Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert Discos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭SeanOM

Raphael wrote:
    The subject had moved on you know. and it's spelt fuck

Oh, and on-topic, I think most discos are crap, CTYI ones are good though.

Thats just because my taste in music tends towards rock, which is rarely played at discos outside CTYI. So, I won't be going out wednesday night.

Also, I hate most people in my town. Funny that
    Thats Really Sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Plunky

SeanOM wrote:
    Thats Really Sad

That's far from friendly

• Registered Users Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Plunky wrote:
    FINALLY someone hits the nail on the head. Well done to you aonghus! I was worried that I'd have to post a hugh jass rant here, which i really didn't wanna have to do considering I start uni tomorrow.. What has happened to CTYI? Last time I was there, 2 years ago, it was CTYI, where people didn't GO to discos, and didnt care that people looked down on them. Hell, I didn't go anywhere for my JC night, and for my LC night I went to a fellow CTYIzen's house party! (Non-alcoholic, of course). That's another thing. CTYI has never been about drinking, we're meant to be too smart for all that underage stuff, but the past two reunions I've graced have been tainted by drunken antics. Not cool guys. CTYI discos are unparallelled. They are the zenith of the discoing world. They are the most social fun you can have in a dark room with music so loud that you can't talk (the definition of anti-social, no?..) Now if you don't mind I'm off to muse about the hole it seems CTYI has dug itself into thanks to teenyboppers and paint my nails before tomorrow...

~Eoin

I agree. I rarely go to discos, the music is ****e(I also like rock music, never played at discos, I mean do they actually think we like britney spears....*shudders*, but it can be fun the odd time, if you choose to ignore the music. ;) )
    as for drinking, I dont drink. Its sad the way others have to ruin things for the rest of us by drinking, and its sad that they feel the need to drink at all.
    and not all us newer ctyi-ers are teenyboppers....like myself(I only have been at ctyi once so far, and I'm 15 now, only a year left :( ), I am definitely NOT a teenybopper.

Well I'm glad there are some of the rare left.. Does Vinny still talk about the Precious Few?.. you are they, enjoy the individuality...

Plunky wrote:
    Well I'm glad there are some of the rare left.. Does Vinny still talk about the Precious Few?.. you are they, enjoy the individuality...

thanking you.
    *bows* ;)

*notices the avoidance of mentioning Vinny* He's still the archaeology instructor, no?..

Plunky wrote:
    *notices the avoidance of mentioning Vinny* He's still the archaeology instructor, no?..

hes the guy that gave us the archaelogy lecture type thingy during a time when there should have been activities...hence anger, bitterness, and a dislike for mentioning his name. (joke)
    actually the lecture thing was hilarious.

hes the guy that gave us the archaelogy lecture type thingy during a time when there should have been activities...hence anger, bitterness, and a dislike for mentioning his name. (joke)
    actually the lecture thing was hilarious.

Vinny's lectures were invariably funny! never did archaeology but we did get those time-filling ones, and a couple of my friends were in his course. madness.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

everyone remembers vinny - someone should erect a statue for him under the phallus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

Raphael wrote:
    The subject had moved on you know. and it's spelt fuck

Oh, and on-topic, I think most discos are crap, CTYI ones are good though.

Thats just because my taste in music tends towards rock, which is rarely played at discos outside CTYI. So, I won't be going out wednesday night.

Also, I hate most people in my town. Funny that

I hate to be the one to break it to you but going to discos / clubs / raves / whatever is not really about the music. I know people who have barely listened to anyone except Jimmy Hendrix and Deep Purple in their entire life and have gone to Godskitchen or Creamfields and had a good laugh.

Sure, music is important and everyone has their own taste but discos, etc. are about socialising and having some fun with real people. And you'd be hard pushed to find a girl who can dance sexily to "random Opeth / Slayer / whatever" song whereas when Milkshake comes on you can bet your life there will be some fine girls dancing a fine dance. The corollary of this is that no straight guy can dance well so you dancing and looking like a twat is both normal and expected - the "good" dancers are about as good as you (i.e. crap) the difference being they have confidence.

So go out on Junior night, get locked if you're so inclined and have a good night because however insignificant the Junior Cert. is in the grand scheme of things it's still the only Junior night you'll ever have so make it memorable.

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭purplepolkadot

right imagine this situation: you're at a disco, you're not into seán paul or beyoncé...what do you you? what would jesus do?
    HAVE A WORD WITH THE DJ.
    i work in a club of the night variety (*polishes medal*) and all the DJ's we have, and all the DJ's in every night club i've ever been in are all the friendliest of the friendly, so REQUEST SONGS YOU LIKE. if they have them, chances are THEY'LL PLAY THEM.
    why?
    cos it's their job.

stop knocking drink. there's nothing wrong with drinking as long as you're not a tit who's gonna end up puking/pregnant/drugged/getting their stomach pumped. the key words us young 'uns miss in our minds when we go out are pace, limit, and moderation.

Plunky wrote:
    Vinny's lectures were invariably funny! never did archaeology but we did get those time-filling ones, and a couple of my friends were in his course. madness.

