Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

neighbours

• 18-12-2005 5:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭

Hey guys i moved in to my flat 3 months ago.Theirs a BITCH upstairs whos about 20.and EVERY saturday night she has a house party.LOUD music,People YELLING,and she ALWAYS ends the night with a big screaming match with her bf then makes up and has VERY LOUD sex which lasts till 6 in the morining( its going on as i speak)

But the problem I have is I am A MASSIVE football fan( liverpool) and when theres a game on I ALWAYS SCREAM at the match(cos dats what u do)
    Now Im the 1st to Admit that I do scream at the telly too much during these games but she called the landlord and told him I was making noise( these games are at 2 in the day on a saturday) and i didnt even give out about her parties

Now I have gone up to her and asked what her prob is and i told her ive been gracious about her parties every weekend , but she said she doesnt care and shes gonna get me evicted.

Can she do that considering I and the rest of the building hear her parties every week and all i do is yell at the TV for 90 mins once a week??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Next party, get the environmental health around. They'll get a decibel count, and give her a written warning. Next time, it's a fine, then a court summons.
    Any reason she has for getting you evicted, you have more on her. Just make sure you get the evidence - record her noise, video, audio etc.

But the main thing here is, keep supporting Liverpool :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

But then I wonder why you say the games are on at 2, when they are on at 12.45pm or 3.00pm. (Ok 2pm on a Sunday, but only once a month or so for Liverpool).

Why 2pm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

Alright I dont mean to be intentionally mean but for fúcksake what do you think people are going to tell you? TELL THE GOD DAMN LANDLORD ABOUT THE PARTIES AND YOU WILL BE OK. FOOTBALL COMPARED TO PARTIES AND LOUD SEX IS NO COMPARISON. Stop making dumbass threads and just be sane. Sorry but cmon like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭lizanne

sinecurea wrote:
    But then I wonder why you say the games are on at 2, when they are on at 12.45pm or 3.00pm. (Ok 2pm on a Sunday, but only once a month or so for Liverpool).

Why 2pm?
    sorry analysis normally starts then so i just said 2

Alright I dont mean to be intentionally mean but for fúcksake what do you think people are going to tell you? TELL THE GOD DAMN LANDLORD ABOUT THE PARTIES AND YOU WILL BE OK. FOOTBALL COMPARED TO PARTIES AND LOUD SEX IS NO COMPARISON. Stop making dumbass threads and just be sane. Sorry but cmon like.

actually the landlord said she said i do this about 3 times a week so its obovious shes bull****tn 2 try get rid of me.

and dumbass threads? its important to me ok i dont wana lose my home cos someones out 2 get me and lying to do it.

Someone on here could have been in a similar situation ok and could help me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

Get a new god damn house or something your landlord/lady is a stupid hoe

hoe? no why should i move, im happy here, and i dont see why i should leave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

sinecurea wrote:
    Next party, get the environmental health around. They'll get a decibel count, and give her a written warning. Next time, it's a fine, then a court summons.
    Any reason she has for getting you evicted, you have more on her. Just make sure you get the evidence - record her noise, video, audio etc.
    Do you have practical experience of this? I understood it was very difficult to take official action on noise pollution, and involved taking a District Court case to complain.

OP - Can you confirm if the noisy, party girl is sharing a house with you? Or is it a seperate apartment in the block or what?

RainyDay wrote:
    Do you have practical experience of this? I understood it was very difficult to take official action on noise pollution, and involved taking a District Court case to complain.

OP - Can you confirm if the noisy, party girl is sharing a house with you? Or is it a seperate apartment in the block or what?
    seperate apartmant.....but she lives just above me so i hear everything,the landlord said a lotta people has complained about her, but they had no proof, and NO ONE EXCEPT HER complained about me. The couple just below me said they NEVER hear any noise from me

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I feel your pain.. The whole upper part of the house we live in is occupied the landlords family, his daughter is living there now and she has her friend living there and religiously every Saturday and Sunday evening all we can hear is the squeaking of her matress, the bloke has to be on Viagra or Rhyno Horn or something cause it goes on for hours and it drives us both demented... Also we share a washing machine with the other flats in the house and one night I went down to get my washing and all my clothes were thrown on the floor beside the machine (a filthy mucky never saw a hoover floor I might add)... My knickers were strewn around in front of my (perverted old man) neighbours door.. The landlords daughter had decided she wanted to do a wash and instead of putting my washing in a bag beside the machine which is standard procedure she just f*cked them there :mad: B*tch... I wont even get started on the rest of the neighbours :o Suppose thats what you have to deal with in rented accommodation :o

• Registered Users Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Complain to environmental health. Complaining on here isn't going to change much.

