Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Brighton to move for Jason Byrne

• 15-11-2005 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭

Just got it in an o2 text message... :eek:

Mark McGhee has been over here to see him apparently.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Byrne might just be tempted by this if it does trun out to be true. He will look at the career of Kevin Doyle and see what the move has done for him and he might think that he could also get back into the Ireland squad by moving. I hope though that if he does leave for whatever reason that Shels dont let him go for as cheap as Kevin Doyle and Daryl Murphy have moved for this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

How old is Byrne? How long is he contracted for?

I wouldnt think Brighton is much, if any, step up to the better eL clubs?

That said, Byrne may want to try his luck in England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

He's 27 (28 in February) and I'm not sure about his contract but I would imagine it is until after the 2007 season.

A move to Brighton might tempt him, it has to be said. He could make more money over there and get himself in the reckoning for the Irish squad for friendlies, ;). I wouldn't imagine we would get more for him than what Cork got for Doyle, considering his age.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

gimmick wrote:
    I wouldnt think Brighton is much, if any, step up to the better eL clubs?

I agree but the fact that they are an English club might mean that this doesnt matter to Byrne. Fact is that the Championship gets more exposure than the EL, especially when it comes to picking players for our national side. Brighton would be one of the weaker sides in the Championship though and have a god awful stadium so maybe Byrne would like to move to a slightly better championship side should he want to make the move to England

Also just read this on the Cork City site.

O'Halloran Reveals Shels Interest
    Cork City midfielder Greg O'Halloran has revealed today that Shelbourne have approached him with a view to signing for the Drumcondra based club at the end of the current season. Along with Liam Kearney, John O'Flynn, Neal Horgan and Colin O'Brien, O'Halloran is one of five City players out of contract after the FAI Cup Final on December 4th.

"We are trying to put any talk of contracts on hold at the minute to focus on the league. It’s still something the players want sorted out but this week the league is the priority. We will have a little breathing space between the league and the cup final but we will all be out of contract at full-time in the cup final. Shels are looking for cover at full-back and centre-half and they have been in touch with me. I have not signed anything with Shels and there’s no pre-contract arrangement or anything like it. I owe it to Damien Richardson to sit down and discuss things with him first and that’s the way it’s going to be with me and the rest of the lads", added O'Halloran.

Why would Cork let so many of their first team players run out of Contract? It seems absolutely crazy to me. The only reason I can think of is they are waiting to see if they win the league and get into the Champions League qualifiers because of financial reasons. Still I think its mad and if Shels do get O' Halloran it will be Corks loss and Shels gain.

MrJoeSoap do you think O' Halloran could get into the Shels first team?

Yeah he'd be first choice left back I would imagine. Very versatile too I think, so would provide decent cover for any injury problems.

The actual o2 text said:

"Brighton could make a move for Shelbourne striker Jason Byrne in January after it emerged the Brighton manager Mark McGhee has travelled to watch him."

Not thoroughly conclusive or detailed but the text alerts are usually accurate enough. With what has happened with Kevin Doyle and a number of other young players recently, it seems as if England has begun to cop on to the fact that the Eircom League has some talented footballers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Kingp35 wrote:

do you think O' Halloran could get into the Shels first team?

Well, he hasnt been a regular for City in years and years. He gets into the team about once a year, holds his place for 7-10 matches before being dropped to the bench again.

As for getting into the Shels team, well, I dont know. Greg is right footed, but certainly can play left back, as he did in Citys great run at the tail end of last season. He is a decent midfielder and good cover for centre half.

If Greg left City I wouldnt be too put out. The only problem i would have with it is that he is a nice guy, and we would have to boo him next season, plus, no City fan (as Greg is) should ever willingly sign for Shelbourne FC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Top scorer for a few seasons, 1st million pound player tbh.
    Shels be right to hold out for that.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Don't believe what you read on Shelsweb then. Kerr getting blamed on pimping Ndo. :)

Brighton are in need of a striker and I've no doubt Byrne would be a success for them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

For those of you that don't think that the Championship is a step up from the Eircom League Premier Division you're fooling your selves.
    Brighton have players than are better than almost everyone in the eircom league (McShane anyone?) and play week in and week out against much better defences than any in the Eircom league, it's a simple fact that even Sheffield Wednesday have a better back four than cork, derry or shels.

