Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Vs Arsenal (inc. scores after 4.05pm)

13»

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Einst&#252 wrote: »
    Rooney should be fined or punished for that though. I'd like to see a match ban for cheating and unsporting behaviour, same as if he'd got a red card. It's blatantly obvious from several angles that he just threw himself on the floor, which tbh makes a mockery of the referee (although he seemed to take care of that himself! :)) and the rules. I know it happens alot, decisions on actual incidents going the wrong way, (such as Ronaldo's penalty claim), but when the player cheats for it it should be considered as unsporting as pretending a player hit you or deliberately kicked a ball into your face. It's actually disgusting, and makes a mockery of the game, and the authorities associated with it. Even on MOTD2 last night they didn't even condemn it, which pisssed me off no end too! Ack!
    So do you reckon Toure should be fined and punished for his dive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Too ****ing right. That dive was such a disgrace. He knew it was so bad, he did not even get angry about it. Stupid twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

PHB wrote:
    Can somebody tell me what Ferdinand did wrong?

He shoulder charged the player, shoulder to shoulder, and the player fell down.
    How exactly is that a foul?

because it wasn't shoulder to shoulder, he shoved into the the forwards back with his shoulder and basically shoved him to the ground.

Freddy was PAST him.

Into his back?! You're joking aren't you?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

PHB wrote:
    Can somebody tell me what Ferdinand did wrong?

He shoulder charged the player, shoulder to shoulder, and the player fell down.
    How exactly is that a foul?
    Ljungberg had knocked the ball on, and hence didnt have it, he shouldnt be shouldered (or even touched) if he doesnt have the ball.

And yes pornapster, he was ahead of Ferdinand (only marginally but you cant deny that), so it was in his back.

He didn't touch his back at all JT. If anything it was hip to hip contact. And that is only because Ljungberg had lost his balance after knocking the ball too far in front of him.

It was a collision, nothing more. It happens in football. If Ljungberg had control of the ball Arsenal might have got something from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    So do you reckon Toure should be fined and punished for his dive?
    Diving of any form should be punished. It's unsporting and makes a mockery of the sport. Turns into an aerobic dive contest, score an avg of 9.6+ and get a free peno. Ridiculous. And I'd happily see any of my teams players receive the same punishment. Really is sad to see players playing in the most popular sport in the world, supposedly for the love of the game, cheating like 4 year olds in a park. We'll be accustomed to actual tears and fits in a few years, screaming and crying till the scumbags get their own way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Ljungberg had knocked the ball on, and hence didnt have it, he shouldnt be shouldered (or even touched) if he doesnt have the ball.

Exactly Ljunberg didn't have the ball so there is no way it could have been a red card. At most it could have been a yellow but the ref let a lot of stuff go from both sides before issuing his first card in the match.

I agree with Einstürzende and the sooner Video evidence is introduced to enable that to be policed properly the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Ok so either,

A. He had lost control of the ball and thus the foul would have been a yellow and it would have been a free kick

or

B. It wasn't a foul

Either way he wouldn't have gotten sent off, and you can see that he was looking for the foul by the way he turned away from Ferdinand to make it look like it was a shoudler to shoudler chalange, if you watch it you will see that Freddy is facing in an unusal direction for no apparent reason.

Credit referee for leaving cards in pocket
    By David Elleray

“IT’S GOOD to talk.” That was clearly Mike Riley’s philosophy as he sought to take the heat out of the early stages of the match. His attitude was clear as early as the 45th second when Ashley Cole was late with a challenge that could have brought a yellow card. Sensibly, Riley spoke to Cole and took the same action five minutes later when Wayne Rooney was careless with his tackling.

Riley’s approach brought a sense of calm to the opening 15 minutes and when Edu and Ruud van Nistelrooy clashed he wisely took note of their sporting reaction to each other and again spoke rather than reached for his cards. The diplomatic approach brought benefits and Riley only showed the yellow card five times in a fiercely contested encounter, although he was generous with Gary Neville in the 23rd minute.

There were two big decisions and he got them both right. Rio Ferdinand’s collision with Fredrik Ljungberg in the eighteenth minute was just that — two players coming together. No foul and thus no dismissal. The 71st-minute penalty for Sol Campbell’s foul on Rooney was a difficult decision because the forward made the most of the slight contact but the laws do not require the referee to judge the degree of contact.

Up until that penalty, Riley had had almost nothing to do in the second half and in refereeing circles we believe that the mood of the second half reflects the referee’s success (or otherwise) in dealing with the emotions of the first half.

Riley’s control of this pulsating match confirmed his position as the country’s top official, fully justifying the decision of Keith Hackett, the Professional Game Match Officials Limited general manager, to appoint him to the game.

Amid all of the big decisions and talking points, Riley deserves great credit for his contribution to a fine game. By not reaching for his cards early but having the confidence to talk, he ensured that there were 22 players on the field at the end of a game that was fiercely contested but never spiteful.

