Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Keane has left United!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

I play football at a reasonably competitive level, and I've been pissed off by players many a time. I've returned the favour of going in extremely hard in the next subsequent slide tackle I get in with someone.

But anyone who holds a grudge for months (years?) over something as stupid as telling a player to stop faking an injury (regardless of whether the player was injured or not) and responds by lunging in above the knee with no intention to do anything but injure the player is a scumbag in my opinion, and is a scumbag regardless of what ever level they play at. That sort of thing has no place in the game, again whether it be on a muddy pitch in the middle of a public park on a Sunday, or in the CL final.

Keane was a fantastic footballer, and still has a lot to offer in the game, but anyone who remotely tries to condone (or ignore) the Haaland incident is completely kidding themselves. I don't recall a more shocking incident on a football pitch in England.

In my opinion haaland deserved a good kick, its very disrespectful to shout into a players face, especially when the player is in so much agony that he cant respond, i think the fact that keane knew he was vulnerable and couldnt respond in this situation drove him mad about it, i've played football myself and if somebody done that to me i would remember them and would get my revenge when the opportunity arose, i wouldnt however wish for anyone to break a leg tare a cruciate ligament etc, a few bruises or a day off work would be sufficient (no sorry i'm joking about the day off work a few bruises would be enough)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Roll eyes just makes your remark all the more inane. :v: :v:

But Keane said it. So it seems that he disagrees with what you have said, but hey what would he know, he was one of the main protagonists in the whole debacle. Would you care to take it up with him.
    Ever hear the expression, that a picture is worth a thousand words? I think that the rolleyes gif just about expressed what I thought about your comment.

Keane was originally going to walk out of the world cup, but he didn't. Mick Byrne talked to him and he changed his mind. Then big smart Mick McCarthy thought it would be a good idea to hold a players meeting to hold a team meeting to embarass Keane. Which lead to Keane being sent home. Get your facts right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

PORNAPSTER wrote:

This headline seems to disagree... http://www.rte.ie/news/2002/0523/worldcup.html

So does McCarthy.

Thats an excellent LInk Pornapster.

AS I said earlier it still won't convince the bitter blinkered minority whose only real concern is to paint Keane as the villian of the piece ignoring the mounds of Press releases,interviews, genesis report etc all in the public domain. Anyone that has kept an open mind to events in Saipan at this stage knows where the blame lies .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

The facts that I am stating are that Keane said he left the irish squad. That is the only fact that I have stated up to this. Another one I am about to state is that you are wrong. I have not stated any facts apart from that Keane said he walked out. You saying I am wrong in that assertion is WRONG. It really is as easy as that.

KEANE SAID HE WALKED OUT. Regardless of anything else, Keane did say that. The background to it I have already admitted paints a different picture and suggests that he was right to go but HE SAID HE WALKED OUT.

Can I stick in some rolleyes to express my utter disbelief at you unwillingness to accept this incontrovertible FACT ??

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :v:

Here are some links too .. Not sure what they prove apart from the fact that anybody can write anything on the internet.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2005/soccer/11/18/bc.soc.manunited.keane.ap/
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,27-1082196,00.html
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,3341-388629,00.html

The facts that I am stating are that Keane said he left the irish squad. That is the only fact that I have stated up to this. Another one I am about to state is that you are wrong. I have not stated any facts apart from that Keane said he walked out. You saying I am wrong in that assertion is WRONG. It really is as easy as that.

KEANE SAID HE WALKED OUT. Regardless of anything else, Keane did say that. The background to it I have already admitted paints a different picture and suggests that he was right to go but HE SAID HE WALKED OUT.
    Keane may have said that. Possibly because he didn't want it to be down on record as McCarthy sending him home. Keane is a proud man, and being a proud man he would not like people to get the impression that McCarthy got the better of him.

You are right you did not state any facts. I apologise. I am at work at the moment and am just reading through the posts quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I really don't want to keep going over the same things as we did in the past, but I have to respond to one comment that stated
    TBH It's a little blinkered to form your opinion by focusing on one throw away comment on a TV show

What Keane said on the Dunphy show was not a simple "throw away comment", in fact if I remember correctly he interupted Dunphy when he said he was sent home and quite clearly stated he wasn't sent home, he walked out.

