Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name all the pubs in Port!!!

• 22-11-2005 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭

Heres one for the people from Port!!! NAme all the pubs in the town!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭dahooligan

You're a bit mad really aren't ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shinners21

Not from Port....

After Dark (i think) is the only one I've been in! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

dahooligan wrote:
    You're a bit mad really aren't ya?

Yes yes i'm afraid i have to agree!!!:D

The after dark
    O'Deas
    The Pint o Port
    Delaney's & Delaney's (2 of em obviously)
    Tom's Bar
    The Anvil
    The Continental
    The Shamrock
    The Pub between the Anvil and The Shamrock?!
    Gogarty's
    Burbages
    The pub to the left of Burbages?!
    The Railway Bar
    The front bar in the Hotel
    That Pub on the way up to Gracefield?!
    Corrig House (The Spa)
    The Barrow Lodge
    The French Quarter - thats closed now though?!
    The Weighbridge
    ... I thought there was 25 pubs or something like that though?! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

dahooligan wrote:
    That Pub on the way up to Gracefield?!

I think thats called the hawthorn. not entirely sure though

Ya've hit the hammer onto the nail there! The hawthorn it is

The pub between Anvil and Shamrock is Paddy Finlays if i'm not mistaken!!

Theres the Thatch aswell but thats really Killenard but if you were picky about it it could be included!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Chris P Duck

The pub across from the tech - Mick Finlays

Is Matt O Rourkes still open?

Matt O'Rourke's?? Is that on spa street?? The name isn't familiar!!

Hmmm.. the onlypubs on spa street I can think of are the spa, ma burbages and delany's.. although a sneaky suspicion tells that there may have been another pub there a few years ago.. but then again, a few years ago every bleedin house was a pub so..

dahooligan wrote:
    Hmmm.. the onlypubs on spa street I can think of are the spa, ma burbages and delany's.. although a sneaky suspicion tells that there may have been another pub there a few years ago.. but then again, a few years ago every bleedin house was a pub so..

Aye tis true!! Never heard of O'Rourkes tho!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

I think i remember that place. me and a friend wandered in there a few years back on a night out and turned on our heels cos we were the only ones in there the right side of 50. can't remember for the life of me what the name of the place was or is.

daithimac wrote:
    I think i remember that place. me and a friend wandered in there a few years back on a night out and turned on our heels cos we were the only ones in there the right side of 50. can't remember for the life of me what the name of the place was or is.

Ha ha, thats delaney's you're thinking of - when they ask for id there they mean it.. nobody under 50! Good porter though.. mmmm.. porter! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

o rourkes is known to all as the farmers

and your forgettin paddy bennetts that used to beside burbages

dahooligan wrote:
    The pub to the left of Burbages?!

Well, I knew it was there, just didnt know the name of it, but bennetts it is! :D

dahooligan wrote:
    Well, I knew it was there, just didnt know the name of it, but bennetts it is! :D

I don't think O'Rourkes was in Portarlington...asked around and got blank faces!! Paddy Bennetts is a deadly pub...Lovely ale!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

There used to be that old woman who had a license for her house/quasi pub, barely ever opened though. Think it was on the way to Marian Square in one of the houses there. Probably long dead by know though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Kittyboo

I am a Port woman, born and bred!

It's not Matt O'Rourkes. It's Ma O'Rourkes, better known as Burbages or the Farmers on Spa street and it's now closed. If you look over the pub the sign says O'Rourkes.

The amount of pubs in Port was always a talking point, didn't think it would reach this far though, it's kinda freaky and cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

Any one know if The Shamrock still puts on live bands?
    Or any other pubs for that matter? More the "young people" pubs :)

I've been living in Port for years and never stumbled across any one on the web from Port. Is this every one then?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Farmer Burbage, now theres a man if ever I did see.. :rolleyes:

Port has such an unbelievable amount of pubs for the size of population, they must've predicted the influx of Dubs years ago and made plans to cope with them! The After Dark used to be great for live bands etc, I know that live bands still play the back place in the Spa (Corrig House). The whole town needs to bleedin liven up though!