Byrne has a chance of making the step up, but I'm not sure just how much he can step up.

Whether or not Brighton are a step up from Shelbourne is highly debatable Seaneh, and I for one don't really think it is.

They're third last in the Championship, not exactly setting the world on fire.

Their squad isn't exactly full to the brim of household names:
    http://thisisthealbion.co.uk/squad/

They aren't due to move into their new stadium for quite a while yet, I doubt Jayo would be around to see it if he were to move in January.

At 28, there is realistically little or no hope of him getting into the Irish squad regularly regardless of whether he stays or goes.

I honestly don't think Brighton is much of a "step-up" at all.

Weather or not Brighton as a squad are better than Shelbourne is not the issue it's the caliber of teams he will be playing against that is a whole lot higher.

Anyone can score 20 goals a season against Finn Harps, Bray, UCD and longford.
    I highly doubt Byrne could keep it up against Palace, Cardiff, Reading and Sheffield UTD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Seaneh wrote:
    For those of you that don't think that the Championship is a step up from the Eircom League Premier Division you're fooling your selves.
    Brighton have players than are better than almost everyone in the eircom league (McShane anyone?) and play week in and week out against much better defences than any in the Eircom league, it's a simple fact that even Sheffield Wednesday have a better back four than cork, derry or shels.

Byrne has a chance of making the step up, but I'm not sure just how much he can step up.
    How much of a step up would it be if Brighton got relegated to League 1?

Seaneh wrote:
    Anyone can score 20 goals a season against Finn Harps, Bray, UCD and longford.

Really? What about Cork, Derry, Drogheda etc...?

What about doing it consistently over a number of years, as well as having a very impressive goal-scoring record for one of the clubs you mentioned?

It would be about Par.
    Some league 1 players are rather good, infact even in league 2 there are players just as good as byrne (Billy Paynter at portvale springs to mind).

Byrne is a good player, but if he was good enough he'd have made in england already, infact he's already tried, hasn't he?
    The Championsip is a higher standard than the scotish premiership IMHO, and head and shoulders above the eircom league.
    I really do doubt that Byrne would be exceptional in Anything over league 1 in england.

Seaneh wrote:
    Byrne is a good player, but if he was good enough he'd have made in england already

So the eircom League top scorer for three consecutive seasons isn't "good enough"? Making it in England should not, and in my opinion, is not, the be all and end all.

If he scores against Bohs on Friday he'll have hit 30 goals for the season.
    infact he's already tried, hasn't he?

Not that I know of.

I'm almost certin he had trials at first division clubs when he was younger.

Another example that being a great striker at eircom league level and not being good enough for the championship is Glenn Crowe who was a failure at First Division, Second Division and Thrid Division with Wolves, Cardiff City, Exeter City and Plymouth!

Doyle is an exception not the rule.

Even Zayed (who is think is a far more naturally talented player than Byrne) couldn't make the step up!

Seaneh wrote:
    Another example that being a great striker at eircom league level and not being good enough for the championship is Glenn Crowe who was a failure at First Division, Second Division and Thrid Division with Wolves, Cardiff City, Exeter City and Plymouth!

I wouldn't call Crowe a failure at those clubs considering that (other than Wolves) they were only short-term loan deals. Zayed didn't get a chance cross-channel, which isn't a failure either, as he was only at Crewe for a month and was at Leicester as a teenager. I've no doubt that if Zayed was given an extended run in a Championship club he would impress.

Mick McCarthy also must see something in Daryl Murphy if he started him vs Arsenal at Highbury too. Doyle and Murphy are the two high-profile cross-channel transfers this season and both have made quite impressive starts to their careers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

christ i didnt realise byrne was 27. could it be a bit too late to cross the water? id love to see how he would do but at 27 if he didnt adapt quickly it could be a disaster.

I've seen crowe play at every league level besides premiership in england, he wasn't good enough.

I saw Zayed at crew, he wasn't good enough.

