Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

the rules of socialising.uhh

• 23-08-2004 2:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭

have you noticed the way that there are so many ''unspoken'' rules governing how we do things?? i just think that people are just so repressed these days and just do everything like robots.you know, all those little things you are expected to do all the time or else people think you are rude or odd for eg..
    *always having to hug or kiss relations when they leave after a visit (even if you dont know them that well)
    *when visiting other peoples house and you intend to leave everyone gets up and noone actually goes until someone looks at their watch and says ''ooh is that the time?''..or you see people sitting at the edge of their seat trying to think of when to get up.
    *having to make eye contact with people on the street or nodding
    *that weird sigh that adults let out when a conversation is on its last legs and then everyone trys to think of something to say.why do we have to talk all the time?

can anyone else think of any other weird ''etiquette'' rules for daily life and social occasions that annoy you or that you find strange ?

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

its kinda stupid the way anyone that gives you a present HAS to get a present in return (specially around christmas), or else youre thought of as a w*****.

i also hate the way i have to put on pants to answer the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Some things are just curtious, and I would do. But I do know what you mean, most of those type of things annoy me and I don't participate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

spoon wrote:
    i also hate the way i have to put on pants to answer the door.

you'd be surprised. people get used to it.
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

*always having to hug or kiss relations when they leave after a visit (even if you dont know them that well)
    Hmm, never done this, or even noticed it. I guess it depends on the family, like if you live in 'Home & Away land'. The only one of my relations I've ever hugged is my niece, and that's only because she never lets go of me.
    *having to make eye contact with people on the street or nodding
    People you know or complete strangers? I try not to make eye contact or nod at strangers, it makes me seem like (more of) a wierdo.
    *that weird sigh that adults let out when a conversation is on its last legs and then everyone trys to think of something to say.why do we have to talk all the time?
    So true, people hum and haw for about 5 minutes then we all get up and leave.
    If it's strange etiquette your after, spare a though for all us lads and take the 'Toilet Etiquette' test
    http://www.kontrabandcontent.co.uk/1/graphics/games/toilet_etiquitte.swf
    Should be educational for girls too. Now they can understand why we don't have a male equivalent of the piss posse.

Getting on a bus is another one. Everyone goes to an empty seat leaving them open to some wierdo freak sitting beside them instead of just finding some normal person and sitting next to them in the first place. Then there's those who will just refuse to sit beside other people and they stand up, even though half the seats are empty. Why do we do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

jor el wrote:
    Getting on a bus is another one. Everyone goes to an empty seat leaving them open to some wierdo freak sitting beside them instead of just finding some normal person and sitting next to them in the first place. Then there's those who will just refuse to sit beside other people and they stand up, even though half the seats are empty. Why do we do this?
    Because a lot of people smell, and if you were to sit beside someone, and then get back up because they smell, it would be "impolite" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Because a lot of people smell, and if you were to sit beside someone, and then get back up because they smell, it would be "impolite" :rolleyes:
    No it wouldn't, everyone will understand because they can probably smell him too :) My point is if you sit in an empty seat, you're leaving yourself open to any wierdo, or smelly knack, or someone who wants to talk to you about what you did last night like he's your best friend, sitting beside you. If it's a choice of the empty seat, the guy in a suit or the girl in the Roches stores unifrom, I'd pick one of the people as you can sit there in peace (and they probably wont smell) over the empty spot, but a lot of people dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

jor el wrote:
    No it wouldn't, everyone will understand because they can probably smell him too :) My point is if you sit in an empty seat, you're leaving yourself open to any wierdo, or smelly knack, or someone who wants to talk to you about what you did last night like he's your best friend, sitting beside you. If it's a choice of the empty seat, the guy in a suit or the girl in the Roches stores unifrom, I'd pick one of the people as you can sit there in peace (and they probably wont smell) over the empty spot, but a lot of people dont.
    So then in effect you become the wierdo. Especially if the bus is half empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