If fan's of his decide to call him a liar and not believe that comment fair enough but I don't think they should try and make little of the comment or people's right to believe what he said, seen as he was the person involved and how clearly he stated he walked out on tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Jivin Turkey, you should know better that to call a player a scumbag. Banned for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

talla wrote:
    Jivin Turkey, you should know better that to call a player a <beep>. Banned for a week.

Thats a bit harsh. Cant you ask Jivin if he will withdraw his remark, tone it down?

Its not that he called a fellow poster a name or something. He called anyone who is involved in a bad pre-meditated tackle the afore-mentioned <beep>.

We all know what he means when he says:
    "lunging in above the knee with no intention to do anything but injure the player is a <beep> in my opinion".

He means its not on, its not the done thing, etc, etc.

I'm not a "buddy" of Jivin, indeed myself and himself have argued over many's a point, but I dont like to see people being banned over a couple of off the cuff throwaway remarks, especially if they are not even given the chance to withdraw them.

I'd say let Jivin back on, edit his post, etc.

As I mentioned in my earlier post, Keane is an emotive issue. Hey, even some people are using big red letters and are not being banned ..... hmmmm.

redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

I also think this banning was very harsh man, he didnt directly call anyone a scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

That banning was ridiculous.

In any thread on humanties or any other board where an assault was concerned, noone would be banned for calling the assaulter a scumbag. Yet hes banned for not even naming a player?

This is not the humanities board.
    It is plainly clear who the post is referring to. Jivin Turkey is around long enough to know the charter well enough. For those that don't,
    "Outbursts of personal abuse/racism etc, be it directed at other board members or at groups of fans or sports personalities people will not be tolerated."
    " Scum is an abusive term, just in case you may have thought otherwise."
    Jivin Turkey usually has a sensible head on him, but he should have known better.
    It has nothing to do with whether what was posted is true or not or what peoples opinions are on the matter. What was posted is not permitted on this forum.

irish1 wrote:
    I really don't want to keep going over the same things as we did in the past, but I have to respond to one comment that stated

Irish One how can you dismiss the comments made by the FAI and Mick here on 23 May 2002 the day the incident happened in favour of one sentence Keane made on Dunphhy;'s tv show monts later. Are you saying this report form our national broadcater is false or is it your opinion that The FAI and our manager were lieing in the press conference..
    RTE News wrote:
    McCarthy sends Keane home from World Cup

Meanwhile the Football Association of Ireland had defended the decision of the Republic of Ireland soccer team manager Mick McCarthy to send the side's captain Roy Keane home from the training centre on Saipan, just nine days before his team's first match in the tournament.

Speaking at a news conference at the Football Association of Ireland's headquarters in Dublin earlier, the FAI Honorary Treasurer John Delaney said his organisation fully supported Mick McCarthy's decision.

He said the FAI was concerned with the well-being of the entire squad. Mr Delaney also defended the preparations and resources for the World Cup provided by the FAI.

Mick McCarthy told a press conference that he had sent the captain home. He said he and the squad could not take any more disruption.

As I told you before It is my belief that Keane made his comments on Dunphy show because he was too proud to admit the truth which is that Mc Carthy sent him home.

Well maybe it's my belief McCarthy told everyone he sent him to save face and keep some kind of order in the camp. Or maybe your just blinded by your support for Keane and don't want to believe what he said. It's a matter of opinion and imho Keane could have stayed if he wanted to but he choose to walk out, as to who's telling the truth, god only knows.

If you believe McCarthy told the truth and Keane blatently lied on TV, fair enough but I don't.

irish1 wrote:
    Well maybe it's my belief McCarthy told everyone he sent him to save face and keep some kind of order in the camp. Or maybe your just blinded by your support for Keane and don't want to believe what he said. It's a matter of opinion and imho Keane could have stayed if he wanted to but he choose to walk out, as to who's telling the truth, god only knows.

If you believe McCarthy told the truth and Keane blatently lied on TV, fair enough but I don't.

Are you saying the FAI and Mc Carthy lied in their press interviews the day this broke?

You are the only person I have ever seen argue the point that Keane had an option to go onto Japan with the squad after the row with Mick . Can you explain how Keane couild have stayed and played after this quote attributed to Mc Carthy in the row" If you dont respect me you can't play in my team". I think thats pretty conclusive but if you have any link to any articles that can substantiate your belief post them and I will read them and see if it changes my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I don't see how whether Keane thinks he walked out or not makes any difference as at the end of the day McCarthy was not going to work with him after that row.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/worldcup2002/countries/story/0,11936,721637,00.html

irish1 - Keane has too much pride to admit Mick McCarthy sent him home. Come on.

