Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinion On Polish People

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Zambia232 wrote:
    The are 120,000 Poles living in Ireland

Just to be pedantic, in the Irish Times 'changing ireland' supplement last week it said there were 150,000 Poles in Ireland.
    I don't really know any since i don't have a job (student not a bum, well....)
    But any i've met very briefly seem really nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,557 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Zambia232 wrote:
    It was announced during last week that Irish jobs are not affected by foriegn influence. The Poles and there foriegn counter parts are just feeding a demand.
    You're right, it's a no-brainer really. Which economy every suffered because of the movement of labour to it? Certainly not the USA and pre-war UK. The success of both these economies are down to their hard working immigrants.
    Zambia232 wrote:
    I was delighted to see some Polish residents posting in response to this thread.
    Me too.
    Zambia232 wrote:
    Most of the Poles (all hard workin honest) have a plan to earn a few grand go home and buy a house in Poland. Please be warned while your here there are loads of Irish people buying land in Poland pushing your Market up !!
    It's unlikely given that Polish house prices in the major cities are almost *the same* as those in Ireland and that's without any cost of living adjustment. A lot come over here with that dream, but will probably end up staying and settling here like the Paddies who went over to the UK in the 50's and spent the next 30 years talking about coming 'home'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

It's unlikely given that Polish house prices in the major cities are almost *the same* as those in Ireland and that's without any cost of living adjustment. A lot come over here with that dream, but will probably end up staying and settling here like the Paddies who went over to the UK in the 50's and spent the next 30 years talking about coming 'home'.

Really if any of you Poles are still about does that compute ? Here in Ireland our average dublin House price is 350, 000 {This changes quickly so dont quote me}

Average Decent Irish wage 33,000

{source Eddie 'Bleedin' Hobbs}

This makes our property 10 times the average wage ? Anyone have any Polish comparissons ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 powermac

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Though yes, alot of them would be concentrated in Blanch .......

Whats the craic with that anyway. I live in blanch and bloody hell they shift in drones with their LIDL bags, tracky bottoms and cheap leather jackets!
    Most of them are ok buts its the sneaky russians, the new-age robbin' romanians and the (up-to,) no-good nigerians i dont like. Boo Hissssss.

Why Blanch though???
    Every bloody foreigner is attracted to the area.
    Should be called Blanski or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 powermac

FirstIn wrote:
    "polish people ; black leather jacket waring, skin head , bmw drivin men who look like 24hr doormen and big hefty women named svetlana with big hairy armpits and very red lipstick".

Some seem to think that this refers to Lithuanians and Russians more than to Poles, well I am irish but the girl beside me is Lithuanian and she is not called svetlana, she does not have very red lipstick but I am not sure about the armpits. My guess is they are not hairy!

I do have a Bemmer, but I'm afraid I don't have a leather jacket, a skin head and I definitley wouldn't be much good as a doorman!

Hope this helps answer the question about Poles.

Check her underpants for marks, thats a true Lat!
    What year is the beemer? I hear in 1992 the square beemers were fitted with leather jackets in replacement of a valid insurance policy. The skinhead may be obtained by stretching a LIDL bag over yer head!

Sorted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I like the Poles.
    PlayaFlow wrote:
    polish people hot?? what have you been smokin'

polish people ; black leather jacket waring, skin head , bmw drivin men who look like 24hr doormen and big hefty women named svetlana with big hairy armpits and very red lipstick.
    Bull****, man! You're thinking of Russians.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Hahaha...Blanski....I can see that catching on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 shaym

powermac wrote:
    Whats the craic with that anyway. I live in blanch and bloody hell they shift in drones with their LIDL bags, tracky bottoms and cheap leather jackets!
    Most of them are ok buts its the sneaky russians, the new-age robbin' romanians and the (up-to,) no-good nigerians i dont like. Boo Hissssss.

Why Blanch though???
    Every bloody foreigner is attracted to the area.
    Should be called Blanski or something

cheap cheap housing and its a (relatively ) okay place to live, although the place is poorer for having the Russian porn shop on the main street(opposite the old B house) closed down ...ah well!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,993 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

It's unlikely given that Polish house prices in the major cities are almost *the same* as those in Ireland

Utter Utter Rubbish, and if I must I will back that up. Alot of them come here work hard for afew years and then go home and buy either a house or apartment. Housing in Poland is alot cheaper than here, so it's good for you and me but not the average Pole, who earns in one month less than the average person earns here in a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

shaym wrote:
    cheap cheap housing and its a (relatively ) okay place to live, although the place is poorer for having the Russian porn shop on the main street(opposite the old B house) closed down ...ah well!!

I wasnt informed of this!:mad:

Where was it, in that Russian grocery store on main street?

