Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dec 26th Prem Action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

imo,

bowyer deserved to go. i have seen players go for a lot less. nobody else done anything that was worthy of a red. in fact crouch hardly pused bowyer that hard, he seemed to stumble after the push.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Apparently Baros used a blatant hand in his goal but I turned it on too late, what happened?

wait untill you see it, its amazing how he got away with it, the ball was crossed in (after an initial handball) to him, he beat a player inside the box by controlling it clearly with his hand, then poked it by the keeper...all the everton players were furious, you could even see in the replay a villa player looking at the ref after the goal was scored unsure as to whether to go and celebrate or not, before finally realising they had got away with it,

now i know refs can and do make mistakes, but after seeing the position of the ref for this one is makes it even more unbelievable how baros got away with it, maradonna eat your heart out.

as for the liverpool game my ain complaint would be that bowyer having got the red (mainly due to his reputation) the others should have, i wudnt have given a red to anyone after what happened,

as for crouch, it doesnt matter how hard he pushed bowyer, the rule as im aware is you cannot raise your hands to another player, anyway who cares blackburn won 2-0 and im delighted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

bowyer was unlucky "to be the only one sent off"* edit (reputation) crouch, gerrard and alonso all should have went too....the referee copped out....disgracefull
    What nonsense!

The referee "copped out" for not sending off four players? Don't be ridiculous.

While I think Bowyer's red was maybe a little harsh, it was a 100% definite yellow at the very least. Alonso did nothing wrong, in fact made a decent challenge before being fouled himself. Gerrard did nothing, and while Crouch pushed Bowyer it was a one handed tip to the chest, hardly worth getting exited about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Villa 4-0 up against everton. Baros 2, Angel 1, Delaney 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Holy Crap! The Everton revival is well and truly over.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

as for the liverpool game my ain complaint would be that bowyer having got the red (mainly due to his reputation) the others should have, i wudnt have given a red to anyone after what happened

And who's fault is that? Any "unfair" treatment he gets in any game was brought on by his dirtbag transgressions in the past, and no matter how wrong that is... nothing's gonna change it.

Excellent performance from Liverpool, very efficient and looked sharp all over the pitch. Yes, even Nando.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Gerrard, Alonso, Crouch and Finnan should all have been sent off... Bowyer didn't do anything worthy of getting sent off. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

What nonsense!

The referee "copped out" for not sending off four players? Don't be ridiculous.

While I think Bowyer's red was maybe a little harsh, it was a 100% definite yellow at the very least. Alonso did nothing wrong, in fact made a decent challenge before being fouled himself. Gerrard did nothing, and while Crouch pushed Bowyer it was a one handed tip to the chest, hardly worth getting exited about.

agreed.

im surprised this incident is being debated so much, it seemed clear cut to me. admittedly another ref might not have sent off bowyer but i still feel if he goes into a tackle like that he has to know he runs the risk of being sent off.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

Holy Crap! The Everton revival is well and truly over

i think its important to remember everton had 1 good season in about 15 or 20years, and just because 4-1-4-1 was a good a difficult formation to break down one seaon, doesnt mean that it will be in the long run.

the amout of credit given to them last year was a joke. they limped to 4th place last seaon. every year one team has a spectacular seaon. everton had it and now they've been figured out.

liverpool will haunt everton all over the pitch like they're doing to every team they play lately, newcastle are a joke of a team. souness has been exposed at the highest level.

i cant put into words how awful newcastle are as a team. and any team that loses to that side show deserves to be relegated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Gerrard, Alonso, Crouch and Finnan should all have been sent off... Bowyer didn't do anything worthy of getting sent off. ;)
    Thats ridiculous , Bowyer deserved to go and what about Solano's handball on the line earlier if the ref copped out at any time in this game it was then

meldrew wrote:
    Thats ridiculous , Bowyer deserved to go and what about Solano's handball on the line earlier if the ref copped out at any time in this game it was then

pornapster is what we call a troll meldrew

bowyer earned his red card with years of being a scumbag

I actually wasn't trolling, I was being sarcastic because of the amount of silly replies to that incident. I wasn't expecting a reply to that at all... But obviously you'll get one or two that are exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Siteban! :)

Souness truely is setting the world alight at Newcastle, he is doing to them what he has done to every club that has had the misfortune of him managing them.

man u fans should be kissing his ass for what he did to liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

meldrew wrote:
    Thats ridiculous , Bowyer deserved to go

They showed a replay of that incident from the touchline and you can see the Bowyer only had eyes for the ball, clumsy to catch alonso with the trailing leg but no way was it a straight red!