Or maybe McCarthy has too much pride to say he walked out. We all know what was said by each side it boils down to what you believe i.e. opinions and it is imo that Keane could have played in the world cup if he choose to put his issues aside, imo McCarthy isn't a fool and he would have wanted Irelands best player to play if at all possible.

The Muppet I find it hard to believe that such a big Keane fan believes what McCarthy said and doesn't believe what Keane said.

irish1 wrote:

Or maybe McCarthy has too much pride to say he walked out. We all know what was said by each side it boils down to what you believe i.e. opinions and it is imo that Keane could have played in the world cup if he choose to put his issues aside, imo McCarthy isn't a fool and he would have wanted Irelands best player to play if at all possible.

The major flaw in that theory is that it would require duplicity with FAI if it were true. I'm no fan of the FAI but I don't believe they would substantiate a bare face lie by the manager in the way they supported Mick.

With respect Irish1 I have shown quotes from the time to show why I believe what I do, all you are doing is repeating your belief without posting anything to support it.

irish1 wrote:

The Muppet I find it hard to believe that such a big Keane fan believes what McCarthy said and doesn't believe what Keane said.

I do admire Keane hughly but that does not mean I have to believe every thing he says or support everything he does. If I felt your version of events were true I would be as scathing of him as anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭The Rooster

But anyone who holds a grudge for months (years?) over something as stupid as telling a player to stop faking an injury (regardless of whether the player was injured or not) and responds by lunging in above the knee with no intention to do anything but injure the player is a scumbag in my opinion, and is a scumbag regardless of what ever level they play at. That sort of thing has no place in the game, again whether it be on a muddy pitch in the middle of a public park on a Sunday, or in the CL final.
    I think you got the context wrong Jivin. Keane did his cruciate that day, when Haaland was standing over him laughing at him and accusing him of feigning injury. Keane was out for 6 months (or whatever it was). Its the hardest time of a player's life, recovering and training bit by bit every day, without getting to kick a ball. Very frustrating, depressing, a long tunnel to get out of. Every day when things got tough, its not difficult to imagine that Keane would have brought up the image of Haaland stading over him and sneering at him. Every day for 6 months. Haaland never once called to see how he was or apologised for his grossly indecent remarks at the time. I'm not at all surprised a grudge festered. Not excusing what Keane did though.

Getting banned for what you said Jivin, it totally ridiculous. In the context you explained, anyone who "does someone" simply because he was accused of feigning injury is a scumbag. Fact. As I said IMO you got the context wrong. And Keane has acted like a scumbag at times in the past e.g. his stamp v Palace many years ago in the Cup was the act of a scumbag - a fact that Keane wouldnt deny and now regrets. IMO he grew out of that in his later years. But to get a ban for saying that is ludicrous. I wonder was the mod acting on his own, or was he pressurised into it by some highly sensitive clown "reporting" the post. Either way the banning was a bad joke. My next comment won't help Jivin and might get me banned, but its also my opinion that its much easier to get a ban by being critical of MU or an MU player. I'm not sure whether its down to an MU bias held by a mod or that certain MU fans are the best at reporting posts - but we've lost a good poster for a week who generally posts interesting stuff that generates good debate and never causes trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

This thread should really be closed at this stage lads, round and round in circles ye go, arguing 3 and a half year old arguments and lads are getting banned for nothing at all.

I dont see how this thread is of any benefit and is only gonna end with more bannings.

I'm sure Keane left as much off his own bat as he was asked to leave. I highly doubt it was a one sided thing, but thats just my opinion.

I totally agree Draupnir. This thread has gone completely off topic, and should be closed.

Draupnir wrote:
    This thread should really be closed at this stage lads, round and round in circles ye go, arguing 3 and a half year old arguments and lads are getting banned for nothing at all.

I dont see how this thread is of any benefit and is only gonna end with more bannings.

I'm sure Keane left as much off his own bat as he was asked to leave. I highly doubt it was a one sided thing, but thats just my opinion.

I don't think there is any reason to close the thread. Everyone is being civil in discussing an issue that is still pretentious even though its 3 years old. Nobodys forcing anyone to read it.

The place to take issue with bannings is by PM with the mod in question and not in the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

The only people still arguing about the Saipan thing are boards.ie users. 3 years is a lifetime in football and its a complete non issue in this context. Its totally off topic for "Keane has left United!" and is therefore against the Charter to discuss in this thread.