I didnt do archaeology either...I did legal studies!(hell yeah and all that!)
    but the lecture was funny.
    all hail vinny!
    but I still would have preferred to have had activities...uni hoc (a little reminder for you all..Students 11-5 Staff!)

right imagine this situation: you're at a disco, you're not into seán paul or beyoncé...what do you you? what would jesus do?
    HAVE A WORD WITH THE DJ.
    i work in a club of the night variety (*polishes medal*) and all the DJ's we have, and all the DJ's in every night club i've ever been in are all the friendliest of the friendly, so REQUEST SONGS YOU LIKE. if they have them, chances are THEY'LL PLAY THEM.
    why?
    cos it's their job.

stop knocking drink. there's nothing wrong with drinking as long as you're not a tit who's gonna end up puking/pregnant/drugged/getting their stomach pumped. the key words us young 'uns miss in our minds when we go out are pace, limit, and moderation.

and when you find yourself in the situation where the DJ doesnt bother his arse? what do you do then, coz thats what tends to happen...
    and as for knocking drink...adults drinking is obviously fine and all, as they usually know their limits and its legal. underage drinking is obviously illegal, people DONT know their limits usually and most times just drink as a result of peer pressure. I mean, would they jump off a bridge if their friends did?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

OrangeRhino: As mentioned, I hate the majority of people in my area, as I live in a skanger infested ****hole. So in additions to not liking the music, the social aspect is hell as well for me. Also, dancing sexily with random girls is not something I'm interested in, because I'm in a long distance relationship. So wheras I can enjoy moshing, I can't enjoy dancing to other music as much. I intend on staying home, and perhaps conversing with my real friends, ie the ones from CTYi, via phone and internet

purplepolkadot: The problem invariably, is that A. the DJ will play the music most people want, and B. he won't have cd's with metal. Not where I'm from anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭mentalimplosion

anyone else hear that wesley wednesday night is oversold?...

BY NINE HUNDRED TICKETS? makes me glad i'm not going.

my night shall most likely involve the wizard of oz, pink floyd, copious amounts of.... -eh, moving on-...., my best friends, a short dress, dragonstea din tei and summerjam 2003.

SeanOM wrote:
    Thats Really Sad
    Care to be a bit more specific than that Sean, or have you hit the limits of your vocabulary?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I have a plan - i'm gonna go from offlicense to offlicense on JC night taking money for alcohol then legging it. i'll make a fortune :D

Good plan neil, very good plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭LiamD

Raphael wrote:
    OrangeRhino: As mentioned, I hate the majority of people in my area, as I live in a skanger infested ****hole. So in additions to not liking the music, the social aspect is hell as well for me. Also, dancing sexily with random girls is not something I'm interested in, because I'm in a long distance relationship. So wheras I can enjoy moshing, I can't enjoy dancing to other music as much. I intend on staying home, and perhaps conversing with my real friends, ie the ones from CTYi, via phone and internet

purplepolkadot: The problem invariably, is that A. the DJ will play the music most people want, and B. he won't have cd's with metal. Not where I'm from anyway...
    Mr. Sociable over here.Sean's rite that is sad

I have a social life. It is largely over MSN, AIM and of course, these boards

Neil you genius! my friend got a fifty stolen that way! damn your TCD smartness (see what Orts is doing to me after one day?!)

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Zounds

Raphael wrote:
    I have a social life. It is largely over MSN, AIM and of course, these boards

jesus man, you need to get a life :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Are the rumours that Wesley won't be open for Junior Cert night true? If so why not?

yes, the Wezz was cancelled. It was on the news. Are you blind? The setanta was also cancelled (it lost its license, but they were going to re open it for results night)

Basically, all thats on is the leixlip no name (near me)

We got a letter AND a visit from the guards about ditch-drinking. *giggles*

That would involve moving house

uhm, considering I'm talking to him right now it seems he is definitely alive, thus having a life.. I ALWAYS win on Technicalities! And aren't people who slate others supposed to be bitched at by the mods?..

Only if they're from cork and/or like Dance music :p

Plunky wrote:
    uhm, considering I'm talking to him right now it seems he is definitely alive, thus having a life.. I ALWAYS win on Technicalities! And aren't people who slate others supposed to be bitched at by the mods?..

winning on technicalities is fun...it confuses people so much.....

Yes and also pisses them off, cuz technically you're right!

Yeah, that and logic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭incredula pert

and when you find yourself in the situation where the DJ doesnt bother his arse? what do you do then, coz thats what tends to happen...
    and as for knocking drink...adults drinking is obviously fine and all, as they usually know their limits and its legal. underage drinking is obviously illegal, people DONT know their limits usually and most times just drink as a result of peer pressure. I mean, would they jump off a bridge if their friends did?

I agree with Bob, going to a Club isn't always about appreciating the music, you go to a gig for that, but its about socialising. If you close yourself off from things, you'll never know. You sound somewhat bitter raphael, if you go in with an attitude like that..OBVISOULY you're not going to have a good time. The only person who is missing out here is you. Have fun staying in on Junior Cert night, if you're going to stay in Fair enough. But i mean, you may as well go out, its better than staying in by yourself.

It really gets to when people lecture other people about drinking, its their own choice. And you, frankly have no right to get up on your high horse and state whats right, and whats wrong for other people to do. If you don't agree with it, don't do it.
    And as for 'adults usually know their limits' You know how adults learn their limits? From previous experiences of drinking. When you turn 18, you don't suddenly know when to stop - its not aout what age you are, its about what experience you have. Some people are just more respnsible than others. I'm not saying everyone should run out and get drunk in order to know their limits, but to say that adults usually know their limits and therefore its bettr for them to drink is a hollow argument, since they usally leaned their limits from drinking as a teen.

And no, most tennagers wouldn't jump off a bridge if their friends did. :rolleyes: