Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

20 in - 13th Oct

• 14-10-2004 8:56am
    Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭

Well I finally made the money in a tournie in the Fitz! Four of us, including 3 of us from Boards - myself, DeV and - I think he said Big Dragon, something like that anyway, did a split. It was late. Very late. Blinds were large, players were tired! One of the most enjoyable games I've had in a long time - though that could have been helped by my quad jacks taking out Vernon's pocket 2's. Vernon arrived at our table when we were down to two tables, with practically a full tray of chips - nearly half of which were green. He had as many chips as the rest of us put together.

Anyway, very enjoyable night. And thanks to Marq for giving me some glorious cards at some opportune moments! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Well I finally made the money in a tournie in the Fitz! Four of us, including 3 of us from Boards - myself, DeV and - I think he said Big Dragon, something like that anyway, did a split. It was late. Very late. Blinds were large, players were tired! One of the most enjoyable games I've had in a long time - though that could have been helped by my quad jacks taking out Vernon's pocket 2's. Vernon arrived at our table when we were down to two tables, with practically a full tray of chips - nearly half of which were green. He had as many chips as the rest of us put together.

Anyway, very enjoyable night. And thanks to Marq for giving me some glorious cards at some opportune moments! :D

Yeah that was correct, it was me. The guy who was chip leader at the deal/split was called Jude. It was the most enjoyable game of cards Ive had. The tables and cards were great. I know I ended in the money so I might say that but it was a great game, played with in a great manner.

The Jacks, the jacks oooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhh the jacks. Incredible number of hands won with pocket J's or a J on the river.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

BigDragon wrote:
    Yeah that was correct, it was me. The guy who was chip leader at the deal/split was called Jude. It was the most enjoyable game of cards Ive had. The tables and cards were great. I know I ended in the money so I might say that but it was a great game, played with in a great manner.

The Jacks, the jacks oooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhh the jacks. Incredible number of hands won with pocket J's or a J on the river.
    Yeah those jacks were all over the place! They were taking people out left, right and centre. I'm not sure I saw them lose!!

As you say, it really was a very enjoyable game. Tbh I had two hands last night where I lost big, and if I can't learn from them, I'll never learn! Got serious doses of luck and nice cards, and really don't know how I found myself at the final table, let alone with such a stack.

Though I really have to say, hearing Vernon go all in when I had a set of J's was just glorious!

.....and trips A's on the flop to a guy with A9 all-in call to a raise from DeV who was miles ahead (cant remember your hand DeV).

Who was the new dealer???? ;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

That would be me. I guess I definitely won't be going back to the Merrion, but rest assured Pokertroll et al, I won't be commenting on the Merrion again. :)

Yeah, I got a shock when the chap in seat 1 on table two goes all in with A9 gets one caller, and I throw three Aces down on the flop. I get a brain freeze as I've never seen anybody get a quad on the flop, let alone with aces. Oddly, the turn and river brought the caller nothing :)

And on the hundred game on Monday I dealt a royal flush with only a jack of clubs required to fill it, which it was. I suspose if you see enough cards you'll see any combination.

Saw a lot of J's takedown pots alright. It was odd.

P.s I'm practicing on the side pots ;)

amp wrote:
    That would be me. I guess I definitely won't be going back to the Merrion, but rest assured Pokertroll et al, I won't be commenting on the Merrion again. :)

Yeah, I got a shock when the chap in seat 1 on table two goes all in with A9 gets one caller, and I throw three Aces down on the flop. I get a brain freeze as I've never seen anybody get a quad on the flop, let alone with aces. Oddly, the turn and river brought the caller nothing :)

And on the hundred game on Monday I dealt a royal flush with only a jack of clubs required to fill it, which it was. I suspose if you see enough cards you'll see any combination.

Saw a lot of J's takedown pots alright. It was odd.

P.s I'm practicing on the side pots ;)

Fine job last night. The thing about tables is most people ar looking at a few peoples action only(mostly their own). The dealer has to see everything and that is going to take time to get your head round. Im sure Marq will agree.

Again good job.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Aye good job and a good night.

I wasnt in the quad aces hand. No, my bad beats came from my AK versus Q9 who made a straight to the 9 and almost immediately some lad who (after I had been bullying the table like anything) says "you've been bullying this table all night and I'm tired of it" and calls all-in with AJ to my AK (again). Jack forms a straight!

I got nice cards too, aces which I was compelled to play in the most OBVIOUS fashion because of the way the chips were and the bets back at me. Oscar calls my hand from the far side of the table right beside the guy who has just walked into them and paid me off! Nice call Oscar but it really was obvious wasnt it, the guy must be kicking himself :)

I took the least cash from the deal as I was quite low stacked and glad to get it (I'd have had to come second to do any better). I'm just happy to be back on form it seems. :/

Finally, something off the table. Player X was watching me play and I made the only ropey call of my night when I called a guy's all in with KJ. I'm going to write a thread about it but it was a borderline call.
    However Player X immediately starts "how could you call with that, you're the WORST player etc etc" and at the break right before the final table Player X starts giving out to me again (in banter) in the lobby. I start arguing my point and it gets worse... so finally I have to go take my seat and I turn round and shrug my shoulders, point with my thumb into the casino and say "well, I dunno where you're off to but I have to go to the final table" to the sound of the big security guy (Joe McNally) breaking his arse laughing :)

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

Did Player X actually play last night or was he just sitting around watching others? The guy who took 1st last night certainly did really well out of that deal. It could easily have been anyones game, one double through against him and Dev would have been even with him, myself or BD would have been up on him, so to get such a percentage was great for him. In hindsight I think we should have taken 100 from the pot for the dealers, or perhaps a little more, and then calculated the split, rather than each of us as individuals coughing up.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Its more or less the same thing.

100 from the pot would have come off mine as much as his. If he's going to win 1000 notes, let him leave half the tip. But I was being clear to everyone what I thought a reasonable tip is. I left my 5% and I think everyone else did too.

We could wasily have played on and it would have been a lottery. I was happy to get my cash and get out. I didnt see myself likely to come 2nd when the blinds were about to go to 4K/8K unless I got a LOT of luck and I was happy to smash and grab as it was a good deal for me. I'm utterly broke again you see (which seems to improve my card playing!). 525+150+400+ticket so far since Sunday. There is a God!

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

I'm gonna have to agree with player X on the KJ unless you can put up a decent argument, what was the situation there Tom? Personally I hate when fùckers call me with ****e like that, even if I win the hand I'm still pissed off when they call me with that crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

I'm gonna have to agree with player X on the KJ unless you can put up a decent argument, what was the situation there Tom? Personally I hate when fùckers call me with ****e like that, even if I win the hand I'm still pissed off when they call me with that crap.

Is this the same hand from the other thread? If your involved in a very large pot (compared to you or your opponents stacks) then you should be looking for reasons to call, not the other way round. If you have pot odds to hit your overcards and you think its unlikey that they are counterfeited then you should call. Its a big mistake to get involved in hands like this and then fold for a small percentage of the pot. That said you shouldnt be getting involved in big hands with KJ, but thats another story.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

I don't think it's in another thread, by the sounds of the post it was pre-flop calling an all-in. It's hard to speculate about the hand without knowing the details, which I'm interested in hearing.

Edit: I've also so noticed my previous post sounds like abit of an attack, sorry about that Tom haha. With my recent form (which is slowly improving btw), it was often calls like these that were knocking me out of tournaments.