Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suited Aces €50 Freeze Out tonight.

• 04-10-2004 11:19am
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Suited Aces are holding out monthly "Payday Monday" game tonight with an additional (optional) team event too.

The game is on tonight. Merrion Casino, 7pm reg for a 7:30 sharp start. Stragglers will be allowed one round of the table before any spare stacks will be removed.

Most of you know about the team side-event already but if not ask away here.

Drinks afterwards in the Cellar bar if you are knocked out before final table and in Reynards afterwards most likely :)

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

have we got outselves a DeV kicker?

rumours are rife that you have offered your services to someone else..... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

cool just read other thread. looking like the 3 Kings with a kicker is no more. :(

We lost a king and a kicker and I'm gonna give it a miss myself as it happens. Next month hopefully!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Just a few questions....

What's the blind structure?
    How does the team element work?
    What is the usual field size?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Its been touch and go all morning but it looks like El Syndicato, aka The team that Juan Pablo built, will be in attendance this evening. Filled with Wild Omaha cash game players, anything is possible! :D

See you all at 7.

Marq, 20 of the finest, for the outcome of our teams this evening?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,925 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Shortstack if memory serves we start at 25-50, blinds up every 20 minutes.
    A team of 4 will pay an extra €40 to compete. Every time someone is knocked out of the tourney if they are on a team they should report to the tourney director, Dev. The position you go out on is the points added to your teams total. Therefore the team with the lowest overall score wins.
    Last month it was 50 approx. players.
    My memory is as ever sketchy. Any other SA members care to correct me on any of this?

Actual article on this event - http://www.suitedaces.com/viewarticle.aspx?article=39

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Thats pretty short, sweet and correct Muso.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

go dream team :D

that is all

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

I'm seriously getting pissed off with this game.

Blinds 1500/800, I have 6800, I'm in the BB. Early position (Young Asian dude, who's raising everything) raises to 3000. Another player re-raises to 6000 (Young American kid, who's being making some crazy plays). I go all-in for 6800, with AK(s). I'm not liking the hand that much in this position but I needed to make something happen. Asian dude calls, American dude tries to go all-in but raise was an under-raise so he can only call.

Flop come down 9 high. Asian guy checks American goes all-in for 10,500. Asian guy reluctantly call. Asian dude has A,9, jammy git hit his nine and American is on the worst bluff off all time with and unhit K7. 2 cards later American has hit the backdoor straight and I'm scratching my head.

AK(s) vs A9 vs K7 and I manage to come last in the pot?? I have them both locked up and somehow they both manage to outdraw me. With AK they are the two hands I'm praying to see before the flop. What puzzles me even more is why the American guy puts in a minimum re-raise pre-flop with absolute pants. I mean if your gonna make a bluff why put in a tempter?? He played the hand so badly it's unreal and ends up taking a pot of around 38,000. I think I'm approaching this game in the wrong manner. The new tactic is think of the worse thing you could do in any position and then do it. It seems to work for some people.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

Yah that was really harsh Davey. Was very suprised to see the american turn over K7. But there seemed to be lots of terrible plays on the last two tables. For instance the guy who bet into the quad Jacks with 23o having hit nothing. And he did something similar a couple of hands later and put himself totally out. Was shaking my head.

Good night over all. Cheers lads for organising :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Happy Camper

I'm seriously getting pissed off with this game.

Blinds 1500/800, I have 6800, I'm in the BB. Early position (Young Asian dude, who's raising everything) raises to 3000.

Don't think I played this one badly, I'm large stack at the table, so I'm willing to play with A9s against someone on the blind with 6800. As the short stack, you'd pretty much have to play any pair, any Ace, or K-reasonable kicker. Those are good odds for me, as well as the possiblity that I steal, I think it was the right thing to do.
    Another player re-raises to 6000 (Young American kid, who's being making some crazy plays). I go all-in for 6800, with AK(s). I'm not liking the hand that much in this position but I needed to make something happen.

Again, with 6800, you are indeed getting your money in while you're ahead, but I have the odds to call, just in case I hit. Furthermore, I don't think what happened to you was a terrible beat - with a large stack, I'm not too worried about what some guy with a little over 4X BB is holding. I'm more worried about the maniac who has reraised me, and still has 10,500 left in his stack. You could have been the tightest player at the table, and the ONLY hand you could have had when you went allin was AA, I still would have played it the same way.

Flop come down 9 high. Asian guy checks American goes all-in for 10,500. Asian guy reluctantly call. Asian dude has A,9, jammy git hit his nine and American is on the worst bluff off all time with and unhit K7. 2 cards later American has hit the backdoor straight and I'm scratching my head.

At this point, I had a tough decision to make: was young American dude bluffing (he had done it before in the tourney, in a very similar situation)? The way I saw it, he had to be: his raise preflop seem very spontaneous, and motivated by my aggressive play (which was the correct way to play at that table, by the way), and then when he tried to go allin, I'm not sure what it was, but it felt like he was just trying to get me to fold to get heads up with you. Because of this, I couldn't put him on any pocket pair higher than 7. He possibly had A-good kicker or KQ, so I made the call. Turns out I'm ahead because I caught my 9 (I had the odds to call preflop, so I don't think I'm a "jammy git" because I hit).
    AK(s) vs A9 vs K7 and I manage to come last in the pot?? I have them both locked up and somehow they both manage to outdraw me.

Well, all I have to say to this is: such is poker. Although you were in a statistically favourable situation, you were still in a bad situation: 45% of the time, you would be outdrawn, and be knocked out of the tournament. I wouldn't consider that this to be a "lock up" situation...

But, those are just my thoughts on the hand in question :)

Regards,

Young Asian dude.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

I wasn't annoyed by your play at all, I didn't think you played the hand badly at all. It was an impressive call on the flop when it looked like the American had a high pair.

I know it's certainly not the worst beat of all-time but you both only had 3 realistic out's each pre-flop, you hit one of those 3 out's on the flop which in my book makes you a "jammy-git" - in the niceist sense of course. My trusty odds calculator has me as 56.5% pre-flop favourite, you are 24.4% and American 19.1%. If I had reached into the deck before the flop came those are the 2 hands I'd pick you both to have. I know I'm gonna get outdrawn 45% of the time by one hand in that situation but I got outdrawn by both. It didn't make any difference as both had more chips but losing to both just rubbed the salt in. When you get out-drawn as much as I do you'll know how it feels. I could whip 4 aces out of my pocket and someone would still outdraw me.

I could have taken it no problem when you outdrew me, but the American lad couldn't have played the hand worse in a million years and he took down the monster. That's what really pissed me off.

I use the term "jammy git" in the nicest way, the American lad was the fùcking biggest Jamboat to ever pull into port. What's your name btw? Can't be calling you "Young Asian Dude" forever. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

The Dream Team are proud to announce that they are the champions in this month's team event. Having personally knocked out each of my eminent rivals, I, as team captain, am especially proud, and also 200 notes the richer. Twenty of the best next time I see you Juan Pablo. Neil and Oscar I have your money, just ask me whenever we see each other.

plyed team. everyone else, better luck next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭kencleary

So who won the individual event then?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Marq wrote:
    The Dream Team are proud to announce that they are the champions in this month's team event. Having personally knocked out each of my eminent rivals, I, as team captain, am especially proud, and also 200 notes the richer. Twenty of the best next time I see you Juan Pablo. Neil and Oscar I have your money, just ask me whenever we see each other.

plyed team. everyone else, better luck next time.

You the man. Nice one. I thought we hadn't a chance as I was out, Dave could have been gone, you and Muso were struggling. I'll have to readjust my profit/loss spreadsheet to include this bonus :D . Serves Juan Pablo right for busting my cowboys with his big slick :(

BTW well done to SA once again. Who won overall ??

Aye who won it in the end Marq. Some impressive speach play from you! My young El Syndicato protegé was motoring well with 5 to play (especially after flopping a house with his K7... what was it about that hand last night!). The team element affected my play last night due to the fact I had one team mate directly on my right and one directly on my left. No point in all three getting invloved in one pot and the like. I only really popped out to take out Neils cowboys ;). As for the devils beat, it were rough.

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

i went out on a funny hand...
    (if you have a sick sense of humour)

Ive got about 5-7 times the size of the blind,
    am in early position at a fairly tight time of play
    with most people folding around to the blinds.
    i look down and have KJ. First bigish hand in a while
    and push all the chips in.. i get one caller, fair play to him,
    with KJ also! (i mean it's a raising hand but a calling one!?)
    anyway i figure it's gonna be a split pot until he his K is of spades
    and what do you know the board comes
    spade, spade, spade, spade, club....!

someone work out these odds for me!

i guess i had my run of good luck earlier.
    For instance: twice in a row i get dealt KQ,
    raise and am seen with the flop coming KQx both times.

good game though and cheers for organising guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Something simillar at our table (2).. A player was all-in with a king and a 2 of spades.. Two callers..

Of course the 2 of spades made him the flush...
    Nasty..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Damn this flu, I was really looking forward to the game last night as well!!

at least I won some money on VC to make up for it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Ah well i got taken out by some genius calling a 5xBB raise with J6o.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Ah well i got taken out by some genius calling a 5xBB raise with J6o.

