Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst Film EVER

• 20-07-2000 3:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭

I was wondering what people considered to be the worst film EVER I gotta say that the 3 hours 1 minute and 12 seconds (of hell) long film THE POSTMAN starring none other than Kevin "can't act" Costner is a shoe in what do all of ye out there think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

worst film I've ever seen in the cinema... can't think straight at this stage, but Species II is right up there ...

Bard

|home page|scary éire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Raising Cain gets my vote. That was just plain bad.

Man Bites Dog a close runner up, and if taken from a moral point of view, definitely the most repellent 90mins ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Man Bites Dog... *brrrr..*

that movie made me physically sick... mainly because of personal circumstances and the thoughts it put in my head at the time. Nasty movie.

Bard

|home page|scary éire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭ThunderingMike

Urban Legend made me physically ill. I never thought it could be possible for film to actually make a person feel sick but that film made my stomach churn. Also Dancing at Lughnasa, Species II, Batman and Robin, almost any straight to video film ever (excluding ones with Denis Leary in them) and any Pauly Shore film.

So the pope puts down the Badger and leans over to me and says , 'At TFC my son , I 0wnz j00'. Before I could speak in walks Dustin Hoffman in a giant Silk Worm costume and just then...it started to get weird...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Bullitt

well thats easy enough simple really ......Titanic......what a crock

Bullitt
    "I spent a lot of my money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I
    just squandered" - George Best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Bloody Drunkard

Looks like "man beats dog" is leading the votes If u think u have seen a worse film have your say here. And I agree Titanic sucked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Pretence

Lets see, where do I start smile.gif

Superman 3/4
    Rocky 3/4/5
    Jaws 2/3/4
    Godfather 3
    Iron Eagle 2/3
    Jurrasic Park 2
    Star Wars Episode 1 (don't go nuts now lads but I didn't think it was up to scratch, really)
    Speed 2
    Rambo 3 (I liked 2 smile.gif)
    Predator 2
    Alien 3/4
    Critters 2/3/4/5 smile.gif and 1
    Gremlins 2 [The New Batch]
    Ghostbusters 2
    Police Academey 2/3/4/5/6/7
    Beverly Hills Cop 2/3
    Another 48 Hours

I think thats enough, can you spot the usual pattern tongue.gif

Rocky 3 was a quaility movie

Looks like BATMAN and ROBIN is winning. I still say the postman it was hell

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

mad.gif Batman and Robin should be wiped from the universe and everyone should pretend it never happened. mad.gif

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

If only it could be true, my friend. The Postman did suck the big one, its true. Mission To Mars was appaling too. I could go on but id probably be thrown off the baords for incredibly foul and course sailor talk!!

Say hello to my little friend !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

And the winner for worst film of the year goes to... *opens an envelope*... The Green Mile !!!

What a depressing lot of über-arsë-banitry that was.

sick of saying it, Batman And Robin. Worst f ucking film, EVER..

ROCKY 3!!!!!!!!!

It might have been rolleyes.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

what about eye's wide shut....3hrs of hellllllllll

and not to forget the batman's from 2 on words.

6th sence was a load of crap
    (just about every movie made in the last two years) smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Excelsior

some greaat movies have been made recently sutty. that isn't fair. postman was bad, but at least it was laughable. batman and robin was flatulent- so so bad. but clearly the worst movie i have seen is, Battlefield Earth. I went to see it intending to laugh- but it was so bad, so horribly awful, so clearly misguided that i couldn't laugh. you all know that the plot and script were some of the worst in recorded film making. but the noise levels were set too high. the special effects were laughable. the designers took their cues from everywhere- giving the impression of the crappiest version of Crap Earth, circa Sometime In The Not To Distant Future. The whole movie was irredeemable. No longer will it be, John "Saturday Night Fever, FaceOff, Pulp Fiction" Travolta. Rather it will be John " Worst Movie Ever" Travolta. Disgusting waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Asuka

Battlefield Earth was just so bad it was funny smile.gif

Looks like batman and robin wins with the postman battlefield earth and just about everything made in the last two years

SO WHAT IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER I SAY SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION

COOL HAND LUKE....

