Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

i just know im going to win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

No winner tonight, you'll all be glad to hear.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

I'd go for a pint - just one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭ionapaul

neev wrote:
    UPDATE

I didn't win.

Does anyone know anyone who has actually won it? What was it like for them?
    I hate it when people who win say 'it'll never change me, all I'll do is go on a holiday, then back to my job again' - for funks sake, give ME the money in that case, cause it will certainly change my life! I would never work for anyone but myself - managing your investments would be a full-time job, if you did it properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

i play once a year. Played today. Got 3 and the bonus number. No idea what I've won. Im sure it will just about cover my 4 numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭lisa.c

:( man oh man!!! i didnt win. i'm seriously well gutted about it.

if you all try hard enough i'm sure ye can feel my pain..

try now!

did you feel it?

its ok though i just know ill win it next week :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Dancing_Priest

Man , I lost too, I wonder if I can get a refund...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Just means I'll win more on Saturday... Man, that'd be some way to start my holidays...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Man , I lost too, I wonder if I can get a refund...
    "Hi, I bought this ticket from you on Wednesday and it seems to be a dud..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Dancing_Priest

Correction, 32 tickets, How could I possibly have lost!
    I know! I'll buy even more tickets next time , then I'm bound to win :D
    Although Im sure ye all have a chance of winning on saturday.
    He He, Suckers....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Right we need a cunning plan...
    I have it. We'll form a syndicate.
    If you want to join, send a crisp €5 note to me at the address below and I'll organise the buying of the tickets and the sharing out of the winnings.

Hagar the Horrible
    Secure Ward 7
    The Asylum
    Dundrum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Just saw an ad on the telly...

"This weekends Lotto Jackpot is heading for 7 million euros".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I've been hearing ads on the radio here at work all freaking day!

"Rolling, rolling, rolling........"

CHANGE THE ****ING TUNE! It was annoying 2 years ago and every ****ing time there's a rollover............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

As you would all be more than happy with 5 million and the jackpot is actually 7 Million if any of you win can I have the additional 2 million ?

I promise to buy boards their badly needed new server out of my share.

embee wrote:
    I am willing to bet my life that lisa.c didn't win.

Does anyone know if it actually has been won?

Or are we looking at a 6 million jackpot on Saturday.

My uncle won 2 .5 million on it a good few years ago now and it braught him nothing but trouble. So much so that I never do it now. I,m happy enough struggling along from pay day to pay day TBH.

well the feeling is once again upon me... i just know ill win tonite.
    did my numbers yesterday and have been praying since.
    please wish me luck any one who does ill give ye a few quid on monday when i cash in.
    i wont wish any of ye luck as there is no point as im going to win it.

just thinking in the real world now... wouldnt it be really funny if i did actually win it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

The Muppet wrote:
    My uncle won 2 .5 million on it a good few years ago now and it braught him nothing but trouble. So much so that I never do it now. I,m happy enough struggling along from pay day to pay day TBH.
    The Muppet wrote:
    As you would all be more than happy with 5 million and the jackpot is actually 7 Million if any of you win can I have the additional 2 million ?

I don't know about you, but I'm having a slight difficulty reconciling the above two statements...

Care to tell us about the trouble it brought him? Is it anything more severe than problems with the fuel injector on his new speedboat?

impr0v wrote:
    I don't know about you, but I'm having a slight difficulty reconciling the above two statements...

Care to tell us about the trouble it brought him? Is it anything more severe than problems with the fuel injector on his new speedboat?

The first post was in jest the second one is serious. I will decline the offer to discuss his private affairs in detail but they are well known in his local community. I would not consider Problems with his speedboat if he had one as being serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,810 ✭✭✭Calibos

The Muppet wrote:
    The first post was in jest the second one is serious. I will decline the offer to discuss his private affairs in detail but they are well known in his local community. I would not consider Problems with his speedboat if he had one as being serious.

That local community wouldn't be stepaside would it?? :D

Calibos wrote:
    That local community wouldn't be stepaside would it?? :D

No It's down south. I think there are many such stories concerning Lotto winners I think some people just can not cope with the problems suddenly having access to large sums of money brings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Apart from not rushing out and spending it and dealing with greedy relatives/friends, I can't imagine what problems you'd have tbh. Personally I couldn't see any problems if I won it......apart from the non-money related ones I already have of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Can you remain anonymus if you won it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Blisterman wrote:
    Can you remain anonymus if you won it?

eh It's a half hour since the draw? If you're asking that now- we know its u!

