Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When car recovery goes bad

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭_sheep

Whereabouts was this ? Saw it on SA and few minutes ago, showed it to a few lads and thought it looked irish alright. If you look at the garda in the background he has his hands in his pockets just staring at proceedings :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

this was posted yesterday. Hadn't spotted it was irish though!!!

the reg plate is very clear in the last shot on the 2nd crane

• Registered Users Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭beer enigma

I'd say its East/South East Coast.....

There's a Redmond Bros. Van in the background & they're based in Arklow, Co. Wicklow & the Second crane is a dublin reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Via Ruairi on Open:
    http://www.roundstone-connemara.com/newssept704.htm
    End of Season:
    We have certainly have had our ups and downs in the village this year
    what with somebody falling off the village wall, thank god not killed,
    and then in the wee hours of Saturday morning, a car goes into the
    Harbour, with a young man at the wheel, the car landed upside down and
    if it was not for the vigilance Mary King who alerted Sean de Courcey,
    Sean fair play to him pulled this man out of the car, which was nearly
    totally submerged in the tide and pulled him to safety, what ever way
    you look at it, Sean saved his life, yet again another near fatal
    accident, and then I suppose on the slightly humorous side and to add
    insult to injury, a tow truck was called out to pull the car out, now
    get this, the truck fell in while trying to lift the car, no donít
    worry there was no one in it, it was remote controlled, but the
    machine was not heavier enough to lift the car out, therefore, a
    proper professional machine had to be called in, and the job was done,
    no loss of life, what was interesting the amount of people that came
    to have a look at this task you would think we had another social
    event going on .
    I am just wondering if their had been a Garda presence could this
    accident have been prevented, or is it going to take a fatal accident
    for the powers that be to sit up and arrange for Garda Presence
    particular in the months of July and August, its time to fight again
    for a Guard, but I feel the whole community is going to have to have a
    strong input re this important matter this time, if we are going to
    improve on the villages image. Itís not all doom and gloom we have had
    some great events and fun for tourists and us alike.
    All the events that did take place during the summer for our visitors
    and locals, feed back have been very positive.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you look at the pictures, there *was* a Garda present when the second truck arrived, but maybe he only wandered up from the station when he heard the commotion. Sounds like a quiet little village...