Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nooooooo!! Burn In Hell Ambassador

• 20-11-2004 10:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭

According to ticketmaster.ie, megadeth's show will be 18+ and ID required.........................so angry... :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Bass.exe

Time to whip out the 'ol fake ID.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Time to not bother. The Ambassador always say that for insurance reasons or whatever but they don't check, especially if you look older than nine and/or are sober.

Hehe, my solution 2 was going to be "Grow a beard" :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭asphalt-cushion

Time to not bother. The Ambassador always say that for insurance reasons or whatever but they don't check, especially if you look older than nine and/or are sober.

That's true. But could you not try and go with an older person? My little brother is 11 and the biggest megadeth fan i know. He will be crushed if he can't go to this. I was just gonna bring him with a couple of my friends. I doubt the security will have a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

yeah this is ****e. This is the main reason why me and my friends have missed a load of gigs in Dublin, cos we thought we wouldnt get in. We're going to Megadeth nevertheless and I'm gonna get a fake ID (I'm 16)......do ye think I should get a fake ID to be on the safe side??? Some of my mates aren't that pushed as they got into Anthrax without ID's.

Yeah asphalt-cushion. I wouldn't think they'd have a problem with it. They're nice guys who understand the situation, especially if you're with someone older. Jamey, if an ID makes you feel better go for it but I wouldn't think you'll be asked, especially if you look 16.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Yeah asphalt-cushion. I wouldn't think they'd have a problem with it. They're nice guys who understand the situation, especially if you're with someone older.
    no. security in the ambassador are assholes on a serious power trip, beware.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Shazbot

as someone said , they say 18's for liability purposes. i have never seen the ambassador check for id. the only place i have been to that checked id was tbmc.

as for getting a fake id. dont. they are a waste of money and anyone with atleast 1 eye working can spot them a mile away. very few fake ids work

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

ferdi wrote:
    no. security in the ambassador are assholes on a serious power trip, beware.
    Aye, don't like them.
    Everyshow I've been at that check everyone for ID.

You can get some that work well. Myself and a few friends used to have excellent ones that'd get you anywhere, but I lost it and I can't seem to remember where I got it. Doesn't matter. I haven't had a use for it in a long time anyway. Ferdi, what I meant was that they're sound when it comes to letting minors in. They are power-crazed but if you just stay well out of their way you'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,579 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

the last time i was at ambassador (sept.) they were only asking for id so they could stamp you for the bar.

i walked straight passed them and only when i went to the bar realised my stupidity

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

never seen anyone asked for id at the ambassador but it's been a couple of months since I've been there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Mystic Fibrosis

That's odd, I've never been asked for ID in TBMC...maybe you just look young

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 elf-boy

i'm probably going and i'm 11 and if they don't let i'm going to sneek in.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,889 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

that's the spirit!!! last time i was in the ambassador(july 12th 2002 for foo fighters) they didnt care! didnt check id

• Registered Users Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭mp3guy

that's because the foo fighters weren't bad-ass enough to demand an over 18s limit

• Registered Users Posts: 5,889 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

oh and megadeth are? fookin cheesy cock munchers. metallica wannabes is all they are ;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Nah... I believe it is the opposite. Metallica were using Mustaine's music for their early albums, so who is the wannabies there? How can you say that Metallica aren't cock munchers with Lars and Kirk in their band?!

/me smacks evad_lhorg

How dare you. Pornapster is right. Metallica "stole" a load of Mustaine's stuff. Actually, he let them use it, but then used it himself aswell. So, Four Horsemen, Call of Ktulu and a crap-load others only exist because of him.

I like both bands, but Metallica's best stuff was written\co-written by Mustaine. Thus, I prefer Megadeth. Plus Megadeth plays better music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭asphalt-cushion

Anyone else sick of these megadeth/metallica debates? Anyway everyone knows megadeth are better... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

what I am sick of is people pissing and moaning about how gigs are over 18 and that anyone under 18 is getting a raw deal - c'mon people get a damn clue.

Venues have always had an id policy but that never stopped me trying to get into gigs when I was younger.

Read the tickets - it probably says under 18's are allowed as long as they are accompanied by someone over 21 - so let me give you a good suggestion - find someone over 21 to "accompany" you to the gig.

And wow, shock of shocks, you will actually get in - I have never seen anyone getting pulled for ID at a gig unless they waddle up to the front door wearing a nappy

• Registered Users Posts: 7,457 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Metallica and Megadeth both kick ass.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Ph3n0m wrote:
    ...I have never seen anyone getting pulled for ID at a gig unless they waddle up to the front door wearing a nappy

You saw someone waddle upto the front door at a gig wearing a nappy?

Wow...

seriously like...

Wow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 elf-boy

i'm with bass.exe. I like metallica but i prefer megadeth.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭ronano

That's true. But could you not try and go with an older person? My little brother is 11 and the biggest megadeth fan i know. He will be crushed if he can't go to this. I was just gonna bring him with a couple of my friends. I doubt the security will have a problem.

I'm in the same position exceptfor my bro is 15 and hey i'm a mars volta fan! (pointless info)
    Anyone else sick of these megadeth/metallica debates? Anyway everyone knows megadeth are better... :)

hey me too!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

It's a licenced premesis kids - you cannot legally be there after 9pm. It is Irish law and it is one of our few good laws - children should not be in pubs at night.

End of discussion.

however the point is a licenced venue aswell and there were plenty of children at Britney when she "sang" there - I should know, I was there with my daughter (oops did I just say that or think that or type that)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

So you didn't report Britney Spears for encouraging underage drinking? I would have. Imagine it - go to the coppers and say there are children in this licenced premesis - what are you going to do about it? Swish. Heart-ache when they enforce the law (as they have to) for all the children and Ms Spears can come home to bed with me a lot earlier than we'd anticipated. I must remember that...

All joking aside, were the bars open? If they were serving booze, then it was illegal, unless they've got some loop-hole that says the bar isn't in the auditorium, but in the bit outside, but the children have to pass through there, so it's still up for grabs...

However, that's all besides the point. Kids don't belong at metal gigs! They'll get hurt. Anyone who goes to a metal gig knows it can get very, very rough and because kids are daft enough to queue outside a place for 6 hours (hell, I've done it) to get into the pit, they often get creamed - I've seen it. I've accidently done it. I've intentionally done it where warranted - little pups thinking that "moshing" involved openly punching someone in the back of the head.

It sucks hard - I know and understand and totally sympathise that genuine fans of music who just happen to be under 18 can't see who they want to see, but you should not be there.

Britney didnt encourage anyone to drink, the bar was open for any and all adults that were there. Ditto the wrestling aswell that was on in the Point, went on til after 10pm and alcohol was served to adults.

I agree with Kharn in his rage towards younger metal fans who do not know the "etiquette" of moshing and they deserve a slap for it. However any young fan should be encouraged to see these metal shows, they dont have to booze nor do they have to go into the pit - after all the pit isnt the be all and end all of any metal gig (although it does add to the fun). Some people go to gigs just to listen to the music, not to get squished up the front

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Hanginthere

Dont sweat it , i got into anthrax earlier on this year no bother and i look young for my age (17), Its bull**** if they stop anyone but once you get there with somone who looks a fair bit older than you , you will be grand and enjoy the gig :D