Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New £5 P.l.a.y. voucher(quick)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

started at 7 bells, now 10.27
    all Xmas pressies bought in one swoop
    24 dvds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,086 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

slave1 wrote:
    started at 7 bells, now 10.27
    all Xmas pressies bought in one swoop
    24 dvds

Youre gonna be fairly pissed off if they dont come through I take it ? How many play.com accounts do you have ?!?!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I had to create 23 new accounts, arm is in bits, there are some serious bargains in the dvd section, 1600 @ 5.99, 1200 @ 7.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Goolay

I'm presuming it wouldn't work, but has anyone tried these codes on playusa.com?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

has anyone noticed the adult section LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Hmmm...

I've bought 4 things so far, and there are 5 codes in this thread, yet it says that they're all expired when I go to buy my 5th item. I've tried them all, surely one of them would work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Am wondering this myself!

Will give the Play T&C's a quick browse and report any findings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Noobsaibot21

Just out of Interest,
    If they do cop it, whats the worst they can do?
    Can they force you to pay the full whack for it even if you have ordered it?
    Unbelievable what I'm getting for €13.00.....

Xbox 360 12 month Live subscription -

http://www.play.com/play247.asp?pa=rbrowsea&page=title&r=X360&title=860180

I've also ordered a play & charge kit so which they are out of stock of. When that arrives (probably after the "offer" ends, will i get it for the ordered price of €13.00?

To the topic creator.
    You are the greatest person i've even not known alive, dead, online or offline

To the topic creator.
    You are the greatest person i've even not known alive, dead, online or offline

I concur, and I declare a "hats off" ceremony.

qz wrote:
    Hmmm...

I've bought 4 things so far, and there are 5 codes in this thread, yet it says that they're all expired when I go to buy my 5th item. I've tried them all, surely one of them would work?

Not to worry, found that elusive one.

So, I got: (special editions all round, the CD is even a dobule CD)
    Jurassic Park Trilogy Box Set
    Gumball 3000 - The Movie
    The Office - Complete Series 2
    Alklaine Trio - "Crimson"
    Reservoir Dogs - Special Edition
    For €40.

I love Boards.

Well.. just to let ye all know, they've charged my 3V card for all my transactions... so good sign there!
    30.11.2005 PLAY.COM JERSEY GB Purchase Approval 533421005252 £ 0.99 € -1.45
    30.11.2005 PLAY.COM JERSEY GB Purchase Approval 533421802088 £ 0.99 € -1.45
    30.11.2005 PLAY.COM JERSEY GB Purchase Approval 533420597671 £ 1.99 € -2.91
    30.11.2005 PLAY.COM JERSEY GB Purchase Approval 533417423413 £ 0.99 € -1.45

(not included Dead Mans Curve for €0.00!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

basquille wrote:
    Well.. just to let ye all know, they've charged my 3V card for all my transactions... so good sign there!

(not included Dead Mans Curve for €0.00!)

Nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭dubmick

cheers for this lads. I've just bought five items on two seperate accounts.
    I've sorted some Chrimbo presents and bought a few presents for myself :)

Didn't think it would work at all but some of the stuff I bought earlier is now packing! Buy of the day is a pressie for the brother in law:

Godfather dvd collection for £11.99.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Me again.. Thanks for the hats off n stuff, love you all too:cool:

Mines a guinness!!

If they rumble people over this the worst they will do is refund the payments in ful or it wont even be chargesd as they dont charge your cc until its ready to go.
    You will still get the option to re-order/cancel at the advertised price without the discount. I dont think it will come to that to be honest if this was such a terrible scam they would have pulled the plug ages ago.

It wont last forever, nothing does..sniff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

i got:

phantom of the opera dvd
    blazing saddles dvd
    brasseye dvd
    dodgeball dvd
    shrek 2 dvd

all for about 17 euro, absolute figging heartage of this thread.

here's another code

MGCPFQXZBK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Free candy g strings all round - http://play.com/play247.asp?pa=srmr&page=title&r=GADG&title=616390

and cough the adult section *ahem*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

**** sake. no money for me to purchase with :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

LOL baz you legend thanks for that just bought them

just had a browse of the adult section. some movies priced under £5 :D here's wondering if they send it out :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

blahblah06 wrote:
    LOL baz you legend thanks for that just bought them

One of the accounts I made was declined for Credit Card issues, though I double checked and everything is fine.
    Maybe they are copping on?
    The rest all seem to be fine though.

£42.88

5 books
    4 cds
    1 dvd
    2 Boxsets (Godfather & Family Guy)

Class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

has anyone who has opened new accounts for this have the orders go past the order placed status yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

mcgovern wrote:
    One of the accounts I made was declined for Credit Card issues, though I double checked and everything is fine.
    Maybe they are copping on?
    The rest all seem to be fine though.