I believe that Crouch should have gone for the TWO handed push on Bowyer and the ref really did bottle that, you just can't raise your hands to another player.

I believe that the FA also said that any player that incited a meile like that one should go. Thats exactly what crouch did, It wouldn't have blown up so badly if Crouch hadn't come storming in.

el rabitos wrote:
    i think its important to remember everton had 1 good season in about 15 or 20years, and just because 4-1-4-1 was a good a difficult formation to break down one seaon, doesnt mean that it will be in the long run.

The rivial I had in mind was that they won few games recently. Last season was a fluke, no question.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

Bowyer was very hard done by. No way he deserved to go at all. His challenge was late and a litle clumsy, eager to win the ball back and caught Alonso. he stood up and immediately put his hand up to recognise his mistake when Crouch runs over and pushes him over.

In my opinion Bowyer, Crouch, Shearer and Gerrard should all have been booked for acting like muppets and over reacting. Crouch, imo, is to blame for Bowyer being sent off rather than being booked. He caused the over reaction.

Some people are saying that he deserved to go for his past transgressions? wtf? what are you people smoking? You gotta take each challenge and game as a seperate incident else the game will just turn into a farce with people being sent off before they even go out on the pitch.

Now on to the football...
    Some great games today. Good wins for liverpool and manu. Chelsea getting slightly lucky again and Arsenal finally end their miserable run of results with a decent performance. Lots and lots of goals and a fair amount of excitement :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

el rabitos wrote:
    i cant put into words how awful newcastle are as a team. and any team that loses to that side show deserves to be relegated

that would be arsenal then?
    :p

as a liverpool fan i'm happy we have everton next, as they've conceded 8 in 2 games :D

I think Bowyer was a bit hard done by (shock!), watching the MOTD and Premiership progs last night I'm sure I heard the ref blow for Bowyers first attempt at a tackle on Alonso a couple of seconds earlier. If I'm right then maybe it was the two incidents back-to-back that got him the red card.

Gerrard should have got booked, no question. Solano should have been red-carded for the hand ball but then Terry was'nt for as blatent a double fisted save as you'll see!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

yep have to say bowyers tackle was a yellow...gerrard should have got a yellow and crouch too.....great game tho..LFC are back i love watching them crouch is absolutely deadly rafa is a smart man to purchase him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Souness reckons Bowyer deserved to be sent off. Nice of a manager to acknowledge having seen an incident!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

If I'm right then maybe it was the two incidents back-to-back that got him the red card.
    Then he woulda booked him and pointed to the area of first incident and then booked him again. Isnt there a difference between straight reds and two yellows with the amount of matches banned etc?

I wouldn't dismiss Souness's Newcastle based on yesterdays game. They were missing Scott Parker, their most important player, as he was suspended as well as playing a Liverpool side in their best form for 15 years, at Anfield where they have a very poor record anyway.

They are still only six points off UEFA qualification which I'm sure was the target at the beginning of the season, despite missing Emre, Owen, and Dyer for large chunks of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

B-K-DzR wrote:
    Then he woulda booked him and pointed to the area of first incident and then booked him again. Isnt there a difference between straight reds and two yellows with the amount of matches banned etc?

A straight red is a 3 match ban a red for two yellows is only a one match ban as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

I wouldn't dismiss Souness's Newcastle based on yesterdays game. They were missing Scott Parker.

Yup, my dismay at not seeing Titus Bramble in the starting lineup was made up for by Parker not playing, hadn't realised he was out for the game. Parker should really be in the starting England 11 next summer, as hes the only good defensive midfield player england have. I was over the moon as most of the fans at Anfield were when Bramble did come on, funny hearing them cheering his introduction :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I wouldn't dismiss Souness's Newcastle based on yesterdays game. They were missing Scott Parker, their most important player, as he was suspended as well as playing a Liverpool side in their best form for 15 years, at Anfield where they have a very poor record anyway.

They are still only six points off UEFA qualification which I'm sure was the target at the beginning of the season, despite missing Emre, Owen, and Dyer for large chunks of the season.