Is it as bad as Kildare (town)? I mean there is NOTHING in Kildare bar pubs!

At least in Port there's a river :)

Yeah the After Dark is a nice spot. Lot of "turned up collars" in there though :)
    On the rare occaision I'd go out in Port I'd normally head to the After Dark or The Anvil.

The band I'm in (I won't pimp it here) most of the gigs we do are up in Dublin. I'd like to do more local. Be a bit of a shock if we turned up in somewhere like Burbabes or The Hawthron :D

When I worked in the East End hotel the manager was crying out for bands but couldn't get em, apart from that the Bridge House and #1 in Tullamore are live music mecca as far as the midlands is/are concerned.

edit - the back place is Corrig House is decent enough though (I say this as I used to be involved in managing it and still occasionally work there). Give em a shout and give it a go, unless you're death rockers.. which I don't think would go down too well :p

*Kildare is pants, good for a fight though.. if you're into that sort of thing :rolleyes:

Thanks Connundrum!
    We're a hip hop band (yes from Ireland). How do you think that would go down? :) We normally get great reactions from people who aren't into rap. Like "jaysus, yis are good. i thought yis'd be a load of eminems or somethin'. Me and the boyis were sayin' these boys will be sh!te but yis were very good, much better than we thought anyway." :D

Kildare is fairly ****e and it's my home town. I always loved about the East End Hotel, the few times I was in the "nightclub" there. First thing the bouncers used to ask me was "Where are you from?!"

Nothing about ID or anything, althought they did stop me for that too! I'm nearly 29 :(

Hippidy Hop ey?! Ah no, fair play - I try to support as much Irish hip hop as I can.. when its good like. Messiah J is a regular on the i-pod, and one of me friends recorded a single with PotBelly J before he fecked off to Aussie. Dunno if it'd go well in Port though where the mentality can be - if its not Aslan its not worth it! Hmmm.. maybe a support set for Aslan though?! :D

Yeah the bouncers on the hotel are a bleedin joke.. typical conversation -

Bouncer "Where yee from lads?"

Us "What? We're from Port! I live down the road like!"

Bouncer "Well I never seen yee afore, not tonight lads.."

Us "You're takin the piss, right?!"

Bouncer "Move away now or I'll give yee somethin to worry about, riiight!"

Muppets :rolleyes:

Haha yeah that's bouncers alright. They're doing you a favour though. You know deep down it's a kip and are only going for the sake of it.

Ye can check out some of our "hippin to the hoppin" here: www.myspace.com/thegudmen
    Some of my solo (older) stuff is here: www.myspace.com/mcaycee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 IMPEGA

The Hawthorn
    French Quarter
    Barrow Lodge
    Kelly ( in the square)
    The Spa (corrig house)
    Delaneys
    Ma Rourkes(farmer burbages)
    Weighbridge
    After Dark
    Burbages
    Bennetts (closed)
    Gogarty's/The Shamrock
    P Finlays
    Continental
    Anvil
    Toms Bar (aka Dublin Bar)
    pint o' port
    o deas
    M Finlays
    Railway Bar
    Hotel
    Rugby club

IMPEGA wrote:
    The Hawthorn
    French Quarter
    Barrow Lodge
    Kelly ( in the square)
    The Spa (corrig house)
    Delaneys
    Ma Rourkes(farmer burbages)
    Weighbridge
    After Dark
    Burbages
    Bennetts (closed)
    Gogarty's/The Shamrock
    P Finlays
    Continental
    Anvil
    Toms Bar (aka Dublin Bar)
    pint o' port
    o deas
    M Finlays
    Railway Bar
    Hotel
    Rugby club

French Quarter (Closed for the foreseeable future)
    Ma Rourkes(farmer burbages) (edit - my bad, it just appears as derlict)

20!!!

Not 22 :)

Ay Cee wrote:
    20!!!

Not 22 :)

One step ahead! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 IMPEGA

well unless it has closed since sunday night it is still open