Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

post 5 things about yourself-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

1. My name is Denis.
    2. I'm 21.
    3. DoB == June 29
    4. I'm in 2nd year in UL studying Comp Sys.
    5. I have an xbox :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

1. I'm Alan and an anagram of Alan is Anal (although I'm not) and Lana ( a girls name)
    2. I trust everyone I meet and never see the bad in anyone. If someone abuses my trust I lose all respect for them
    3. I've sung solo before an audience of 150,000
    4. I like women with blonde hair
    5. I'd like to settle down soon and have 4 or 5 children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

1. I'm Joanne and I'm 20.
    2. I'm in my 3rd year studying Mathematical Science in UCD. (did someone say NERD?)
    3. I'm a red belt in tae kwon-do and a junior black belt in kenpo, a total of 9 years training.
    4. I like movies, games (especially Nintendo), music (listening to System of a Down's first album at the moment:)), and chocolate.
    5. I gave up drinking about a week ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭ando

1 I'm Paul, 23
    2 I love my Car
    3 I became a godfather 2 weeks ago :D
    4 I look fecking 18 and I feel this puts me at a disadvantage at job interviews
    5 I'd love to travel
    6 ... oh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Ciaran500 wrote:
    :eek: Care to explain?

I just find the directors commentaries on DVDs to be slightly boring... So I had it turned off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

1) I'm Stephen (funnily enough), and i;m 23
    2) I'm caring, sensetive and generally nice ( i like to think so anyway)
    3) I' too forgiveing (often to my detriment, especially with girlfriends)
    4) I work as little as i can get away with
    5) I'm going to be a father on monday week (i'm still single mind, always have been one to do things wrong way round)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭tovalee

1. Im Tonya
    2.I'm thir..twentysev...twentyFIVE years old
    3.Im a terrible liar
    4.Have a degree in computer programming and am working on one in electronic
    engineering.
    5. Just realised I'm a she-nerd :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

1. My name is Brian + im 18
    2. Into Martial Arts
    3. And cinema and reading
    4. Studying business + spanish.
    5. Im P*ssed of with people who SLATE ppl while they did something drunk, because they are perfect.

insightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Ah well nothing ventured nothing gained :)

1. My name is Paul.
    2. I am 35 !!!!
    3. I have just started to learn Spanish (I hear spanish women like Irish men :p)
    4. I love films especially black comedy.
    5. Wouldn't mind meeting a sexy she-nerd ;)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well as Gandalf said, nothing ventured...

1. My name is Mark
    2. I'm 37
    3. I've just bought a new house
    4. I suffer from the affliction of being a Leeds United supporter
    5. I have a pretty diverse taste in music

Gandalf, do sexy she-nerds actually exist or is that just wishful thinking? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

1) real name aint Alana, but it begins with the same letter..
    2) love for music-sorry-I LOVE MUSIC (and i have a small problem with handbags too..most of my money either goes on cds, or handbags..or whiskey-but thats another story for another day..)
    3) love art, particularly sculpture, and much too my shame of liking something thats main stream i love rodins work, its just so....wow, breath-taking, the only word for it :D
    4)i have this perculiarity of finding things that no-one else knows anything about(and liking it, genuinely-not just liking it for the sake of it) or v few people, and kind of making it mine..i dont know if that makes any sense..or if i seem crazy..mhe!I'm not giving enough details for ppl to find out exactly who i am and track me down so the men in white coats are going to have to try harder this time :D
    5) I'm in uni, but have no idea what i want to do with the rest of my life, career wise, or if i want to even do anything thats related to my current choice..mhe, i'm just going to have fun, carpe diem, i'm always planning ahead so maybe its time i stop..well for a while, il do that next week..

She-nerds exist...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

I) I look older than I am. (Though now I have a beard )

II) I am half French (Which just saying, lets me get away with murder)

III) As much as I love doing Photography, I've decided that when I return to 3rd level I will persue am educational course which will allow me teacher/lecture.

IV) I've a fondness for the best things in life, the finest food + wine, the darkest chocolate (Doesn't fall under food, deserves its own mention), the most alluring women and the most interesting of friends. (I also like hats)

V) I've a cat and two frogs, all of whom I use as personality testers on new people.

PS: She-nerds exist (as do very attractive she-nerds), but like with most things that dwell in the dark corners of the world, the female nerd (or nerdette ) tend to be stronger and consume the weaker male (be careful what you wish for )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

1. My name's Steven and I'm 20

2. In 3rd year of college (studying business, IT and Spanish) - I find IT easy, but thought a broader course would have been a better choice...time will tell

3. I don't drink because I've not found a drink I like, and the idea of being intoxicated frightens me

4. I like languages (I've tried Irish, French and now Spanish), but I'm not very good at them

5. I love listening to music, lyrics are important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

1: I'm Barry
    2: I'm 17
    3: I'm a reservist in an Artillery Regiment
    4: I know Havelock, I'm scared of him, and all of you should be scared of him too
    5: I suffer from a girlfriend deficiency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Bunnyefey

zaph wrote:
    Gandalf, do sexy she-nerds actually exist or is that just wishful thinking? ;)

Oh She-Nerds exist alright. Im a super She-Nerd and we are so much funkier than any normal ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

1) My name is Cock.
    2) I am better than all of you.
    3) I played your sister and your girlfriend
    4) I slept with your mom
    5) You hate me.