John

• Registered Users Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

She's an asshole my Dad comes across a lot of people like that (he works around apartments a lot of the time). Mostly though they're old bored people, but this one is just a bit of a wagon. If you can prove your case you'll be sorted I'd say. Get some others to back you up.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭mad m

sinecurea wrote:
    But the main thing here is, keep supporting Liverpool :)

Ha!!! A bit of Gordon Strachan rubbing off you sinecurea with the wit!!

Good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

RainyDay wrote:

Up where Sinecura lives it's pretty easy to do what he mentioned and prolly for Lump in London too....in the Republic it's not as straightforward.
    Some friends a few doors down from us had terrible problems when 1st yr students moved in beside them and the whole thing went on for months ending up in a court case....the landlord( of the students) was very little help until legal stuff started coming in the post and he kicked their asses out within a week.

I can only recommend to the OP that she log the stuff that she has complaints about with evidence if possible and then present it to her landlord (and/or her tenants assoc)...her neighbour sounds wiley enough to have got the first boot in as it were and lodged a complaint (she's probably on a coke downer or some other form of hangover whenever liverpool are playing and the "noise" drives her insane) so anything you complain about now just looks like it's tit-for-tat.

None of this is going to be pleasant...the friends I referred to above went through a lot of family difficulty during the whole affair.
    Best of luck with it...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

My advice, get out of flats, they're more trouble that they're worth.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

My advice, get out of flats, they're more trouble that they're worth.

Definately.. Money pitts.. Dead money at that but its either flats or shared accommodation for us for the minute, and I dont fancy sharing a house with a load of strangers :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

Wertz wrote:
    ...her neighbour sounds wiley enough to have got the first boot in as it were and lodged a complaint so anything you complain about now just looks like it's tit-for-tat.
    That's a problem, I'd say there is a way around it though. You mentioned above that the landlord told you about other complaints like yours - I think you might be able to get some support from other people in your block and maybe a few of you sign a letter to the landlord. That would be the proof he said is lacking.

So, if she's causing enough of a problem in the place for your neighbours to back you up in a letter, it mightn't be that much of a problem that she was first to complain. It might also be an idea to ask the neighbours under/around you to tell the landlord their opinion about the amount of noise that you make - if they say you're quiet, that'll show your landlord that the girl upstairs is lying.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Balaclavas, hurleys and kick the door in while they sleep and beat them under their duvets? ;)

Or else just call the gardai everytime their noise going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

once again wrong board, consider this a warning...check other boards before posting to see if there is one more suitable.

topic moved

• Registered Users Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

AFAIK the Gardai only responds to these complaints out of courtesy. Can anybody confirm this?
    Kernel wrote:
    Or else just call the gardai everytime their noise going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭homeOwner

sinecurea wrote:

Yeah at 1am call the environmental health people around - seriously do you really think that they are a 24 hour service? :rolleyes:

You need to make a complaint to your landlord in writing. Also call the guards and make them write it in their book - they actually cant do much but you can lodge your complaint with them and get it recorded. Another avenue you can do down is to contact the management company who look after the apartment complex if htere is one and see if they will contact the person upstairs regarding noise levels as some apt complexes have rules stating no loud noise between 10pm and 10am, or something like that.
    Write to the person upstairs too and request that they keep the noise down. Keep a copy of all correspondence. Try to get other people in the complex to write to the landlady and the person upstairs too. The more people on your side the better. I would suggest you dont confront her in person and do all communication in writing.

There is a hell of a difference between watching football on a saturday afternoon and having parties every weekend.

Ultimately it is up to the landlord to sort out as in reality you will get very little help from the guards. If you want to go down the route of taking it to court, you will need to make an appointment with the environmental agency and get them to come around and take readings but will be a last resort as in reality you or her may have moved on before this ever gets to court and really all you want is no hassle and quiet at nighttime.

Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

unless the landlord is the guy who's making her scream till 6 in the morning, then you should fight fire with fire...

• Registered Users Posts: 78,392 ✭✭✭✭Victor

lizanne wrote:
    she called the landlord and told him I was making noise
    Realise you are shouting when shes asleep!

There is nothing the Garda can do about noise, as its a civil matter, it is only their remit if the noise carries on outside the apartment. It would need to constitute a breach of the peace or conduct likely to lead to a breach of the peace in say the corridors or car park for them to get involved.

Make a complaint to the landlord about the noise, stating times and behavior. He is responsibile to you for her behavior.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Lex Luthor wrote:
    unless the landlord is the guy who's making her scream till 6 in the morning, then you should fight fire with fire...

So she should shag the landlord too?

• Registered Users Posts: 78,392 ✭✭✭✭Victor

And there I was thinking that landlord sweaters were a thing of the past!!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Not at all, but if she's getting complaints made at her, I would advise her to make as many complaints as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭steve-hosting36

The recommendation I've always heard is to report to the gardai and local councils noise control people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

local councils noise control people.
    Do these exist in real life?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

They do but how likely is it that they will go onsite during the night? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

You should record the 'action' as proof, and play it to your landlord.

If nothing else, it will get you in his good books:v: