Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tourist Guide to the 26 counties

• 16-11-2005 5:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭

Tourist Guide to the 26 counties .........

Cavan
    Filthy, ignorant hillbillies, puritanical papists.
    Hobbies: discovering IRA ammo dumps and knitting black balaclavas.

Kerry
    Stupid but loveable.
    Hobbies: Gaelic football, scraping pig foetus off their wellies and
    chain-smoking.

Wicklow North
    Sports car driving country snobs (Greystones, Enniskerry)
    Hobbies: Sticking their noses in the air and referring to themselves
    as"one".

Wicklow South
    Sheep shaggers.
    Hobbies: Sitting in field with their neighbours and talking about
    the"banjaxed hydraulics on the JCB", collecting the dole.

Dublin North
    Criminals, drug dealers and factory workers, easy women, unmarried
    mothers, skinheads and all-round examples of human waste.
    Hobbies: Heroin and watching serials numbers being filed off stolen
    BMW's, doing hand-breakers.

Dublin South
    West Brits, snobs, rich, easy glamorous women.
    Hobbies: colonic irrigation and sleeping with their best
    friend's spouse.

Limerick
    Violent, racist scum of the earth, knife-wielding prostitutes.
    Hobbies: play rugby while stabbing each other with screwdrivers and then
    complaining about their city's bad reputation.

Donegal
    Looks down on all-others, aloof.
    Hobbies: Turning their noses up at all and sundry

Cork
    Jealous of Dubliners, highly sexualised women.
    Hobbies: Standing at the side of the Motorway and making smug faces at the
    cars with Dublin plates.

Tipperary
    Beautiful pristine girls, but hard to get into bed but worth it if you can
    because that County does not have two different Ridings for nothing!
    Hobbies: Getting a flat in Dublin and losing their accents and hoping
    their parents don't find out.

Meath
    Dublin wannabes.
    Hobbies: Beating Dublin at GAA and hoping that one day somebody in Dublin
    will actually notice.

Galway
    Sophisticated, could be mistaken for a South Dubliner, sexually
    adventurous, cultured and wealthy.
    Hobbies: Teaching sex acrobatics to foreign tourists, dropping acid,
    paying a million pounds for a three bedroom suburban house and pretending
    it was a bargain.

Kildare
    Alcoholics.
    Hobbies: Walking up in barns with a bottle on one side and hatchet-faced
    Biddy on the other.

Mayo
    Depressing, defeatist, negative, misery-laden losers, emigrate as soon as
    the umbilical cord is cut. Usually gets killed in a construction site at
    Hobbies: Dropping a lighted cigarette on his mattress and then being
    burned alive in a Cricklewood boarding house so he can have his
    remains flown back to Knock Airport for burial.

Louth
    IRA supporters, smugglers and bandits, beautiful girls (Dundalk).
    Hobbies: Tearing through Cooley at 125MPH trying to stop the boxes of
    cheap vodka from falling out the window.

Waterford
    Decent honest hard-workers generally good folks.
    Hobbies: Calling a strike.

Clare
    Fiddle-playing charming simpletons and, more recently, neo-nazis.
    Hobbies: Falling into pot-holes and being never heard from ever again.

Sligo
    Go-getters, strong sense of free enterprise, likes to make cash.
    Hobbies: get rich and b*llix to everything else.

Kilkenny
    Harmless innocent alcoholics.
    Hobbies: Sending their only son to Fashion College in Dublin and then
    wondering why he never brings girls home and why he is always looking in
    the Brown Thomas catalogue?

Carlow
    Who cares?
    Hobbies: Move to Dublin and then best forgotten about.

Offaly
    Mad for playing sports and having fun, generally liked.
    Hobbies: To win a pub.

Leitrim
    Enigmatic reclusive weirdos.
    Hobbies: Being absorbed into surrounding counties, quietly.

Longford
    Gombeen men.
    Hobbies: Legalizing bestiality.

Laois
    The real boggers and proud of it generally held in high esteem by
    Dubliners.
    Hobbies: Living an honest life, collecting EU development grants.

Westmeath
    Mysterious boggers, cryptic.
    Hobbies: Trying, unsuccessfully, to get noticed.

Wexford
    Selling their "home-grown" organic fruit (bought at supermarket that
    morning) at the side of the road in summer and ripping-off
    gullible Dubliners out for a drive in the country.
    Hobbies: Ripping off tourists is more than enough.

(Roscommon and Monaghan are missing, but sure did anyone notice?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Dead on :D
    (Can see a bit of inter county slagging from this list)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

Diarmsquid wrote:

Tipperary
    Beautiful pristine girls, but hard to get into bed but worth it if you can
    because that County does not have two different Ridings for nothing!
    Hobbies: Getting a flat in Dublin and losing their accents and hoping
    their parents don't find out.

Wexford
    Selling their "home-grown" organic fruit (bought at supermarket that
    morning) at the side of the road in summer and ripping-off
    gullible Dubliners out for a drive in the country.
    Hobbies: Ripping off tourists is more than enough.

