Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

scoring a young chick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭NewOxfordReview

To the chap who started this whole thread: if you're not going to text her then give me her number. I'll text her. I'm 23, but fock it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

DawnMc wrote:
    A 16 year old girl is a child.
    No argument.
    It's wrong
    But a 15 year old boy can have sex in Ireland right?
    So what happens when two 16 your old kids have sex - the guy gets locked up?

I think this era takes sex WAYYYY too seriously - and women for that matter too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

DawnMc wrote:
    No argument.
    It's wrong

A 16 year old girl is a teenager, teenagers kiss people. It's what we do. So what if the guy just happens to be 4 years older than her? It was just a kiss, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,494 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Piste wrote:
    A 16 year old girl is a teenager
    Indeed is a young adult. And while capable of pretty much everything an adult is capable of, they don't necessarily have the life experience.

OP, if it was just a kiss then probably fair enough*, sex (including any kind of penetration) would be a no-no legally and morally. In between is a sliding scale. That you spent the entire evening with her is probably pushing it.

The rest of ye that are boasting 16 years old conquests seem to be so confident in your positions that you posted anonymously. This says a lot.

* If you can get married at 18 and have sex at 17, kissing at 16 is probably OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

the age of consent in italy is 14
    the age of consent in spain is 13

i'm sure 16 year old Irish girls can make their own decisions, especially if it's only a kiss ;)

edited following typo..tks victor

Iago wrote:
    the age of consent in italy is 12
    Careful now, not only is it not 12, but I suspect a pair of 14 year olds will be OK, but an 18 year old with a 14 year old, won't.

http://www.ageofconsent.com/ageofconsent.htm
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Age_of_consent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

DawnMc wrote:
    No argument.
    It's wrong

A 16 year old isn't a child. Oxford English Dictionary:

'Child' - 'a young human being below the age of puberty; a boy or girl'.

In my opinion the age of consent for both men and women should be set at 16. For males it's 15 and for females it's 17. That's just bizarre.

I read recently that McDowell is thinking about changing the law. It makes sense.

A 16 year old isn't a child.
    But neither is it fully adult.

Victor wrote:
    But neither is it fully adult.

No? Why do you say that? Does being a year older make a female fully adult?

No, it doesn't. These days, humans continue to physicly grow as late as 21 years old. Socially, emotionally, etc. it can be much later before they reach a plateau.

I advocate a progression in rights and responsibilities.

When I was 16-17, I started going out with a 21 year old, but I was in 2nd year uni so I suppose there's a bit of a difference

younger than 18 if you're 20+ is generally a no-no though, that's my general advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

No? Why do you say that? Does being a year older make a female fully adult?
    It doesn't - but a line has to be drawn somewhere.

I don't condone nor condemn the OP, however I would advise people who are saying full sex is ok at X age to attempt to put yourself in a parents position, i.e by imagining that it is your daughter/son who wants to have sex at that age, possibly with an older person.

Puberty is a difficult age, with hormones raging and with little experience to draw from on how to handle them and the feelings that they bring. They are confusing and may cause a person to really want to do something that they will later regret. If possible, a mature person should keep this in mind <edit>when interacting with teenagers</edit>.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭carbsy

Casting my mind back... I scored with a 15 y/o girl when I was 27 ish fink, mebbe 28.Twas just snoggy snoggy back at a party after clubbin. :d

Victor wrote:
    No, it doesn't. These days, humans continue to physicly grow as late as 21 years old. Socially, emotionally, etc. it can be much later before they reach a plateau.

I advocate a progression in rights and responsibilities.

So why does our law state that a 15-year-old male can have sex?

I personally think it's farcical that a 17-year-old female can sleep with a 16-year old male without any problems, but if a 17-year-old male sleeps with a 16 year-old female he can be arrested!