A few weeks ago you were preaching to me about how they were "only" six points off Champions League qualification. This has now changed to six points off UEFA Cup qualification.

Your aspirations for Souness seem to be getting less and less.

Lemlin wrote:
    Your aspirations for Souness seem to be getting less and less.
    Eh no. I always said that their target would be UEFA cup. They are hardly a million miles away.
    Lemlin wrote:
    A few weeks ago you were preaching to me about how they were "only" six points off Champions League qualification. This has now changed to six points off UEFA Cup qualification.
    Yes I said they were only six points of CL qualification a few weeks ago, but as you rightly :eek: pointed out they had played more than other teams. They have played the same as most now, and are a little further back.

Still it's no crisis, particularly given their injury list, yet as I pointed out in my thread a few months back, we will always have a few "Souness is a joke/he's wrecked every team he's managed" types who will constantly ignore the facts.

Having seen some of Newcastle's performances this year, as well as how quickly some of their new (and big) signings have gelled into the team, there is cause for some optimism down at St James Park.

i dont know if you saw the whole match yesterday, but if thats what souness can get out of his players then he needs to get out of premiership management.

theres some great individuals at newcastle, but souness, is and always has been a very poor manager in every aspect.

funny how the liverpool fans were cheering when bramble came on and the newcastle fans were booing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Yes I was one of those cheering for him. He did score an Og in the same fixture last year, was a good game to be at for a number of reasons, great team performance, keeping Newcastle out of the game for large periods, Harry Kewell starting to look good again, Crouch getting another, steve getting closer to his target of twenty and the chants of "Signed for a big club, you should have signed for a big club" to young Mick Owen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

What an easy victory for Liverpool - the attempts on goal reveal all with Liverpool having 21 and Newcastle being held to just 2! Liverpool easily deserved the win as Newcastle, with Owen and Shearer, didnt even get a look in. Owen was unusualy quiet and clearly affected by playing against Liverpool. Liverpool's midfield, this time with Gerrard in the centre, completely dominated and Liverpool defended from that line.

Liverpool's line-up was 4-4-2 as follows:

Reina
    Finnan - Carragher - Hyypia - Riise
    Garcia - Gerrard - Alonso - Kewell
    Morientes -- Crouch ----

Starts this time for Riise at left back, Garcia at right midfield, and Kewell also getting the decision again. Gerrard in the middle looked lively. The manouever used in other matches which sees Crouch being used as a target man coming deep and laying the ball off to Gerrard running at pace was used to good affect and led to the 1st goal. A powerful shot from outside the box by Gerrard and Given was well beaten.

All the chances were being created by Liverpool. Indeed, Kewell had the earliest opportunity but made a mess of his shot and it it too straight at Given. Kewell didnt do that much in the match but played his part all the same to get in a few crosses, one which led to the 2nd goal. His cross from the left near the box was met by 3 Liverpool players, Morientes, Garcia and Crouch and Crouch met it with a good goalward header. It hit the post and perhaps it then came off the back of the diving Given ever so slightly, or perhaps not. It was just about was over the line before being scooped away by Shay. If it did rub off his back, its technically an og. If it didnt, its a goal for Crouch. But regardless of the technical aspects, Given wasnt able to keep it out and it was a good effort by Crouch. An og, if given, would be an unlucky og for Shay who did as much as any keeper would have been expected too.

Morientes had a couple of chances in the match but didnt score. Crouch aso should have done better on a couple of occasions. But this game was in complete control, even before the sending off situation.

This came to a head after a couple of stinging/flying challenges going in. Bowyer's lunge, which was probably deserving of a yellow, was made worse by Crouch acting the plank and pushing him over. If Bowyer would have stayed down and not got involved again, a yellow punishment would have been fair for him. Crouch was deserving of the yellow, only for the fact that he had his hands in a pushing motion and not a striking motion and if anything Bowyer went over easy enough (say compared to Shearer who got pushed far worse by Gerrard in the back). A bit dissapointed to see Gerrard getting involved and Shearer, both lucky that they didnt get yellow's as well. Bowyer came back into it too. Its strange how aggro seems to follow Newcastle around, and Souness.

But overall, a good win for Liverpool considering that they are just back from Japan and all that. Things are looking good now for a top-4 finish and if this run can be maintained, it should be a comfortable finish.

