Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toys4BigBoys

• 26-11-2004 8:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭

Has anyone been to this years show?

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Kazujo

I was thinkin of it taht way myslef. I've been the last two year but I'm not sure if it's worth the €15 in?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Was at it yesterday, and, TBH, theres nothing really special about it. It's the first one I've been to so i can't compare to other years. A few good displays here and there. If you do go, I recommend you try the powerball, my God is it cool, IMHO, one of the best gadget at the show.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Kazujo

I got one og those the first year the show was on, before everyone knew about them. If they are one of the highlights I think I might give it a miss.

• Subscribers Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Well good evening people just back from the show and i am still in two minds if i thought it was any good or not.It started very well just as i was about to pay in a lovely girl offered me a free admision card so that was greatfully taken so then in we go. There seemed to be a lot of stands just selling rubbish but maybe that was just me.

I really liked the lads pad especially the glass shower (maybe i am just in that frame of mind as i am preparing to move into a new house soon).

The most impressive thing at the show i thought was a demo HDTV or as people call it high def TV, all i can say is this is so amazing it has to be seen to be believed. The demo was done on a HDTV plasma and it was running off a PC as there is no high def broadcasts over here yet and all i can say is the difference is like moving from black and white to colour it really is that good. Sky Digital are launching HDTV in either late 2005/2006 and all i can say is sign me up.

The new handheld launched at the show the gizmotron or something like that was very impressive and with a launch price of €400 for a handheld that will play games, videos, music act as a basic pda and also have GPS is pretty cool.

Now let me think was there anything else that caught my eye oh yes the women you goota love them, nothing like been shown the latest toy by a lovely lady.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

There seemed to be a lot of stands just selling rubbish but maybe that was just me.
    I noticed that too, I found most of the stuff was, well, useless.
    I really liked the lads pad especially the glass shower
    I forgot about that actually (god knows how :rolleyes: ) but all the "rooms" looked great.
    The most impressive thing at the show i thought was a demo HDTV or as people call it high def TV
    I either(sp?) missed that, or saw it and took no notice of it.
    The new handheld launched at the show the gizmotron or something like that was very impressive and with a launch price of €400 for a handheld that will play games, videos, music act as a basic pda and also have GPS is pretty cool.
    Had a go on this and thought it was pretty funky, definatly on my list of things to buy.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭scribs

Went yesterday - kept me occupied for a good three to four hours.
    The best stand was the Gizmondo stand purely because
    of the savage looking women that were on it. I could have sworn I saw that
    brunette one in some porno :D

The guys on the X-BOX stand could not believe their luck that they were placed opposite such great eye candy.

As for new gadgets and gizmos nothing stood out. Had seen it all before in magazines and on the net. It was nice though to be able to hold them and test them out.

I Did'nt like the fact that they had some stand selling what looked like brides
    dresses or something - I mean what the F***. Toys for big what .......

Also there was a lot of cosmetics crap/ointments/Incense for women and a few stands that looked like they had been pulled of Moore street and just stuck in the RDS for the day. One stand as far as I could see was selling bleedin Teddy bears. Again I say - what the F***.

I also saw a stand selling Paper Shredders - what the hell were they thinking.

Some stands stood out and looked well Lads Pad, Gizmondo, etc and some others looked absolutely terrible.

The best thing at the show that I saw and tried out was the Sanyo Sensor Wellday chair - This is the ultimate massage chair. Sat in this thing for 10 minutes and got up feeling like a new man. However at 4500 euro. I can only hope that Santa exists and that he didnt see all the bad sh*t I did this year.

Rafter ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

TCP/IP wrote:

Get the Tapwave Zodiac tbh. It's cheaper and better :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭lynchie

koneko wrote:
    Get the Tapwave Zodiac tbh. It's cheaper and better :)

It doesn't have some of the features of the Gizmondo such as GPRS and SMS
    scribs wrote:
    Went yesterday - kept me occupied for a good three to four hours.
    The best stand was the Gizmondo stand purely because
    of the savage looking women that were on it. I could have sworn I saw that
    brunette one in some porno
    Yeah, there was a former miss UK and three page 3 girls among them. They served their purpose in attracting as many people as possible to the stand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭chizzle dizzle

I was actually working at the the show but I'm not going to say where and no it wasn't as one of those ones wearing little hot pants!! they did attract a lot of attention though, so fair play!
    I thought some bits of it were good, the cars there were realy nice and I heard that one guy just handed over his credit card and bought one of them worth €50000. It was one of the cars beside the formula 1 car where you could play a car racing game.
    Did anyone do that rugby thing on the o2 stand? I thought that was good and you could have won the newest phone that is comming out, dont know what it is called.

Some of the pimped cars were having a sound competition and the ground shuck when they started to play the music from the cars. It was soooo head recking.

I was actually working at the the show but I'm not going to say where and no it wasn't as one of those ones wearing little hot pants!! they did attract a lot of attention though, so fair play!

Chizzle ma Dizzle - Barcelona Grand Prix...... ring a bell - was that you taking signatures.

Just a guess :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭chizzle dizzle

scribs wrote:
    Chizzle ma Dizzle - Barcelona Grand Prix...... ring a bell - was that you taking signatures.

Just a guess :D

No wrong guess,I wasn't working there!! Im not saying where I was working But I will let you in on a guess and it was near the O2 stand and to clarify I wasn't one of those girls wearing black hot pants. :)

I give up - aint got a clue ;)