Excellant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭Borric

The postman is a classic

ive never enjoyed a film so much it just goes on and on and on

but your laughing all the way

its brilliant

I still cant believe they actually tried to make a film outta that book. Terry Gilliam is the man, but even he couldnt have done it. I think there has been a lot of good films out there in recent years. Fair Enough, loads of poo, as freaK_brutheR so eloquently put it, but lots of the good stuff as well. Face it, just because there's sp much S hite out there, are you gonna stop going to see films! Nah. of yeah, best film : Aliens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Yossarian

very difficult to choose a best film,
    how about a top 5??

here's mine:

Apocalypse Now,
    Seven Samurai,
    Blues Brothers,
    Fight Club,
    Cross of Iron.

Stephen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

Acctually for anti-climactic reasons the worst i've seen of late is Fear and Loathing in Las Vagas. One of the bestest books then look at that lump of poo.
    There are too many ****e films out there really to say whats the worst i think but that was a major dissapointment

mletI'll be damned. Someone who appreciates Cross Of Iron. Go on Yassarian ! Fair play to the lad.

i like the nickname yossarian. nice touch.

It is so lonely here in my indecipherable tower of speech impedimency

Cross of Iron is winnin i say SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION

BlOoDy DrUnKaRd

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

hmmm....worst one i tried to watch (and failed) was single white female......couldn't stomach it.
    Amazingly i never saw the latest batman movie (loved the original tim burton one, liked the 2nd a good bit and the 3rd a bit less...stayed away from the batman and robin cause of the bad reviews...)

Best movies....

Shawshank..
    Vertigo
    Rear Window
    To catch a Theif
    Southpark - bigger, longer and uncut

but the winner has to be...
    The Big Sleep....

Humphrey with a gun......
    Such dialogue and chemistry......
    ummm the plot?????

I love the old B+W classics....

Bacall....mmmmmmmmmmmm (named my daughter after her... smile.gif )

btw, what did ye think of tim burtons "Sleepy Hollow" ?

I loved it but my wife hated it...

www.licksy.net
    info@licksy.net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

Best film has to be the usual suspects they was class

When ya want it goes away too fast times ya hate it always seem to last secretdeathsquad.clanpages.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭Borric

HEAT

a beautiful film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

Best Films ? Hmm, in no particular order

Blade Runner
    Hard Boiled
    Enter the Dragon
    Goodfellas
    Shawshank Redemption
    Bullit
    Pulp Fiction
    Die Hard I
    Ghostbusters
    The Good, The Bad and The Ugly
    Das Boot
    GO!
    Lethal Weapon I
    Blazzing Saddles

Thinks that about coves it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 lemonhead

The adventures of baron munchausen was terrible dontcha think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

Hmmmmmmmmm tough choice but I'd say my best 5 are:
    Usual suspects
    Face/off
    Seven
    Saving Private Ryan
    And the matrix I suppose.

I seem to have an uncanny knack of steering clear of bad films as I havent seen any of the above smile.gif Apart from titanic, and I'd rather not have to remember that.

I am inflatible !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭[SN]JAG

Top 5 films of the last 100 years

1.Plan 9 From outer space
    2.BattleField Earth
    3.Gangster no1
    4.Batman & Robin
    5.Contact

Worst 5 Films Ever

1.Fight Club
    2.Blade Runner
    3.Matrix
    4.Hard Boiled
    5.Star wars: The Empire Strikes back

wait did i get those mixed up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 GerryBoy

Interesting to see peoples choices.

My picks for WORST films would be:

* Eyes Wide Shut
    * Demolition Man (Sly & Snipes - gawhelpus!)
    * Mimic (At least it was kinda funny...)
    * American History X (A prime example of a good story ruined by over-direction)

My BEST picks would be:

* Full MetalJacket
    * Hell Raiser (The 1st one!!)
    * Final Destination (In a trashy way)
    * Fight Club

And finally....
    my favourite of all time (so far):

* Jacobs Ladder - any other fans of this film out there?