The funny thing about it is, for a €55 euro game (not cheap by my standards) there is an awful lot of that going on. Some guys just reckon an A, regardless of kicker, can't be beaten. The celtic tiger has a lot to answer for !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

Thank you Suited Aces people, it was a good game last night, well done

I was at that table and that American dude is a really jammy git - i've been to poker games 3 times before and everytime i've seen him call and raise loads of all ins with nothing only to pull off some ridiculous draw on the river.

Hard Luck Davey Devil and that was a really great call too Happy Camper, especially after that great bluff a couple of hands before

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

AK(s) vs A9 vs K7

A9 and K7 off suit? yes?
    HHHmmm very tough beat,would have played that exatly the same davey, only thing thats only against u is the position,& with the call already 6000 its all in or fold preflop.

Thing is i would have expected the hands making 3000 bet and then raising 6000 to have been much stronger. but A9 and K7 off suit, madness! :rolleyes:
    If all three where all in with this preflop and u had to turn over the cards b4 any cards are deal everyone at the table would prob agree the AK suited was miles ahead.
    The K7 player pulled it out of his ass to hit a straight on the river. Freeze out tournie u would normally be walkin tournie over IMO.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Hey guys, I'd have given anything to play last night (which was strange as I never wanted to see another card again after the gutshot weekend... thats addiction I guess :) ), but there was a lot to do and we have decided that at each game an SA person will sit out and ensure that everything is how we want it to be.

I think it was clear from last night that things were much better then before and that the Merrion have taken on board our problems and suggestions. Fair dues to them.
    The food was really nice (I ate most of the beef skewers if you didnt get any :p ), things ran smooth, Lee was very much on the ball and they even had a new table!
    Credit where its due (eh Pokertroll? :) )

We were chuffed with the turnout which allowed us to both pay the top a little more then the 1000 we try to guaruntee and ALSO send 9th, 8th and 7th home with more then just their money back.

DeV.

really great call too Happy Camper, especially after that great bluff a couple of hands before

It took balls to make a bet that size on the river with only 6 high!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

Credit where its due (eh Pokertroll? :) )
    Yes indeed, great turnout and great event from what I hear - I only lasted 5 minutes though. I had the worst night of poker ever!

For those interested in bad beats here goes...

Note: If you drag your mouse over the text in a cut and paste manner you are expressing an interest in my bad beat.
    [span style="background-color:#666666; color:#666666"]

50 Game (not the baddest of beats but bad enough all the same)

5th hand of the night I found JQ in late position, just before button
    and raised to 250 to eliminate the 2 limpers.

One guy folds and the BB and Richard call.
    The flop is J67 rainbow. Not a bad flop for me but I'm worried about
    AJ or KJ and there is a possible but unlikely str8 draw. Checked to
    me, I bet another 250. Richard calls and I'm starting to feel a bit
    worried as I would consider him a tight player I think he might have a
    better kicker with his J. Turn is a Q and I have hit 2 pair. Now I
    think I am ahead. Richard bets 600 and I raise to 1500 which he calls.
    It is now a huge pot and I only have about 700 left. River is a 9 and
    I think I could be beat as a 10 is all that is needed for a str8 -
    could he be there with J10? He checked, we both went all-in and he
    showed me 5-8 for a str8 which he made on the river.

Nipped over to the Fitz with the other early exits and a couple of other people who thought the 50 tourney started at nine.

Things were motoring along nicely - I was getting good cards, doubled
    through early aith AA. 70 minutes into it I am dealt 44 which I limp
    with from late postition.
    Flop is 4 2 10. Kevin (from cork) bets 600, I raise to 1500 and he
    calls. Turn is another 2 so I have made the house. Kevin goes all-in,
    I call instantly. He shows 10 9 for 2 pair. I proudly show the full
    house. River is a 10 and I'm out of the tournament

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

pokertroll wrote:
    Note: If you drag your mouse over the text in a cut and paste manner you are expressing an interest in my bad beat.

Is that like an indemnifying end-user license agreement? :D

You really had the worst of it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 huckseed

Mark I just want to correct a mistake you made in your last post. I played with a 5,7 os, a monster in my opinion ! not a 5,8 like you said in your post, I'd never call a raise with that garbage. The flop was J,6,8 rainbow not J,6,7 giving me an openended straight draw. It was nice to see that 9 coming on the river. Your bad beat in the fitz was pretty nasty though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

LOL - Well played chuck, you flucking maniac!! War has been declared. Did you do any good with them or did you give them away cheaply as usual?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 huckseed

I did alright on that table but when I was moved to another the cards just seemed to dry up. I ended up coming 7th, the usual story a hand or two at the right time on the final table makes all the difference. I enjoyed the night though.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

The "Jambag American Guy" as you named him went on to win the tournament! €1100 in his pocket!

I'll be posting a report giving the results/prizes/and a bit more info on sa.com, stay posted.