A lot of byrnes carear goals came while bray were in the first division, so his carear stats aren't that impressive, I've seen him play, never thought "wow there is someone with exceptional talent" He drifts in and out of games, very lazy at times, easily frustrated, lots of negitive points.
    He's not very quick, he doesn't make up for that with strenght, not amazing in the air, okay finisher.
    I really think he'd struggle to score against even avrage championship sides.

I'd like to add...

Murpyh, who is an out and out striker started on the left against arsenal and did okay, but he only got the start because of injuries, Arca, walsh and Lawrence were all short of match fitness, he is also 5 years younger than byrne, a lot stronger and quicker, so he has more going for him to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Ive no doubt Byrne would score goals in the Championship. he gets into great positions and has a wonderful shot.

You dont score 20 + goals a season for 3 year and not be a good goalscorer.

Can people stop with this Eircom League is as good as the Championship crap. Just focus on our own league.

ON the other side can people stop saying the Eircom League is no better than the Vauxhall conferance.

Its snobby soccer bullcrapola****epoo.

I'm not being snobby, infact I'm an eircom league fan, haven't missed an Athlone Town home match in years, am a member of the Mad as Cootes independent supporters club and even travle to a few away games a season.
    I'm just realistic, the eircom league is not level with the championship is is nowhere near being so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Jason Byrne isnt the Eircom League. :mad:

Jason Byrne is Robbie Keane's cousin:D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

If Jason Byrne leaves Shelbourne, I could see Kevin McHugh of Finn Harps taking his place. Quality striker.

Seaneh wrote:
    I saw Zayed at crew, he wasn't good enough.

He scored twice in a month for the reserve side and didn't play for the seniors, also scored for the Arsenal reserves but turned down a 3 year contract to focus on his Leaving Cert.

When did you see Zayed for Crewe?

As for saying Jayo's career stats aren't impressive... :eek:

I'm not a huge Byrne fan myself, there is something about his attitude I don't like, but as long as he can bang in 25/30 goals a season do I give a hoot? Not a chance! Being the top scorer three years in a row is a talent in any league. He isn't "exceptionally" talented, but lots of strikers aren't. He does have a great eye for goal though, thats the best attribute a striker can have.

Name a more impressive eL goalscoring record (still playing) than Jayo.
    Seaneh wrote:
    I'm not being snobby, infact I'm an eircom league fan, haven't missed an Athlone Town home match in years, am a member of the Mad as Cootes independent supporters club and even travle to a few away games a season.
    I'm just realistic, the eircom league is not level with the championship is is nowhere near being so!

This argument isn't really about comparing the eL to the Championship, as the top Championship sides are undeniably better than our own. Who you support is irrelevant. However, I do believe that Jason Byrne would score 15+ goals a season if he was a regular in most Championship sides, as would Eamon Zayed, as would Daryl Murphy.

Earlier on you said the eL was on a par with League 1, if so Jason Byrne scored 29 goals this season in a league on a par with League 1. Do you not think a League One striker who finishes with that many goals could at least cut it at the next level?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    If Jason Byrne leaves Shelbourne, I could see Kevin McHugh of Finn Harps taking his place. Quality striker.

Staying up north his job or summat, shame that :(

The only player i want next season.

kdjac

Surely Shels or any other professional team would gladly (or at least be in a position to) pay him whatever his job would pay and then some?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Surely Shels or any other professional team would gladly (or at least be in a position to) pay him whatever his job would pay and then some?
    Maybe he just loves his job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

TBH careerwise joining Brighton would be a step down for Jason Byrne than anything else. A player of his proven caliber would deserve to join a top half championship side rather than minnows such as Brighton. Will he play European football with Brighton? Higly unlikely. However as proven with the ''April 2005 with Cork, Doyle not good enough - October 2005 with Reading, all of a sudden Doyle is now good enough! :rolleyes: '' Ireland saga, the only way it seems Jayo can get the deserved opportunity to grace the pitch for Ireland is to move to a sub-standard Championship side. If it's Jayo's desire to play for Ireland that much then I'd be happy for him even it means him leaving my beloved Shels as long as it is at a fair 750,000 - 1,000,000 Euro price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

This has shades of Vinny Arkins going to Notts County...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Jason Byrne NEVER had trials or played for any English club.