Cheers,
    Gerryboy

Life is too short. You are what you think you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

worst film, thats easy
    i saw it yesterday and its called
    coyote ugly....
    with out a doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭DaBounca

worst - titanic
    house on haunted hill
    belly
    Apex
    Teenage mutant ninja turtles 2
    (1st one was cool)

best(not in order)
    Jacob's Ladder
    The Matrix
    Apocalypse Now
    Braveheart
    Cool hand Luke
    Event Horizon
    Pulp fiction
    Resevoir Dogs
    From Dusk Till Dawn
    Yes im A Tarantino fan smile.gif
    Starship Troopers
    Terminator 1 and 2
    Usual Suspects
    Dumb and Dumber
    Tommy Boy

sorry couldnt narrow it down,actually i have left out about 6 more :/ they are all my favourites.

shag i forgot about erm...Fúck i forgot it again

oh yeh i remembered,suprised nobdy else mentioned it being the best,or worsed as i know people who despise it:
    monty pythons search for thr holy grail
    and
    The life of Brian

Fair play, gerryboy, Jacobs Ladder is a gem..

Im going to the bear fights tomorrow, want to come with ??

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Originally posted by DaBounca:

monty pythons search for thr holy grail

Ah yes - gone are the days where myself and plastic membrane used to frequent the public houses of Castlebar and we issued out our renditions of the Holy Grail.
    Who could forget...
    JESUS CHRIST!!!

biggrin.gif

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)
    My page of stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 GerryBoy

Plastic membrane, Are there any support groups for thos of us who have seen 'Jacobs Ladder' years ago, and still argue in pubs over what it all meant?
    Or if you'd like to start a fight, just explain how it was better than Sixth Sense!!
    (Have your VHI paid up first though!!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

2 worst in memory at least:
    Mission to Mars -
    (The most offensively bad movie I have ever seen, never has a high budget movie sucked so much on so many levels).
    Biodome - Bad, even for a Paulie Shore movie.

Best 5:
    The Big Chill
    Cube
    Fight Club
    Blade.
    The Big Blue.

Yes indeed, JESUS CHRIST!!!!

gerryboy, the problem is that everytime i try to start a conversation about Jacobs Ladder, the person i happen to be speaking to suddenly gets a confused look in his/her eyes and stares stupidly at me saying : eh ? Never seen it!!... Philistines. It could mean any number of things that film. Which is why i like it so much,it has such an ambiguous and enigmatic air about it. I like that, very rare.

PS- Missin To Mars, Bio-Dome.. b ollocks more like..

Im going to the bear fights tomorrow, want to come with ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

LADS i cant believe you forgot about
    groundhog day

like come on that film was the worst thing to ever come out .
    also anyone know where i can get search for the holy grail ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Carnage

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas wasn't bad atall, you guys just weren't on enough drugs when you were watching it.

i thought that Fight Club RULED.

i thought that The Navigator SUCKED.

can anyone remember:
    bed of roses
    shadow
    my girl (&2)
    north

i hope you can't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Figment

What are you talking about. Groundhog day ruled! Though i guess it depends on if you are a fan of Bill Murry. I loved it.
    Shadow was good fun. 'The shadow knows! Muhaahaaahaaa...'
    North, with elija wood and Bruce willis and Bruce willis and bruce willis....
    It wasnt too bad.

Plunket and Mclaine worst movie ever. I can enjoy a bad movie but that didnt even rate.

[This message has been edited by LittleFigment (edited 11-10-2000).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

whats that other film .. not "Big" with Tom Hanks but the other one the exact ****in same.. damn that sucked.
    apart from that Girl Six is pretty damn bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭darthmise

American History x is a great film!
    And Blade Runner is a prime example of Over direction, ( a cult film for all the wrong reasons)
    Surprising no one mentioned Good Will Hunting though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭tobi

methinks Taxi Driver should
    get a mention and recently Armegeddon.
    Blade Runner is a visual masterpiece, it's storyline just gets lost.

I warned you! But did you listen to me? Oh no, you knew it all, didn't you? Oh, its just a harmless little bunny, isn't it?