having got on a bus from waterford to clonmel, was quite empty so i was sitting alone, and had an old woman sit beside me, instead of the empty seat accross the isle. why she did this, i dont know. i swear she hadnt been clean since bath night back during the emergency. jesus, she stunk. then she offered me chocolate, that was wrapped up in a kleenex tissue. feeling quite ill, i just said execuse me, and crossed to the opposite empty double seat, and looked out the window for the rest of the journey. i dont like busses.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

having got on a bus from waterford to clonmel, was quite empty so i was sitting alone, and had an old woman sit beside me, instead of the empty seat accross the isle. why she did this, i dont know. i swear she hadnt been clean since bath night back during the emergency. jesus, she stunk. then she offered me chocolate, that was wrapped up in a kleenex tissue. feeling quite ill, i just said execuse me, and crossed to the opposite empty double seat, and looked out the window for the rest of the journey. i dont like busses.
    Charming. Yesterday I was on the bus and my seat, and one other, had the seat beside it empty (I got on at the start of the bus route). A crazy old man gets on, carrying black rubbish bags and an odour that stretched the length of the passageway. Wrinkling my nose, I suddenly realised my precarious predicament and immediately shoved my, admittedly large, haversack onto the free seat. My fellow passanger with a free seat shifted himself to the edge of the seat, preventing anyone else sitting down in order to combat the chance of the lunatic sitting next. Fearfully, I watched him come down muttering and mumbling - crazily! - about seats. Thankfully, he didn't incline as to whether he could sit down beside me.
    As it transpires he instead chose to sit in the stairwell and engage in a spot of illegal smoking. He really liked his seat because he refused to budge from it when someone descended down the stairwell, forcing the Descending Stairs Woman to clamber over him. This started a verbal alteracation between Homeless Insane Man and Irate Elder Passanger. HIM tried to defend himself to IEP by telling us about his seven wives and his ethnic origins, which included being half Indian (contrary to what our eyes would tell us). He also decided to blame DSW for causing the hassle, given that she was the reason IEP got annoyed.
    Funnily enough, the bus driver disagreed with HIM and HIM decided to then leave the bus rather than meet with Mr. Garda, who was about to be summoned.
    The moral of the story? Ensure that there are no seats available ever in case a crazy person wants to sit next to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

jor el wrote:
    If it's a choice of the empty seat, the guy in a suit or the girl in the Roches stores unifrom, I'd pick one of the people as you can sit there in peace (and they probably wont smell) over the empty spot, but a lot of people dont.

Its about personal space and Peoples tolerance of other people invading there personal space . If there is some free seats on a bus then you should sit in them otherwise the person you sit down next to will feel uncomfortable wondering why you’ve sat next to them and not the free set (even if you don’t smell).

Its human nature. The level of personal space we feel comfortable with varies depending on the situation we find ourselves in.

For example if were standing in a train at rush hour we expect to have to be packed in close to one and other or if your on a near empty beach you expect people to stay a good distance away from you.

I studied it a bit when I was in collage and watched some time laps videos of people. Its actually amazing to see how people will space themselves almost exactly the same distance apart from one and other and how the space between them gradually reduces as the amount of people increases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

This is really interesting (I thought I was the only person who thought about stuff like this!). I think the spacing thing is a kind of an instinct. We don't actually think "right thats a space of 1 metre so I'll sit about ..." we just to it naturally without thinking about it. I agree that it is about personal space - there is an acceptable level of closeness, that varies depending on the amount of people sharing the bus/ busstop/train carraige ect. (Note to self: give up on engineering go do psychology :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭ando

yea I remember when I used to take the Dart.. absolutly crowded. I dunno if its the same nowadays but when I was on the Dart during rush hour, people would be standing inches from each other throughout the train but one would not be uncomfortable about personal space until people started hitting you.
    If someone came onto an empty train and sat beside me, I'd be taken aback as to why on earth they did that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

"Common Strangers" is a fun one too. You take the bus or train? See the same people everyday? They are common strangers.

There is an unwritten rule that you don't talk to them. In fact if you need to know the time you are more likely to ask a stranger then a common stranger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Hobbes wrote:
    "Common Strangers" is a fun one too. You take the bus or train? See the same people everyday? They are common strangers.

There is an unwritten rule that you don't talk to them. In fact if you need to know the time you are more likely to ask a stranger then a common stranger.