Watching a liverpool fan argue with a United fan about whether Keane got sent home from the World Cup or if he walked out, is a bit like watching two retards fighting over who gets to put their willy in the keyhole first. Nobody is gonna come out a winner.

The Muppet wrote:
    The major flaw in that theory is that it would require duplicity with FAI if it were true. I'm no fan of the FAI but I don't believe they would substantiate a bare face lie by the manager in the way they supported Mick.

With respect Irish1 I have shown quotes from the time to show why I believe what I do, all you are doing is repeating your belief without posting anything to support it.

Well with respect Muppet thats your opinion, I believe that the FAI would support their manager, as regards to quotes, I have quoted to my best memory what Keane said on TV, I'll repeat it again though.

He interupted Dunphy when Dunphy said he was sent home and clearly stated that he wasn't sent home he walked out.

Now I respect your opinion and belief that Keane was kicked out and I can understand why you would believe it, I just don't believe it.

I honestly believe that if Roy Keane wanted to play in the World Cup he could have stayed and worked it out, McCarthy is a fool and so are the FAI but Keane could have put his issues aside and played for his country at the biggest stage in the world if he really wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

The Muppet wrote:
    I don't think there is any reason to close the thread. Everyone is being civil in discussing an issue that is still pretentious even though its 3 years old.
    Surely you mean contentious?

Draupnir wrote:
    Watching a liverpool fan argue with a United fan about whether Keane got sent home from the World Cup or if he walked out, is a bit like watching two retards fighting over who gets to put their willy in the keyhole first. Nobody is gonna come out a winner.
    Ha ha. Great quote! :D

B.

Getting banned for what you said Jivin, it totally ridiculous. In the context you explained, anyone who "does someone" simply because he was accused of feigning injury is a scumbag. Fact. As I said IMO you got the context wrong. And Keane has acted like a scumbag at times in the past e.g. his stamp v Palace many years ago in the Cup was the act of a scumbag - a fact that Keane wouldnt deny and now regrets. IMO he grew out of that in his later years. But to get a ban for saying that is ludicrous. I wonder was the mod acting on his own, or was he pressurised into it by some highly sensitive clown "reporting" the post. Either way the banning was a bad joke. My next comment won't help Jivin and might get me banned, but its also historically true that its much easier to get a ban by being critical of MU or an MU player. I'm not sure whether its down to an MU bias held by a mod or that certain MU fans are the best at reporting posts - but we've lost a good poster for a week who generally posts interesting stuff that generates good debate and never causes trouble.

Right i've had enough of this crap. Explain to me how i'm biased towards Man Utd. Yes i'm a fan of Man utd, but i don't wear the red tinted glasses. Please backup your accusations or withdraw them. If people are stupid enough to contstantly refer to Man Utd players/ supporters as scum thats there own stupidity. If someone refers to another player/ supporter as scum etc, the exact same punishment will be delivered out.
    How was referring to someone as a scumbag not in breach of the charter? (I don't give a f**k about the context.)
    And so what if someone chose to report the post. Thats how this forum is run. Since when do you dictate what a user can and can't do on this forum?
    Posters are actively encoraged to report posts. Its stops flame wars from getting out of hand. Its the only way this forum can run smoothly, mods can't read every ingle thread and every single post.
    And so what if someone never cause trouble? Is this a new policy that has been brought in as well. Oh poster x is here 2 years, so hes allowed to post what he wants and get away with it because he never causes trouble. Lets treat poster x differently to anyone else to step out of line.

And finally the parts from the charter that were broken were not just thought up by the mods on a whim. There was a long and detailed debate on the moderator forum from both other moderators and the admins and this was the outcome.

Will people think first before they post. Draupnir banned for a week for his comments on retards. Cue the "that decision was ridiculous, it was only a bit of humour" posts now.

talla wrote:
    Right i've had enough of this crap. Explain to me how i'm biased towards Man Utd. Yes i'm a fan of Man utd, but i don't wear the red tinted glasses. Please backup your accusations or withdraw them. If people are stupid enough to contstantly refer to Man Utd players/ supporters as scum thats there own stupidity. If someone refers to another player/ supporter as scum etc, the exact same punishment will be delivered out.
    How was referring to someone as a scumbag not in breach of the charter? (I don't give a f**k about the context.)
    And so what if someone chose to report the post. Thats how this forum is run. Since when do you dictate what a user can and can't do on this forum?
    Posters are actively encoraged to report posts. Its stops flame wars from getting out of hand. Its the only way this forum can run smoothly, mods can't read every ingle thread and every single post.
    And so what if someone never cause trouble? Is this a new policy that has been brought in as well. Oh poster x is here 2 years, so hes allowed to post what he wants and get away with it because he never causes trouble. Lets treat poster x differently to anyone else to step out of line.

