Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Major reputation issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

what are those green dots for anyway?
    They determine how sexy you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭midget lord

*slips on thong*

how come mine havent increased then....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

*slips on thong*

how come mine havent increased then....
    You need to post a photo as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭bandraoi

If you disagree with the reputation system have some fun with it,

randomly assign karma to people, every 10th post in a thread for instance
    give positive rep for boring, nodding and smiling posts,
    give negative rep for sympathethic posts,
    or base your assignment on grammar and spelling
    or give positive rep to anyone who begins a post with a word of your choice.

Lighten up and have some fun

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

mycroft wrote:
    Beruthiel....Mmmm overweight AOL tech support monkey love.

how could anyone resist such an offer..

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Hagar wrote:
    If that's your idea of a reasonable answer to a reasonable question......

I'm not your friend or your brother nor would I want to be.
    Your over use of quotation marks is bordering on childish.
    Boards users have come to expect better than that from a mod.
    Don't give up you day job.
    I wouldn't worry about having too many karma points if I were you, its not going to happen.

Wow!

tell me, do the people with only 1 green dot thing not understand 'sarcasm', coz i kinda 'pointed' out the really fúcking 'obviousness' of the post?

yeah, someone gave me negative 'karma' for being condesending, but seriously, look at the response i get back, and you wonder why i do it. its just a pre-emptive response to the usual diatribe of self righteous crap that many people, like Hagar, spew.

of course, Hagars extremely funny message failed in every way to answer the question that i asked him, mainly to qualify what he meant when he said he had a problem with Mods with karma points.

as for being a mod, hey, i dont see myself as being a mod of the feedback forum. if you can find where it says that, let me know, i may ban you for being a whiney maggot.

tell me Hagar, are you just píssed off coz you have fúck all happy points, and you really want people to notice you, or do you think there is a serious social issue at hand which you want to discuss?

please, tell us, o Hagar, the slightly horrible, but generally more annoying...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

The system should be replaced with a little button that sends a few thousand volts through the targeted user's mouse. It would work better.

i agree.

hey hagar, why did you call me a lame little fúck.
    that wasnt nice. you managed to move my reputaion down 1 point for each of your negative karmas. wow! im hurting here buddy.

id say lets be friends, but my mom wont let me hang around with the unpopular kids with only 1 green dot.
    sorry unpopular kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

how could anyone resist such an offer..

Beer of course, helping ugly people get laid since 1896......

Sorry it's just I doubt anyone could make a porno set in a computer tech support office....

Ohhhh look at the blubber jiggle.
    The system should be replaced with a little button that sends a few thousand volts through the targeted user's mouse. It would work better.

While I like that idea, and I do like that idea. I was wondering if we could incorporate some kind of webcam. I want people to suffer and I want to be able to watch. More satisfying.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Wow!

yeah, someone gave me negative 'karma' for being condesending, ...

I gave you negative karma just because I'm amazed that I hadn't already done so. Don't take it to heart. In fact, throw some negativity my way if you want. Go on.

wow, you hold a grudge dont you. its ok though. it didnt effect me, points wise or otherwise. im just cant believe you are still angry about those good times on the for sale board.
    hopefully this will be therapy for you.

hey, this is going to be open to abuse for all the times ive been horrible to people. i think i will start a thread moaning and complaining about it!

wow, you hold a grudge dont you. its ok though. it didnt effect me, points wise or otherwise. im just cant believe you are still angry about those good times on the for sale board.
    hopefully this will be therapy for you.

hey, this is going to be open to abuse for all the times ive been horrible to people. i think i will start a thread moaning and complaining about it!

Exactly. "Good times" on the for sale board. Don't worry I don't hold any grudge, and I know you can take banter as well as give it. So no, therapy won't be necessary, and I honestly doubt you care that I gave you bad karma. I certainly don't.

Stupid karma system. I can't believe the amount of topics floating around on it. Why do people actually give a shít?

because they feel the need to have themselves validated on these boards by other people.
    hence when people get bad karma for no good reason, then they get upset, because why should someone go to the effort to be not nice?

cant we all just get along, pat each other on the back, and have lots of green dots?

or maybe we could all just be ourselves, and not give a crap?

either way, im green dot whorin' today baby!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

either way, im green dot whorin' today baby!
    as opposed to 'regular' whorin'??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

hey hagar, why did you call me a lame little fúck

I didn't do that, I have my standards, they may be low but they are still standards. :p
    Anything I have have to say, good or bad, I'll say it out here. You should see some of the harsh comments I've got as a result of my question. They are worse than the ones you made. :rolleyes:

I never said I had a problem. I think you are mis-interpreting my post. I was just curious as to how the system worked. I didn't understand how mods accumulated so many points so quickly. Personally I don't expect points one way or another as I am a nobody on the boards. The well known contributors, who would have many friends etc., don't seem to be getting up the karma ladder as quickly as the mods.

