Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Moving in with stangers...

• 16-11-2004 2:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone else hate moving in with strangers? I've got to move house now for the second time in 6 months because there's one person in the house I just can't get on with no matter how hard I try!

Why does it always work out that way that you can get on well with everyone else in the house bar that one person?!!!

Gahh!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

He/she gets on with everyone in the house bar one person, and he/she was there first. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Well, that's actually the situation which is why it's me that's moving out. Which is exactly as it should be. I can't complain about that. Just curious as to what kind of experiences other people have had moving in with strangers. For instance has anyone ever moved in with complete strangers and ended up becoming life long friends with them etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Well i actually lived with two mates which was great for a while until one of them lost their job and the other wanted to move back home anyways!After that i missed the freedom of living on my own but i didnt want to move in with strangers for fear of that exact reason so im still at home at the moment!Allways gonna be someone you wont get on with to be honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Yeah, it happens. Moved in with some people that seemed grand at first, but then went totally batsh!t loco on me. I ended up leaving as I was only there for about a month. It upset me for a bit at the time, they were really bad (mean), the chick was totally delusional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

There used to be a girl here who couldnt finish a sentance without a little laugh. Not joking, not one sentance.

"Do you want a cup of tea, aha ha ha ha?"

"Did the landlord come for the rent, aha ha ha ha"

Me: "Anything on the box?"

Her "No, ha ha ha ha"

Talk about f***ing irritating, she's gone now thankfully

Aye Trigger, I've lived with friends before and had a blast with it but just not in a position to do that at the moment and there's nothing in the line of bed-sits/affordable one bedroom flats in the area near where I work (South County Dublin) so the only option is unfortunately to move in with strangers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

There used to be a girl here who couldnt finish a sentance without a little laugh. Not joking, not one sentance.

Her "No, ha ha ha ha"

Jaysus that sounds like a living hell !!!!!!!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Sleepy wrote:
    Aye Trigger, I've lived with friends before and had a blast with it but just not in a position to do that at the moment and there's nothing in the line of bed-sits/affordable one bedroom flats in the area near where I work (South County Dublin) so the only option is unfortunately to move in with strangers...

Nowt better than with mates!They know what theyre getting and you know what your getting!absolute blast too!we can be messy b*stards too! :D wouldnt live on my own though!Out were i am you can get a 3 bedroom semi house for 1000e pm which is grand!just waiting on two mates(or even one and a stranger) who wants to get a gaff aswell!I miss my freedom really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Her "No, ha ha ha ha"

You murdered her , didn't you? Cmon you can tell us. Anything written here is (probably) inadmissable in court anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

could never live with strangers, just the thought of it sends me running.

I've lived on my own which was fantastic and with my gf (although sometimes she's like a stranger) which is also great, but the thoughts of sharing my space with someone I know nothing about. I don't think so..

Sleepy, there are always flats/bedsits available in South county dublin, especially around the stillorgan/dun laoire area...

I moved into student accomadation a few months back. At first there was only two of us and it was great, then about six weeks back a third guy was put in with us. He was sharing with the other guy, thankfully I have my own room.
    Anyways the new guy is a complete asshole.
    My house mate has caught the new guy using his tooth brush, tooth paste, towels, razor.
    He is also a slob. He cooks the same food each and every day, never tidying up after himself. He eats our food, watches tv from 12:00 in the day till 1:00 in the morning. Hes also foreign, but has perfect english, that is till you start giving out to him when all he says is me no understand.
    He doesnt seem to go to college at all.
    Its got to such a stage that my other house mate is looking to move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Slobs are the worst alright..

I was sharing a house with this guy once. Not only did he not clean up after himself, but he also stank, and scratched himself in front of us.

He eventually did a runner, and when the landlord cleared out his room, he found old wifey-porn magazines, numerous porn dvd's, and ...wait for it... used condoms on the floor! The latter being the most worrying as he never had any girls in the gaff.. dirty aul' baxtard was having a posh w*nk while reading about housewives... yuk!

(shudder...)

