Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any words of wisdom?

• 27-09-2004 5:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭

Okay, for all you seasoned veterans of TCD, have you got any last minute tips or gems of wisdom for us freshers? If you could do it all again, what would you do different? etc etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

Stay away from fast cars, loose women and SALT... god I hate that stupid ad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Haunter

Nice topic idea, any advice appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

nice advice precarious....very,,, er 'helpfull' (though you are just a fresher yourself..)

Advice ermmm, don't bother join'n socities/club's u won't goto(unless lotsa free booze so u can drink back what u pay to join...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Make sure you take time to have fun and try as many different things (sports, societies, drinks, strange sexual practises, hair colours) as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

Socialise and make friends. The quicker you do this the better. Its a very important part of college. College can be quite lonely if you don't know anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Yeah very very true david! Sooner the better.. Everyone is in the same boat and people are only open to fit into a group very early on.
    -Also go to and do absolutely everything you can (ive said this before) during freshers week. Must have been one of the best weeks in my life..
    -Join VdeP, it doesn't cost anything, they don't bother you and it's a good charity..
    -Don't be worried about beginning a new sport. All the clubs cater for beginners and experienced..
    -The pav is great..
    -The buttery is rarely good..
    -The pav staff despise snobbyness in all forms, rough up your accent, be very courtious, grateful and it'll be repayed 10 fold over your four years..
    -The buttery staff can be ignorant (not all of them but a definite few).
    -The JCR is a student run (I think SU owned?) deli kinda place with a few pool tables located next to Pierce st station. Its got a really hippy feel to it, very comfortable, good priced food and coffee too..
    -During the spring and summer months expect many many tourists, esp round front square. It's almost impossible not be in somones photo of the camponile while traversing across those cobblestones...
    -You can renew your library books online.
    -Expect rag-week to be crap (bar the iron stomach comp), but you should still drink schnapps in (populated) lectures and cans on the hamilton couches..
    -Buy all your stationary (at the beginning of the year) in Reads on nassau street, it's dirt cheap and they have everything.
    -If in need of extra cash you can prostitute yourself to the psych department (ceilingfan is their guineapig) and or certain biological studies. Another option is to email sujobs@tcd.ie with the title and message "subscribe" to get regular emails of jobs and vacancies which are usually nearby or in trinity.
    DO: Make lifetime friends..
    DON'T: Eat yellow snow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

If in need of extra cash you can prostitute yourself to the psych department (ceilingfan is their guineapig) and or certain biological studies.

Ooooooooooh, I LIKE the sound of this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

i'm intrigued bout the psych department thing apex, remind me to ask you about that again sometime.

Ah there is emails going around all the time about stuff like that, was a big blood study done last yr....

As far as the blood study where they needed thousands of "subjects", yeah there is plenty of notice. When it comes to the majority of the psych thingys, they tend to use a selected few people and don't advertise much. You need to infiltrate yourself onto their list. It's mostly postgrad who do it and they talk to eachother. Often you'll need to do a few free ones to get into the money ones. Ask ceilingfan tho, he's very proud of being a lab-rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Check the back of toilet doors for psych experiments (but please note, the stickers looking for rent boys aren't psych related, you'd want to be REALLY desperate to be a rent boy).

Also, try to get as many freshers packs as humanly possible, they contain lots of free goodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

Woah!
    Lots to take on board there.
    Few friends on mine started in UCD a while ago (unfortunately didnt get into Trinity with me) and they got really cool free stuff. Not just a few sweets n stuff, they got absolutely bags of stuff. Is trinity the same?
    Oh and for all the societies they joined, they got a little card and most of them ahd stuff on the back like free entry into Coyote/bondi beach/red box etc. do we get those kinda things too?

yep yep and yep, alot of the free goodies are supplied by boi and aib when u open a student account(free) , most people then (like me) never use one of the accounts again, but don't matter still get yer free stuff.....

Did aib give out the little pig's last year? those yokes were kewl ;)

Yeah, apparently UCD Arts students got USB pen drives (128MB I think) to store their data, which is pretty cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭sleepingbeauty

Did aib give out the little pig's last year? those yokes were kewl
    yup i got one last year and yeah they are sooooo cool

hrm my only advice would be to only join socs that youre actually gonna go to during the year...i joined so many last yr i cant even remember 1/2 of them (a lot of the reasons for joining them were a lot of free stuff and hot guys asking me to join.....)

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Maoltuile

Pet wrote:
    Yeah, apparently UCD Arts students got USB pen drives (128MB I think) to store their data, which is pretty cool.

Not as cool as those Freshers in the US who got iPods ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

i thought freshers week in tcd last year was a bit scabby compared to UCD. i only managed to get one chocolate bar and a can of orange. the societies only really gave out lollies, where do you go to get cheap discounts into clubs?not that its going to be much use if all nightclubs are going to be closing at 1.30am from now on.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭strawberry

Go on an Erasmus year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

Maoltuile wrote:
    Not as cool as those Freshers in the US who got iPods ;-)

Free iPods yeah and they only had to pay like 40 grand of fees

Lol thats a good point. An ipod is the least you'd expect.

Hehe, that's a good point actually. One good thing about rip-off Ireland - education is decent and cheap (ish).

Pet wrote:
    Hehe, that's a good point actually. One good thing about rip-off Ireland - education is decent and cheap (ish).

At the moment anyway...

Well if mary harney becomes education minister it'll stay that way for the moment.. A fianna fail minister of ed'll mess it up for us..

I-Pods? aw thats so cool! but I'll settle for a lollipop too, :D im very easy 2 please

ipods are cool, but for 40grand i'd be expecting a laptop for all freshers.... like ipod's are hardly the most achademic thing...unless ye install linux on it i spose...

Chick wrote:
    I-Pods? aw thats so cool! but I'll settle for a lollipop too, :D im very easy 2 please
    Well that's good to know. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Haunter

Chick wrote:
    Guess who's getting an ironing board cover for Christmas...

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭sleepingbeauty

the societies only really gave out lollies, where do you go to get cheap discounts into clubs?
    well i thought it was the societies who gave them out to me last year, but i guess i could be wrong

as for lollipops, it was great getting loads free last year and im not so easy to please :D hehe

no, no more ironing board covers!
    LOL@pet, but its true tho, id better get my lollipop after all this!