Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

should i get a new car battery ?!?

• 29-09-2004 3:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭

should i get a new car battery ?!?

I just recently installed some neon lights under the footwells (just for my own amusment nothing tacky) and im finding my battery runs dry if the engine is not on fairly quickly i had to get jumpers today to get it working after leaving the lights on and running a lighter powered torch while i was messing about with something last night for a while. Now i know i should get a new one but if i just be carefull not to run too much electical stuff while the engine is off will i be ok not replacing it ?!?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

a) neon is tacky, full stop!
    b) lights shouldn't really be on if the engine isn't running as the battery can drain out fairly quickly.
    I would remove the neon lights and the problem should go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

they look really cool (i also set a switch to turn them off so i only put them on when i want) suppose its just a matter of taste and i probably dont have any :o)

I suppose the better question is how long should i be able to run on a the battery i used to have a cd changer in my old micra (im starting to sound like a right boy racer here) for ages no problem but with my 206 the head unit with no changer seems to be able to drain the battery very quickly id say if i was cleaning the car or something after an hour the battery will drain out so am i expecting too much or am i right in thinking its the battery thats just knackered ?!? And again if i just be carefull will the charge in the battery stay or is this something thats only going to get much worse ?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

not really experienced with the ins and outs of motors but if u find yur battery is running out of charge quickly after its recharged then yeah its prolly time for a battery change but in fairness as for changing it... thats yur own opinion... if u find that getting up in the morning to a flat battery is not a problem then fire away :)

also an hour running a cd player shouldnt drain yur battery... something has to be wrong there unless u are a boi racer and have yur boot taken up with the speakers :)

and neon is very very very very very very (to inifinty) tacky.... heh heh...

oh and im not sure about car batteries but dont tractor batteries need to be topped up with water??? are car batteries the same

most modern car batteries are sealed nowadays

ah fair enuf :) just me mates tractor died on him the other week cos he forgot to top up the battery.

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Fionn101

sounds like you battery is a bit knackered , get a new one , the lights just speed up the process.

Also did you get the neon tubes (Bad idea) or simply a light with a coloured coating (much better, and less of a drain )

hope that helps

disclaimer : no I don't have neon tubes in my motor.

ah fair enuf :) just me mates tractor died on him the other week cos he forgot to top up the battery.
    I think modern car batteries are generally sealed for life because most people would not know where the battery is in their car never mind how to maintain it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Kristok, you don't have to justify your use of neons - there are lots of Hyundai drivers on Boards.ie who think they have an opinion :-P

Neither the neons or the stereo will flatten the battery if it is healthy and most tyre/battery fitters can check the health of the battery in minutes and tell you to replace it or not - sometimes an overnight on a decent trickle charger can recover them.

Its no harm getting someone to confirm that your alternator is supplying sufficient charge voltage to make sure that your new battery will last - otherwise you are only masking the problem.

'ceptr

PS Have you SEEN what some nerds put in the cases of their computers over on the comp forum and then have the nerve to slag car modders. Hmmmph.

Neither the neons or the stereo will flatten the battery if it is healthy and most tyre/battery fitters can check the health of the battery in minutes and tell you to replace it or not - sometimes an overnight on a decent trickle charger can recover them.
    but in his original post he mentioned that it drains the battery when the engine isn't on. I assume that it isn't an alternator problem and he just needs to get into the habit of not leaving lights on when the car is not running!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Have a good look at the battery. If it's the original and your car is more than about 4/5 yrs old it could well need replacing. If it's not the original, have a look for an engraving on the battery itself or a sticker with the date, may be only 4 digit such as 1203 = mmyy.

If you do have to replace the battery and you want to run extra electrical equipment the motor factors may be able to supply a heavier duty battery that still fits safely in the battery compartment.

If you want neons go right ahead, personally I wouldn't, but I do enjoy looking at other peoples. Is that a form of "neon pórn" ? :D

PS Have you SEEN what some nerds put in the cases of their computers over on the comp forum and then have the nerve to slag car modders. Hmmmph.

Come off that :) pc modding is nothing compared to idiots in baseball caps driving around in the worlds shiniest and loudest fiesta (with the fiesta and ford sign removed) with daft massive low profiles (who needs a tight turning circle??), probably a spoiler (in their minds for better down force...snigger) most likely tinted windows and a plastic thingy obscuring half the windscreen which either reminds the driver what make of car he is driving/where he bought his mod parts or states no fear (no fear of being taken seriously?)

while on the other hand ye have a pc modder who takes his pc and makes it look good (usually)... so car modding makes a respectable car look daft while pc modding takes a boring pc and makes it look good...

sorry that had nothing to do with the topic at hand but it made me feel good to get that off me chest :)

each to their own & beauty is in the eye of the beholder and all that I guess!

yeah true but if they saved the money they spend on bits of plastic to superglue to their car they could probably end up buying a nice car.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,299 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sorry about going off topic, but...