*Negative rep only please*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

My name is Owen
    I play guitar. This makes me cool.
    I listen to muse and flogging molly. This also makes me cool.
    Long hair is nice for hiding your mp3 player's headphones during study
    Misanthrope Extraordinaire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Hello Kitty

1. Im 17
    2. I live in Dublin
    3. I'm half Italien and was born in Rome.
    4. I work in Time Piece
    5. I love to make people laugh! :D

[edit]
    Dont troll, its not good for your health here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Dont feed the troll.

I just want to know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

w00t!!!!!! Go She-Nerds!!!!!!! We rock! What makes you a nerd anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Excessive use of exclamation marks.

And pointing out things like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Bunnyefey wrote:
    5. I want a guy to try chat me up with a Batman reference. I'll be waiting patiently for that to happen forever I reckon.

*sits down beside Bunneyfey dressed up in an American football outfit and says:*

"Well hello, good citizen! My name's Batman. Perhaps you could be my assistant. Would you like that? Would you like to ride with Batman?" ;)

God that Snickers ad used to crack me up. They should really bring it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Mear wrote:
    1. My name is Brian + im 18
    2. Into Martial Arts
    3. And cinema and reading
    4. Studying business + spanish.
    5. Im P*ssed of with people who SLATE ppl while they did something drunk, because they are perfect.

insightful.

you forgot to mention that you dislike t-shirts

The negative rep is highly erotic and turns me on. Please keep up the good work folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭shellspeare

1. my name is shell
    2. i'm 33 years old
    3. my favourite breed of dog are boxers
    4. i write radio dramas
    5. i run an online community

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

1: I'm 17 & my name is Alan, (as has been posted already, an anagram for anal :p )
    2: I have a long black coat. I stole it from a dead homeless man & wear it constantly.it is a defining item of clothing for me :cool:
    3: I'm terribly bitter when it comes to romance. this is not my fault. it's the fault of womankind ;)
    4: Since i switched to meteor i've become addicted to texting and sometimes get lonely if there's nobody talking to me. :o
    5: This halloween i'm dressing up as a ninja-nazi-pirate. That is really hardcore :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Exterminator

im 18
    friends call be beano
    Im from Laois
    Studying in UCD atm
    Im a member of the LNA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

1. 25 year old female physicist desperately trying to write a fecking PhD thesis.
    2. Complete shoe junkie. I posess 50+ pairs at this early stage in life, and the fire is only growing. I hate whire runners with a passion and will spend the time I'm on the bus looking at the shoes on people passing by.
    3. Was never sporty when young and yet have developed into a not bad practioner of TKD. This has given me a lot of confidence, leading me to start weight-lifting and lose 2 stone.
    4. I'm an aetheist. When people ask where do I get faith from, I reply that I get from watching my two dwarf hamsters. They have a simple easy calm life and watching them always makes me feel better.
    5. Have a strange love of Star Trek TNG and Stargate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

1. I am Dr. Bakare Tunde, the cousin of Nigerian Astronaut, Air Force Major Abacha Tunde, the first African in space when he made a secret flight to the Salyut 6 space station in 1979

2. He was stranded there in 1990 when the Soviet Union was dissolved. His other Soviet crew members returned to earth on the Soyuz T-16Z, but his place was taken up by return cargo.

3. In the 14-years since he has been on the station, he has accumulated flight pay and interest amounting to almost 15,000,000 Euros. This is held in a trust at the Lagos National Savings and Trust Association.

4. If I can obtain access to this money, we can place a down payment with the Russian Space Authorities for a Soyuz return flight to bring him back to Earth. I am told this will cost 3,000,000 Euros.

5. In order to access the his trust fund I need your assistance. my colleagues and I are willing to transfer the total amount to your account or subsequent disbursement, since we as civil servants are prohibited by the Code of Conduct Bureau (Civil Service Laws) from opening and/ or operating foreign accounts in our names. Needless to say, the trust reposed on you at this juncture is enormous. In return, we have agreed to offer you 20 percent of the transferred sum, while 10 percent shall be set aside for incidental expenses (internal and external) between the parties in the course of the transaction. You will be mandated to remit the balance 70 percent to other accounts in due course.