We need to debate these things sensibly. I can't see the sense in having one law for males and another for females.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Because 15 year old boys don't get pregant.
    Yes it really is that victorian, a 15 year old girl is at huge physicals risk giving birth and then there is her welfare and that of the child to be considered.
    Yes lets have parity in the law but lets have responsiblity and have all 15 year old females given a contracpection implant and all 15 year olds free condoms and proper health based and socailly based sex education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 MsMolko

"scoring a young chick"
    Hmm that sounds respectful.
    As for the age difference as WizZard said, a line has to be drawn somewhere and with 16 and 20 year olds there is a big emotional/maturity gap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

when i was 18 i was kissing a 29 year old. ive also kissed younger (though no more than a year younger) boys. ive been told when i was 16-17 that i seemed a couple of years older. its so easy for girls to seem a couple of years older. i think it depends on the girl/situation really. my 16 year old sister doesnt go out a lot, i wouldnt expect her to be with 20 year iold guys, but then again in 6 months she could be a lot more mature, whereas my younger sister, it could happen to before the other. i tend to end up with guys my age (or younger) but ive no problem attracting the attention of guys 10 years older. just depends on where i go out. OP i dont think its a big problem, if she's seems mature enough to be going to the same night cluns as you, then she's probably mature enough to be able to kiss a guy 4 years older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭In IRL

carbsy wrote:
    Casting my mind back... I scored with a 15 y/o girl when I was 27 ish fink, mebbe 28.Twas just snoggy snoggy back at a party after clubbin. :d

thats just eww. i know its's "just" a snog..sorry, had to say that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Age of consent in Ireland is 17. Boy or girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Coming from a 16 year old girl(yes..me)I dont think age really matters..I,m in 5th and alot of the girls in my year are very mature one even is scoring with a 27 year old who probably could get someone his own age IF he wanted to..but they just click.
    The oldest guy i've been with was 21 and tbh I think the way that happened was wrong it was just a kiss in a club at the end of the night..i knew he was 21 but i told him i was 17 (I nearly am) What I thought was wrong of him was he told me he was 19! He was only after the one thing and he definetly did not get it!

When i first started going out I was flattered by older guys coming on to me..but now i.ve been going out for quite a bit i,ve coped on to them and I know that
    a) they have drunk way too much
    b)They think young girls or an easy target

A few of my friends that are 16 are going out with 18 year olds and its no problem..Ones in 5th and the other is in 6th..Ithink that when ones in school and the other is in collage it makes things difficult..total differant social lives , needs,tastes and whatnot.
    However I do think when people "click" (and most people should know this doesn't happen often) they should go for it regardless of there ages aslong as they've both hit puberty!!

Thaedydal wrote:
    Because 15 year old boys don't get pregant.

I fail to see how that justifies allowing 15-year-old males to have sex. You said it yourself let's have parity of the law.
    Sangre wrote:
    Age of consent in Ireland is 17. Boy or girl.

I think you're wrong. See here
    Justice Minister Michael McDowell is reportedly considering changing the age of sexual consent in Ireland.

Reports this morning said the minister was worried that the current law on the matter did not reflect reality, but was also wary of making any changes.

His move to examine the situation follows a recent court case in Co Galway in which a man admitted to the statutory rape of his girlfriend when she was 15 and he was 19.

The couple, who are in a stable relationship, later had a baby and both their mothers were in court to support them.

The presiding judge gave an 11-month suspended sentence to the accused and also fined him €100.

Under Irish law, a man can be jailed for five years for having sex with a girl under the age of 17 years, while sex with a girl under the age of 15 carries a sentence of up to life in prison.

However, the age of consent for boys is currently just 15, so if two 16-year-olds had sex, the boy would be committing a crime and the girl would not

Crazy system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

I think you're wrong. See here

Crazy system.

Oh that's the way it is because all men are inherently evil aren't we?, in the case of two sixteen year olds having sex, the boy is commiting a crime and the girl is being violated even it is fully consensual between both parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Snowbat

The Sunday Times - Ireland, commenting on the same Galway case

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2091-1892635,00.html
    Age of consent (AOC) laws and penal sanctions exist nonetheless. It is illegal to have sex with a girl under the age of 17, but for boys the age of consent is 15. The gender disparity leads to curious anomalies: had the accused in last week’s case been 15 and his girlfriend 19, no crime would have been committed.
    “Why is she referred to as the injured party?” wondered Groarke, as he interrogated Michael O’Driscoll, a senior garda who was giving evidence. “Why had the gardai not sought advice from the director of public prosecutions to prosecute the girl for conspiracy? She was part of a conspiracy to commit an indictable crime, was she not?”