K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I moved in with strangers and have never had any problems with them - they're nice, tidy, quiet, normal in a word even if I don't have enough in common with them to become real friends. I can't be the only one to have had such a hslle free experience... ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭roar_ie

Well i reckon i am going to have to move into Dublin by January as i really hate commuting everyday. I reckon i am losing on average just over 3hrs each day :mad: So i am more than likely going to end up with some strangers.

The idea of living with strangers, for some reason doesn't bother. Probably because I would view it as a chance to get to know new and different people. And as the saying goes, a stranger is a friend you just don't know yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Her "No, ha ha ha ha"

sounds like that priest from father ted... :eek:

roar_ie wrote:
    The idea of living with strangers, for some reason doesn't bother. Probably because I would view it as a chance to get to know new and different people. And as the saying goes, a stranger is a friend you just don't know yet :)

Yeah that's how i viewed it too..
    I'd never share again.
    I now live in an apartment on my own, and it's bliss. Of course, I could just be too picky. For all I know I was the difficult one to live with..
    Best of luck to you!

K.

Iago wrote:
    could never live with strangers, just the thought of it sends me running.

I've lived on my own which was fantastic and with my gf (although sometimes she's like a stranger) which is also great, but the thoughts of sharing my space with someone I know nothing about. I don't think so..

Sleepy, there are always flats/bedsits available in South county dublin, especially around the stillorgan/dun laoire area...
    Ah, I should have clarified, affordable bedsits/flats. You can't seem to get anything in Stillorgan or Dun Laoaghaire for less than 600 a month before bills (though from what I've seen 800 is about the norm). It seems like most of those flats/bedsits that were once reasonable have been done up and are now being sold as places "suitable for a couple"...

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭tetsujin1979

I had to move 3 times the first year I lived in Dublin, everytime with strangers.
    First time with 2 blokes, no problems there but we couldn't get the extra room in the house filled so the landlord kicked out.
    Moved in with a couple (didn't know they were together at the time) and another girl. This started off fine, but turned into a waking nightmare, it was always what they wanted to watch on TV, DVD they wanted to see, drinking wine on the couch every night. Couldn't have more than 2 mates stay in the house (seriously) Spent more time in my room than any other room in the house. Other girl told me she was moving because of them, told her I'd wait until she left, and moved on myself. Most people I know who've lived with couples have had similar experiences.
    That was a year and a half ago, still in the same house, getting on great with the new housemates (one Irish, one German, one Japanese). No major problems, we're all a little messy from time to time, but it gets cleaned up.

Long story short, it's pretty much hit and miss, you could end up having a great time, it could be a slow death.

Hopefully third time's the charm then eh tetsujin?

Nice to know I'm not the only one that's had it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Sleepy wrote:
    Ah, I should have clarified, affordable bedsits/flats. You can't seem to get anything in Stillorgan or Dun Laoaghaire for less than 600 a month before bills (though from what I've seen 800 is about the norm). It seems like most of those flats/bedsits that were once reasonable have been done up and are now being sold as places "suitable for a couple"...

get yourself a bird then or better still get yourself a bird who alreay has a place and then you can become one of those bf's that "stays over" but has in fact moved in but just isnt paying rent (god i hate those ba$tards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

I am avoiding this TOTALLY by moving into an apartment on my own in the next 4 weeks...... this is sooooo gonna rock a jumongous amount of ass!!!!!! :D

::: ven0mous :::

That's right ven0m, rub it in :(

In the meantime I've 2 weeks to find a new place! :eek:

Sleepy wrote:
    That's right ven0m, rub it in :(

In the meantime I've 2 weeks to find a new place! :eek:

What you mean such as that it's a fully furnished luxery apartment with a seperate bedroom & kingsize bed right in the middle of Dublin City, with a gym in the building & secure underground parking & is costing me alot less than most apartments in the city center? LMAO ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

ven0m wrote:
    What you mean such as that it's a fully furnished luxery apartment with a seperate bedroom & kingsize bed right in the middle of Dublin City, with a gym in the building & secure underground parking & is costing me alot less than most apartments in the city center? LMAO ;)

you're a drug dealer, aren't you?

Beruthiel wrote:
    you're a drug dealer, aren't you?

No my dear, I am but a humble man making his way in the world & who happened to look after his cash in recent times & also bag himself a cracking ****ing job in the last month - LMAO

Congrats ven0m, now kindly bugger off and let me wallow in my own grief! :p

ven0m wrote:

(ahem)way ahead of you Venom. And I own mine :cool:

Cya..

