Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

second BB connection

• 20-09-2004 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭

Ok I saw a similar thread but I'm not that good with computers so thought I'd ask again as my situation is slightly different. Our family pc has eircom broadband, with normal modem. I'll be getting free iBook from college so I was wondering if we could somehow cheaply have me able to use my laptop in another room on BB while main pc still has it? Thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭PhoenixRising

Get a wireless router and make sure your laptop has a wireless network card. Simple as that. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭Ripwave

Ok I saw a similar thread but I'm not that good with computers so thought I'd ask again as my situation is slightly different. Our family pc has eircom broadband, with normal modem. I'll be getting free iBook from college so I was wondering if we could somehow cheaply have me able to use my laptop in another room on BB while main pc still has it? Thanks
    How long have you had eircom broadband? For almost a year now, eircom has been supplying a modem with 2 interfaces, Ethernet and USB. If you have one of these Netopia Cayman modems, and the PC is connected via the USB connection, then you can simpley plug the Mac into the ethernet port on the modem.

If the PC is using the ethernet port, then you should probably get a simple ethernet switch for about €20 and share the connection. (You could probably use the USB connection, but I woulodn't recommend it).