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

PHB wrote:
    Ok so either,

A. He had lost control of the ball and thus the foul would have been a yellow and it would have been a free kick

or

B. It wasn't a foul

Either way he wouldn't have gotten sent off, and you can see that he was looking for the foul by the way he turned away from Ferdinand to make it look like it was a shoudler to shoudler chalange, if you watch it you will see that Freddy is facing in an unusal direction for no apparent reason.

I dont think he had lost control of it. He had knocked it on so far ahead of him that he wasnt in posession. BUT I still feel that he would have been first to the ball between him, Carroll and Ferdinand, so I think Arsenal do have a case when they highlight the incident.

Having said that, and Ive already explained my stance on this in another thread. He went down too easily, that annoyed me. He probably would have scored if thats what he wanted to do instead of cynically trying to get Ferdinand sent off. So Im not pushed that it wasnt given.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

This really is incredible. Arsenal and their fans moan an incredible amount. Giving out here that Rio should have been sent off. Perhaps. Should Lauren have been sent off a few games back for a similar offence? Didn't hear ye moaning about the ref's performance that day. Get on with the game. Should Rooney's penalty have been given? Imho no. However, at first, as everyone I think will admit I thought it was a blatant spotter. From the ref's angle he had to give it. Having the benefit of many replays, I thought it shouldn't have been given. However it's funny how the Arsenal players moan that Rooney went down too easily. Each and every one of their players would have done it. Toure tried it. Poorly. I've seen Bergkamp try it. Henry. Pires is always at it. Should Ronaldos have been given? Yes. Did I think so on first view - no. The ref is getting an awful doing, but we've all been sat here with how many replays? My own favourite moan had to be Henry (quelle surprise?), as Carroll was standing with the ball at his feet, before picking it up. Henry walked up to him, and after Roy picked it up and booted it clear started giving him abuse for time wasting. I'm sure Arsenal would never do that! Look at the rule book moany. And if you want him to kick it quicker, why don't you put more pressure on. Oh and by the way take a leaf out of Ruud's book when celebrating. Witness his celebrations versus Villa and Pana. Should be charged with incitement for the first, and levelled by an opposition team member for the pure cocky arrogance of the second. As for Campbell refusing to shake hands, possibly the oldest baby I've ever seen. Ridiculous carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

God, nice to see the soccer forum hasnt changed at all. Maybe if utd fans reply enough it will somehow vaildate the result :)

Anyway, poor game and a disapointing end to arsenals run. The game hinged on 2 incidents. In any interpretation of the shoulder and the last man rule, rio should have gone without question. The question of whether the ball was a foot too far away from ljundberg is a strawman with no relevance to the decision made. Riley bottled it and the game would have taken an entirely different turn (it might have dissuaded the nevilles from trying to end reyes playing days in england for one).

The rooney penalty incident has in my eyes been shown to be a dive but at the time i was pretty sure it was a peno. I dont blame the ref for giving it (pity they linesman didnt speak up tho - it possibly looked like a peno from his POV as well though). Rooney dived in the same way that pires dives and hendrie dives and every player who gets into the box dives. Thats football.

Arsenal didnt play well and certainly didnt deserve to win. Personally I thought that a draw was a fair result as neither team looked like conceding a goal untill arsenal pushed so many forward and were very open to a break.

I have called rvn every name under the sun in the past and it was nice to see the united fans in the place where i watched the game agree with me after seeing his assaults on cole and lehman. While there was absolutly no malice in rios challenge (i would have done the same myself and expected to be sent off), Ruud seems to enjoy cheating like a sunday league gouger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,894 ✭✭✭SteM

United away to Crewe in the league cup tonight.......

Crewe’s chef Tonnya Blaise

“Pizza is definitely off the menu here — and there won’t be any soup for the players either. There will be some in other parts of the ground, but we won’t let it near the dressing rooms. The only food we have in the changing rooms are sandwiches for the players to eat. They are all made from plain food like egg, beef and ham. There won’t even be any chutney or relish to worry about. Besides, the way our club is run I don’t think you’ll find any players using them for anything except curbing hunger pangs.

LOL

Is the crew match televised, Sky MUTV??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,894 ✭✭✭SteM

It's not on live anywhere I don't think. It's on MUTV in full at 9:55 though.

SteM wrote:
    It's not on live anywhere I don't think. It's on MUTV in full at 9:55 though.

Thanks Stem I shall endeavor to book the telly for 9.55 so.

Dustaz wrote:
    I have called rvn every name under the sun in the past and it was nice to see the united fans in the place where i watched the game agree with me after seeing his assaults on cole and lehman. While there was absolutly no malice in rios challenge (i would have done the same myself and expected to be sent off), Ruud seems to enjoy cheating like a sunday league gouger.
    So he's nearly as bad as half of the Arsenal team then so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    So he's nearly as bad as half of the Arsenal team then so...

No?

Noone from Arsenal has been banned for 3 games for deliberate violent conduct in relation to that match pornapster. Perhaps you should keep up with the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

OK closing this one too before I ban more people from here!!!