GET HIM!!!!!! HE HAS OUR CA$H!!!

But seriously, yeah. You can.

But newspapers have their ways of finding out. A close aquaintance could tell the papers if u don't bribe them enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I won! I won!

Well - 3 and the bonus.

Better than a kick in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

NO JACKPOT WINNER

Heading for well over 7.5 million this Wednesday.

embee wrote:
    NO JACKPOT WINNER

Heading for well over 7.5 million this Wednesday.

It always says that before they put up the small prizes and the numbers of people who have won them. I think it'll take ages for them to really find out if anyone won, because of the amount of tickets sold. Might be another hour or 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

there was one winner according to the site and it wasnt me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I bought €18 worth tkts and I won ....... €18 (3+bonus)!

Based on this result I plan to spend several million on tkts for the next draw and am confident of getting the jackpot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Actual odds in winning are around 5.5million to 1.

Havent bought a ticket since its been getting bigger and bigger. Maybe nobody will win it until I buy a ticket. Might buy a ticket soon.

If you bought all the tickets you could make a profit now. As long as noone else wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

one lucky prick won it in dublin.... bet its some big hob nob with loads of money anyway... miserable git!

sure tis ok!! there's always next week!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

yeah.... €7 million, all to one person (probably, although it might be a syndicate).

Imagine what you could do with €7 million (/me looks to the sky in a daze).

I'd be happy enough if it was someone who could do with money, but if it is an already rich person, they should take the money off them and re-do the lotto!

flogen

daveirl wrote:
    But if it's 5 million to one, then if the jackpots 7 million, you would, since buying all the tickets would cost €5 million

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

The reason why the famous syndicate pulled it off a few years ago even though they didn't manage to buy all possible combinations in time was that...

A. There were only 36 numbers back then meaning the odds where 'only' 2 million to 1 or something. (Thats why the lotto increased the numbers to 42 to make it more expensive to buy all possible combinations)

B. There was a 'special' on for the particular draw in question where match 4's got IR£100. This meant that with all the match 4's they would undoubtably get, they would cover most if not all of there losses, should they have to share the jackpot with anyone. Ordinarily the risk was too great to buy all possible combo's when someone else might share the jackpot meaning your share would not cover your outlay. All those match 4 £100's covered for this eventuality.

They pulled it off too and had the only winning ticket......Bastids!! :D:D

I remember a thread like this, where there was a link to a site which said how much profit you would make if you bought all the tickets to the UK lotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭honeymonster

The odds in getting 7 numbers out of a possible of 42 is 42C7 (i think) which is 1 in 26,978,328 so best a luck in buying all the lotto tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

The odds in getting 7 numbers out of a possible of 42 is 42C7 (i think) which is 1 in 26,978,328 so best a luck in buying all the lotto tickets

Nope!

The odds getting 6 numbers in a LOTTO draw that has 42 numbers is 5,245,786-1

You calculate this by multiplying (42 x 41 x 40 x 39 x 38 x 37) and then dividing your answer by the total of (1 x 2 x 3 x 4 x 5 x 6)

Now considering that for your €1.50 you get 2 panels/lines the odds for anybody winning the Lotto in Ireland is 2,622,893-1

B.

its actually 2 euro min to play thats for two panels and if you include the plus the min is 3 euro....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Pugwash

I was watching a program on the BBC about the lottery over there. At one point in tha show they talked of the odds of winning. 14million to 1 was the odds quoted.

To really put that in prespective, they went to a bookies who gave them the same odds on elvis, flying a UFO and crashing into the lochness monster.

Remember.....It could be you :p

lisa.c wrote:
    its actually 2 euro min to play thats for two panels and if you include the plus the min is 3 euro....

Ooops!! So it is!! :o

BaZmO* wrote:
    Nope!

The odds getting 6 numbers in a LOTTO draw that has 42 numbers is 5,245,786-1

You calculate this by multiplying (42 x 41 x 40 x 39 x 38 x 37) and then dividing your answer by the total of (1 x 2 x 3 x 4 x 5 x 6)

Now considering that for your €1.50 you get 2 panels/lines the odds for anybody winning the Lotto in Ireland is 2,622,893-1

B.