Still, there are cracks. Lack of finishing could come back to haunt Liverpool in tougher matches. Too many scoreable chances are still being missed.

redspider

Good win for Blackburn on Monday. Hopefully they can carry the form through and win against Sunderland tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I was pleased with what i saw of Nando on MOTD. He looked very lively, had a couple of good runs, good header that solano cleared witrh his hand. If he can start to play like this regularly, i'd be more than pleased as he wil get a couple of goals when defenders stop using their hands. :)

Stekelly wrote:
    I was pleased with what i saw of Nando on MOTD. He looked very lively, had a couple of good runs, good header that solano cleared witrh his hand. If he can start to play like this regularly, i'd be more than pleased as he wil get a couple of goals when defenders stop using their hands. :)

I didn't see Liverpool fans complaining about handball when Stephane Henchoz stopped the ball on the line in the FA Cup final against Arsenal a few years back ;)

Yes I was one of those cheering for him. He did score an Og in the same fixture last year, was a good game to be at for a number of reasons, great team performance, keeping Newcastle out of the game for large periods, Harry Kewell starting to look good again, Crouch getting another, steve getting closer to his target of twenty and the chants of "Signed for a big club, you should have signed for a big club" to young Mick Owen.

I didn't know Chelsea had bid for Michael Owen either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Lemlin wrote:
    I didn't see Liverpool fans complaining about handball when Stephane Henchoz stopped the ball on the line in the FA Cup final against Arsenal a few years back ;)

Edit - ur not worth it

Your right, he isn't. I won't bother either.

didn't see Liverpool fans complaining about handball when Stephane Henchoz stopped the ball on the line in the FA Cup final against Arsenal a few years back ;)

here we go again :rolleyes:
    Edit - ur not worth it

i feel your pain

Your right, he isn't. I won't bother either.

I was gonna take a fall in the hope attention might be drawn to his posts...

el rabitos wrote:
    here we go again :rolleyes:

i feel your pain

Lets just get down to the nitty gritty - Liverpool > Blackburn....

Last time I looked lads, it wasn't a crime to have a bit of craic. Ye seem to think otherwise.

Both posts were accompanied by smileys are/were tongue in cheek. Get a grip there lads.

Gerrard faces 3 match ban!

This story is carried by the indo and the telegraph in Britain (same article syndicated) but I have'nt seen it anywhere else.
    STEVEN GERRARD faces the prospect of a three-game suspension if the English Football Association charge him and he is found guilty of violent behaviour following the melee during Liverpool's 2-0 defeat of Newcastle at Anfield.

As players from both teams jostled each other Gerrard appeared to put his hands around Alan Shearer's neck. Guidelines to referees say that though a push in the chest can be a caution, putting hands on an opponent's face or neck is a red-card offence.

The English FA will today study referee Mark Halsey's report, which is likely to confirm that he missed the Gerrard incident. This would leave the Liverpool midfielder open to a charge from the FA, who would then review a video of what happened at Anfield.

etc

Mike.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Only right really, you cannot go around taking the law into your hands, he pushed shearer and grabbed him by the neck.

yop wrote:
    Only right really, you cannot go around taking the law into your hands, he pushed shearer and grabbed him by the neck.

Shearer is no shrinking violet either though. He knocked lumps out a few Arsenal players, Sol Campbell in particular, a few weeks ago and not a thing was done about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

yeh but he is shearer, and is the FA's golden boy.
    Gerrard doesn't have that status so its easier for him to be punished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

mike65 wrote:
    Gerrard faces 3 match ban! .

dont know how true it is, or what will become of it and although ive said earlier in this thread that a few more players should have been punished after that incident, the point i was trying to get across was that bowyer was hard done by, id rather see them recind his red card, not punish anybody else and leave it at that.

In fairness I was there and was waiting for he and Crouch to be sent off. He did deserve a booking but if the ref says he saw it and took no action, I wonder how the fa will be able to change the rules to give a player a card after ref saw it despite not going after Essien earlier in the season for that awful challenge that he got a yellow for.

If ref says he did not see it then all power to the FA, I think that both Gerrard and Shearer should be taken to task over it. I think that crouch is away and free as he did get a yellow.

El Rabitos Banned for a week for abuse.

Er... what? For calling PORNAPSTER a troll?!

I think its more for calling Bowyer a scumbag.

If either of those are the reason... OH DEAR LORD.