And finally the parts from the charter that were broken were not just thought up by the mods on a whim. There was a long and detailed debate on the moderator forum from both other moderators and the admins and this was the outcome.
    Temper Temper !!

I never said anything was wrong with the charter, and I never would. The issue is with how you (and/or whoever reported the post) interpreted Jivin's post. (Also never said people shouldnt be allowed report posts - I just get the impression that mods feel under pressure to take action, whether really justified or not, whenever a post is reported - I also get the impression that certain posters know this and get a real kick out of getting people banned who often disagree with them, they wait for the slightest mistake - pounce - and sit back and laugh, happy in their anonymity. But of course I'm probably miles off the mark)

If someone said "Roy Keane is a scumbag" END then of course it would be worth a reporting and a banning. Jivin however said that the pre-meditated act of harming Haaland was the act of a scumbag. Nobody can deny that in the context that Jivin explained it. His post was not flaming in any shape of form.

Jivin's not a troublemaker, it wasnt a trouble-making post. It was just his opinion about a bad tackle, a valid opinion, albeit I think he forgot to consider Keane's mindset from being in recuperation for 6 months, so its an opinion I disagree with. I've re-read the charter and I can't see how it warrants a banning. But if the mod inteprets it different to everyone else (no non-MU fan would think it warranted a banning, and as the vast majority of the MU fans are also decent human beings (despite their press!) I'd bet all bar one would also agree it didnt warrant a banning) then there's nothing anyone can do about it. We all know its not supposed to be a democracy.

Pornapster, as a ManU fan, and forgetting about Jivin's history, (and I know your opinion counts for as little as mine on this), but I'd be interested to hear your opinion on whether Jivin deserved a ban for his comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

I don't understand why Draupnir was banned , he never called anyone a retard he was making a breif humour statement that didnt offend anyone on this board or refer to any players !

irish1 wrote:
    Well with respect Muppet thats your opinion, I believe that the FAI would support their manager, as regards to quotes, I have quoted to my best memory what Keane said on TV, I'll repeat it again though.

He interupted Dunphy when Dunphy said he was sent home and clearly stated that he wasn't sent home he walked out.

Now I respect your opinion and belief that Keane was kicked out and I can understand why you would believe it, I just don't believe it.

I honestly believe that if Roy Keane wanted to play in the World Cup he could have stayed and worked it out, McCarthy is a fool and so are the FAI but Keane could have put his issues aside and played for his country at the biggest stage in the world if he really wanted to.

Fair Enough Irish 1 I respect your opinion. It is an issue that we will never agree on. I think we may leave it at that as some of the other members of this board appear to have more pressing issues to debate and this thread must be preventing them from doing so in some way .

Apologies for supposedly taking it off topic but Saipan will always be raised when discussing Keane so how it's off topic is beside me .

Congrats to the mods for keeping this on track this time.

@ Bazmo Yes I did mean contentious but pretentious could also be apt for the subject at hand.;)

Sarge wrote:
    I don't understand why Draupnir was banned , he never called anyone a retard he was making a breif humour statement that didnt offend anyone on this board or refer to any players !

How do you know it didnt offend anyone on this board?

It was a humourous statement ! It didnt refer to anyone therefore it was impossible to insult anyone . Listen far be it for me to tell you how to manage your forum , i think you and thanx4fish do a great job and have told you guys that many times , but that banning was wrong .

I actually agree with what you say regarding someone explaining their comments should be allowed. However, this goes back to the discussion that was had in the moderators forum a long time ago, and the feedback from admins and mods was this should not matter. Fot those that have access http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=228597 , the thread can be viewed here.
    You still havent backed up you biased comments.

Sarge wrote:
    It was a humourous statement ! It didnt refer to anyone therefore it was impossible to insult anyone . Listen far be it for me to tell you how to manage your forum , i think you and thanx4fish do a great job and have told you guys that many times , but that banning was wrong .

