Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post a picture of your classic car;

• Registered Users Posts: 7,625 ✭✭✭maidhc

I know the people on this forum are a broad minded bunch, so I am going to try this here rather than the "bangernomics" page.

Common as muck a few years ago, the Mk1 Mondeo has pretty much dissppeared, and I think a lot of them went with the latest scrappage, including one of our own.

This is another one we have. It is run out "SLX" model (nice seats, IR central locking, electric mirrors, fogs, abs, and dual airbags over the standard LX spec). It was bought last august for €800, with 45k on the clock, 3 months tax NCT until May and 4 good tyres. It has now got 56k (!), and has just got two new bumpers, but otherwise no issues.

Not a classic yet (and some people may say never), but a rare enough car in presentable condition that won't become a sausage.

P1000804.jpg

P1000803.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Bit new for here really. I had a '95 one with the full RS bodykit. Unfortunately in typical Ford fashion it was impossible to keep front tyres on it no matter what tracking was done. Sold it for 300 quid with 6mths test, it's long baled now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

macroman wrote: »
    One of the last TK's built, and like most fire engines looks ancient even when new. Most of them built went to Belfast, two made it to Wicklow in September 1987, this one survives the other met it's fate in Monaghan a few years ago. It's certainly a no frills design, with flat windscreen, sliding windows, no sound proofing, stack exhaust, heavy clutch and vague gears, but it's a great laugh once you get used to it.

Surprisingly, no rust anywhere thanks to a completely aluminium body and cab. It only has 20,000 miles too - verified, so the chassis is in top order too. Just needs some TLC and putting all the gear I got for it into the lockers!

sounds/look so much fun. I've always wanted to buy something really silly like an ex military vehicle or a fire engine, but never got around to it so far. Regretting having turned down one for 3 grand 2 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

Bit new for here really.

I'd have to agree I mean my modern daily driver is a 97 (fiat coupe 20vt).

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

shagman wrote: »

Turbo? One of the nicest and best sounding cars I've ever driven if it is.

I don't think you would get banned for posting a picture of it. A definate classic.

I do admit my mondeo is pushing the boundaries, and is really just an old car.

I hate to think what will happen though when it comes to restoring cars from the 90's. All this environmental lark means the scrapyards are vanishing, and everything is just getting cubed.

Yeah it's a turbo and a lovely machine indeed but I regard it as a new car and I think of any car from the mid to late 90s as a modern car ( bar a few ).
    It's just part of the consumer con to think a car over 10 years old (5 for some eejits) is old and will implode on the M50 unless you crush it and relace it with a Blandomatic Ti.

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    sounds/look so much fun. I've always wanted to buy something really silly like an ex military vehicle or a fire engine, but never got around to it so far. Regretting having turned down one for 3 grand 2 years ago.
    3 grand is steep - unless it's restored and kitted out!

They're easy to keep, I keep buses as well as storing a fire engine is much easier to keep, maintain and run.

Appliances can be gotten from Fire Services easily enough, the disposals are usually tendered out (or sometimes auctioned). Beware it may be stripped BARE - mine had it's pump, all gear, lights, sirens, batteries and tyres removed. Nothing major or irreplaceable.

I'm certain military vehicles can be obtained through similar streams, although I believe the army keep their vehicles until they die or pass them onto the Civil Defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

My original Irish E30. Bought it in Feb '05 as a non-runner. Got the engine professionally looked at and all it needed to run was some rewiring and a tune!

I've put 4 new Monroe gas filled "Reflex" shocks in, new top shock mounts, new drop links, new clutch, new gearbox mountings, new alternator, new battery, new belts, new back box, new brackets/rubbers to hold up the exhaust system and put the rear spoiler and genuine BMW oem foglight kit. Came on steels with hubs but sourced these alloys. (All these done in the last 2,500 miles!)

In the last two weeks its had a full service....oil, oilfilter, airfilter, sparkplugs, drained and flushed the engine/rad and put new coolant in, drained and replaced the brake fluid and replaced the rubber hose and connection from the clutch fluid resiviour to the clutch master cylinder and put fresh fluid in.

The only real problem is the sun roof doesn't slide back and the electric mirror swith is knackered but the central locking still works, the original radio is still in an works, all lines work on the rear window demister etc. And it still has its original windscreen :)

And the best bit....it did its first ever NCT test on monday and flew through! Engine emissions are non-existant! Has 129,600 odd miles done.

Unfortunately I'll be selling it soon :(

Oh and meant to say it has one of the original Nokia car kits installed and I managed to get the phone and it works too!

DSCF5183.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Calgarian

I don't know if it's a classic yet...but..

My 1989 m3..
    dscn2735x.jpg

dscn2736n.jpg
    dsc00206z.jpg

dsc00203x.jpg
    • New front wings
    • New rear quarters
    • new inner arches
    • new outer sills
    • new boot floor/ spare wheel well
    • new rear panel
    • new vin stamped scuttle
    • MINT doors/ bonnet/ bootlid
    • Front of the car is as new, chassis legs are perfect & rust free (even by the manifold is spotless)
    dscf2213b.jpg

photo0249u.jpg
    photo0250g.jpg
    20110424144229.jpg

20110424144241.jpg

photo0233.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

^^^ Drool

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Calgarian wrote: »
    I don't know if it's a classic yet...but..