Not only is his goals record impressive, it speaks for itself, but it's his all round game. You wont find a better crosser on either foot, and some of the passes he hits are sublime. His problem is he gets wound up too easily and can lose the head, then his concentration goes and he makes sloppy mistakes or gets sent off. However, naturally he is technically superb, in touch and his ability to strike a ball, which is backed up by the fact he can knock in the odd free kick too. People point to last years Eurpoe to criticise him, for me it proved he can play at the highest level. Watch the Deportivo game, watch the difference between him and Fitzpatrick up front and how the game changed when he went up front. Same in the Riazor, Shels were far far better with him up front over the two legs. His all round game and technique despite him not scoring was superb. He could easily play in the championship for any team there, as Doyle is showing. Only this time the little EL side hasn't got a poorly done up contract and Pat Dolan working as an agent, so if Brighton want him, they'll have to pay for him.

Slash/ED wrote:
    Watch the Deportivo game, watch the difference between him and Fitzpatrick up front and how the game changed when he went up front. Same in the Riazor, Shels were far far better with him up front over the two legs. His all round game and technique despite him not scoring was superb.

Just reminded me of the two memorable occasions in Landsdowne where he fully made up 60 or 70 yards to track back and put a stop to two Deportivo attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

TBH careerwise joining Brighton would be a step down for Jason Byrne than anything else. A player of his proven caliber would deserve to join a top half championship side rather than minnows such as Brighton.
    It could be seen as a springboard if anything surely?

Brighton are a big club historically, and despite being "homeless" still get average gates of about 6,500. This is their second season in the championship and they are far from screwed yet, so I would hardly call them "minnows".
    Will he play European football with Brighton? Higly unlikely.
    Will he play European football with Shelbourne? Not certain yet is it?

Besides, do you really think that the chance to play (a reasonable estimate of) four matches against two European sides, one of whom would probably be pretty shocking completely outweighs the chance to play teams like Sheffield United, Leeds, Southampton, Wolves, Crystal Palace, Ipswich, Leicester, Coventry, Stoke, Cardiff, Reading, Norwich, Sheffield Wednesday twice a year? And in a lot of cases back to back. I'm sure I'm also leaving out some decent sides.
    However as proven with the ''April 2005 with Cork, Doyle not good enough - October 2005 with Reading, all of a sudden Doyle is now good enough! :rolleyes: '' Ireland saga, the only way it seems Jayo can get the deserved opportunity to grace the pitch for Ireland is to move to a sub-standard Championship side.
    What was ever proven? How can you say that Doyle would not have made the Ireland squad had he stayed at Cork? It's not like that would be off the wall seeing as it's not so long ago that there were EL players in the squad. It's not like he was promoted to start as the number one striker and captain.

He was given a shot at experience by being part of the squad, I wouldn't have been that surprised if he got a chance for experience regardless of his club.

Yes it is, and Doyle would not have made the Ireland squad without moving or Jason Byrne would have been called up again already.

Slash/ED wrote:
    Yes it is
    Thanks for clarifying, but I still stand by be it 2, 4 or 6 European games against mixed opposition, it is hardly the be all and end all.
    Slash/ED wrote:
    and Doyle would not have made the Ireland squad without moving or Jason Byrne would have been called up again already.
    Well it's something that no one can say with certainty, but if what you say is the case anyway is still debunks the idea that "move to England, get a call-up" that was put across, as Byrne (an EL player) would be in the squad instead.

What was ever proven? How can you say that Doyle would not have made the Ireland squad had he stayed at Cork? It's not like that would be off the wall seeing as it's not so long ago that there were EL players in the squad. It's not like he was promoted to start as the number one striker and captain.

Well Wes Hoolahan wasn't in the squad. He's one of the best young Irish talents around, definitely at least on a par with Doyle and in my completely biased opinion he is actually better. Do you think he will make the squad any time soon?