Again you said it didn't offend anyone, how do you know?
    Would you like to go into the accessibility/ Mobility/ Disability forum and post the same thing and state thats its a humourous statement?

talla wrote:
    Again you said it didn't offend anyone, how do you know?
    Would you like to go into the accessibility/ Mobility/ Disability forum and post the same thing and state thats its a humourous statement?

Are you calling the retards ?

retard = " A person considered to be foolish or socially inept "

Amazingly I do more banning than Talla on these boards, I am a liverpool fan, I will ban anybody who steps out of line. My support of liverpool does not bias my decision to ban anybody. There are numerous posts reported everyday and Talla and I do not take action upon all of them, as some of them are purely based on somebodies interpretation and others are because poster a does not like poster b. There are others which may cause offence however and these posters are banned. There are three chances on this forum and these gents have lost two of their three lives. As regards the two retards statement Sarge, that is not a humourous statment. That is offensive on so many levels.

The users that have been banned must post a request in the access requests forum in order that they regain access to the forum.

My point is ... That someone who actually considers he or she to be a retard can only find the retard statement offensive. I really can't see that happening and also I think the way Draupnir used the word was humorous, I’m not here to argue with you guys all the great work you do here on the soccer forum is great but I think this decision is wrong .

re·tard2 Audio pronunciation of "retard" ( P ) Pronunciation Key (rtärd)
    n. Offensive Slang

1. Used as a disparaging term for a mentally retarded person.
    2. A person considered to be foolish or socially inept.

Sarge wrote:
    My point is ... That someone who actually considers he or she to be a retard can only find the retard statement offensive. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Sarge wrote:
    My point is ... That someone who actually considers he or she to be a retard can only find the retard statement offensive. I really can't see that happening and also I think the way Draupnir used the word was humorous, I’m not here to argue with you guys all the great work you do here on the soccer forum is great but I think this decision is wrong .

Retard is one of the worst words in the english language and shouldnt be used in any context imo....how you can defend anyone using this word is beyond me!! the word retard used anywhere can never be seen as humorous and it is an offensive word to everyone.....well done mods!!

Also with reference to the scumbag statement.....again it is clear in the charter and there was a huge discussion on this already!! you dont use the word end of story!! plain and simple!! if you cant have a discussion without resorting to using words such as "retard" and "scumbag" then it is right you are banned!! I have been on here many years and I have had one banning(many years ago about a stupid statement about English supporters)....I took my banning and when I actual re-read the thread it was that I should of have been banned...since then have had numerous discussions.....some heated(looking at you thanx4dafish:D:D :D ) but still could get my point across without resorting to words as used by people above!!

Sarge wrote:

Sarge I didn't report either post but I would find the use of the word retard in the context it was used offensive.

The mods here have a tough task . We all know you can say something without actually saying it if you know what I mean, I have done it many times myself. It's very difficult to mod against that and the only way it can be done with facing accusations of bias is to have a zero policy for certain terms when they are reported. I think both terms used fall into this catagory.

That siad I think users could use a bit more common sense when reporting posts. I would not like to see the ruturn of "the post something controversial then sit back and report the fall out" culture that once prevailed here.

Again Congratulations to both the Mods on their contribution to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Big Nelly wrote:
    Retard is one of the worst words in the english language and shouldnt be used in any context imo....how you can defend anyone using this word is beyond me!! the word retard used anywhere can never be seen as humorous and it is an offensive word to everyone.....well done mods!!

Here here.

talla wrote:
    You still havent backed up you biased comments.
    My impression is that more people get banned from anti-MU comments than anti-anyotherclub comments. I havent counted, so wouldnt have a clue if thats fact.

I believe (just an opinion) that you get more posts reported by MU fans than by any others - and this correlates to more bans given. Some MU fans report every minor misdemenour that might infringe or come close to infringe the charter. Its highly likely that its not MU fans in general, but just one MU fan in particular (I'd be astonished if the clear record holder for reporting posts in the soccer forum is not a ManU fan - these arent made public so I dont really know for sure - just my belief, though I'm sure there's the odd newbie that comes along, supporting whoever, who gets a kick from going on a reporting post spree). If everyone took the attitude of reporting every single misdemenour, then we'd have an awful mess.