Powermac, as for why Blanch, Id say because there is so much new housing and so many companys based here compared to older parts of Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 bk86a

PlayaFlow wrote:
    polish people hot?? what have you been smokin'

polish people ; black leather jacket waring, skin head , bmw drivin men who look like 24hr doormen and big hefty women named svetlana with big hairy armpits and very red lipstick.

Svetlana is not a polish name. It's russian name and I bet they were both Russians.

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 bk86a

eo980 wrote:
    Utter Utter Rubbish, and if I must I will back that up. Alot of them come here work hard for afew years and then go home and buy either a house or apartment. Housing in Poland is alot cheaper than here, so it's good for you and me but not the average Pole, who earns in one month less than the average person earns here in a week.

I agree. I bought an anpartment in the suburbans of Warsaw 2 years ago - 2 bedrooms, 65m sq (15 km to the city centre) for 40k euro. What you can buy for this price in Ireland?? Maybe a car, but not an aparment!

M.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 martyFarty

I read this in my local newspaper in Limerick a few weeks ago. Appearantly we think Polish people eat swans.

http://www2.limerickpost.ie/dailynews.elive?id=7429&category=Daily-Sun

Brilliant! Now thats what I call a witch hunt

• Registered Users Posts: 14,993 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

martyFarty wrote:
    Brilliant! Now thats what I call a witch hunt

Absolutely, funny and sad at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Kulpix

FirstIn wrote:
    big hefty women named svetlana

Svetlana is definitely NOT a Polish name :) Most of Polish girls I know wear normal, modest clothes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

raheny red wrote:
    One group are really friendly.

while the others are extreme racists..............EXTREME

Call me a bad person, but this is the image that popped into my mind when I read that last sentence:

extremeracism.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

People are people. You get all sorts, no matter where they come from. There are good and bad everywhere. All the worst qualities and best qualities found in this thread can be found in any nationality, including Irish. No country has a monopoly on any of these characteristics. I've come across all sorts of people from all sorts of nations. They're all just ordinary folk, with good and bad in them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭RobEire

Trevko wrote:
    Alright so they are here the last year or two...what do you guys think of them? ok so some of them are hott but really,what is your feelings towards them?

I live with two, work with three, and know many more through social contacts. Hardworking people, polite, considerate and generally very well educated. Once you get past the language barrier they are great to talk to.

Would recommend them to anyone as housemates as well. Best I have had in eight years of renting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Pollack

Hi All.
    Im Polish and just want to say thank you all, for all the good opinions, for the bad ones as well cuz i know that some of them are real.
    Im living in Ireland for over 6 years, and i've never heard all the rumours about Irish lads complain about Poles. Of course i know that most of Poles who came to Dub (im from Dublin) r people who like to drink more than its allowed :) Anyway cuz of recession society is full of agression. I know that, its normal, but please try to look at us per person not per nation. I wish all the best to Irish people, who gave us a chance for normal live full of dignity.

Sorry for the mistakes, i can speak in English but to write in it it's still a problem....xD

Peter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Pollack wrote: »
    Hi All.
    Im Polish and just want to say thank you all, for all the good opinions, for the bad ones as well cuz i know that some of them are real.
    Im living in Ireland for over 6 years, and i've never heard all the rumours about Irish lads complain about Poles. Of course i know that most of Poles who came to Dub (im from Dublin) r people who like to drink more than its allowed :) Anyway cuz of recession society is full of agression. I know that, its normal, but please try to look at us per person not per nation. I wish all the best to Irish people, who gave us a chance for normal live full of dignity.

Sorry for the mistakes, i can speak in English but to write in it it's still a problem....xD

Peter.

Dzien Dobry!!

Dzień dobry : ) (Which means Good morning, but now i supous to say Good Evening - Dobry Wieczór ;P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

So my good man Pollack

When I am next in the off licence, which Polish beer should I be buying? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

mikemac wrote: »
    When I am next in the off licence, which Polish beer should I be buying? :)
    I would highly recommend Żywiec. Sadly we can't get the 9.5% strength version in Ireland.

So about beers: Żywiec used to be good, but now the best quality is in the: Tyskie and Lech. These are 2 the best beers in our country :) Enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

Ondly came across this thread after it was bumped up recently.
    Worked in a fabrik (factory) in West Co. Dublin with rakes of foreigners go-hairithe (especially) over last 5 Years.
    Russsians, Lithuanians, Latvians, Czech (Klara, how my days were brightened-up by you walking up the stairs to the office with every man in the place peering up through the gaps in the staircase as you wore a skirt that could be confused with a belt!) & Poland. Oh & Brazil & England.
    Took to the Eastern Europeans very well & even learnt some of language.
    Bought myself dictinary (pronounced Sue-Ov-Nik with Slovnik but L with a Diagonal Line through it) & phrasebook (rozmowki) & picked up bits here & there.
    Czesc (Hello/Chesht).
    Jak sie ma (How's she cutting!? Yak she mash)?
    Jestem Irlandchickem (I am Irish...maybe not correct spelling!).
    Brzydki (Ugly pronounced Bsh-it-key).
    Piekny (Beautiful pronounced Pee-En-Ke-Nee).
    Zurek. It's an Egg-Type Soup. Had some with tomatoe & it was scrumptious.
    I know plenty more but probably not right time or forum to go into details.

