Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the best OnLine site?

• 22-11-2004 2:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭

Hi folks

Just wonderin what your opinion is on the best online site. Ive been playing on 888.com/Pacfic Poker since I got into the game about 5 months ago. I see a lot of you here talk about VC poker. Is it the consensus of the board that its the best? Ive no problem with Pacific but it takes 6 weeks to get a cheque(winnings!! :)) so thats a bit of a drawback. Other than that, tis fine.

Cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I like Ladbrokes the best because of it's display, easiest to use.

VC Poker, I found was wild, very hit and miss, some reckless playing going on that had you scratching your head at alot of decisions. I mostly play STT's.
    I also prefer 10 seater tables to 9 seater, better prize money.

Interpoker/Betfair/WHill (they are all the same) is quite easy to make a few quid on.

Last night on Ladbrokes, some fellah was saying that Branson has launched a site on getminted.com, which I'm gonna have a look at tonight.

What's 888.com like, I see it is the sponsor of alot of the snooker player's now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I only play on PokerRoom.com,I find it grand I play there 2 freerolls a day and a few SNGs.Like you I am only starting out so I am open to use new sites.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I play on GamingClub, PartyPoker and Ladbrokes. i'm far from good but here's my opinion on them:
    GamingClub:
    Sit and Go's are ok but it takes ages to get a table of people together. Tournaments are quite good and the last 20% or so of players are quite good (10-25$ buy-ins and rebuys).
    Cash games are good. I also like the 100BB for the NL and PL games as it gives you enough money to work with.
    Ladbrokes:
    Same software as GamingClub but I think the standard at the games is a little higher or at least I find it harder to do well there.
    PartyPoker:
    I find the software annoying. Also the max buy-in for cash games (in the lower levels at least) is 50*BB which I think is too low for PL and NL. If you win a few big bets early on though you can really bully a table and make some nice money. But if you lose you pretty much have to keep topping up your stack to the limit in order to have a shot at a decent pot should a decent hand hit.
    The standard for SnG's is ok but there's quite a few unpredictable idiots there.
    Haven't played MTT's there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

It really depends on what you are looking for. Ladbrokes have good qualifying for live games like Poker Million, Poker Cruise, Australia and Amsterdam tournies. There is almost permanently a promotion relating to one of these live tournies on, and it is possible to qualify for these events. There are also some good multi's on Ladbrokes. Have not played VC at all, but most of the lads here seem to think it is good for MTT's. Incidentally does anyone know if you can have two accounts from the same computer for VC, in different names. I would like to play on it but my brother pl,ays on VC and any time we have registered for the same site we have run into red tape.

Also has anyone noticed problems with Ladbrokes since they upgraded their software. I never had a problem with it before but since they upgraded I have been getting disconnected quite a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Also look at the withdraw options, make sure you can withdraw back onto your credit card, the cheque in the post of a US $ Cheque is a pain in the bum, and you get screwed by the banks.

I can't wait for paddy power's poker site, I hope they go unique and not use generic softwars like betfair/interpoker/william hill

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Waylander wrote:
    It really depends on what you are looking for. Ladbrokes have good qualifying for live games like Poker Million, Poker Cruise, Australia and Amsterdam tournies. There is almost permanently a promotion relating to one of these live tournies on, and it is possible to qualify for these events. .

How do they run the qualifying...?how much buy in etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Party Poker

A lot of bad players = good potential profit
    Very easy to find a game to fit your budget due to high volume of users. You will see more bad beats because the standard of play is lower but in the long run an average player can make a decent profit at most of the games and limits on offer. Software is not the best but the server rarely fails and if it does the customer service is excellent. The only time it crashed on me was down to last three in a satellite for the european open. They paid cash divided between who was left and I ended up with almost $11,000 instead of a seat worth $10,000 and $2,000 to cover airfares so worked out well!
    If you use the Coral skin you can cash out to Visa but you lose all the MTT. cash games and STT are the same.

VC ( and lots of other skins such as Pokerineurope,doylesroom,freeserve etc )
    Software prone to freezing.
    Standard of play is about the same as Party.
    Last time I checked you could cash out to Visa.
    Lots of 'gangs' use this site such as MMM and 808, loads of collusion rumours, probably not true but I only play low limit for fun on this site.
    Waiting time for STT is longer than most.
    Loads of really low limit tables - good for beginners or tight A@@'s

Pokerstars and Ultimate bet
    Both these sites cater for the better quality players and you will find the cash games harder. Structure for tournies and STT is better than any other sites - slower levels and slighter blind increases. Lots of satellites for big events. These are the sites most of the top players play on. You need to be above average to win here. Less bad beats only because less fish chasing near impossible draws. Cash outs are chqs only but they will issue sterling cheques which clear in 10 days. I cashed out from pokerstars on Monday, emailed me with Fedex tracking no. on Thurs, Chq arrived Friday!

Ladbrokes
    Great software, still prone to crashes though. Full of Scandinavians who are hard to get money off. All Prima rooms use same software but are completely seperate - these are Gaming club, Belle rock, Crazy Vegas etc. Starndard of play in these is slightly lower though.

Some of the smaller sites are failing to get the numbers and I would be wary of leaving too much money in them just in case. A couple of sites have gone bust before. Stick to the big guns and your money should be safe. They also have the highest % of bad players so you should win more too. Gus Hansens room looks to have a good rakeback offer ( up to 50% ), but be warned someone (well known american player) opened a Zero Rake Poker site a couple of years ago and it went bust owing loads of people money.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Shortstack wrote:

VC
    Lots of 'gangs' use this site such as MMM and 808, loads of collusion rumours, probably not true but I only play low limit for fun on this site.

This is complete rubbish, there is an almost 0 chance of collusion at anything but the highest stakes tables, and if it goes on at VC it has nothing to do with the gangs. Allthough that is what I would say I suppose....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

There are several High Profile players who have had their accounts frozen at Prima over the last while, some for huge amounts of money (80k+), so I would avoid this site myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Dub13 wrote:
    How do they run the qualifying...?how much buy in etc etc

You can spend what you want to spend really. You can buy into an express qualifier for between $10-$15, this will be a multi and top X players(depending on no of entrants) will get through to another multi which top x players will get through to the actual event. I paid $8 and got on the cruise last month. Did fairly average when I got there but it was still a great experience. They are currently running qualifiers for the Poker Million and for Australia, although there is not long left in that one. You could also skip the small entry tournie, they are a bit of a lottery as blinds increase every minute, and you only start with 100 chips, and pay direct entry into the main qualifier. This would be an expensive way of going about it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Frankygolucky

If You like poker with a sportsbook thrown in try Bodog.com.The poker site is a bit like pokerstars where You create Your own avatar and its getting bigger by the day.I use the sportsbook to bet on American football with parlays and teasers etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

I think Interpoker is good. Every month (so far) they've had an offer where you deposit up to $90, and they match it. You have to play 5 times the number of hands to withdraw, but that's pretty good (folding before the flop counts as a hand). So if you deposit $90, they give you another $90, and you need to play 450 hands then you can withdraw the lot. Even if you just fold everything except the premium hands (though boring) one can't lose money (famous last words).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

Thanks to all that replied. I'll stick with 888.com for the time I reckon.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Shortstack wrote:
    If you use the Coral skin you can cash out to Visa but you lose all the MTT. cash games and STT are the same.
    Does any know if it's possible/easy to switch accounts from Party to Coral and be able ot cash out to CC? Or would you have to set up a seperate account?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭fixer

Anyone have money in VC or Ladbrokes that they would transfer in exchange for paypal money? I don't have a credit card, makes it hard to fund an account.