Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone going to Carlow IT ?

• 29-08-2001 5:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭

Much the same as the "Anyone going to UL?" thread on this board smile.gif

I'll be starting first year of a computer networking degree in Carlow come September 10th. It'd be nice if I knew anyone else going eek.gif

- Munch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

ivan is going . lets c . i was there .... emm its a load of fun .

what type of world will we live in when there is no world ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Deadside

i got an offer but i heard that it isnt that "great".

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭Bomberman

Were u from munch?

it carlow is gr8 . been there for 2 years . best time of my life to date . the computers there are mostly p3 800's and nice g-cards the net connection is a 5 meg line . the admins there know a lot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i got some friends doin that course in the IT in carlow, and another friend doin industrial design there.

poor chaps ain't even leavin home to go to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Bomberman - I'm from Kilkenny. I'll be traveling up and down on the bus for a while anyway, as Kilkenny is only 30-45 minutes away. Elexes, what's the network like there? Any firewalls or anything like that blocking out fun stuff like IRC or [ahem] games? biggrin.gif

- Munch

hup eek.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

carlow IT ppl seem to spend most of their time in widemouth..... gr8 advert for d college..

I was in there today elexes, for an "information day". Those CDRW and Zip Drive machines sound good for bringing stuff home eh smile.gif

Can't go out on monday night though, unless I find somewhere to kip, cos I'm getting the bus up and down each day from Kilkenny (for a while anyway).

Btw, thanks for the login info biggrin.gif

- Munch

tis true
    www.widemouth.com ( its actually a good place to meet ppl . its also ppl looking for sex most of the time and quite often there female )
    is owned by a guy that lives becide the collage and the chat room is like the unoffical collage chat room

u are allowed to do whatever they dont block anything . but dont get cought on irc . java games , games, java chat , porn .

there pritty sound there . if ur goign there join the computer soc . there should b 2 lads kieth and ivor setting it up just tell them ya know me then tell them that u wana be on the board for the soc ( they need some first years on it ) it will cost £1 to sign up to a soc at liest maby 2 at max . ( computer soc is only place ull be allowed chat and games )

also there is a room full of x8 cdrw .

about 400 computers all gen access with zip 250 disks .

6 scanners .

about 24 web cams .

saving files onto the computer is a bit of a hit and miss . just get rid of a file cant rember the exact name think its dbox.bat
    well its a bat file that runs at the start of a logon just del all the info of the bat file and ur files will stay safe on the desktop .

one thing there security was very tight with passwords etc on the nt computers . tis why i posted wonderign about resettign the bios password without opening the case .

also last year 2 computers were stolen
    2 £6k projectiors were stolen and about 50 mice also . they will kill ya if your cought taking any of the ( ps i want another mouse )

btw if you can . the first night ( this monday ) is one of the best nights to go out . so do . who knows i might be there .

also u might not get a log on id for a while

so hear ya go
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    user name compsoci
    pass rockers
    </font>

em. ill be down a good bit during the collage year i might c ya there play you in cs or q3ta or somthn and get the admin passwords

[This message has been edited by elexes (edited 05-09-2001).]

sorry got it a bit wrong sunday night is the night to go out ... messed up a lil there dident i ?

well ill be down . hope you enjoy the class if your in cw019 tell margret power that she is a huge fat b!atch .

emm..... lets c em.... ye ill be down on sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

My best m8 is going to carlow IT. He's doing networking. maybe its the same course as you. If you play cs u might know him his name is Baldy

Yours sincerely,
    Mr.Applepie

I don't play Counter-Strike myself, so I don't think I know Baldy. Does he post to these boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Ive seen baldy he's pretty decent at cs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭jamiecake

only replyong here to c if your envelope bursts...look on main page

this is kinda new .... o well so whois going to be there tonight ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

All my mate knows are numbers on doors,,,,

Do u play often,

Dates / details / times ?????

Gimme the room numbers of those labs :D

What building are they in do ye know slydice?

you 2 talking about the codes to get into the locked rooms . or the numbers on the rooms to make each one different ?

well if the compsoc starts up it will be on the top floor of the lrc in the middle room behind the glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

He goes by the name of michael and occasionally posts on boards! U might find him on irc during the weekends or somethin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Baldy

Whats the story lads??!! My name is Michael and i've been in Carlow IT 4 a week now well 4 days actually. It's a ****ing deadly college with a great social life :D . I already spent hundred quid on nights out :eek:. But the College is very hi tech lots of PCs and good sports facilities i think haven't really tried them because i need to be registered :D.

Give us a shout if know nething i dont!!!
    CYA hopefully LADs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Ah yes the night life..... Oh wait I'm going to ENgland...... £1 a pint/shot every night of the week, and free night clubs WWWWWWOOOOOOOOOO HHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

John

yes i know the carlow night life 2 well . ... urg .. those nxt mornings . well ill be talking to the head of the compsoci and the netsoc so what do you guys want ????

Hello Baldy :D What course are ye doing? (CW046 here)
    well ill be talking to the head of the compsoci and the netsoc so what do you guys want ????

