Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lucan Skate park!

• 19-11-2005 9:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭

Hello everyone, here is the agreed plan for Lucan skate park, Lucan skatepark was awarded a further €100,000! this is (hopefully) the final design, Its a sick plan and hope for it to be ready for use soon!
    lucan_skatepark_big.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭wideangle

Dude my jaw just dropped to the floor!Thats friggen Klass.Let me know when the opening session is on.Im there with me bike!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭liamskater

Imagine Tony Trujillo in those bowls....................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭iceworm

un befvkinleavable .any date yet asto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭asto

Building will hopefully start in the next two weeks, Its out of the council's hands now, the project has been handed over to Freestyle skateparks, they designed and are building it!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Know where abouts in Lucan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭asto

Grifeen valley park!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

asto wrote:
    Grifeen valley park!
    Grand, that's only a 25 minute walk from me (or 7 minute roller-blade)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 expn

looks like a sweet little park.......! Can't wait to try out the bowls.....

Please keep us posted on construction , and when it will be opening..!

thanks........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭smois

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Grand, that's only a 25 minute walk from me (or 7 minute roller-blade)
    gerrout there yiz fekin fruitbooters...dont even think bout cumin neaaar the place...haha just messin... plans look sick to me

Is Lucan on the northside or southside.Will be comming from Cork road.

The lines,the lines they are everywhere:cool: :confused: :eek: :o :rolleyes: :):D:D :cool: :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭liamskater

will there be flood lights as well for at night?

• Registered Users Posts: 69,013 ✭✭✭✭L1011

wideangle wrote:
    Is Lucan on the northside or southside.Will be comming from Cork road.

West side :p

Its on the N4, although the Grifeen Valley Park is to the south of the N4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭GoofySkater

the last one looked better I think. Not much dubs skate tranny, well not good anyway. Only guy I can think of who will rip those is Gav Coughlan.

isnt that wat its for so we can learn. how else do u learn how to skate bowls. the street stuff is basically the same just in a different position. more ledges and stuff if anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭fisheye

Ummm, Bruce Kelliher? Jeremy Evans? Wayne Gallagher? Ever see Alan Collins skate a park? It's a very rare treat, but he kills parks too. Build it and they will come - that park will help make skaters more well rounded rather than ledgelords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭smois

west side baby thats wer its happinin:D

• Registered Users Posts: 884 ✭✭✭Cork Skate

That looks totally sick ... unreal !!!

The high raised part by the roll-in is perfect for judging comps aswell .... will the bowls be covered .... they would be ideal to skate during the winter if they were covered. (Could be done later on anyway) .... floodlights is a great suggestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭GoofySkater

fisheye wrote:
    Ummm, Bruce Kelliher? Jeremy Evans? Wayne Gallagher? Ever see Alan Collins skate a park? It's a very rare treat, but he kills parks too. Build it and they will come - that park will help make skaters more well rounded rather than ledgelords.

haha, bruce. I think he should be banned from the place, hes ****ing dangerous. He doesnt skate the ramps, the ramps skate him?????

• Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

Looks great, but a tad small - yay for the government only doing a 1/2 assed job and taking skateboarding into consideration...

THERE ARE MORE FU<KING SPORTS THAT NEED A SKATEPARK.

red_ice wrote:
    Looks great, but a tad small - yay for the government only doing a 1/2 assed job and taking skateboarding into consideration...

THERE ARE MORE FU<KING SPORTS THAT NEED A SKATEPARK.

Two factors to remember:

1. Lobby groups. Far less BMXers and rollerbladers go around pushing for facilities, those that do would be better served by lobbying alongside the skaters for combined facilities.
    2. Politicians are generally very stupid. To them, "skate"park means "skateboard" and nothing else. See 1 for another reason why.

If you're particularly unlucky, you'll find they've not insured the park for bikes or blades.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,837 ✭✭✭Alkers

MYOB wrote:
    Two factors to remember:

1. Lobby groups. Far less BMXers and rollerbladers go around pushing for facilities, those that do would be better served by lobbying alongside the skaters for combined facilities.
    2. Politicians are generally very stupid. To them, "skate"park means "skateboard" and nothing else. See 1 for another reason why.