When I first set up a play.com account about a year ago they would not accept my credit card stating that the delivery address was wrong. I even had to ring up AIB and ask them did they have the wrong address. In the end I e-mailed play and asked them what they story was and the reply just said, sorry you're account is working now. Maybe they do this with all new accounts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

just had a browse of the adult section
    How do you go there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

Big 'thank you' to acquiescefc, plenty of good karma coming your way this Christmas ;)
    slave1 wrote:
    I had to create 23 new accounts
    LOL :D

Fidelis wrote:
    Big 'thank you' to acquiescefc, plenty of good karma coming your way this Christmas ;)

LOL :D
    when you go to dvd for example, click on adult on the left hand side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

I've looked at a few other movie boards on the net, it's crazy how many threads are going on about this. I made a few orders myself but it'd be ludicrous to expect play.com to honour this, especially that people are totally tearing the ass out of this. If they haven't spotted that things are amiss yet, they will when the warehouse people come into work tomorrow and see 10,000's of orders in the queue.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas - Hunter S. Thompson (BOOK) - 0.99
    The Godfather Part II: Collector's Edition (Region 2 DVD) - 1.99
    The Deer Hunter (War Collection) (Region 2 DVD) - 1.99
    Ichi The Killer (2 Discs) (Region 2 DVD) - 2.99
    Ju-On: The Grudge (1 Disc) (5.1/DTS) (Region 2 DVD) - 1.99
    Dark City (Region 2 DVD) - 1.99

total of 12 pound! woooo

Thanks!!

I've looked at a few other movie boards on the net, it's crazy how many threads are going on about this. I made a few orders myself but it'd be ludicrous to expect play.com to honour this, especially that people are totally tearing the ass out of this. If they haven't spotted that things are amiss yet, they will when the warehouse people come into work tomorrow and see 10,000's of orders in the queue.

Yeah... Although the fact that peoples credit cards have been charged will make it hard for them to pull out.

Thats the anime version...is it any good ? I dont have any more voucher codes, if I did, Id get it.

OK.... seriously, guys and gals... i think i've went a tad overboard!!

My running count and I AM QUITTING NOW... NO MORE VOUCHERS PLEASE! :D

- The Nightmare Before Christmas: Special Edition @ £1.99
    - Kingpin @ £1.99
    - High Fidelity @ £0.99
    - Office Space @ £0.99
    - The Bourne Identity @ £0.99
    - The Bourne Supremacy @ £0.99
    - Wonder Boys @ £0.99
    - Don't Wake Me At Doyle's @ £0.49
    - Eats, Shoots & Leaves @ £0.49
    - Dead Man's Curve @ £0.00

Total: £9.91

Don't know whether to be :eek: or :(

PS - just after remembering that if they have to re-imburse me, i'll need to fill in dispute forms for everything to my 3V! :eek:
    Tusky wrote:
    I dont have any more voucher codes, if I did, Id get it.
    You sure Tusky?

You can typically use two different vouchers code on one e-mail address.

Its Excellent.
    Just as F**ked up as the movie - Perhaps even more so....

You can register under a different email address with the same c/card details. And you'd get Ichi Anime FREE.

I kind of feel slightly guilty about all this, especially on their staff having EVEN MORE to do (being Christmas and all).
    But I'm not going to cancel anything :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

this is insane, lol! i hope it works, something tells me the schit will hit the fan @play.com 2moro. anyways back to ordering :D and extreme thanks to the thread starter and people who posted the codes!

Heres an Idea,
    On Friday Night, whats say we all post what we got, any problems ect...

You sure Tusky?

You can typically use two different vouchers code on one e-mail address.

how do you mean ? Ive used every voucher posted once. I havent signed up for any extra accounts because thats pushing it!

Tusky wrote:
    how do you mean ? Ive used every voucher posted once. I havent signed up for any extra accounts because thats pushing it!
    I mean look back through the thread for different voucher codes... you can use 2 of these per e-mail address to order 2 items.

For example..

Used code 'NBSQQBZXSR' with my GMail account to order High Fidelity
    Used code 'WWGHGLZBMK' with my GMail account to order Nightmare Before XMas

No problems whatsoever ordering two on one account...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

I've used 6 codes on one account. 4 order are packing and the other 2 are processing. Have I made a boo-boo:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

While I'm fuckin' happy as larry this honestly seems too good to be true.

I mean, there must be absolutely thousands of these orders to take care of at this stage.

Here's hoping though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Jeezes I'm exhausted from trawling thru items to pick.
    I prob wont read a fraction of the stuff I've ordered.:D

basquille wrote:
    I mean look back through the thread for different voucher codes... you can use 2 of these per e-mail address to order 2 items.

For example..

Used code 'NBSQQBZXSR' with my GMail account to order High Fidelity
    Used code 'WWGHGLZBMK' with my GMail account to order Nightmare Before XMas

No problems whatsoever ordering two on one account...

I used ALL the voucher on one account! I didnt bother making more than one account. Im not getting my hopes up though, this simply CANT work. It would put play.com out of buiseness!

It wont put them out of business, It will cost them a serious bit of cash and labour though. It is only €8 or so and i know it adds up (especially with 23 new accounts by one person type "shoppers") but in fairness, Play.com are one of the biggest players in the online market and have a huge wealth of finances. If it was somewhere like, say, liksang.com, THAT would be devastating for them (although they're kind of big too)

Aye, I agree. I wonder how much boards alone has cost them.... Lets say 50 people in this thread did it and they used 10 vouchers each. Thats like 4 grand...or is my math wrong ?

So thats:

10 x €8 = €80 x 50 = €4000

And thats a rough guess NOT including mister "I've created 23 accounts" :p

Tusky wrote:
    Im not getting my hopes up though, this simply CANT work. It would put play.com out of buiseness!
    True but remember the link that acquiescefc posted a couple of months back to get 20% off at CDWOW... i presume that cost CDWOW a barrel-load also and people abused the hell outta that.

But then again... this voucher is very very different! :D

Will be away from the computer til tomorrow night so can't check status all day! :(

Keeping my fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

My credit card has just exploded.

Best. Thread. Ever.