Well, any tips or anything regards the computer facilities? ie, which machines have cd writers and stuff :D

(Anywhere in the college where its safe to play games without getting banned for a week? :)

I was playing around with that IPTV yokemebob there on thursday... ended up watching Ricki Lake in me hardware practical :p

nice work on that ip tv thingy

well best place to get to play games is in 3rd floor back room ( the one that isent the cad room ) the back of the room . they usualy dont go into that room and if they do you should have enough time to press alt +f4 or lock ur computer and walk off .

as for the room with the cd righters ur a first year and wont be authorised to use them . ..... but then again if you dont get cought using them they wont know the difference there on the second floor back room behind a locked door that is usualy open .

if a leacture is in there do ask can u use one as most of them dont like the students moving into class while there teaching as most of there classes do go on for some time into the night .

those cdrw computers are win 98 and u can install whatever you want onto them :) do rember not to be cought but if you do put somthn like pc anywhere or another program that will allow me to gain access to a computer ther while im at home it would be mutch appreciated . any cd keys you find on computers for programs would also be nice

and hears a how to get a mouse gide

you will need
    • sharp knife
    • bag
    • lookout
    • brains ( optional )
    • pint (must have)
    • getaway car ( it mabe hard to get up that lift in the lrc but its worth it )

unplug the computer cut the power cord and put it into your bag
    then take the mouse lead wide it out through the lock and bingo u got urself a mouse for this info i want a mouse .

btw watching tv on a computer/chatting/irc/ downloading mp3's / warez sites / porn will get ur account suspended

rember that if you think that you have deleated all ur files from the computers ur wrong . they dont .there saved and another program is used to access them cant rember what its called

emmm what else should you know .... sunday nights can be fun . dont go near the bouncers they are always right . if they aint . they will beat you till you think there right .

thats about it enjouy and ill see you soon for my mouse and the pints were goin to have after discussing now best to get this years admin passwords off the computers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

Originally posted by elexes
    emmm what else should you know .... sunday nights can be fun . dont go near the bouncers they are always right . if they aint . they will beat you till you think there right .

lol sounds like standard bouncer operating policy.

Heh, now I wasn't planning on stealing hardware from the college :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭Ivan

Heya, Ciarán here. I'm startin first year in IT Carlow, I'm doing CW019, the computer programming cert. I'm renting a place to stay in carlow so if any of you guys wanna crash the night, gimme a shout. ;)

mail me and I'll give ye me mobile no. I've been in for a week now and the place looks pretty awesome, but the some of the security seems pretty lax. Havent found the Win98 machines yet, which should be fun when I do.

Anyway, I'll see ye about.

ill be up ther with a very large sack so ill get somthn i guess . hehehhhehehehehehehehehehehe have to do it myself . ivan ill be staying with ya once i get settled in cork

Whats ur name Stephen (full name obviously) ???
    Are you in group 1a or 1b for the praccies???

Check your private messages!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭djmagra

Still suffering Baldy!!! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

feck sake :) soon as I leave carlow for galway I find out that a whole load of yes are livin here.

in't that lovely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Headcase

hello all, Ivor here and i am the head of the computer society along with my colleague Keith aka NastyCrash.

Compsoc will be in Room A307, it will be on 2 nites a week, more in likely monday and wednesday between the hours of 5-9.

Elexes will not be getting admin passwords though he'd like to think so. to join, go to freshers day next wednesday and sign up. it'll cost u £1 and we hope to start that nite.

we will hopefully playing quake 3, cs, aoe2, ts and we'll see after that. if u have cracked games, bring'em.

Keith and I are both 2nd yr Computer Networking students.
    cya soon

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

hello there ppl

this is your chairman speaking! Keith here! well hows it goin? E i hope your not studying too hard down there in Cork!

Compsoc should be up and running for next Wednesday! all goin well! well have Lab 307 booked and every1 needs to pay the membership fee! WE NEED MONEY!

E... we talked to Fergal yesterday! we can play games all the time but we cant log on to chatrooms etc.! they wont take down the firewalls that are in place!

You know the little problem you had with the hard-disk space last year............. well its looking good for us now! they installed 3 new servers and they said that there might be more Disk space available for us!!!! we are aiming for 1 gig!

Gents...you well?? What are the chances of bringing my laptop in for some of the evenings and plugging it into the network? I'll chat to ye in more detail about it when we meet up, but I just wanna know if is even a remote possibility

I take it no internet gaming then ?? I'll miss GAMESHOP (Irish CS Server) on the weekday.

"I take it no internet gaming then ?? I'll miss GAMESHOP (Irish CS Server) on the weekday."

jesus mate, do you ever give over on the games???

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭nasty_crash

Look lads! its all bout how you do it! rite if you get a PC that is facing the opposite way from the Admin's office you might get away with it!

Ivan, Headcase and Myself played AoE2 over the network on Thursday and nothing was said to us! I think you can still play Quake 3 on the net but just watch out for Admins! Compsoc can cover you on Monday and Wednesday Evenings but after that its your Login ID that is banned for a week!

But you can play with friends on the Network in a Room! you hardly ever get caught in there! And there is hardly any one in the rooms!

well i hear yas going good so far . head ill talk to ya tonight in da pub . btw ivan now has the collage networked to his house ( da b@stard i wasent allowed that ) so he will be getting the addy of my ftp server in the usa . btw lads if you have any nice software put it up ther and ill sort it . talk to him about it. also ill be down thursday so whois comming out on thursday and night . come on a massve sesion

lads look for a computer that i can boot up off with a cd or disk

ive got a way to get around the firewall i think but i dont think it will work for the java chat prgs just irc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭Ivan

Ian, If I dont get to talk to before I head back, then read this.

Come down on Wednesday so you can get in on the Comp Soc fun, your welcome in my place for the two nights...anyway gotta run.........

Ivan/Ciarán

Ivan,

Want to fill me in on what is happening??

dj r u djivide ?

WHO????