Can we wander back towards the kissing (as is the topic), away from actual sex. Fee l free to open another topic on the Humanities board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I always find the following rule of thumb works best when considering the age of a girl.

Basically half your own age and add 7, draw the line at anyone under that age, they're too young for you.

What if you were 800 yrs old?
    Then you could only score 407 yr olds or older? Rather harsh in my book....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

carbsy wrote:

Thats disgusting, you should be ashamed of yourself....
    A 15 yr old girl at the age of 28? jesus christ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 dimegetchapull

well im 21,nearly 22 and my girlfriend is 19 and i dont see a problem...i generally depends on who the other person is

Keyzer wrote:
    Thats disgusting, you should be ashamed of yourself....
    A 15 yr old girl at the age of 28? jesus christ...

I swear she looked 25. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭DAEDULUS

only a desperate person would go out with a girl that much younger...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭spooiirt!!

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

<snip>

This message was brought to you by one of those paedophile advocate groups, apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

spooiirt banned for one week advocating underage sex.

PM me when week is up to regain access to forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

dudara wrote:
    spooiirt banned for one week advocating underage sex.

PM me when week is up to regain access to forum
    You sure someone who advocates unlawful underage sex is going to learn their lesson in a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Not for you to argue Laguna, no offense meant.

The reason why the ban isn't longer is that the post wasn't quite paedophiliac (sic) in nature, merely offensive

DAEDULUS wrote:
    only a desperate person would go out with a girl that much younger...

Who said anything about going out with? Jaysus some ppl on here can't read! :rolleyes:

clubbing -> copious amounts of drugs -> party -> snog some 15 y/o ... :D

... obviously she shouldn't have been there, just one of those things ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Chicken(",)

Sorry abut this long winded post but I just want to put a bit of a point across- I suppose it's not of great relevance but it might be useful to someone and I'm getting this off my chest at the same time.

Best friend of mine is a 30 yo male and has been going out with his girlfriend who is 17, for almost 2 years. When I first met her I thought she was probably 23,24 and I knew that my friend and this girl were together but he just said they just hung out as their parents socialise on the odd occasion and they get on very well.

Obviously, it wasn't common knowledge that they were together so I took advantage of the fact that no one knew and I took advantage of the fact that I didn't really know this girl (although she seemed nice) and began to get quite close to my best friend (we go way back and have been there for each other, in all aspects of the statement e.g fcuk buddies). At first, she just presumed that we were great friends and were just catching up but when she got suspicious and started reading through his messages she found messages to me and it absolutely broke her heart when she realised what was going on.

We had all been going out together and I had grown really fond of the girlfriend- I never thought a 17 yo could be as mature and sensible as her, we had so much in common and soon I felt like a piece of dirt for allowing myself to become so heartless and inconsiderate of someone's feelings. I never admitted to her that I was shagging her boyfriend for a period of time and nor did he admit to her. She confronted me about it and I still didn't let it slip but she told me how she felt and nearly broke my heart aswell.

Up until then she was such a good girl- never even looked sideways at another guy and here's where the moral of the story comes in!
    Guys scoring younger birds- if you want to score them, go right ahead but do not fcuk them around if a relationship does arise because it's these fcukers that turn good girls into devious, vengeful women as mentioned on previous pages. I'm sure decent guys will agree with me here? Does this post make sense at all?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭toffeapple

To be frank, yeah, I think they are, lads are the same too, I don't think I'd have a lot in common with an 18 year old girl, I'm not into "Shayne off the X-Factor". People don't mature until they hit their twenties (if they ever do mature).

yeah you be frank and il be fred..hes only 20!! he's not looking to marry her..just an oul fumble ..the only danger is if she told you she's 16 how do you know for sure she's not 14!!! if she lied once id say in reality she is 14
    ...now if she was 14 you would be gutted

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

To anyone that said kissing a 16 year old is wrong. You do know the legal age for oral sex is 15. Had the OP got a blow job off this girl he would not be breaking the law. So yea, kissing ain't exactly going to cause a breakdown in the fabric of society.

http://www.ageofconsent.com/ireland.htm
    IRELAND LAWS: 1. Has no sodomy laws, the age of sexual consent is 17 for homosexual
    males regarding anal and oral sex, 15 for lesbians, and for heterosexuals oral sex is legal at age 15.