I'm so proud of my herritages.

This list changes everytime its posted though.

nice little jibe against me;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Mr.D.Leprachaun

Monaghan (north):
    Paranoid culchies, bandits and I.R.A. supporters. Both the first and second in command of the Blueshirts were Monaghonian.
    Hobbies: Coming up with proof that the E.U. is run by the government in Dublin as a plot to bring down Monaghan, refusing to explain what they have against Cavan people.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Diarmsquid wrote:
    Cavan
    Hobbies: discovering IRA ammo dumps and knitting black balaclavas.
    Ohh aye... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

Good stuff... and good to see you got cavan oh so very right... ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Gwan offaly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭HybridTech

I'm off to the Motorway to make a few smug faces! ;)

Galway
    Sophisticated, could be mistaken for a South Dubliner, sexually
    adventurous, cultured and wealthy.
    Hobbies: Teaching sex acrobatics to foreign tourists, dropping acid,
    paying a million pounds for a three bedroom suburban house and pretending
    it was a bargain
    You know, if I didn't live here already... I'd move to Galway ;) .
    Gaillimh abu!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Surely Galway's should include "thinks papier mache heads somehow makes for a cultural hotspot, more rain than a monsoon but possibly less than a rainforest".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

G-G-G-Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭HomunQlus

Dublin North
    Criminals, drug dealers and factory workers, easy women, unmarried
    mothers, skinheads and all-round examples of human waste.

I have some humour alright, but I'm no human waste.

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Besides, I'm also no criminal if that's what you thought now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Surely Galway's should include "thinks papier mache heads somehow makes for a cultural hotspot, more rain than a monsoon but possibly less than a rainforest".

yeah plus a higer intake of drugs per weekend than Jamica in a year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

Diarmsquid wrote:
    Cavan
    Hobbies: discovering IRA ammo dumps and knitting black balaclavas

What do men say in Cavan before foreplay? "Hey sis, you awake?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 strepsil

Diarmsquid wrote:
    Dublin South
    West Brits, snobs, rich, easy glamorous women.
    Hobbies: colonic irrigation and sleeping with their best
    friend's spouse.

Brits??

shouldn't that be americans??? :D

Monaghan (north):
    Paranoid culchies, bandits and I.R.A. supporters. Both the first and second in command of the Blueshirts were Monaghonian.
    Hobbies: Coming up with proof that the E.U. is run by the government in Dublin as a plot to bring down Monaghan, refusing to explain what they have against Cavan people.
    Good man adding to the list.
    No word from the roscomianites, err roscommoneers, err roscommontonians yet tho...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

very good
    [/goes off to bang up in the factory toilets/]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭mc nuggets

Diarmsquid wrote:
    Kilkenny
    Harmless innocent alcoholics.
    Aren't we great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

HomunQlus wrote:
    I have some humour alright, but I'm no human waste.

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Besides, I'm also no criminal if that's what you thought now.
    lies:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭HomunQlus

NotMe wrote:
    lies:v:

I didn't meant what I said as a funny contribution you know. I'm living in the north of Dublin.

To call me (and the others who live in the entire Dublin north) an all-round example of human waste is simply not funny at all.

How would you feel if someone came to you and said 'hey look at this all-round example of human waste'?

Exactly.

That's why it's not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

HomunQlus wrote:
    I didn't meant what I said as a funny contribution you know. I'm living in the north of Dublin.

To call me (and the others who live in the entire Dublin north) an all-round example of human waste is simply not funny at all.

How would you feel if someone came to you and said 'hey look at this all-round example of human waste'?

Exactly.

Hey I live in North Dublin too (and I don't consider myself human waste :))... but the post is basically slagging every part of Ireland. It's not a personal attack on you. [edit] (or is it? ;):D)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

humanities?

:v:

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Bettyboop

North wicklow one is so true.:D :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

HomunQlus wrote:

Exactly.

I live on the Northside too. It was only a joke. Everyone else can appreciate that. 'Twasn't meant for any offence.

And The_Dazzler: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 OutlawBlues

funny, but went a bit too far on limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

As a Limerickman I'm pretty used to the cliches being thrown around Outlaw. No point worrying about, I didn't think it was funny above and I doubt many others did either. It's just an old joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Kildare
    Alcoholics.
    Hobbies: Walking up in barns with a bottle on one side and hatchet-faced
    Biddy on the other.

i take great offence at this post and thing the original poster shoulkd be banned for life.
    i don't like that everyone now knows about my alcoholism and the fact that the hatchet faced biddy gave me herpes. :(

the barn was wonderful though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

HomunQlus wrote:

Exactly.

Ah for god's sake, there's always one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Nothing like a good Wexford Strawberry! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

julep wrote:
    i take great offence at this post and thing the original poster shoulkd be banned for life.
    i don't like that everyone now knows about my alcoholism and the fact that the hatchet faced biddy gave me herpes. :(

the barn was wonderful though.
    Ah sure your from leixlip, ya may as well be lumped in with the dubliners