meant big feckin 4 wheel drive yokes with 140m of toughened chrome bullbars all round

• Registered Users Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

eoin&#237 wrote: »
    why do you even bother saying "not to be racist" and then go on to say such a ridiculous racist thing like that?

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

klaus23 wrote:
    Think about it. You're walking down the street, and to walk into a shop you would have to cut across four people walking in the same direction. You wouldn't do it them, because someone would have something to say.

You don't walk much in Dublin do you?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Fog lights without fog. TURN THEM OFF, DICKHEADS.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭kaiphas

Peoples who can't even put "L" plates the right way round in the rear window, and yet are travelling the highways and byways in a potentailly lethal metal box. Some of them are "intelligent" enough to even cut out the red L from it's white background but then are obviously so tired and mentally drained from the ordeal that they end up putting the lonesome & isolated "L" up incorrectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Bri

Ditto: Taxis full stop.

The amout of crap small cars on the road (I don't drive a big car myself) who speed to compinsate for their tiny engines - a product of rip-off insurance I guess.

Indicators: Not pushed about people using them because I've had so many bad incidents with people using them WRONGLY - better not at all than wrong.

Trucks overtaking.

Dublin Bus headlights.

Four lanes of traffic on the Blackrock Road (Dublin) and then meeting a cyclist. Madness.

Oh and the BIG one - rush hour muppets who block junctions with or without yellow boxes. I mean just cos it isn't marked doesn't mean you have a right to block major roads as the whole country trys to drive around you. Arghhh!

1 more - the guards ignoring clear violations of bus-lane use when its dangerous. But then again I think its pathetic they go out in the morning and get people going in just before the filter lane starts - I know it's wrong but everyone driving at the time of day is on their daily route to work and knows the drill. Is this why we have a traffic corps?

• Registered Users Posts: 65,388 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

kbannon wrote:
    it all comes down to the fact that the majority of Irish drivers are crap, having completed either no test or else an inadequate one. Furthermore, the state allows thousands of unqualified drivers to take cars out on a daily basis

Hear, hear!

Unfortunately it's not thousands, but hundreds of thousands. The sooner we stop the murderous (or suicidal in most cases) learner driver system, the better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭PBC_1966

There are some things mentioned above that don't get me annoyed at all, or at least I try not to let them rile me. It's easy to start thinking bad things about somebody who has left it a little late and then pulled out in front of you, for example, but come on now...... Can any driver say that he has never made such a misjudgment and done something he then realizes wasn't the best choice?

But I'll agree on all the things which demonstrate that the other driver clearly has an attitude of "Me first, and to hell with everybody else." e.g.
    sitting a foot off your back bumper trying to intimidate you into going faster, then flashing, honking, and gesticulating if you don't.

There's another thing I've not seen mentioned yet which falls into two sections:

1. Drivers who fail to yield right-of-way to pedestrians when turning.

2. Drivers behind who honk, wave, or otherwise seem to take umbrage when I do yield to pedestrians.

Don't think it was mentioned - drivers who are taking a slip road onto a motorway and as soon as they can, cross the white hatched area so they can merge into traffic usually resulting in traffic on the sliproad ahead of them having to alter their merging line & speed to accommodate them.
    I also hate gob****es who come onto the N4 from Leixlip and because they are taking the next sliproad (for Lucan) think that the hard shoulder is a traffic lane.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

flyz wrote:
    1. 80% of people on any given roundabout. namely The Kinsale Road Rounabout and The Tunnel Roundabout in Cork.
    Is the Kinsale roundabout _the_ worst in the country??? ... goes from 2 to 4 to 3 lanes and back and traffic lights thrown in all over the place :rolleyes: .... and whats its diameter? 50 meters max, it was wider but some idiots decided to increase number of lanes by making the roundabout smaller :(

And the roundabout at Wilton/Hospital is egg shaped, has caught out many a driver thinking that the bend would be regular ... :confused:

When you think about it this level of complication is bound to induce confusion and bring out the worst in drivers

(there is 2 lanes isnt there?, on the section where you come down from the airport and are heading for woodies)

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Renegade_Archer

I have a couple. Rich **** in big FO land rovers, in the middle of town, the thing obviously having not seen mud since he drove it out the show room. Annoys the tits off me. 15 year old young lads in tractors ambling on down the road for 10 miles, never once stopping to let the 3 trillion cars behind him get past.

Boy racers. Little hoodlum **** in 1 litre puntos revving the nuts off their heap of ****e tinted window 90bhp crap heaps zooming off from the lights looking around them for some other boy racer to have a contest with, upping the cost of insurance for normal people who just want to drive a normal car from A to B. There should be a tickbox on the insurance form for "Yes, I am a boy racer, please stab me repeatadly in the face"

Tail gaters. Doing 65 on the N4 and having some knob in a Beemer sit on my tail all the way. Worse at night when they leave the fscking headlights on.

People who come out of front of you and then proceed to spend the next 10 years getting up to 60 - people who get out and get up are fine by me, but Ive seen auld wans pull out in front and then reach a steady cruising speed of 35mph on the aformentioned N4.

Taxi drivers. Especially in Mullingar, where they think a pedastrian crossing is an optional thing to stop for.

Boy racers, again. On the dublin road out of drogheda after the Bridge of Peace past the McDonalds, the roads goes from 2 lanes to 1, most sane people filter in, but theres always some small-dicked slime-haired little wanker who has to zoom all the way up and then *squuuuueeeeeeezze* in at the last second. I was in the car when my Da didnt let one of them in, and he spent the whole time behind us on the way to Gormanston flashing his lights and beeping at us. He must have had a really, really small penis.

[/rant]