And yes I know he has been called up before but a couple of training sessions doesn't really constitute getting a chance.

still debunks the idea that "move to England, get a call-up" that was put across, as Byrne (an EL player) would be in the squad instead.

I think you misread that bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

It could be seen as a springboard if anything surely?

Brighton are a big club historically, and despite being "homeless" still get average gates of about 6,500. This is their second season in the championship and they are far from screwed yet, so I would hardly call them "minnows".

Jason Byrne doesn't need a springboard. His goalscoring record (top scorer last 2 seasons, certain to be again this season), his general play and contribution and priceless European experience proves that he has more to his locker than a typical eL striker.

Shelbourne are guaranteed at least an Intertoto Cup spot next season, possibly a UEFA Cup spot should Derry win the league and Cork win the cup (strong possibilties)
    Besides, do you really think that the chance to play (a reasonable estimate of) four matches against two European sides, one of whom would probably be pretty shocking completely outweighs the chance to play teams like Sheffield United, Leeds, Southampton, Wolves, Crystal Palace, Ipswich, Leicester, Coventry, Stoke, Cardiff, Reading, Norwich, Sheffield Wednesday twice a year? And in a lot of cases back to back. I'm sure I'm also leaving out some decent sides.

That's a fair point. However I do believe at least 4 European matches and regular matches against weaker Championship teams do balance each other out. We all know any footballer would choose to play Deportivo over Stoke City any day without hesitation but for international possibilties, regular matches against the likes of Wolves etc. would be more beneficial in that regards. Only Jayo can really answer what he would rather choose.

He was given a shot at experience by being part of the squad, I wouldn't have been that surprised if he got a chance for experience regardless of his club.

Anyone who watched Doyle play for Cork will tell you he was the exact same player as he is now at Reading. IMO and many other people's opinion there are better players currently playing in the eL than Doyle such as Wes Hoolahan and George O'Callaghan. Why haven't they being selected or been given a chance for Ireland for Ireland yet? Put two and two together and you come to an obvious answer. As I've said before, if Gary Doherty a bit part player at a bottom half of table Championship club (and not vey good player at all) can play as a striker for Ireland, Jason Byrne most certainly can.

Yes Jayo got a experince in 2004 but lets be honest 2 minutes against Poland isn't a proper chance. Being part of the squad is good experience but in reality playing minutes is what is really priceless in international football.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    And yes I know he has been called up before but a couple of training sessions doesn't really constitute getting a chance.
    And how did Kevin Doyle "get a chance" again? How many minutes did he play? He was called into the squad to experience some training with top level players. He was never going to play.
    MrJoeSoap wrote:
    I think you misread that bit.
    I'm not sure I did. I wasn't disagreeing with what Slash/ED said, I was disagreeing the notion that a player has to go to England to get a call up, because that is not the case, and despite what people think Doyle getting a call up after moving does not prove that in any way.

Jason Byrne doesn't need a springboard. His goalscoring record (top scorer last 2 seasons, certain to be again this season), his general play and contribution and priceless European experience proves that he has more to his locker than a typical eL striker.
    Doesn't need a spring board? Are you saying that he is currently at the level of a top Championship striker? Or a lower Premiership striker?

I'm not saying that he doesn't have more than a typical eL striker, or that he is a bad player, I'm just putting a bit of perspective on things.
    That's a fair point. However I do believe at least 4 European matches and regular matches against weaker Championship teams do balance each other out. We all know any footballer would choose to play Deportivo over Stoke City any day without hesitation but for international possibilties, regular matches against the likes of Wolves etc. would be more beneficial in that regards. Only Jayo can really answer what he would rather choose.
    Let's be honest here, sustained football at a more competitive level is a more attractive prospect than a one off game against a big European team. And seeing as Shel's are potentially looking at the Intertoto, I don't think they will be facing a team like Deportivo (at the level they were at when they took them on in the CL).
    Anyone who watched Doyle play for Cork will tell you he was the exact same player as he is now at Reading. IMO and many other people's opinion there are better players currently playing in the eL than Doyle such as Wes Hoolahan and George O'Callaghan. Why haven't they being selected or been given a chance for Ireland for Ireland yet? Put two and two together and you come to an obvious answer.
    Yes, the obvious answer, Ireland are seriously lacking in strikers. Think it's a coincidence that the likes of Crowe, Byrne and Doyle have been involved at international level?
    Yes Jayo got a experince in 2004 but lets be honest 2 minutes against Poland isn't a proper chance. Being part of the squad is good experience but in reality playing minutes is what is really priceless in international football.
    You've misunderstood me here, I'm talking about Doyle. And I agree he wasn't really given a chance, that's not what he was there for. He was there for the experience. So it's hardly a case of move to England and be propelled to international stardom.