Plenty Polish Shop (Sklep) now in Ireland.
    Polonia in Clondalkin along with Polones.
    Gdansk also in Clondalkin.
    Gdansk is a Shipping Yard & is where Lech Walelsa started work.
    Polski Herald used to be in Evening Herald Wednesday. Maybe it still is?
    It's edited by a Tom Curran afaik. He's married to a Polish Woman & taught back when it wasn't cool in the 90s in Poland.
    He wrote a book worth reading called There's an Egg in My Soup. It's got a Red Cover.
    Also there is Polski Express which is a FREE Polish Newspaper & can be got in all Polish Shops afaik.
    And another FREE Paper (Gazeta?) is Nasz-Gwos which I used to get & try understand. It means Our' Voice.

I adore Poles in general.
    Think they're fantastic workers, their' women gorgeous & savage bodies (wadne cialo with a line through the l pronounced wad-ne chi-a-wo or arses is dupa I think) & the rare time you see a Polish Woman (Kobieta pronounced Kob-E-Eh-Ta) in a bar is if she working.
    When I worked with them & foreigners in general in factory, they'd work all hours 7AM-9PM 4 Days, 7AM-5PM Friday & again 7Am-11Am Saturdays.
    Unreal energy & getting sick was so seldom it was wonderful.
    Much ratherd working with Foreigners than my own Micks & Paddies & I know I shouldn't generalise but I can speak comparing those I worked with.
    Smoke Breaks & hangovers & tardiness were a feature of my Irish Colleagues.
    Anyway, must go.
    Do Widzenia!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭bananabunch

Czesc,

honestly haven't met many Poles here in Dublin but def have a soft spot for the country having met my (Irish) boyfriend on holiday in Krakow, PL.

Originally from Birmingham I am now in Ireland with the boy. In Birmingham there was a lot of marriage between the Polish and the Irish, two of my best friends come from mixed Irish/Polish backgrounds. (This was at the time of earlier movement of the Polish to England which I guess was the first half of the 20th century) I Guess this was down to the two immigrant communities moving into the same areas of the city and also generally sharing the same religion. It is interesting to see that the polish and Irish people found much common ground when they were both immigrants in a different country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭louisa200

The only thing that kindof shocks me about the polish is the ingredients in the food.. like in the the polish section in dunnes, grab a jar and look at whats in it.. or go into a polish shop... I know all nationalities have their wierd food but some of it is brleurgh lol

There are plenty of red 1994 bmw driving skinhead polish here, and seems plenty of amphetamines since, but i could b wrong and it could be latvian or russians...

However, apart from the food, I think i would love to visit krakow and i am sure not all polish are protien staring robots xxx

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

I have had mainly positive experiences. Not a bad one springing to mind actually, apart from a ratting bitch in one of my first jobs... Ms Perfect, haha... But if it wasn't gonna be her it would have prob have been someone else.

They are actually like a mirror of us believe it or not, not to mention they are European...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

louisa200 wrote: »
    The only thing that kindof shocks me about the polish is the ingredients in the food.. like in the the polish section in dunnes, grab a jar and look at whats in it.. or go into a polish shop... I know all nationalities have their wierd food but some of it is brleurgh lol

There are plenty of red 1994 bmw driving skinhead polish here, and seems plenty of amphetamines since, but i could b wrong and it could be latvian or russians...

However, apart from the food, I think i would love to visit krakow and i am sure not all polish are protien staring robots xxx

I don't get this post, would I be right in guessing that English isn't your first language?.

Hi again lads
    im reading all the posts and i think i could answer all the questions about my nation. Don't be shy and ask :P
    Seriously, if you have any querries just ask, i'll try to answer.
    And yes we have all the weird stuff in our food, for egzample "Bigos" i like it but only when im not forced to see it :P http://www.lodz.e-leclerc.pl/spozywka/garmaz/daniagorace/rysunki/bigos.jpg
    :D:D:D:D It taste good, but look's like a **** (sorry for bad word)
    And yes there's a lots guys using Proteins (and other stuff) for muscles, i don't know why...i think it's becouse small penis...;P that's my opinion :)