We're an odd breed alright.

Regarding personal space, If there is someone who isn't a complete stranger to me that I just don't like or I get bad vibes from I hate when they invade my personal space. The very first proper job I had the boss was always doing this and it made my skin crawl.

It's a fascinating subject studying the way we behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭Blisterman

You could hey them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

or has anyone noticed that when you are in an overcrowded lift that you feel nice and anonymous but if its only you and one other person in the lift you feel that you have to acknowledge thier presence somehow....this always happens to me, i never say anything but the other person always does, usually something stupid like ''oh i hate elevators'' or "nice day eh?''..i usually just stare at the door or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Funny enough, I'd be one of those people who would say something if there's 2 people in the lift. When the other person leaves the lift I'll always say "have a good day/evening" whichever is appropriate and generally it's a pleasant exchange (or so I think!)

What about the public toilet urinal etiquette. Always keep at least one urinal's distance away, preferably two and ideally and opposite ends of the row of urinals.

But then you get the feckers that just don't respect the rules and that makes me uncomfortable. They strut in, have a good old hock of the old phlegm and gob into the urinal, make a song and dance of pulling out their lad, then p1ss like a horse, snorting all the time or grunting with satisfaction at their extraordinary flow of urine. Worse still is if they start talking!!! Scary
    :p

its strange really here in ireland its totally normal to say ''hi'' to someone on the street but everywhere else people would think you are deranged. i was in germany a few months ago and i walked past this man who proceeded to clear his nose by blocking one of his nostrils and blowing thorugh the other one letting out a torpedo of snot and mucus....jeez it was mank but noone batted an eyelid.

or has anyone noticed that when you are in an overcrowded lift that you feel nice and anonymous but if its only you and one other person in the lift you feel that you have to acknowledge thier presence somehow

that funny you say that, cause I always take the stairs rather than risk that situation! I didnt really notice that I take the stairs because of that, but this thread has opened my eyes a tad

im terribly silly when it comes to dealing with people etc, it doesnt show on my face but in my head i am freaking out.if i pass a big group of people on the street and i am by myself my eyes get all watery (?!).....one day i was out about town and i was wearing these boots thati got in germany and i swear everyone was staring at me..they are just normal boots and i was like wtf? , i got really paranoid about it. THATs another thing people really tend to stare too much at each other these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The "common stranger" or people you know to see. You'd never speak to them on that bus. If you saw them somewhere completely different you might find yourself acknowledging them. If you saw them abroad when you were on holidays, you'd probably end up talking to them. :)

yeah i have plenty of those kind of people that i see around frequently.bus stops,shops,etc.it would be the odd chit chat at the bustop but nothing else.and there is only so much stuff you can talk about with a complete stranger, well really one one thing=the weather .''grand day'' ''tis a bit wet isnt it?'' ''i would love some sunshine myself''.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

If the bus broke down or some other such event happens a sort of temporary comradery can break out too. A sort of "We're all in this together," scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

whatever about anything else sighing does my head in, friend of mine does it all the time, hello u plonker i can sit here 5 minutes without the need to speak,if you can't then go sigh in the jacks, god its soooooooo rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

sometimes sighing is cause a person cant breathe right

whats annoying is people thinking you are their personal shopper, and they come up to your till or the help desk and are like "oh do you have this. will ya get it for me, now. where is it, im still waiting, whats the problem"

and stupid OAPs with their "hah" bullcrap. really learn some manners. and hairy fat women in lycra with sweat marks,

ew ew ew ew

and then the phone calls to say"o are you open"

no you daft prick im answering the phone cause we are all shut today.

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh customers are EVIL EVIL EVIL EVIL EVIL :mad:

o and giving you the exact change especially when theres a queue, and they have tons of 2+5 cents. just throw it away noone wants your crap, especially when its busy, its annoying, cause one has the change right by the time they count out their crap. its especially annoying when you have entered the amount they gave you, are counting the change and then they say "o i have the exact 97cent," and proceed to insist on giving it to you in one cent coins.

i hate people who do that. and whats more you cant say "no its/im too busy for exact change," cause they shock out and its not fair. people treat workers like crap.

EVIL EVIL EVIL EVIL EVIL EVIL

GROWL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

lmao, i know what u mean, maybe time to switch jobd before you go postal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

ah going postal.................could be fun

im biding my time, when im a journalist i will write bout the ignorat OAPs and rich people and shame the yankers to hell. all of them, so many ignorant stupid people.

get off your arse and look yourself FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

haha, what else are they meant to do though? if i ring up somewhere too see if there open, and someone answers, i know there open. but i can hardly hang up without saying anything.

so thats the best thing to say, seems stupid but its all you can do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

haha, what else are they meant to do though? if i ring up somewhere too see if there open, and someone answers, i know there open. but i can hardly hang up without saying anything.

so thats the best thing to say, seems stupid but its all you can do!
    You could always just ask "What time do you close?".

Anyway, no offence to 'large' people but... I'm quite a small person and on buses when overwight people get on and they have to sit beside someone, they look around and then they see me and they think "Oh, my left arse cheek won't hang off the seat if I sit next to him" and they use me as an arm rest and when they're rooting in their bags they constantly elbow me in the ribs... 'tis fun....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

sometimes sighing is cause a person cant breathe right

whats annoying is people thinking you are their personal shopper, and they come up to your till or the help desk and are like "oh do you have this. will ya get it for me, now. where is it, im still waiting, whats the problem"

and stupid OAPs with their "hah" bullcrap. really learn some manners. and hairy fat women in lycra with sweat marks,

ew ew ew ew

o and giving you the exact change especially when theres a queue, and they have tons of 2+5 cents. just throw it away noone wants your crap, especially when its busy, its annoying, cause one has the change right by the time they count out their crap. its especially annoying when you have entered the amount they gave you, are counting the change and then they say "o i have the exact 97cent," and proceed to insist on giving it to you in one cent coins.

i hate people who do that. and whats more you cant say "no its/im too busy for exact change," cause they shock out and its not fair. people treat workers like crap.

EVIL EVIL EVIL EVIL EVIL EVIL

GROWL
    Whatever happened to "customer service"? In fairness, that's why you're paid to be there. I never had any problems checking stock rooms for customers when I worked in clothes stores, it was just part of the job as far as I was concerned.

Your post reminds me of the girl in the shop in "intermission" tbh.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Hobbes wrote:

Yup, I've been seeing these faces for a couple of years now on my shuttle bus and know nothing about them, not even a name. Occasionally a face will disappear and give me brief pause to wonder what happened to them. But would I ever talk to them? No because it'd seem weird. See if we engage a common stranger in conversation one time then we'd feel obliged, somehow, to talk - or at least acknowledge them - the next time we see them on the train/bus. I want to be left in peace, not in stupid chit chat about the weather.

See one of the reasons I love Curb Your Enthusiasm - and fans will attest to this - is that Larry David is very often oblivious to these bizarre social rules and will always be questioning them. It makes for some great laughts but also highlights how dumb we can be in a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Socialising rules = attaining co-existance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭TheWolf

im terribly silly when it comes to dealing with people etc, it doesnt show on my face but in my head i am freaking out.if i pass a big group of people on the street and i am by myself my eyes get all watery

Wierd, I used to get the exact same thing. Happened less as I got older though, and never happens now. Coulda been a confidence thing though as I didnt have much as a kid, and by the sounds of things you may not either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

My nomination for ásshole of the week.

Post doesn't even merit a reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭climaxer

im terribly silly when it comes to dealing with people etc, it doesnt show on my face but in my head i am freaking out.if i pass a big group of people on the street and i am by myself my eyes get all watery (?!).....one day i was out about town and i was wearing these boots thati got in germany and i swear everyone was staring at me..they are just normal boots and i was like wtf? , i got really paranoid about it. THATs another thing people really tend to stare too much at each other these days.

I hate people who stare too - its so ignorant to keep staring at someone. Where I work I have to pass by a street where the traffic is at lights so most mornings (me half asleep) I pass around 20 cars stopped at the lights and they all just stare - I used to be kind've embarassed about it but now I just stare back and smile sarcastically and they look away!

naughty_girl - you would hate my Mother then because she ALWAYS asks the assistants in shops to find stuff for her. I know its your job to assist but I do believe its a bit much not to look yourself first. I give out to her for doing it and she always says really loud sure its their job.

