Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Discos in carlow

• 03-12-2005 4:56am

Does carlow have discos?

if so which is the best one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

You're about thirty years too late Tony Manero...

lol, seriously, there's loads of places with nightclub/disco facilities, the most popular is The Foundry (not my cup of tea as it gets too full, haven't been there in a year mind).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Redrocket

the foundry, the tower, both are part of dinn ri super pub
    the music factory,
    cosmo browns has a disco thing upstairs,
    scrags has nexus upstairs ( its tiny **** of a place ),
    i think buzzes has a nightclub, its never open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Shinners21

stevenk wrote:
    the foundry, the tower, both are part of dinn ri super pub
    the music factory,
    cosmo browns has a disco thing upstairs,
    scrags has nexus upstairs ( its tiny **** of a place ),
    i think buzzes has a nightclub, its never open

Buzzes doesn't have a niteclub...it has a back room where they have 21st party's n that...no disco though!!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Laguna wrote:
    You're about thirty years too late Tony Manero...

i actually thought op was talking about teenage discos until i saw n.u.i.g!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Nexus on a tuesday nights is one of the best places to go...

Foundry is a load of bollocks...

The tower is pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,877 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Tuesday nights : NEXUS, The Music Factory - Winner: Nexus
    Thursday nights: Foundy, Cosmo's - Winner: Foundry

in conclusion, if ur goin out tuesday night, go to nexus (free entry), if ur goin out thursday, go to foundry (€5 at the door wit student card, else €7).

another note, music factory closes an hour earlier than nexus coz its ghey! fairly decent line up comin up tho, had Dirty Sanchez last tuesday, tho they werent the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭sportswear

carlow is deadly to go out from. sometimes me and my mates drive down there from dublin to go out, especially for 4 venues.

foundry is the place. it must make a fortune. massive and packedoutoit.

ill be down there sometime in january!hopefully it will be good craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

January is sh!te... no fecking students and the locals are all bald and smell... they come out the weekend and that's when it get's scary... Be the fights...

Anyway, if your comming down, make sure it's around feb 14 for the porn fest that is RAG WEEK... Bring on the titties...

show me the titties!

January is sh!te... no fecking students and the locals are all bald and smell... they come out the weekend and that's when it get's scary... Be the fights...

Excuse me?? I'm from Carlow and I'm neither bald nor do I smell....you've obviously been hanging around with a strange crowd here... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

Anyway, if your comming down, make sure it's around feb 14 for the porn fest that is RAG WEEK... Bring on the titties...

OH GOOD GOD!!!
    is rag week and valintines day going to be on at the same time?

Thank you jesus:D

It's usually the last week of Feb...probably starting around Feb 19th... It's a deadly week.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 lashes

personally i think carlow is better for nightlife than kilkenny but then again others will disagree - probably

im getting sick of nightclubs anyway
    :p hehe

lashes wrote:
    personally i think carlow is better for nightlife than kilkenny but then again others will disagree - probably

kilkenny is ok, its a good night for a change from carlow. but the crowd down there is so annoying. an awful lot of cluchies/farmers/chimps just jumping around the place.

lashes wrote:

ye but ur bald and u smell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Ah no I've always found that anytime I've gone down to Kilkenny that its really been buzzing and the women to men ratio was at least 2:1, can't say that for Carlow.

btw, turns out theres a nightclub open on wednesdays. Browns Bar. its down near bank of ireland. or if u come from town, go down beside the library towards sheriff o hara's but go past it, and browns is at the corner. i was there wednesday night. decent place.

its open late monday and wednesday. hardly a nightclub?

i was drinkin in scraggs since half 4 that day so I was quite drunk but i coulda sworn we left at ~3 in the mornin. that qualifies it for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

it's actually called The Brown Street Bar B_Man, It's been open awhile now. Didn't know it had a late licence though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Late enough licence! Closed at half one any night I was there. Can get pretty jammed on a monday after the other places close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

late licence is only till half one don.... I thought you'd know that being a barman/alcoholic!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

ShayK1 wrote:
    late licence is only till half one don.... I thought you'd know that being a barman/alcoholic!!!

Ah shut up it was three o'clockish in the afternoon when I wrote that!! You should know not to pay much attention to my early morning ratnings!