If you're particularly unlucky, you'll find they've not insured the park for bikes or blades.
    Do you not think that bikers and bladers lobbied also? I know that the vast majority of dublin mountain bikers signed that petition etc... just to support there fellow bikers, the BMXers who can hopefully get good use out of these facilities. We shouldn't be arguing here about who can or can't use the park, we should be seing it as a big step in the right direction and try to get more to follow.

Simona1986 wrote:
    Do you not think that bikers and bladers lobbied also? I know that the vast majority of dublin mountain bikers signed that petition etc... just to support there fellow bikers, the BMXers who can hopefully get good use out of these facilities. We shouldn't be arguing here about who can or can't use the park, we should be seing it as a big step in the right direction and try to get more to follow.

I'm not saying anyone should be prevented from using it, I'm giving reasons as to why its probably been designed the way it has, which another poster seems to be implying is unfriendly to "other sports" - which I'm guessing are BMX's and blades.

By all means, anyone who can make good use of the park - good use not meaning using it for knacker drinking like most council playgrounds are :rolleyes: - should be allowed in, and it should be done properly at the design stage.

is it a public skatepark?
    if it is does that mean entry is free or whats the story on price.
    im guessing pads are obligatory

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

The park will be open to skaters bikers and bladers. Hopefully Goons on razor skooters and Omega 3000 €89 mountain bikes will not gain entry.

The reason most skateparks lean towards skateboard use is
    1.Most skatepark building companies are either skater owned or fat greedy clueless businessman owned theres a few biker run but I know of no blader run.
    2. Most users will be skaters.
    BMXers had a hell of a lot to do with getting skateparks built, Gav and Beky at Bentfork did a lot of work in helping the campaign for Bushy Pk. I am both a BMXer and a skater and I know it's a lot easier to ride a skater built park than skate a biker built one e.g Kiltorcan ,I like the park a lot but it sure is a lot of work on a board. Some people want a DC plaza some want marseille some want a BMX park, this, like I'd imagine all of the first wave of parks is gonna be a compromise.Hopefully their will be a bit of variety in design within these constraints but I'd say were still a good few years off "specialist" parks.

We are getting skateparks after 20+ years of waiting and I am F**KIN delighted am I the only one????!!!!

haha, bruce. I think he should be banned from the place, hes ****ing dangerous. He doesnt skate the ramps, the ramps skate him?????
    Best guy to skate with in the universe.

So there's going to be loads of new parks popping up around the country, which means that there'll be plenty of opportunity to get organised and make sure that companies like Five-0 and Railslide and other cowboys stay well away with any modular/metal/wood ramp bollocks. Ireland needs something like the UKSA to get decent parks together and a good variety aswell - seems like anytown with a skateboard in it will be receiving cash for a park. That should mean lots of different designs - the next project in Dublin should ideally be plaza-based like Middlesborough or Stoke. Even a smaller/cheaper, ledge only development like Milton Keynes would be something worth looking at. Anything that's not like the sterotypical "W" or an outdoor version of Ramp N Rail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Well done to everyone involved in getting this project started.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

fisheye wrote:
    the next project in Dublin should ideally be plaza-based like Middlesborough or Stoke. Even a smaller/cheaper, ledge only development like Milton Keynes would be something worth looking at.

Man, i tell you what, if either of those 2 that you linked was over here, it would perfect for everyone. A nice variety of ledges, rails, steps, kinked/curved ledges in an area surrounded by ledges (like the UCD Bar ledges that got capped), they would be perfect for everyone and wouldnt be harsh on the eyes either.

It would definitly set a good trend for irish skateparks

Both of them have massive bowls too - the middlesborough one has a 10ft kidney and the Stoke one has a 8-9ft clover.

edit - there's a really good writeup on Stoke in the new Sidewalk with the free DVD. Well worth the purchase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 expn

Anybody have any update on when they're starting to build the park....?

And how would you get to it from Woodies , or Lucan village ! I don't know lucan very well , and would like to go out and even just look at the site....!

thanks lads....