Let me know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

1. I'm Ronan
    2. I'm 27
    3. I'm a lazy so-and-so
    4. I love music.
    5. I can't think of anything else to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

1: I'm Michael, 22, from Killiney.
    2: I start my new job in Bank of Ireland in the morning. The nine-to-five life awaits me.
    3: I have watched at least six episodes of the West Wing today.
    4: I have recently started collecting comics.
    5: Due to my freakish observation skills, my friends occassionally call me Observo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭ionapaul

1: I'm Paul and Iona is the first share I ever bought, use it in lots of my online nicks
    2: I'm 28, what a great age!
    3: I lived in California for 4 1/2 years in my early 20s
    4: I am living in Dublin for the 1st time in my life and don't know a whole lot of people here
    5: I know how to juggle, love to dance, and know an awful lot about the American Civil War!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

5. i run an online community

What madness is this?

There are communities out there beyond boards?
    :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

1. My name is Martin
    2. Im 22
    3. I just started my Ph.D in Biomedical Engineering
    4. I love music, any type, any genre, poetry, literature and art. Basically anything that inspires and lifts the spirit!
    5. I think people are great, and if you look hard enough, you'll see the good in everyone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

my names jean. im a lazy ass stoner and i like it.
    i love water. swimming, showers, baths, its all good. recently joined the ucd sub aqua club and im really looking forward to clocking up many a weightless hour underwater.
    i also love watching people. people are bizarre and fascinating things. i have huge difficulties talking to people though.
    i have the bestest room and bed, and a pool table which is sinfully neglected.
    i think FAAAAR too much. i overthink everything. i even overthought this meaningless 5 things about yourself thread. i shall overthink it even more later when i think of better ways to describe myself.
    oh.. and i find myself incredibly irritating sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,197 ✭✭✭✭Crash

1. I'm Neil.
    2. i'm a bastard for the most part. but in that nice way that allows me to get away with being a bastard because everyone knows i love em all anyway.
    3. i'm a skinny bastard.
    4. I'm mentally much more scarred cynical and bitter now than i think anyone i know actually knows.
    5. I'd be an inventor if i had the supplies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

1. Name: Niall
    2. Age: 27
    3. Job: Assistant Manager
    4. Born in: Limerick
    5. Living in: Ardee

That'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

My name is Graham.
    Im from Dublin and always have been there.
    At the moment i'm a half student.
    I am very tired and have to be in DCU at 9:30am
    Im falling asleep on my computer so im going to go to bed now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 lizbeth

1. My name is Elizabeth I'm a Yank (I don't mind being a Yank, just don't confuse me with a Yankee!)
    2. I am madly in love with an gorgeous, brilliant guy from Meath.
    3. I've got a degree in Geography with a minor in Geology.
    4. I have an orange cat named Cornelius.
    5. I live in Houston, Texas, and with any luck will be in Ireland on holiday in mid-November :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭kopijack

1. My name is Andrew
    2. 22 and im a Cancer :D
    3. Born in Derry, Northern Ireland- Dual citizen Ireland/America, raised in Ireland, America, England and Portugal!
    4. Currently live in Rathmines Dublin- working/studying
    5. Enjoy driving and getting away from it all!! partying outside the city! ;)

1. I'm drop dead gorgeous
    2. My IQ is 80 points higher than yours
    3. I'm incredibly funny.
    4. I Love me but not as much as you do.
    5. Did I mention I'm drop dead gorgeous ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

1. I'm an animal lover-my house is like a petting zoo.
    2. I'm a Science student.
    3. I'm a magazine junkie. Has gotten me kicked out of many a newsagents!
    4. I bite my nails.
    5. I accidently named my cat my own name-only hers is in Greek!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

15. My favorite day of the year is halloween
    16. I love animals more than I do people
    17. I hug trees
    18. My life is centered around music
    19. I do not follow directions and rules do not apply to me ;)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

1. My name is ‘monument’ (I could be wrong on this point)
    2. I’m 21 years old
    3. I’m from Mayo
    4. Normally, I work on Saturdays, not Mondays
    5. I’m a media junkie – yes, I do mean that wide-ranging*

Ok, I don’t mean every medium - just quite a number of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭roar_ie

1. I'm 21 years old currently working as a software engineer
    2. Was born on New Years Day at 3 o'clock in the afternoon :cool:
    3. Graduating from DIT in 2 weeks :D and Still in the DIT Canoe Club
    4. Love a lot of sci-fi including star trek, star wars, stargate etc
    5. Send too much time playing compters games especiall Rome: Total War

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ravenhead

1: I'm 26 years old.
    2: My name is Joanna.
    3: I'm from Tipp.
    4: I'm an I.T Support Analyst.
    5: The future scares me ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭tck

1) I'm 26
    2) I'm from Dublin
    3) I'm a cancerian
    4) I'm very tall
    5) i own ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Praetorian

1 - My name is not Ciaran thank god, there are enough of ye on boards.ie ;)
    2 - I'm 22 going on 23 in a few weeks
    3 - I live at home with my family because I'm too cheap (scared?) to move out to my own house, so I'm renting it out to some strangers who better not wreck it!
    4 - I can't believe I'm replying to this thread and
    5 - I wub Elaine ;):):D