I'm no expert on probability (did pass maths in the leaving!) but when you buy your 2 line minimum play I thought it was 2...1 in 5 million chances you got rather than reducing your odds to 1 in 2,622,893 ie if you bought €1000 worth (1,000 lines) by that rationale you would have reduced the odds to 2622 to 1. Could that be right??

Pugwash wrote:
    I was watching a program on the BBC about the lottery over there. At one point in tha show they talked of the odds of winning. 14million to 1 was the odds quoted.

To really put that in prespective, they went to a bookies who gave them the same odds on elvis, flying a UFO and crashing into the lochness monster.

Remember.....It could be you :p

To really put it into perspective

The shop gets €10,000 for selling a jackpot winner in the main draw (2000 for a lotto plus 1/2 IIRC) One way of looking at all the tickets we sell is that when people are buying their lotto ticket they are kind of entering us in this shop draw too. (Bare with me here :D )

We sell about €3-4000 worth of lotto per draw

So say €4000 x 2 draws per week x 52 weeks a year x 15 years = 6,240,000

People have spent €6,240,000 in our shop over the last 15 years to help us win that €10,000. We've sold '1' maindraw winner and 1 lotto plus 1 winner in those 15 years. I wonder has our shop beaten the odds...are we ahead :D:D

On a sidenote, when we sold the maindraw winning ticket the shop prize was actually IR£5000 back then. Just our luck there was '6' winning tickets that draw. The most shares ever in a jackpot before or since. The shop prize was split between the 6 shops too so we ended up with 833 punts. I don't know who was more disappointed, the jackpot winner who realised he/she was getting 166,000 quid instead of 1 million or us who realised we were getting 833 quid instead of 5,000 :D:D:D

The lotto plus win isn't shared so we got the full €2,000 :D No one ever claimed the €300,000 win that we sold so it went back into the pot 3 months later!!

unfortunately, we all dont have a cornershop entitling us to enter this magical shop draw.

imho, playing the lotto is a complete waste of time and money, no matter what the odds. Some may argue that it serves a purpose as it grants funds to worthy causes but i dont feel that the lotto should be patted on the back for supplying support to needy groups which is done in an infinately more effective way by registered charities.

As we all know, there are frequent winners of the lotto jackpot and nine times out of ten, they dont have a system, theyre not out to beat the odds, their win is completely random.

For the shops and the lottery these odds are irrelivant. no matter what the outcome, its a great little money-spinner for the organisation and its agents.

As you said Calimos, your shop stood to make a net revenue of 6,240,000 approx from sold tickets over those fifteen years. the 10,000 win bonus is completely miniscule in comparison.

In the early ninties, the lottery increased the ammount of selectable numbers. The ad campaign was figureheaded by Jack Charlton who phraised the lenghtening of the ridiculous odds as making the game "more interesting" :rolleyes:

The only individuals who had their interests genuinely boosted were the lotto and their agents. They have taken the principals of the casino (ie. the house always wins) and homogenised the image by making it available in such "everyday" locations as the supermarket and the newsagent.

Personally, I find playing the lotto completely redundent.The fact of the matter is that it could be you, but, its always them who hit the jackpot.

Pugwash wrote:

The only individuals who had their interests genuinely boosted were the lotto and their agents. They have taken the principals of the casino (ie. the house always wins) and homogenised the image by making it available in such "everyday" locations as the supermarket and the newsagent.

Shops don't have anywhere remotely near the margin casinos have! Shops only make 6% on every ticket sold. The purpose is to get ya into the shop for yer lotto and you'll want to get them milk and the paper there at the same time too kinda thing.

Wow, 36c made on the average ticket of €6, which 85% of people go for.

Calios makes 24 grand from it a year profit. He obviously has a massive shop. But its not a massive figure compared to costs then. I'm sure a big shop has huge overheads.

