Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6MB/512KB - Smart!

• 15-12-2005 1:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭

BB.JPG

So that your actual connection is the full 6MB and 512KB

Great work Smart.

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,581 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

creams pants.

what a nice deal that is, pity they ain't in my area :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Getting solid 730KBps from heanet.ie.........

Sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 j_lennon

I havent been upgraded yet :( but im sure its only a matter of time....soon hopefully! im in clondalkin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Anarchist

I am "only" getting
    Downstream 3051 Kbps (381.4 KB/sec)
    Upstream 519 Kbps (64.9 KB/sec)
    For some reason, hopefully it will be sorted by morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭darkmaster2

WOW! :eek:

This is Fast! 700KB/s Downloaded the quake4 demo just there. 7 minutes for 324Mb :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Bodan

not only have the given the upgrade as said, they have accounted for the over heads

What does this mean ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 j_lennon

Im now getting the upgrade... d/l 700KB/s from heanet.ie. This is great!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

You damn Commie-Nazis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

snag00001jc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Show offs :p

CyberGhost wrote:
    snag00001jc.jpg

LOL!

@ bodan, When a provider gives you a connection speed, you will never fully get that speed because of "overheads" (the data transfer that controls the info you are sending/receiving -I think?). this increases the higher the connection speed, so Smart have actually connected the customers @ 7072KBps/608KBps so that you get the full 6MB/512KBps usage. I have never heard of any company that has done this, even in the UK. Basically a telecoms company have given you more than what you expected. Very rare and is a good sign for the future.

S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Good move by smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Drapper

dlofnep wrote:
    Good move by smart.

waits for the competition to react!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

Drapper wrote:
    waits for the competition to react!

Don't hold your breath, I'm sure as hell not gonna hold mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭machalla

If you aren't getting the full speed its probaby because your line can't take it (distance, poor quaity line and so on).

I've had the 4mb package from Smart for a while and the best download speed was always abut 2-2.5mb.

Remember of course folks that this is a temporary offer... What smart giveth they will soon enough take away :) We can hope they don't though!

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭The Mooche

Woke up this morning to no connection on my Smart line. Didn't have time to play around with the settings (using a Linksys router rather than the Aolynk) but it looked as though the DSL connection was there but with no Up or Down speeds available, whatever that means

Anyone have any ideas? :confused:

I suppose I'll switch back to the Aolynk when I get home tonight, go through everything from scratch and call Smart tomorrow if that doesn't work. Just a bit worried that it'll be down all weekend if I don't get on to them today.

Still applaud their Christmas spirit, though, and looking forward to living in the future for a little while at least...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭machalla

You know its funny but I have noticed recently that anyone with a linksys router and smart have been having problems just in the last few weeks.

I have a linksys wireless router I use instead of the aolynk one and it was grand till about 2-3 weeks ago. Since then its been a disaster and disconnects like mad. The aolynk one as giving crap speeds but staying connected. The new aolynk firmware upgrade out yesterday has sorted out the speed issues on the aolynk now. I just wonder if something changed on the network that linksys adsl routers are particularly sensitive too.

Upgrade the firmware on the aolynk if you do go back to it. It improves its performance a lot.

I just found this link regarding the linksys wag354g wireless router
    http://www.linksysinfo.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=8361&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=40

Some firmware updates there that might help. Use at your own risk though.

machalla wrote:
    I've had the 4mb package from Smart for a while and the best download speed was always abut 2-2.5mb.

How much is the 4mb package from smart? I didnt know they did one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Drapper

halenger wrote:
    Don't hold your breath, I'm sure as hell not gonna hold mine.

I'm with NTL ;-)

Anarchist wrote:
    I am "only" getting
    Downstream 3051 Kbps (381.4 KB/sec)
    Upstream 519 Kbps (64.9 KB/sec)
    For some reason, hopefully it will be sorted by morning.
    I was using a USB lead and I tried Ethernet and lo and behold I am now getting the best part of 6mb down :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Bodan

When a provider gives you a connection speed, you will never fully get that speed because of "overheads" (the data transfer that controls the info you are sending/receiving -I think?). this increases the higher the connection speed, so Smart have actually connected the customers @ 7072KBps/608KBps so that you get the full 6MB/512KBps usage. I have never heard of any company that has done this, even in the UK. Basically a telecoms company have given you more than what you expected. Very rare and is a good sign for the future.

Thanks for the heads up . i thought i was doing well with 220kb/sec on a 2mb BT line . Im really impressed with smart giving the true bandwidth speed .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Blaster99

Drapper wrote:
    I'm with NTL ;-)

So you're used to holding your breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Blaster99 wrote:
    So you're used to holding your breath.

Well, NTL is indeed breathtaking :)

I'm a new, breathless, NTL customer

Sarsfield wrote:
    I'm a new, breathless, NTL customer

High speed porn?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭wanwarlock

The Mooche wrote:
    Woke up this morning to no connection on my Smart line. Didn't have time to play around with the settings (using a Linksys router rather than the Aolynk) but it looked as though the DSL connection was there but with no Up or Down speeds available, whatever that means

Anyone have any ideas? :confused:

I suppose I'll switch back to the Aolynk when I get home tonight, go through everything from scratch and call Smart tomorrow if that doesn't work. Just a bit worried that it'll be down all weekend if I don't get on to them today.

Still applaud their Christmas spirit, though, and looking forward to living in the future for a little while at least...

same here, last night my linksys wag54gs had a signal, but i couldn't surf etc. now it IS connecting but the line sometimes hang, more than usual. speed as above post tho when it's connected...

cheers smart bb.... but is this connection issue just with linksys??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭crol

perhaps you should try your aolynk to see if its more stable?

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭The Mooche

Finally got home and tried the old faithful cable reconnecting after everything else failed. And it worked...

Have a reported 7072 Kbps Down and 608 Kbps Up. It's already so noticeably faster that if they offer this for a little extra next year I'm already sold.

Looking forward to trying everything. Just have to get through another 24+ hours of work :)

And this is with the Linksys. Okay so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

how much does this fine service cost?

It's not decided yet. we have it free for 4 weeks, bit like giving out drugs and getting us hooked tbh :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

feck me!

im assuming its a business product?

wouldnt mind a spin of that. Although im on the newlands exchange :(