It really depends, I think. As most cars have computers in them, such as my dad's car, which had its internal computer firware updated, and tweaked, so that it goes faster, and the brakes work easier.
    As for the PC users upgrading their systems, some do ot to make their cars go faster, and some cut a hole in the side to show off the insides.
    With cars, people upgrade whats inside them, which usually makes it go faster, and handle the roads better (wider tires), but some of the muppets putting alot of gear on it to make it look nice, and not improving the actual internal body annoys me. If you've got enough money to put in neon's, you've enough money to improve your engine. And no, I've not too much of an idea with cars.
    Question; can you modify your engine much by tweaking the cars computer?

Whats this about alternator ?!? i am having probs with my fan belt mechanic replaced it for me and said the alternator might need replacing (is that just like a bit of a screw cause its all he seemed to show me)

Surly if it works when the car is on then the alternator is providing electric to the battery no ?!?

Ps. the_syco if you modify the car engine i think you need to have guards or someone aprove it and inform your insurance (resulting in higher insurance id imagine) or else it illegal, if im wrong someone can correct me (soon followed by me getting a very loud and pointless air filter)

my limited understanding is: alternator is a car dynamo... if thats ****ed or not supplying power as it should then its not charging yur battery properly.... hence yur battery probs. when u say"is that like a bit of a screw cause its all he seemed to show me" u dont know what an alternator looks like here ya go, the the yoke with the goldy colored fins... least thats what i think an alternator is... anyone feel free to correct if im wrong
    new_alternator_bracket_fitted.jpg

on what basis did the mech say it needed replacing Kristok?
    Canis is correct - it is the yoke with the gold fan. A drive belt like that shown in the photo is tensioned by the alternator in most cars. If you look closely, there is a bracket beside the top right corner of the gold fan, partially covered by the belt. Loosening the retaining screw on this allows you to adjust the position of the alternator, thus the tension of the belt. Are you sure this isn't whet he meant (but if so why didn't he do it?)
    Many problems with alternators are usually bushings or something small inside it which are cheap enough to replace - a much cheaper option than replacing the whole unit. Open the golden pages and look for a specialist!

kbannon, the fan belt had come loose three times once i got it fixed during a service the next time i called out the aa and they fixed it then when it happened again a mecanic replaced the belt as he thought that was what was causing it as it was a bit old and had small cracks which he said could be causing it to strech. He said if it happened again that the part of the alternator that you adjust (he just showed me some sort of screw from what i could see) was frayed and was also possible as a cause but said i should see if the belt fixes it. So far the belt is working that was about a month ago or so but ive heard the ocassional screeching noise for a sec which is the noise the belt was making when loose so i think it may be slowly going.

Even if this is the case would the fact that when the car is on i can run everything without a problem mean that it is providing the right ammount of power to the battery ?!? id imagine if it wasnt my lights (even the neon ones :-) ) would flicker and stereo cut out now and then.

if it is just the tensioner then it is a small job and does not involve the replacement of the alternator!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Kristok wrote:
    they look really cool (i also set a switch to turn them off so i only put them on when i want) suppose its just a matter of taste and i probably dont have any :o)

I suppose the better question is how long should i be able to run on a the battery i used to have a cd changer in my old micra (im starting to sound like a right boy racer here) for ages no problem but with my 206 the head unit with no changer seems to be able to drain the battery very quickly id say if i was cleaning the car or something after an hour the battery will drain out so am i expecting too much or am i right in thinking its the battery thats just knackered ?!? And again if i just be carefull will the charge in the battery stay or is this something thats only going to get much worse ?!?

1) You obviously have the neons wired up incorrectly. Wire them up so there is only a current going to them when ignition is ON. (Wire them up to the cig. lighter, theyre only light current)

2) How long neons will last with the battery depends on what current theyre drawing. Neons will last for hours on a standard 12v car battery, but this doesnt mean the car will start just because the neons light up. This is because the car starter has a much higher current drainage than little 12v neons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

With the way mechanics abuse the ignorance of car owners I think it might be time for a name and shame sticky thread.

Mike.

true but unless blatantly obvious hows do u no if u have been ripped off? if a mechanic tells me i need to change some part in my car i just have to nod and accept unless i think otherwise but ive no way of knowing if that part needs replacing or not...

personally i think it wouldnt be a bad idea to go on a mechanics course... even to learn the basics of motor maintainence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

true but unless blatantly obvious hows do u no if u have been ripped off? if a mechanic tells me i need to change some part in my car i just have to nod and accept unless i think otherwise but ive no way of knowing if that part needs replacing or not...

Tis a problem to prove alright.
    personally i think it wouldnt be a bad idea to go on a mechanics course... even to learn the basics of motor maintainence

My sister went on one - she learnt nothing! :p

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

So what about me running my stereo and sub when at the parking lot of my local shopping centre, is this bad practise for my battery? Should I leave my engine running?

mike 65 wrote:
    my sister went on one, she learnt nothing

shes a girl, that surprise u :P

and
    fx meister wrote:
    So what about me running my stereo and sub when at the parking lot of my local shopping centre, is this bad practise for my battery? Should I leave my engine running?

Find a better hobby :D jk

FX Meister wrote:

Do you have a burbery cap while your there? and a hardcore fiesta bodykit?!
    jk sry im still p1st :)

It's just hanging around with my mates listening to some music. What's wrong with burberry mate? Can't afford it?

*grin*

*disdainful smirk*