My 1989 m3..

photo0249u.jpg

Lovely car - great work - loose the red tape

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

My original Irish E30. Bought it in Feb '05 as a non-runner. Got the engine professionally looked at and all it needed to run was some rewiring and a tune!
    Lovely and original looking still! Nice one. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Please get rid of the single wiper conversion:(!

The M3 looks stunning apart from that though...

I'd lose the grille and the bmw badges and go undercover. All black and unidentifiable would be cool.
    That's all down to personal taste though, great job you've done on it fairplay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Calgarian

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Lovely car - great work - loose the red tape
    I think it breaks up the "blocky blackness" that is a black e30. Easily removed/replaced though ;)

It's an original SportEvo detail, and seems as I don't have 50k sterling to drop on one of those, I thought that the red tape was a wiser investment.
    Please get rid of the single wiper conversion:(!

The M3 looks stunning apart from that though...

It isn't that bad is it? If it's good enough for a DTM car, then it's surely acceptable on a 100mile/year (or less) that I've been doing. I also have cf DTM rear spoiler + cf vented mirrors ($$$'s to see fook all out the side mirros, and $$$'s to see fook all out the rear view mirror when the spoiler is up :o)
    mirrors3eo.jpg
    I'd lose the grille and the bmw badges and go undercover. All black and unidentifiable would be cool.
    That's all down to personal taste though, great job you've done on it fairplay.

I've tried it with black kidney grill, no badge, and no bumper tape, and it looked like a totally different car, mean as hell.

Thanks for the comments lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Calgarian wrote: »
    It isn't that bad is it? If it's good enough for a DTM car, then it's surely acceptable on a 100mile/year (or less) that I've been doing.

They weren't sold with a single wiper now, were they;)?

I'm just a believer that having a classic car as close to original as possible is the way to go with these things, although I do draw the line at yellow indicator lenses and of course I wouldn't want an original radio if it was a modern classic either:o. But each to their own, and I love the car apart from the wipers (and stripes)! The BBS's really suit the car too might I add!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

The Mercedes single wiper system as fitted to the 190E is the only one that works properly as the sweep is on a cam to clear the whole screen. I'm surprised no one else used it?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

The Mercedes single wiper system as fitted to the 190E is the only one that works properly as the sweep is on a cam to clear the whole screen. I'm surprised no one else used it?
    It was a great system, but i'd imagine it was expensive. The W124 had two wipers, but one was on a cam too. That and the differently-shaped outside mirrors were two of my favourite details on that car.

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭MrFoxman360

Picked up this Jaguar yesterday, 1990 XJ6, 3.6 liter 6 cylinder. Its in really good condition, 53,000, yes just 53,000, not a bit of rust anywhere and runs perfect. Needs a few bushings up front and the brakes need to be bled out, but other than that and a few other minor things its perfect. Got an old style tax book with it too, was bought new by a guy in Foxrock.

DSCF0861.jpg

DSCF0864.jpg

I am dubious about posting this here given the recent debate as to what is a 'classic' car or not, its still sweet though, and will qualify for classic insurance if I am right? Best thing of all was the price..... FOC! (excluding giving the guy a hand to paint his fence ;))

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jomcc

cars1e.jpg

cars2g.jpg

cars4h.jpg

cars3.jpg

Some collection. You have definately got some kind of the "the future viewed from the past" theme going on here.

Always had strange sense of taste. Mercedes belongs to my father so just borrowed it for the pics.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Jomcc - very nice collection.
    I haven't nor probably will never warm to the Delorean - but I am seriously jealous of the other three. The Avantime is a masterpiece and so definitely a future classic if it's not already.

Yes, thought that about Avantime from first time I saw one. Very divided opinions on it from friends.
    Hadn't intended buying one but happened to get this as result of unusual circumstances. Not sure whether to try sell it or build a shed to hide it in for years. Taxing a 3.0 is a pain to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

I took this pic of my Escort last night.

5744622964_d733dfb215.jpg
    escort and megan by BarryKelly, on Flickr

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

EPIC pic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 370ZGT

Great collection...Love the avantime ( keep thinking about getting on aswell ) and that BMW is one of my favourites. Whats the avantime like to drive ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

a_v525 wrote: »
    EPIC pic!!

yes pity about the megan in it. Took that Saturday night. Took this pic of the brothers car sunday afternoon. thats my car behind it also.

5748131461_fb0813eb37.jpg
    one horse town by BarryKelly, on Flickr

• Registered Users Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

RobAMerc wrote: »
    Jomcc - very nice collection.
    I haven't nor probably will never warm to the Delorean - but I am seriously jealous of the other three. The Avantime is a masterpiece and so definitely a future classic if it's not already.

The Avantime is a fantastic car! Want want want :D