Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you think? What can be better next time?

• 25-10-2004 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭

I thought the lan was excellent. It was unfortunate for me that my Cousin arrived from Austrailia sort of out of the blue and I had to show her how COOL Galway was. Anyway I hope ye all helped to tidy away. Congrats to the CS and Quake 3 winners. I wanted to play Warcraft 3 and a bit of BF1942. Maybe next time!!!

How did people find the overnight sleeping. Twas a bit cold??? The hall imo was excellent, if not perfect. I heard there was a shop close by, which I had no idea about, and someone even told me twas 24hr...

So, What do you think? What can be better next time? Could the power take more ppl. Asok and Syxpak were brill for organising everything and keeping the cool :) I saw doodee with the brush and thanks to Falcon for taxi'ing stuff around. Anyone else that helped I'd like to say thank u for making GLXI a momorable lan. Perhaps I'm being a bit too much here, but I'm over the ****ING moon for winning CS :)

I did alright in the other games except the final. As Terrorist first half I lost 0 kills and 12 deaths (methinks)... I was sooooo nervous. Doodee ran in front of me 3 times and all I could doo was spray around him. But then I redeemed myself (even with 1 bomb frags = 3kills) coming out on top with 12 - 1. could someone please give me the HLTV demo of the final plz. its rory[dot]carroll[at]gmail[dot]com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Sniipe wrote:
    I wanted to play Warcraft 3 and a bit of BF1942. Maybe next time!!!
    ffs. now you ****ing tell me.
    would have loved a quick game of wc3, i thought Ken was the only other one there who wanted to play :(

i seemed to be the only person there who actively played ut2004 outside of the lan... (quetzal somehow managed to beat me by 1 frag in an instagib match despite that :mad:)

wasnt really in the mood for lanning, and i didn't fancy staying overnight on saturday. so i just jumped in a taxi with my pc when the oppertunity arose. sorry if i left any mess behind :confused:
    starting drinking vodka at 3pm on saturday was prolly a bad idea

when did the q3 tourny actually take place?

alright lan overall. even if i neglected to leech any pr0n :o
    fair ****s to Hook and Paek for putting so much effort into it, seemed like a very stressful time for them. cheers to nadir, falcon, quetzal and ronan for providing leechables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

Neo, wanted to play wc3(is that ken) Caliden was after me to get wc3 aswell. Got ur Text, I'll be in touch by the way Caliden. Perhaps tomorrow.
    I wanted to know falcon did ur Camera thing work out?? Did u make a movie and how big is it??? Great idea btw. Porn, I got 3 files, clockwork, something else and something else. I also got some other stuff but it was corrupted... I'll never know if the alien or prediator wins...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

nah, Ken = Angelwhore/Karl_Hungus.

is the corrupt avp movie a 1.4gb mpg file?

yep, just after deleting it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

Everyone thought it was corrupt- ye don't know what codecs are? - works on my pc with all latest codecs, they were on my ftp so ye have no excuse.

Well I'm gonna watch it and tell ye all the ending of it :D

Syxpak: When you get this can you have a look in the osp/demos folder on the pc you ran the dedicated servers on in the end? If the server recorded them then I'll be wanting to have another attempt at making a gaming movie so upload them :)

Re: cleaning up . Myself and Doodee made an attempt at sweeping up and a good few people helped put tables/chairs away, I'm sure everything will be grand...

The camera worked but they didn't bother running/recording it most of the time afaik.

que

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I thought that was a great lan, lots of leeching as usual and lots of BF1942 :D Can't wait for the next lan! :) Also, thanks to Syxpak and Asok for organising it, keep up the great work! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Yeah was a good lan. Wish i knew where the shop was, i was really thirsty/hungry during friday night :mad:. Ah well next time.

I actually enjoyed DC this lan, which is a first :D and i'm not to bothered about getting cained in the cs tourney, but next time i'll have reaper bot just in case :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Caned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

R34P3R3D STEVE!!11

Goku said on room101.org review that the power went. When and how???

The switches went a few times and on one of those occasions the Cleggan lad's pointlessly overpowered pc's died...

Sniipe: on your review, put <br> wherever you want start a new line, it's a mess atm :) .

Cyan was busy, Anima = RaVeN , asok never played any games seriously other than NS. Myself and arganite knocked RuffTy and nadir out of the q3 in the semis by about 20 frags :) .Dancing priest was sitting to the right of me. Ivan was sick. SiN showed up and owned me in q3 on Syx's pc (I seem to play alot better in tourni's when I'm nervous than in friendly games....I lost to most people in q3 before and after the tourni but killed them all in it...wierd). I wanted to play more ut2k4 after my first victory (in my first match against a human), but tman ran off saturday night and never returned. Ronan|Raven has asok's gene? He's his brother ffs! Army suit guy was Tadhg.

Hope that clears up some of your questions,

que

I knew asok and Ronan were bro's I was being scarcastic :)

I wish i could have played you at quake3 quetzal.. i hear you only beat anima's team in the tourney because you fragged his partner like 50 times..

played tho, its what i would have done ^_^
    when was SiN there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

whoever's sleeping bag i took, cheers :D , also alan is a drooler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Hehhehe :)

Improvements:

1. A table at the entrance where people pay, hand in their waiver and sign up for the tourny's before sitting down.

2. I need to sort out a CD with the latest virus defs and scanners to pass around before people are allowed on the network.

3. I need to get blackle working again and tweak the DHCP configs.

4. I need to install a IRC server, Intranet webpage and link all the information on it (game server IPs, important server IPs - IRC, TeamSpeak FTP etc.).

5. I need to hammer the rules and instructions into people because yet again half of the attendees hadn't read the rules.

6. I must find out who the electrician was who did the wiring and get a map of the power points off him to better aid my planning of the power layout.

7. I will bring a microwave in future.

8. I will look into arranging a bulk order deal/sponsorship with 4-star Pizza.

Also, a few people owe me €35 each, some weren't there, but at least 2 walked away without paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

i agree with point 2
    2. I need to sort out a CD with the latest virus defs and scanners to pass around before people are allowed on the network.
    got 12 worms in one day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Mikill

I picked up the LovSan worm/virus. :(

other than that little hickup it was quite an excellent lan.

DRakE wrote:
    I wish i could have played you at quake3 quetzal.. i hear you only beat anima's team in the tourney because you fragged his partner like 50 times..

played tho, its what i would have done ^_^
    when was SiN there?

Heh, we didn't even play anima's team in the tourni, nadir and RuffTy owned them out early on apparently, we beat them....killed them both fairly evenly afair.

Viruseses - people need to have avg installed, that way even if they don't use it you can just have the latest full updates on binary, and make it compulsary to update and scan before getting on the network.

DHCP would be nice as alot of people didn't bother going with their given ip's.

I've been pushing the signup for tourni's when you arrive idea for ages now, would be nice to see it being implemented rather than having to go around asking everyone do they want to play (be sure to include what the prizes are though as alot of people only enter to win)....

What rules did people break apart from the virus one?

Aye alot of people didn't attend, only about 30 showed up max methinks - if you make them pay they'll think twice about doing it again.

4 star sponsorship would truly own.

que

"I need to install a IRC server, Intranet webpage and link all the information on it (game server IPs, important server IPs - IRC, TeamSpeak FTP etc.)"
    Excellent point, an intranet site with virus def and how to's for various programs and uploading pics????
    The electrician thing will be hard to do tbh.
    It would be lovely to arrange the major comps b4 the event, but that ****ING impossible with the ppl that drop out between sign up and being there. Very rude to ppl that didn't come and never signed off the list. No excuses!
    I did notice a lot of random IP addys tbh.
    Drake thats cool about the CD's. I'll get them off John sometime in the future.
    I didn't pick up any virus but then again I didn't leech much.
    Plastic knives and forks next time lads :)
    The Console kitchen didn't work out too well. A projector would be nice. When is the next one??? Tomorrow I hear???
    Paragraphs are for n00bs tbh. Felix, u get btr at every lan also.
    <BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR><BR> whaaaaaa!
    methinks there was 40 there.

Oh well played on the Blades and the gamestop ****. That was very decent of them. I'll be using mine to purchase HL2 whenever it hits the stores. I brought my machine to Dublin... I love my machine... I hate carrying it. (499 posts, the next one I'll be a 3 star)... /me skurries off to find a pointless thread where I can post ++, then head home to play CS :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

It was a fairly fun lan.
    Gaming needs a bit more diversity, especially since it was either CS or DC that were non tournament gaming.

Aye, the q3 was very good as though there were a few good people there no-one was THAT much better than the general population....like in qw, there's SiN, me and Cyan and no-one else can get a frag in. In CS most people score as it's a team game, but in the end it goes down to the Alert lads, Caliden, sniipe, maksvilas etc. DC is fairly even but it's not great unless loads of people are playing it, afair the most people playing at one time was on saturday night (sunday morning technically) when about 15 people were in the server, but a 30+ game should be the goal as most people have it and want to play it.

How about set times in which, if you play all games, you go to one of them......the timetable idea is good but some people hate playing cs etc, but if you take 3 games, CS, q3 and DC, allocate certain times for big games in each, in which if you play 2 of them, you'll go to one at the allocated time.....if you catch my drift :)

My windows is seriously ****ed up after that LAN, and I havent got mplayer setup to play mp3's......methinks I'm gonna have to reinstall and go back to using it for a while :( . Looking into the registry exporting possibilities.

que

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NeoSlicerZ

ARGINITE wrote:
    i agree with point 2

got 12 worms in one day!
    I like my AVG and firewall :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Dancing_Priest

Yep, it was a great lan. BTW, like a fool I never managed to bring my bank reciept to the lan, so if you want it for the sake of record keeping, let me know and I'll arrange to get it to you.

I had AVG and it kindly pointed out that i had 12 worms on sunday morning, how taughtfull of it!

Timetables wouldn't work at a lan, what with people not being around and so on..

Dominos is waaay better than 4Star..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Sniipe:
    Rules broken:
    A good few people didn't have 4-gang adapters and even one or two needed kettle leads.
    Ffs people, this is basic stuff.
    There's a coupld of people who were actually at the lan and (afaik) haven't paid.
    There are also a few who didn't show and whom I am going to track down and get the money owed.
    If they don't pay, they'll be banned from future LANs.
    I've let it slide in the past, but we barely squeeked into covering the costs of this one.

One of the rules on Room101.org is that if someone signs up for a lan, doesn't come and then doesn't pay for the space they took, it's at the discretion of the organisers to ban that person from any future lans.
    There was quite a bit of outlay for this lan, between tables, chairs, venue, electricity, the extension reels, CAT5, switch etc. and I'm still trying to scrape together cash to buy the raid card and 3 drives.
    It's not exactly edifying to find people skiving off and wasting spaces on the attendees list when there were several people on the waiting list.

People attending and not paying? How low can you go?

I like 4star more than dominoes tbh :) .

que