Another thing I hate too is if you're in company in the pub and open a packet of peanuts or crisps you always have to offer the bag to the people you're in company with. I tried once not offering but had to give in so I usually end up with only a few crisps in the end of the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭fragile

I worked in Berlin for a year and had to spend over 2 hours a day on public transport, and compared to Ireland there is certainly much less akward situations as described so far in this thread i.e. people feeling that they have to talk, sitting next to you when there is a free seat etc. However I have had some really mad bus/train trips in Ireland that I genuinely enjoyed, be it due to a loony driver, striking up a conversation with somebody interesting or just a general feeling of good craic by everyone on the bus/train.....I can't remember a single bus or train journey from Berlin that I would describe as fun

The Irish are gregarious, so its only natural that we would have more of these annoying social quirks....personally I think its a small price to pay...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

climaxer wrote:
    I hate people who stare too - its so ignorant to keep staring at someone. Where I work I have to pass by a street where the traffic is at lights so most mornings (me half asleep) I pass around 20 cars stopped at the lights and they all just stare - I used to be kind've embarassed about it but now I just stare back and smile sarcastically and they look away!
    How do you know they're looking at you? Are you looking at them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

or has anyone noticed that when you are in an overcrowded lift that you feel nice and anonymous but if its only you and one other person in the lift you feel that you have to acknowledge thier presence somehow....this always happens to me, i never say anything but the other person always does, usually something stupid like ''oh i hate elevators'' or "nice day eh?''..i usually just stare at the door or something.
    Slightly O/T but as you mention elevators - True Story

me and a few pals in college espy a stooge getting into a lift at ground floor. We reckon he'll be going up a few levels. We run up one flight and intercept lift at floor one. Sure enough, person has pressed the 5th floor.

we stand in silence until at 3rd floor, (it's a slow lift) I emitted a gutteral growl, saying I MUST FIND ANOTHER HOST BODY. (think the voice used in Ghostbusters by Zuul or something.)

my mates, as arranged, say nothing leaving our friend convinced he was hearing things.

He got off on the 4th...

Gordon wrote:
    How do you know they're looking at you? Are you looking at them?

Good point but yes they are looking at me because I'm looking at them looking at me :) I admit I do have a nosey at people passing by too but would look away if I get caught - I think its rude to stare blatantly at someone and look them up and down thats all.

fragile wrote:
    I worked in Berlin for a year and had to spend over 2 hours a day on public transport, and compared to Ireland there is certainly much less akward situations as described so far in this thread i.e. people feeling that they have to talk, sitting next to you when there is a free seat etc. However I have had some really mad bus/train trips in Ireland that I genuinely enjoyed, be it due to a loony driver, striking up a conversation with somebody interesting or just a general feeling of good craic by everyone on the bus/train.....I can't remember a single bus or train journey from Berlin that I would describe as fun

The Irish are gregarious, so its only natural that we would have more of these annoying social quirks....personally I think its a small price to pay...

I agree - I've had to travel alone a few times and its nice to meet some interesting people for a chat. I was coming home from Dublin on the train and a bunch of girls sat next to me and my boyf who were going to a hen night in Kilkenny. We had a great craic with them.

when your at the traffic lights and someone pulls up beside. You cant look in the direction of the other driver, otherwise you will perceived as a weirdo or you want a race

another thing which has caught my attention is in the cinemas...i went to see something with my friend sometime and we were a tad late so when we went in the place was packed..unfortunately the only seats left were at the end of one line and they were on the inside so we would have to squeeze past loads of people...i didnt want to but i did anyway much to the annoyance of everyone watching the screen..my friend was mortified and was way too embarassed to do it so she just stayed at the back standing up for the whole thing! im surprised that she didnt get in trouble with an usher...she was pissed off with me when it finished saying that i abandoned her...uhhh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Being pollite takes up ALLOT of time.