Kevin Doyle was called up to the squad for a crucial World Cup qualifier and was on the bench (afair) for it. Jason Byrne got 2 minutes (at a push) in a meaningless friendly against Poland and I don't even think Weso made the bench.

I would have put money on Kerr giving Doyle a good chance in the next friendly if he had stuck around. And he completely deserves it too, no doubt about it. We could argue about whether Doyle would have been called up if he was still a Cork player until the cows come home, but I really and truly don't think he would have been.

As Zane said, why shouldn't Byrne get a chance ahead of Gary Doherty? Or Jon Macken for that matter. Why not call Wes up instead and give him a run in a friendly?

As always, the fact of the matter is that our league is consistently overlooked for the international squad. Very few countries do it as regularly as we do. If Jayo had 5 or 6 caps to his name (maybe even a goal or two) what would it do to his value?
    Doesn't need a spring board? Are you saying that he is currently at the level of a top Championship striker? Or a lower Premiership striker?

There's only one way to prove that and it doesn't involve Jason Byrne staying in Ireland. Why should our national squad be measured by English standards? Does the top scorer for three consecutive seasons in the Swedish, Norweigian or Danish leagues get completely overlooked for their international squad? I would hope not.

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭tetsujin1979

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Kevin Doyle was called up to the squad for a crucial World Cup qualifier and was on the bench (afair) for it. Jason Byrne got 2 minutes (at a push) in a meaningless friendly against Poland and I don't even think Weso made the bench.
    Wes was on the bench for the draw against Greece when Don Givens was in charge, after Mick left and before Kerr got appointed

Doyle might be the same player but he has proved that at a higher level he can play comsistantly and score goals, Byrne hasn't proved that, and unless he moved to a championship club he won't prove that.

Face it, the Eircom League is not the standard of players Ireland need to imporve.

If he moves and proves he can score goals against teams like reading, leeds, palace, southampton then he deserves a call up, but a few games against cork drogs and derry a year don't mean a whole lot when the rest of the year your playing Dublin city, longford, UCD, and the rest in the league and cup.

Wes was on the bench for the draw against Greece when Don Givens was in charge, after Mick left and before Kerr got appointed

Ah yes I remember now, the time Crowe was called up.

Seaneh wrote:
    Doyle might be the same player but he has proved that at a higher level he can play comsistantly and score goals, Byrne hasn't proved that, and unless he moved to a championship club he won't prove that.

Face it, the Eircom League is not the standard of players Ireland need to imporve.

If he moves and proves he can score goals against teams like reading, leeds, palace, southampton then he deserves a call up, but a few games against cork drogs and derry a year don't mean a whole lot when the rest of the year your playing Dublin city, longford, UCD, and the rest in the league and cup.

But Doyle, as an attacker in the eL, scored far less goals than Jayo against pretty much the same opposition*. Surely you, as an eL fan, don't want our best talents to go to England merely to prove themselves worthy of a trip back home to play in an international?

* - I don't want to get into a Doyle vs Byrne debate, they're both very different (and very decent) players.

Seaneh wrote:

Did he prove that with 3 goals and a month or so of action, what he didn't prove scoring against French and Dutch league opposition!? Did he f*ck

And the point I was making Jivin Turkey, was that Byrne wasn't going to be in that squad no matter what as he plays in Ireland. Doyle wouldn't have been if he didn't move, the proof is Byrne, who won the golden boot 2 times out of 2 witrh Shels, wasn't called up instead or at any occasion for any match of any importance.

^ Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

erm...would bray get any money should he be transferred?