I think you misunderstood my point Pugwash. My point was to illustrate that the odds are so small of a win that even after people spending approximately 6,000,000 in our shop on lotto over the last 15 years we still 'ONLY' sold 2 winners. The shop draw part of my point was just kind of illustrative of how if you forget about the actual lotto for a minute and imagine people spent 6,000,000 on tickets to enter us in a 10,000 euro draw, that we only won it twice in the last 15 years. I wasn't saying, "go on, buy a ticket and give us the shop win of 10,000 on top of our commission" etc etc

As far as I'm concerned its worth 3 quid a draw for the dream but I wouldn't personally spend more unless it was a big jackpot like last week. Even then I only spent 6. I hate to see people spending even 20 quid a week on it. You just aren't shortening your odds enough by doing even 20 a week. I'm not sure if its my place to censure people for excessive lottery expenditure and I certainly never say anything to people buying lotto because that €60 they might spend might be on behalf of a syndicate rather than a misguided attempt to shorten their odds or win themselves out of financial problems, but I certainly on many occasions have tried to steer people out the door with a few quid left in their pocket who have been scratching and buying and scratching and buying scratch cards in the shop for the last 10 minutes. I'll say thing like, " Ah sure your luck isn't in today, give up while your ahead buddy" etc etc rather than what I actually think, ie "FFS, you have an addiction there mate, cop yourself on" etc

Also my figures in the last post aren't exact because for example there have only been 2 draws a week for half of the lotteries life for example, lotto plus only came in 5 years ago, the price of a line has gone up over the years etc etc. IIRC we get 5% commission (I'd have to check with the 'oul lad') So even if our lotto turnover was actually 6 million over 15 years, our cut was 300,000 ie 20,000 a year.

Just saw aphex's post who made some of my points ahead of me!

Were actually a small corner shop. The shop floor is about 20'x25' or something, but we do have a decent sized catchment area which would be why our lotto revenues would be a good size. For all I know taking the change in draw frequencies and price of ticket changes etc that I mentioned above, our revenues could be 4.5 million or they could be 7.5. Must try and check that out with the oul lad if the figures are handy.

Whatever about whether our shop beat the odds by selling 2 winners out of 6 million quid, there is another shop in the town (since closed) who I have on good authority only sold about 3-400 quid a 'week' worth of tickets. They've sold 3 winners as far as I know. They defo beat the odds!! All maindraw, so the shop prize was IR£5000 and then €10,000 and their winning tickets were all single winners so they didn't have to split the shop prize with other shops either like we did. Based on his lotto revenues for all I know the oul fella who owned that shop probably made more money in the shop winners prizes over the years than he actually made in lotto sales commission!! :D:D....Bastid!! :D:D

Calibos wrote:
    I'm no expert on probability (did pass maths in the leaving!) but when you buy your 2 line minimum play I thought it was 2...1 in 5 million chances you got rather than reducing your odds to 1 in 2,622,893 ie if you bought €1000 worth (1,000 lines) by that rationale you would have reduced the odds to 2622 to 1. Could that be right??

You are right, I had my hung over head on was I said that! :o

It does only give you 2no. 1 in 5 million chances.

Me so silly!

Shops don't have anywhere remotely near the margin casinos have! Shops only make 6% on every ticket sold.

If that is the case with the shops, fine, profits are not a huge issue. However I do stand by the fact that the lotto (esp. scratchcards) is a homogenised form of casino gambling.

As you said yourself Aphex, the shops do not make a huge profit, I accept that, but the money has to go somewhere. In essence, my problem is with the lottery itself who imo are exploiting people and making money hand over fist. The 6 odd million mentioned has to go somewhere ie. the lotto. This sum is from just one agent too.

Essentially lads, my problem is with the lotto's operations, attitude and marketing. I didnt mean to tar shopkeepers with the same brush. I do find it obscene that that ammount of cash is relayed to the lottery, most of which is from the pockets of people who would not consider themselves gamblers though they spend quite a sizable ammount on tickets per year.

The fact that tickets are available in newsagents has people under the illusion that gambling and "playing the lotto" are two completely different things. That is what i find the most unsettling as people who may feel a bit guilty about having a €15 flutter on the horses wouldnt particularly mind losing that much playing the lotto.

The truth is that I had a friend who was extremely addicted to scratchcards and this was a fella who has never stepped foot inside a bookie's doors. That turned me off the lotto for life and made me see beyond the whole PR front/charity vacade.

I agree to an extent with all your points Pugwash. Like I said in the last post, when I get someone in buying a rake of scratches, then buying more with his winnings if he even won anything I am saying FFS mate to myself and often end up trying to persuade them to keep their money in their pocket.

I think most people are reasonably sensible about it though and don't spend anymore than they can afford. Unfortunately as with everything there are some people with addictive personalities who take it to extremes eg. Booze. We can't ban the booze just because 'some' drink themselves into oblivion.