Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pe, Religion And Sex Ed...

• 13-12-2005 2:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭

Anybody think that when u are in the senior cycle and doing subjects such as the ones above that it is a waste of time?

And could be used for doing subjects like english and maths?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭geraghd

The Insitute of Education evening courses were quite good! Try them, expensive enough but one guy in particular is very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

If you're interested in private grinds I'm a Biology Tutor in Trinity and have done Leaving Cert grinds as well. PM me if you want to arrange something.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Evd-Burner

sorry bout the whole changing the name of the topic i totaly forgot that id posted one up the other day and i was going to start up another topic (the one now), im very forgetful when it comes to posts...

Whats ur price? And where are u situated?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

geraghd wrote:
    The Insitute of Education evening courses were quite good! Try them, expensive enough but one guy in particular is very good.
    I didn't know ye South Kildare folks bought your Leaving Certs as well ;).

where is the institute of ed and how much is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Psychedelik

Back to the question asked by Evd-burner...

Yes I do think those subjects are a waste of time. It depends on the student though. If you're the sporty type (and even if not), PE is good exercise and a distraction. For me, however, PE is a waste of time and I'd rather use it to study.

LCVP is also a grand waste of time.

The students who like pe can always do it after school if there that interested...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭X-SL

p.e is good. rel shoud be replaced with a study class and sex ed.. we get that like once a year. no harm there

we get it pretty often

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

P.E - We do GCSE course so we have a text book its a BIT like Biology.
    Religion - Have it once a week and on the 3rd week we have Careers ie W1 Reg. W2 Reg. W3 Car.
    Sex Ed - Never have nad it in school, Once where we went up to DKIT and there was about 3 other schools there.

we have religion 2 times a week, careers every friday, computers every friday (its boring), pe every wednesday, then a free random class on wednesday where u cant get work done due to people talking and sex ed every month...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭abercrombie

tbh i think religion is a bit of a break from the academic side to things (well, not if you're doing it as an exam subject!) I think PE is a good thing too because many people forget about physical exercise in 6th year and they get lazy. Having PE keeps you active and healthy. As for Sex Ed...i haven't had that since I was in 3rd year!!

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

We have religion twice a week, but we haven't done anything this year apart from watching Dodge Ball, White Chicks, Finding Nemo and doing a bit on islam. We have a xmas test aswell, I wonder what the question will be like.
    We have P.E once a week, last class on a Friday which is great, we just play indoor soccer. As for Sex Ed, well we did that in JC religion and lads in the class used to be always be asking the teacher when we were going to do the practical part(young female teacher, all boys school), she just ignored them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

I have R.E 3 times a week, a careers class and a double p.e class. I think these classes are great! We need some sort of a break from all the study we have to do! A chance to have a laugh in p.e and watch films and talk about sex in Religion, it's great! You'd want to be mad to not want these breaks i think.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

deisedolly wrote:
    I have R.E 3 times a week, a careers class and a double p.e class. I think these classes are great! We need some sort of a break from all the study we have to do! A chance to have a laugh in p.e and watch films and talk about sex in Religion, it's great! You'd want to be mad to not want these breaks i think.
    Yeah if I didn't have these breaks a couple of times a week I don't think that I would survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭CrimE

I do PE once a week and religion 4 times a week.

PE is good for a laugh and a game of football and religion is basically a study period, always useful.

Basically my view on this is; when the leaving cert. is over and I have forgotten all the facts and figures and stuff, what remains is education. If we focus completely on points etc. we will have lost the opportunity to properly enjoy school.

Also when we actually get round to doing things in religion they can be pretty interesting like racism, beliefs etc. and in PE things suchs as bleep tests are useful.

I do agree with that, but most of my other teachers are pretty humorus and the classes are still a good laugh, but they should atleast make all these other classes optional where u can go to a study room or to the class, makes sense to give us the choice and we can do em and have a laugh some days and study others...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Religion is a something of a waste of time for the Senior Cycle. Likewise, PE. I really don't need to know how often people "get" sex education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Relief from study is beneficial

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

In my school, you either got PE *or* your 6th and 7th classes a week of HL Maths... Religion was 3 times a week, and became a study period for me after my 78 year old nun teacher kicked me out of the class for questioning the existence of God... Sex Ed came in TY only.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

i think these subjects are not a waste of time. they give you a break from the stress of your other subjects thats your doing the leaving cert in. i actually look forward to religion to give my brain a rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭d4gurl

I don't them this year. I kinda of miss P.E. and going to the gym after school though. Now im just so tired all the time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Evd-Burner wrote:
    Anybody think that when u are in the senior cycle and doing subjects such as the ones above that it is a waste of time?

And could be used for doing subjects like english and maths?
    these clases are there to give you a break from the heavy acedemic stuff. We have right craic in our RE, PE and sex ed! well until Mrs Pregnant comes back... but we jsut have big discussion classes and you do learn stuff, but in a far more relaxed way.

We dont learn anything ad i dont really need a break during the day as its only short and i live beside the school so thas why i think they should be optional...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,223 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

'Education' is not just about getting points for university.
    Socialisation, in the long run, is the main aim of education in this country, and the three subjects mentioned go a long way towards that.

The Education Act recommends a 28 hour week for students in all schools - is your school not doing that? How is your day 'short'?

I'm in school six hours a day on the most part and eight and a half when I do study in school, we have one double PE a week in which we different courses from self defense, to golf to yoga. we have three RE a week in which we barely even study RE anymore its mostly society and drinks and drugs and stuff and one health ed class a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

CrimE wrote:
    I do PE once a week and religion 4 times a week.

PE is good for a laugh and a game of football and religion is basically a study period, always useful.

Basically my view on this is; when the leaving cert. is over and I have forgotten all the facts and figures and stuff, what remains is education. If we focus completely on points etc. we will have lost the opportunity to properly enjoy school.

Also when we actually get round to doing things in religion they can be pretty interesting like racism, beliefs etc. and in PE things suchs as bleep tests are useful.

Bleep tests are horrible, but I think PE is a lot better in Secondary than in Primary. Thats possibly because all we did in Primary was play soccer and hurling ( how I hated them).
    Religion- its ok. Test was 8 pages. Ouch.
    Sex Ed- 2nd year, every week a double class with 5th years.
    This year, 3 weeks, double classes with Health nurse.
    And in 5th year we get a chance to teach it. Joy.

If i did those kind of things in pe then id love doing it...

Bleep tests are horrible, but I think PE is a lot better in Secondary than in Primary. Thats possibly because all we did in Primary was play soccer and hurling ( how I hated them).
    Religion- its ok. Test was 8 pages. Ouch.
    Sex Ed- 2nd year, every week a double class with 5th years.
    This year, 3 weeks, double classes with Health nurse.
    And in 5th year we get a chance to teach it. Joy.
    This is the LEAVING CERT forum, you are barely facing you junior cert.