Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the perils of online poker: a beginner's tale

Options
  • 20-09-2004 1:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

I played my first real money poker this weekend, on partypoker.com. I'm pretty new to poker, came to a SNG at the Fitz and enjoyed that, but figured I've a lot to learn still, so thought I'd try this out.

So I started playing a few hold 'em .50c/$1 games. I had $50 (the minimum deposit allowed) on the bankroll, of which I took $25 to my first table. Well things went pretty well, I was aggressively raising my good hands and pretty soon my $25 had become $58. Sure I was getting some good hands, but I think I played everything pretty well. I looked at the cashier page and saw that I had $83 in total, which I could withdraw any time. Nice, I thought.

Then things started to go wrong. Having played properly, a fairly tight but aggressive game, I started to get lax. Thinking that I'd already made some money, I played hands like K3o every time I could, and I tried to bully people out of pots, and before I knew it that $58 was down to $30. I decided to switch tables and try my luck elsewhere.

Again, playing pretty well I broke even for a while, then fluked a straight and ended up exactly $50, breaking even after a solid 3 hours' play. I felt good; after all, it was my first game and it had ended ok.