Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Rooney resigns as CEO of FAI

• 03-11-2004 12:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭

Mr Fran Rooney resigned last night as chief executive of the Football Association of Ireland
    http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/front/2004/1103/1091477190HM1FOOTBALL.html

Rooney agrees deal to step down as FAI chief executive
    Emmet Malone, Football correspondent

Mr Fran Rooney resigned last night as chief executive of the Football Association of Ireland (FAI). Negotiations between representatives of Mr Rooney and the FAI ended with a financial settlement that severs the links between the 46-year-old former Baltimore Technologies chief and Irish football's governing body with immediate effect.

The agreement, which will be confirmed at a press conference today, is reported to have been concluded in a car-park of the UCD campus at Belfield. It brings to a conclusion the crisis that had threatened to paralyse the association and may still result in it being deprived of a substantial portion of its agreed Sports Council funding for the current year.

Mr Rooney is said to have initiated talks aimed at facilitating his departure in the wake of last Friday's meeting of the organisation's council where only three of the 60-strong body actually voted in support of him.

Mr Rooney was initially hired by the association on a six-month rolling contract. The value of his salary and benefits package was raised earlier this year to roughly €350,000. On that basis the minimum involved in his settlement would be expected to be some €175,000, although it is possible that the association paid more in order to secure a swift and clean end to the saga.

Mr Rooney only joined the association in May of last year but had recently been the subject of a series of letters of complaint from senior staff and reports of widespread dissatisfaction over his management style within Merrion Square.
    FAI to issue statement amid reports of Rooney resignation
    03/11/2004 - 10:10:26

http://breaking.tcm.ie/2004/11/03/story174138.html

The Football Association of Ireland is expected to issue a statement this morning following reports that Fran Rooney had resigned as chief executive.

Reports in the tabloid media said the 47-year-old Dubliner had negotiated a six-figure settlement with the FAI in lieu of the 18 months left on his contract.

Rooney, a former chief executive of Baltimore Technologies, has been under fire within the association due to his style of management and his performance in the job.

However, he had previously insisted that he would fight to retain the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Now lets see what Milo and the auld boys can do. The FAI need to sort themselves out fast, the Republic of Ireland are one of the worlds top 15 soccer teams, and the organisation in charge is a shambles.

I would like to see Milo and the others resign and a whole new board take over and implement the Genesis report in full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭The Rooster

irish1 wrote:
    I would like to see Milo and the others resign and a whole new board take over and implement the Genesis report in full.
    I'd like to see income tax reduced to 10% and an end to hospital waiting lists!
    irish1 wrote:
    .... the organisation in charge is a shambles.
    QED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

"Mr Rooney only joined the association in May of last year but had recently been the subject of a series of letters of complaint from senior staff and reports of widespread dissatisfaction over his management style within Merrion Square."

They were pissed off he was trying to improve things!!!!!

Typical FAI they'll always be a shambles , nothing's changed from 2000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

sounds like a sham alright. such a way to go about things. same old fai. what a joke.
    I hope the new guy is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Boro

Wasnt it all over that joke he told?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

roy keane for president!

his personality and managment style was the end of him. He probably didnt do a lot wrong, just the circus at merrion square at it again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I've absolutely no doubt that the FAI will not be improved by Rooney's "resignation" and the FAI (well Milo and Delaney) are after wasting a 6 figure some to get rid of him.

I hope those clowns sit up and listen
    Ireland fans threaten boycott
    03/11/2004 - 16:29:35

http://breaking.tcm.ie/2004/11/03/story174217.html

The Football Association of Ireland could face a fans’ revolt in the wake of the resignation of chief executive Fran Rooney, it emerged tonight.

Supporters threatened to boycott Irish international matches and urged the red-carding of the FAI board after claiming Mr Rooney was forced out.

Alan Hunter, general secretary of the Irish Football Supporters’ Association, called for the appointment of a sports commissioner to probe the FAI as Mr Rooney’s departure became the latest controversy to rock the organisation.

He claimed the move could hamper the implementation of the Genesis Report, which was commissioned in the wake of the Saipan debacle in 2002 when captain Roy Keane walked out on the World Cup following rows over the squad’s preparation.

“I’m calling on Taoiseach Bertie Ahern to assign a sports commissioner to fully investigate FAI activities since the launch of The Genesis Report,” he said.

“The powerful administrators of the FAI think they can now waffle along ‘willy nilly’ because there’s no CEO to implement the crucial recommendations of the Genesis Report of two years ago.

“But they will bow to grassroots fans’ demands to implement the Genesis Report in the face of a boycott of an upcoming international fixture or worse.”

Mr Rooney was chosen from 70 applicants to spearhead the FAI’s drive to implement the Genesis report in May 2003.

His business background as former Baltimore Technologies chief and his involvement with the Irish Ladies’ Team in the 1980s made him a popular choice at the time.

However, his relationship with the FAI board soured due to rows over his management style, culminating in a council meeting last Friday where only three of the 60 members voted in his favour.

President Milo Corcoran thanked Mr Rooney for his contribution during his 18 months in charge of the organisation and wished him well in the future in an FAI statement confirming the resignation.

Mr Rooney thanked his supporters and expressed his continuing commitment to Irish soccer.

“I will always be committed to football in Ireland,” he said.

“I thank all those who worked with me in the past 18 months.

“I am also grateful to the people who expressed their support for me.”

The statement said the details of the terms of agreement between Mr Rooney and the FAI would remain strictly confidential, but it is understood the cost of the severance package could run into six figures.

“There will be no further comment on this matter,” the FAI statement concluded.

Mr Rooney is believed to have handed in his notice last night after meeting FAI secretary Michael Cody.

Mr Hunter claimed senior officials at the FAI’s Merrion Square headquarters had “permanently diluted the potency and sanctity of the position of CEO” by getting rid of Mr Rooney.

“It can offer little solace to business or commercial sponsors either,” he said.

“It’s time these people were all red carded.”

Kdjak - I think even you will be disappointed to see Rooney forced out now that Delaney has appointed himself as the new CEO. I can't stand the ****er.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

FFS... Something has to be done about this and fast. I reckon Ireland fans should either boycott, or form a protest against the current FAI. The old guard really have to go before Irish football is a mess altogether.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I reckon Ireland fans should either boycott, or form a protest against the current FAI.
    Check out Foot.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

eirebhoy wrote:
    Kdjak - I think even you will be disappointed to see Rooney forced out now that Delaney has appointed himself as the new CEO. I can't stand the ****er.

That isn't Delaney the former Honoury treasurer is it ? ............the one thats been around for ages , and if Mr.Brendon Menton tells the truth is one of the main reasons why soccer in this country dosen't progress at a rate it should .

If its the same guy im majorly pissed off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Big Ears wrote:
    That isn't Delaney the former Honoury treasurer is it ? ............the one thats been around for ages , and if Mr.Brendon Menton tells the truth is one of the main reasons why soccer in this country dosen't progress at a rate it should .

If its the same guy im majorly pissed off .
    Yep thats him, he's basically Milo Corcanan's puppet. The Government aren't one bit happy do that it wasn't pubicly advertised. The FAI are shooting themselves in the foot big time. There's a protest been organised for next weeks game.

Milo Corcanan is controlling the organisation and f*cking it up big time, problem is the members seem happy to let him do it.

Lads, this protest is going ahead.
    http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=19278

It has been mentioned in the Sun and just heard it been mentioned on the TV3 Sports Bulletin. All you have to do is buy a reel of Red card and cut it into squares. It was Fran Rooney's idea to use the green cards before the players come out for the colour, the more red cards the better. It will be getting more press before the match so you won't be alone (As I said, a lot of the press read Foot.ie and a lot of people on Foot know people in the press). There's no doubt that Corcoran, Delaney et al will hear about this before the match so if there's only a few people doing it they'll feel they have won.

RTE have also mentioned the protest in their sports bulletin.