Why cant ppl just go into a shop and say

10 pack B&H
    Green rizla
    Mars bar
    2 pacs burger bites
    Lotto

Its always

Em... can i have a 10 pac of B&H and green rizla please oh and a mars bar and 2 burger bits please anmd the lotto quickpick please... thanks *waits for shop guy to get him the lotto* cheers thanks - Bye
    another thing which has caught my attention is in the cinemas...i went to see something with my friend sometime and we were a tad late so when we went in the place was packed..unfortunately the only seats left were at the end of one line and they were on the inside so we would have to squeeze past loads of people...i didnt want to but i did anyway much to the annoyance of everyone watching the screen..my friend was mortified and was way too embarassed to do it so she just stayed at the back standing up for the whole thing! im surprised that she didnt get in trouble with an usher...she was pissed off with me when it finished saying that i abandoned her...uhhh :rolleyes:

THat is just
    Sad!

1.She was violating fire safty regulations
    2.Why did she stand? She pays for a seat and dosent use it?

Thats like those morons on the bus who stand when there are loads of seats

And she was pissed off with u? Sounds more like she abandoned you

*Sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

User45701 wrote:
    Thats like those morons on the bus who stand when there are loads of seats

This moron is 6'5" and doesn't fit into Dublin Bus seats. :p

i was walking past the police station where i live and there was a woman lying on the ground outside it.totally still. only one person out of at least five peoplethat went past went over to ask her was she okay.she was drunk i think.i approached her but she didnt spaek to me at all.she was just like on the road flat out in the middle of the day.could have been flattened by a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

i was walking past the police station where i live and there was a woman lying on the ground outside it.totally still. only one person out of at least five peoplethat went past went over to ask her was she okay.she was drunk i think.i approached her but she didnt spaek to me at all.she was just like on the road flat out in the middle of the day.could have been flattened by a car.
    when i lived in london, pal o'mine came over to visit. She's scared ****less of escalators and when she realised (as you do) that the Tube is the only way to get around, and faced with 'going underground' at Victoria she just couldn't handle it.

There she was, at the top of the escalator saying 'I can't do this'.

Fair enough, i thought, let's go by bus. People walked past looking at us, until this bloke came over and asked what the problem was. He wore no uniform - merely a member of the public. We explained that my friend had a fear and he found a guard, who pointed us in the direction of the (800 million) stairs to the northbound victoria line.

It was very nice of him to stop, but I'm not proud of the fact that all the while this guy was trying to help us, I kept thinking 'My God, he's an axe murderer'.

ie it's possible to become so acclimatised to ignoring people that you think people who help you are mad.

It's nice to be back home....

yeah its true sometimes when you are being helpful people will think you are insane.there are some odd people around though.i just finished my summer job last week and there was this waiter there working with me who was in his late 50's and he really was weird, his eyes used to be all shifty and he kind of shuffled along like he was drugged. there are some people that i just get odd vibes off. even though i am sure people get them off me aswell....come to think of it i really did meet some truly insane people working in that hotel. i used to work breakfasts and most of the customers wree americans on holidays...i swear every single one of them seemed to have blue boxes filled with little pills that they took with their breakfast every single morning, and whenever they enquired about the food(usually the black pudding) and i told them that the black pudding was made of pigs blood they looked at me like i was some sort of freak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

climaxer wrote:
    I think the worst is when you're at a bus stop and a bus that you're not getting stops while you wait for your own bus, and half the people on bus are staring out the window at you. I notice it's mostly old ladies... why do they stare at you so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I think the worst is when you're at a bus stop and a bus that you're not getting stops while you wait for your own bus, and half the people on bus are staring out the window at you. I notice it's mostly old ladies... why do they stare at you so much?
    Start talking to an imaginary friend and start pointing at them. They'll turn away soon enough.

i guess guys and old men look at girls , girls look at guys and old ladies look at everybody....generally anyone that looks anything but the norm is stared at viciously.like a few days ago there was this really fat women in town, hideously fat now, and i couldnt help but sneak a peek at her. the worst thing and this REALLY freaks me out is when you turn around and catch someone looking straight at you and their eyes still dont budge.i have nightmares bout that sort of shyte.