K.

(ahem)way ahead of you Venom. And I own mine :cool:

Cya..

K.

Don't make me come upstairs Kev..... LOL wait a sec, I am!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Pigman II wrote:
    You murdered her , didn't you? Cmon you can tell us. Anything written here is (probably) inadmissable in court anyway.

A man with less patience could easily have done. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Have never moved in with stranger, only friends from college, and people I got to know through work. Even if you have the inevitable cabin fever and slight arguments, its much easier to sort any problems out with someone you know than a complete stranger.

I've had friends move in with people they didn't know, some got on really well, some people had complete nightmares.

I just don't like the idea of having to lock my bedroom door when I leave the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Sleepy wrote:
    Does anyone else hate moving in with strangers? I've got to move house now for the second time in 6 months because there's one person in the house I just can't get on with no matter how hard I try!

Why does it always work out that way that you can get on well with everyone else in the house bar that one person?!!!

Gahh!!!
    When I read the title, thought it said "Moving in with SKANGERS", have never had much luck either, so moved back home. Close to work and dont have to worry about food and the like.....but i miss the freedom....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

From your post Sleepy I gather that moving back to parents isn't an option. Even if it is a theoretical option; it isn't. You're best taking your chances with flatmates imho. Suggestion: you may favour people who work varied shifts - you'll have overlap - but three 9-5 ers mostly only works when Jennifer Anniston is one of them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

jenifer anniston is a minger

(another highly constructive post from me ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

stagolee wrote:
    jenifer anniston is a minger

(another highly constructive post from me ;) )
    I still find her adorable- anyflatmate of mine I could cheat out of the last Heiniken on the shelves is adorable -burp! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I've done a bit of flat sharing with strangers. One indescribable nightmare of a situation and one totally sound bloke.

If I was doing it again, overall I would move mountains to try and get my own place. I would be so worth it to have your own space. Given the same situation again I would accept a longer commute/buying a bike to get my own space. Having a place you're delighted to come home to is a huge plus to your qulaity of life.

It wouldn't balance out a savage commute to work but would be well worth moving a bit further afield methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

anyflatmate of mine I could cheat out of the last Heiniken on the shelves is adorable -burp! :D

admitedly that is quite a redeeming quality :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

well my current roomate was a stranger when I moved in with her, it is her house and she is a smoker. We are not "friends' but we are able to co-habitate , she is a real pig and I like to clean...so it works out. Though sometimes its gets ridiculous...like I think she doubles up on the pigginess cause she knows I will clean it up.
    She has 2 dogs that I do most of the looking after and I cant keep up with the mess they make, dog hair and one isnt house trained.
    I have lived there for 2 1/2 years now and I plan on moving out in the summer.
    I lived alone for 7 years, the only upside to having a roomate is sharing the bills and rent, I am able to save a lot of money :D

I have only lived with strangers 3 other times, when I lived in Dublin. It lasted a month each, the last one was a good situation, the first two were bad.
    enough said. ;)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

The worst is when they gang up on you and vote you out and you have to do an interview with that insufferable Davina McCall.

I could never live on my own. I'd go nuts within two days. Thankfully I've never had to, and have only ever lived with decent to übercool people - friends, random students, girlfriend. Oh, except this one time for about 3 months when I lived in a house full of Dutch veganazis. *shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

ven0m wrote:

Sounds like the Metropolitans?

.logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

I was living with me best mate at one stage.. a scottish girl and a sweeidsh girl... the sweedish chick was a god damn nutcase..never cleaned up ever.. had a cat in her room that she kept secret from us.. and we were wondering why the house started to stink.. Mind you, she had to put up with _me_ ; I used to bang down her door in the middle of the night for fun.. saying ' I have something really important to show you!! ' she would be screaming back ' no you are just going to show me your ass!!' ' No honestly it's important!!' then she'd come out and there would be me with my ass hanging out out.. Or while she was reading sneak up into her blindspot.. then shout her name .. ass in the face! Then there was the drug use.. etc etc etc

Anyone want a flatmate ?

Tom