Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dangerous driving - update

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Osku-82 wrote:
    The law applies to everyone. If you do 99, you will be punished. It doesn't matter where you do. I hope your fine will increase. How do you know if something went wrong in that speed? You can't be sure about that in open traffic. That's why there's closed traffic for all you teen or inexperienced drivers with "fast" BMW's or Golf GTis... This thing you did is very serious, this kind of driving leads to many deaths. But the worst thing is when a rich kid destroys a fancy car, like a Porsche or an Audi! :mad:

1. Closed and open traffic wtf?
    2. The 99 mph is great/ok/evil was done to death in the previous thread to this and ended up with it being closed.
    3. From memory it was a 1.6 HiAndDry Lantra or similar.
    4. You realise this was in ireland right? - there arent many teens who can legally afford to drive a porsche or even Audi/Beemers.
    5. Noone's suggested yer man was experienced, or inexperienced come to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Osku-82 wrote:
    If you do 99, you will be punished.

If you do 99, it should be proven beyond reasonable doubt that you did before you are punished, that's what is being discussed.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Does the charge of dangerous driving specify that it was just speeding @ 99mph? If not then couldn't this be twisted if the case looks dodgy to be that he was driving with no hands on the wheel etc or on the phone or whatever?

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Tenshot

Not directly relevant to the case at hand, but: a guy in Minnesota was just ticketed for doing 205 mph on his racing bike... that's 140 mph over the posted limit.

He got off with a fine of $115, apparently...

More details here...

The actual speeding ticket can be found here.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,396 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Boggle wrote:
    Its dangerous driving because he was going 99mph, no other reason. If they cant prove (written copy) the speed he was doing then its not dangerous driving.
    My point being the printed evidence thing is a requirement for a speeding conviction, but is it a requirement for a dangerous driving conviction?

Regarding calibration, there is a presumption that it is calibrated correctly. Would you have Garda Technical Bureau have their tape measures calibrated?

If he's doing 99mph* (which I don't thing anyone here is justifying as acceptable) or 105mph or 92mph, that is prima facie dangerous driving. And there is the fact the driver didn't realise he was doing that speed. And he wasn't observant enough to see the speed check.

*159kmh on a road that was probably designed for 120kmh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

Victor, what I meant was that their case for dangerous driving is based solely on excessive speed. This speed was measured with a gun and therefore is subject to the usual rules with regard to speed measurement. Point of note - if speeding (in general) is not regarded as dangerous driving then why is it an offence?????
    Regarding calibration, there is a presumption that it is calibrated correctly. Would you have Garda Technical Bureau have their tape measures calibrated?
    Electronic equipment cannot, under any circumstances, ever be assumed to be calibrated correctly. Any electronic equipment must be calibrated at regular intervals and something so slight as any slight bump or knock could put them off. You wouldn't believe how much measurement euipment can drift over a short space of time. Even carrying something like a mobile phone could have messed up the reading completely as they screw up most electronic devices.

Do they have garda issue tape measures???? Gott get me one....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

damo wrote:
    .... surrounded on all sides by the dregs of arklows society, at one stage i felt id scream if i saw another greasy little knacker with a gold earring, white baseball cap, cheap tracksuit and a large scar going across his face.

Thats rich coming from someone who lives in Dublin!

You got what you deserve... cant believe you're complaining. Doesnt matter if you're a boy-racer or not. Doing 99 on any road is against the law and you know it... doesnt matter what type of road it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Victor wrote:
    If thats the case why are the Uk police required to get their equipment calibrated at regular intervals?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

If thats the case why are the Uk police required to get their equipment calibrated at regular intervals?
    Different laws basically! Ours basically state that equipment is perfect and serviced 'regularly' and if you think its wrong then prove it (but you're not getting near the equipment by the way!).

• Registered Users Posts: 78,396 ✭✭✭✭Victor

But the Garda also calibrate their equipment at regular intervals. So whats your point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Victor wrote:
    But the Garda also calibrate their equipment at regular intervals. So whats your point?
    That such calibrations cannot be challenged or checked by the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭conor-mr2

Just curious but whats the response from the Gardai when asked can they be checked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Conor-Mr2 wrote:
    Just curious but whats the response from the Gardai when asked can they be checked?
    They would probably tell you that there is a presumption that the device is working properly. Then followed by a "sod off".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Conor-Mr2 wrote:

They will ignore the request. Because they can.