Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gift grub

• 10-11-2004 2:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

i just got the gift grub best of thing,
    its gas.
    dr bill cullen is sooo funny.

and dry your eyes becks is on it too.
    i'm amazed the streets let them use it. its still funny though.

anyone else listen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

no i didnt realise they had a new cd out must look into that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 garypope

have you heard the hector impression on that show?
    its good. he did one with tom cruise a while ago, nearly crashed the car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Have a look at the Today FM site.
    They have a selection of the gift grub sketches that you can play/download.
    Free and funny, what more could you ask for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭sanncoo

garypope wrote:
    have you heard the hector impression on that show?
    its good. he did one with tom cruise a while ago, nearly crashed the car!

Same as that Gary.....I had to pull over I was laughing so much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Taispáin dom d'airgead!

(sp?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

the tom cruise sketch is on the cd.
    its class.
    there's a deadly joe duffy one too about the smoking ban.
    "howerye... yeah yeah yeah....."

Hagar wrote:
    Have a look at the Today FM site.
    They have a selection of the gift grub sketches that you can play/download.
    Free and funny, what more could you ask for?

where on the site is this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Milkman Dan

Hagar wrote:

ah! haha
    gift grub is rapid.
    bertie and joe in the mornings!

did ye hear the one when mick mccarthy kicked roy keane out of saipan?
    it was on last years on funniest thing ever
    "jason!"
    "Yesh bosh?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,054 ✭✭✭✭Basq

"The catchphrase, Tomas.. the catchphrase!"

"Those gnashers again!"

"Tá se 'Rain Man'!"

Hilarious stuff! :)

For anyone who hasn't heard it:

http://www.radioireland.ie/audio/gifttom.wma

http://www.radioireland.ie/audio/giftroyston-1.wma

ha!! have you heard this one of Royston Brady?
    what ever happend him eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 flygirl

I love Dr Bill.
    'Be de hokey cokey an' dat...'
    the word of the day thing is just genius. The only thing is that it's so obvious it's Tom Dunne doing it...I can't listen to pet sounds any more without wondering why Bill is playing records...
    'Here's a bit of Morrissey, me oul' segosha..'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

flygirl wrote:
    I love Dr Bill.
    'Be de hokey cokey an' dat...'
    the word of the day thing is just genius. The only thing is that it's so obvious it's Tom Dunne doing it...I can't listen to pet sounds any more without wondering why Bill is playing records...
    'Here's a bit of Morrissey, me oul' segosha..'

It's not really Tom Dunne is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

yer, i think it is. if not, their voices are very similar.
    I say they require a good few takes cos he seems to be on the verge of roaring laughing during most of them.

yeah its definetly tom dunne.
    yerman who does most of it used to be in glenroe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

apparently loads of the dj's do voices in it.
    dunno who else though.

did anyone here bill cullen going into space?

god, i nearly cried laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭Ardent

basquille wrote:
    "The catchphrase, Tomas.. the catchphrase!"

"Those gnashers again!"

Laughing gear Tomas! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I like Gift Grub, except for Dr. Bill, just cant see whats funny about it.

The Nevermind the buzzcocks as gaeilge with Gerry Adams and Colin Farrell was my favourite.

i guess its just a dublin thing.
    i know its kinda the same thing all the time, but its mostly funny.
    radio roy is kinda old now, but dr bill is still kinda pulling it out of the bag.

its deadly for charity that the album is so high in the charts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Ditto, don't see anything funny about Dr. Bill. I don't even know who he is or is supposed to be.
    I like yer one, Mary Cochlan though. "Three hours hovering to do and you want me to feed the feckin' world? Shag off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

did anyone here bill cullen going into space?

The interview on The Last Word with Matt Cooper - the funniest thing I've ever heard.

Matt Cooper: "So you're going into space, but will it cost you a lot of money?"

Dr Bill: "Only 250,000 spons!! Sure I had it had it on me don't ya know. I'm goin to ask Richie if he'll let me drive da ting to da moon"

MC: "And as the first Irish man on the moon, what will you say when you get there?"

Dr B: "Apples, pears and chocolate, or da last o' da cheeky charlies, or brown bananas half price. Sure Mike Scott wrote a song about me don't ya know cos he's a big fan o' me entrepeneurship n dat. He said, Bill, all de others, dey saw the crescent but you, you saw da whole o' da moon"

Pure class!!

its deadly for charity that the album is so high in the charts...

its not for charity!
    you're thinking of the other album, eh, ray darcy with the irish lads... whatever its called....