Talla, I dont believe you have an anti-Liverpool supporter bias or anything like that. However, I think it more likely that a non-MU supporting mod would have either disregarded the reported post as it wasnt causing any trouble or just issued a quiet warning to Jivin at most. The only difference between what Jivin posted about Haaland and what I posted about CPalace, is that a MU fan didnt report my post. Jivin's banned, I'm here complaining:D On another thread I said Keane used to be a scumbag, because he was doing mailicious things every other week. But I said he wasnt anymore, that he'd grown up and gotten rid of the nasty side of his game. Pigman II disagreed with me on the latter part, implying perhaps that Keane is a scumbag (though he certainly didnt say it, though to my mind, neither did Jivin). Neither me nor Pigman got banned, again probably because the MU supporter didnt report us.

But then maybe I'm completely wrong and you did what all soccer mods would do. Maybe we all need to be ultra careful about what we post, make sure its totally politically correct, and if anyone steps out of line or even gets close to the line, we need to pounce and get it and him/her stamped out.

EDIT: Very slow writer! Probably most questions answered already by Thanx above.

Lads I accept all your points here, and what I love about boards is and especially this forum as its my favourite is the constructive arguments we all have, Now I accept that the word retard is a terrible word and should be frowned upon but I think the context in the way it was used is slightly humorous and didn’t deserve a ban.

Now as I have said many times already this is not a attack on the mod of this forum but me giving my constructive criticism : D, I do believe you guys do a great job and should be told that. I for one know how difficult it can be to mod a forum.

Suppose it brings it back to thanks 4 the fish signature.
    Welcome to boards.
    You are not your join date.
    You are not your post count.
    You are not your karma score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

On another thread I said Keane used to be a scumbag, because he was doing mailicious things every other week. But I said he wasnt anymore, that he'd grown up and gotten rid of the nasty side of his game. Pigman II disagreed with me on the latter part, implying perhaps that Keane is a scumbag (though he certainly didnt say it, though to my mind, neither did Jivin). Neither me nor Pigman got banned, again probably because the MU supporter didnt report us.

Why do you feel it is nessecary to use the word scumbag in the first place??? why do you need to call anyone, any player a scumbag?????? there is plenty of other words you could use to get your point across without demeaning players/clubs/general public by calling them scumbags!!

The Muppet wrote:
    Again Congratulations to both the Mods on their contribution to this thread.
    I dunno why that made me laugh, but it did, heartily :D:D:D

It is good to see a decision explained in a rational manner by mods, when they're under no obligation to. Even if I still disagree with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

And we're all one big happy family again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

TBH, I don't really see what all the fuss about Keane is. The way this whole debacle has been played out is typical of his attitude towards authority. How did he think he was going to get away with his diatribe on MUTV? He went out of his way to embarres HIS teammates and to undermine HIS manager.

And it's not as if he does not have a track record of this. He did the same to McCarthy in Saipan.

What exactly was his problem here? He has become less and less of an influence in the UTD team, as injuries and age have taken their toll. His influence on the pitch, when he played, was well on the wain. The respect he once commanded in the dressing room suffered as a direct result of his inability to keep his mouth shut and play as part of team. And by play I mean 24/7 not just for 90 mins midweek or at the weekends.

People laugh at his (in)famous outburst about the prawn sandwich brigade. IMO it's just another example of his contempt and lack of respect to those that paid his overly inflated salary.

IMO Manu and Ireland are much better off without him. He simply cannot be trusted.When he was required to step up to the mark, both in the world cup and as Manu are going through a rocky patch, what did he do? He turned his back of his teammates. He is a huge destabilising influence on any team, and he has proven, through HIS actions that he cannot be relied on when a team needs it's captain most.

Good riddence Roy, you won't be missed.

Big Nelly wrote:
    Why do you feel it is nessecary to use the word scumbag in the first place??? why do you need to call anyone, any player a scumbag?????? there is plenty of other words you could use to get your point across without demeaning players/clubs/general public by calling them scumbags!!
    For the most we've been talking about the act or acts, rather than the person - so there's a big difference which has been the crux of the matter.

But your point is still valid, and I duly take it

Pornapster, as a ManU fan, and forgetting about Jivin's history, (and I know your opinion counts for as little as mine on this), but I'd be interested to hear your opinion on whether Jivin deserved a ban for his comments?
    Personally, I didn't think it warranted a ban. I don't think Jivin meant to get anything started with that comment, I think he was just giving his opinion. I do think he went a bit far with the scumbag comment, reason being I don't think there was a need for it. But I don't think it deserved a ban.

This is just my opinion. I don't want to tell the mods how to do their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Bit of action on the Keane front, according to the BBC