BTW I am taking your "insults" as tongue-in-cheek and not vitriolic. They're quite good as insults go. :D

And before you comment, I like using smilies. They are a reasonable substitutes for tone of voice.

Well. Whoever called me ásshole could at least have told me their name!? It amazes me how seriously people take this. Truly does. I'm going to have to randomly give out negative karma to people on this thread in revenge.

lol. ahhh, you see, in the end, we are all friends :)

i take back everything i said about the 1 green dot people. youre nto so bad after all.
    even Hagar, the not horrible, just mildly grumpy sometimes....

no were not all friends, i hate everyone.

ah no wait there now ted, a minute ago you were in love with Beruthiel, yis haven't had a fight have you?

All of you that gave me negative karma. Well done. Mycroft I didn't say you called me an arséhole, what are ye on about? Whoever gave me the positive, thanks. Through this whole thread,. I've managed to stay with the exact amount of points before I started giving out random bad karma. That's pretty good considering most people game me negative.

What a bunch of arsé.

<edit> whoever just gave me bad rep on this post, do you really consider that a hissy fit?!? Ha ha. Leave your name next time and I'll show ye a hissy fit ye bítch

bandraoi wrote:
    ah no wait there now ted, a minute ago you were in love with Beruthiel, yis haven't had a fight have you?

everyone except beruthie, and of course you, im in love with you too honey ;)

now I'm scared, and slightly excited, actually mostly excited ;)

david_points_1024.jpg

How you do'in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

My rep points are going down quicker than a €5 whore's knickers, would yiz all phuq off and leave me alone :)

dont look at me, i only gave hagar negative points after he gave them to me :)

i didnt even give them to my arch nemesis, Dr Loon!

but i ran out of good karma, so im not giving out any more today :(

but i will be back tomorrow, distributing me free green dots, like so much sugared white powder...

dont look at me, i only gave hagar negative points after he gave them to me :)

i didnt even give them to my arch nemesis, Dr Loon!

Really!!? Well then the rest of ye are a bunch of bástards! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Hagar wrote:
    I didn't do that, I have my standards, they may be low but they are still standards. :p
    Anything I have have to say, good or bad, I'll say it out here. You should see some of the harsh comments I've got as a result of my question. They are worse than the ones you made. :rolleyes:

I never said I had a problem. I think you are mis-interpreting my post. I was just curious as to how the system worked. I didn't understand how mods accumulated so many points so quickly. Personally I don't expect points one way or another as I am a nobody on the boards. The well known contributors, who would have many friends etc., don't seem to be getting up the karma ladder as quickly as the mods.

BTW I am taking your "insults" as tongue-in-cheek and not vitriolic. They're quite good as insults go. :D

And before you comment, I like using smilies. They are a reasonable substitutes for tone of voice.

Well I presumed that my earlier statement suggesting that moderators where around longer would help you here. If they are around longer then they probably have more posts. And post count and/or length of time registered possibly is a factor in how much/little rep a poster can give or receive.

There's also the fact that moderators are genetically superior to mere users as we were grown in vats in UIG using DNA sampling by the nefarious Dr Cloud. It's really quite simple. At least to me, but then I'm very clever.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Funny thing. People bitch and whine about reputation but this thread has the 4th highest view rating on the feedback forum. You know what this means?

Reputation rocks!

If past form is anything to go by I will now be attacked by the bad spelling brigade. Fortunately, as well as being a factor of the length of time you have been on boards, how many points you have etc, the amount of damage you do also seems to be inversely proportional to the amount of spelling mistakes you make in your reputation abuse comments. As I seem to be constantly attacked by muppets with literacy levels less than that of my 6 year old I seem to be doing very well, thank you very much.

Hobbes. You have it exactly. It's a game, enjoy.

Lossers.

MrP

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

DeVore wrote:
    [moderators] have a karma multiplier.

amp wrote:
    Well I presumed that my earlier statement suggesting that moderators where around longer would help you here. If they are around longer then they probably have more posts. And post count and/or length of time registered possibly is a factor in how much/little rep a poster can give or receive.

There's also the fact that moderators are genetically superior to mere users as we were grown in vats in UIG using DNA sampling by the nefarious Dr Cloud. It's really quite simple. At least to me, but then I'm very clever.

Jeez, give away all the secrets why dont you.

you want to tell them that boards.ie is actually run out of cuba while youre at it?

leave some of the mystism man!