Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dec 28th Prem Action (scores included)

• 27-12-2005 11:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Wednesday, 28 December 2005

Arsenal v Portsmouth, 19:45
    Ports er Arsenal
    Birmingham v Man Utd, 19:45
    Man Utd
    Blackburn v Sunderland, 20:00---- Blackburn
    Bolton v Middlesbrough, 20:00---- Bolton
    Everton v Liverpool, 20:00
    Its A Derby (Liverpool win)
    Fulham v Aston Villa, 19:45
    Mad score draw or 0-0
    Man City v Chelsea, 19:45
    Chelsea
    Newcastle v Charlton, 19:45
    Newcastle
    West Brom v Tottenham, 19:45--- Spurs
    West Ham v Wigan, 19:45
    Draw

Mike.

Arsenal
    Scoreless draw
    Liverpool
    Draw
    Chelsea
    Charlton
    Wigan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Here's hoping that Man City can continue their form against Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Here's hoping that Man City can continue their form against Chelsea.
    I wouldn't hold my breath

Draw
    Man Utd
    Bolton v Middlesbrough, 20:00---- Draw
    Liverpool
    Fulham
    Chelsea
    Newcastle
    Wigan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Arsene and Jose may not like it but I love the Christmas programme. Only two days ago we had a full set of matches and now we've more PL action.

Arsenal
    Man Utd
    Liverpool
    Draw
    Chelsea
    Draw
    Wigan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Arsenal
    Man Utd
    Draw
    Draw
    Chelsea
    Newcastle
    West Ham

Full set of games in the Championship also:

Coventry v Crewe, 19:45
    Crystal Palace v Derby, 20:00
    Hull v Ipswich, 19:45
    Luton v Brighton, 19:45
    Millwall v Watford, 19:45
    Norwich v Burnley, 19:45
    Plymouth v Preston, 19:45
    QPR v Cardiff, 19:45
    Reading v Leicester, 20:00
    Sheff Wed v Wolverhampton, 19:45
    Southampton v Sheff Utd, 19:45
    Stoke v Leeds, 19:45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Should be an interesting merseyside derby, Liverpool are on a great run lately, Everton are on anything but. Going by form alone should make for a Liverpool win but evrerybody knows that in a derby form goes out the window. Hard one to call i can see it ending in a draw with drunken duncan causing some incident :)

Incredibly weird, I just said pretty much that exact same thing to my mate on MSN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

! Im in the cupboard behind you with a laptop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Arsenal
    Man Utd
    Liverpool
    Fulham
    Chelsea
    Newcastle
    Draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Arsenal [ I think somebody is in for a pounding soon, it could be them]
    Man Utd[I fully expet United to win easily]
    Blackburn v Sunderland, 20:00---- Blackburn [ Sunderland :)]
    Bolton v Middlesbrough, 20:00---- Bolton [This is a tough one to call. I'm hoping for a borough victory as we're playing bolton next, but i expect them to ground out a win at home]
    I have no idea. It's a derby so anything can happen, however I suspect at best for Everton is a draw. It will be a liverpool draw or win.
    Draw[neither teams convince me they can win this game]
    draw [ Pearce seems to understand Chelsea, so I'm ****ing praying they can get a draw. This is one match where Chelsea won't be as confident, as City(ironically as hell) seem to be the only team outside the top 3 who can stop Chelsea]
    draw [ neither team are impressive ]
    West Brom v Tottenham, 19:45--- Spurs [ Spurs are a team on form and West Brom are the polar opposite]
    West Ham [ I think West ham will just nick this]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Arsenal
    Man Utd
    Blackburn v Sunderland, 20:00---- Draw
    Bolton v Middlesbrough, 20:00---- Draw
    Liverpool
    Fulham
    Chelsea
    Draw
    Wigan

Fingers crossed for the Pool, Moyes has really put the proverbials up his troops!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Bolton vs. Boro postponed due to frozen pitch, Ewood Park set for pitch inspection at 6.00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

As a Spurs fan I'm quite surprised we're tipped to win by everyone so far...

West Brom's a tricky place to visit, and Ledly King will be a big loss.

I'll settle for a draw.

T'others:

Arsenal
    Man Utd
    Bolton v Middlesbrough, 20:00---- Postponed
    Liverpool
    Fulham
    Chelsea
    Newcastle
    West Brom v Tottenham, 19:45--- Draw
    Draw

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Draw
    Man Utd
    Bolton v Middlesbrough, 20:00---- Off
    Everton
    Villa
    Chelsea
    Newcastle
    Wigan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

blackburn - sunderland off,
    newcastle pitch does not look too good - another inspection at 6:30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Winter break anyone?

Mike.

mike65 wrote:
    Winter break anyone?

Mike.

No way - just undersoil heating for every club. Was just watching Sky Sports news, they have had snow in london around the west ham area, and their undersoil heating has worked wonders - the pitch looks amazing. Am actually looking forward to the highlights of that match tonight, both teams are excellent going forward on current form, could be some high scoring.

This does not always work as boltons undersoil heating failed in places, leading to their game being called off. There were pictures off the ref knocking on the ground - frozen solid in places.

leads me to ask the question - anybody know if blackburn have undersoil heating?

EDIT: Newcastle v Charlton - Sky Sports News say its definitely on, they have not even cleared the snow yet?? fair play if it does go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

anybody know what happens my acummulator with paddy power now that the blackburn sunderland game is off?

leads me to ask the question - anybody know if blackburn have undersoil heating?

Yep, Ewood does. I even think it was one of the first pitches to have it, not sure though.

I'm waiting to hear from on the forum on the official website. Alot of the fans there are asking questions too.

Still, we don't mind waiting a few weeks for the 3 points. It'll give the players an extra chance to rest for the game on Saturday.

anybody know what happens my acummulator with paddy power now that the blackburn sunderland game is off?

Declared void AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Bolton game is off due to the underground heating failing to work in central areas of the pitch. Not a surprise really considering tempatures are set to get near -10c in England!!

The cancelled match is declared void, but the remaining matches are honoured.
    ]When a selection is made void or does not run, then in single bets the stake will be returned. In accumulative bets the stake will run on to the remaining selection(s) with a double becoming a single and so on up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

The cancelled match is declared void, but the remaining matches are honoured.

thanks,

aplogies for not asking paddy himself first!

thanks,

aplogies for not asking paddy himself first!

No bother mate, had to look myself cos I had the same game in my 7 match accumulator.

Everton - Liverpool team news

No Fergerson even on the bench for the Toffees, Cisse in for 'nando. With Gerrard wide right. Sissoko in the middle and a red card waiting to happen I suspect.

Mike.

Newcastle - Charlton off!

Mike.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

LOL. The Charlton fans will be happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Arsenal at a canter.
    Man Utd to win ht-ft
    Blackburn v Sunderland, Postponed
    Bolton v Middlesbrough, Postponed
    Draw
    Villa to edge it
    Draw
    Newcastle
    West Ham

Wheresmejumpa if you have a match on your accumulator that is postponed its just ignored and your winnings(hopefully) will be worked out on the remainder of your bet

mike65 wrote:
    Newcastle - Charlton off!

Mike.

i knew that couldn't go ahead, i wonder with all souness' and other managers(cant remember who to name them) moaning about the conjested fixture period how many of tonights postponments were aided ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Arsenal 2-0
    ManU 3-0
    Blackburn v Sunderland, 20:00----BLK 2-1 think its off?
    Bolton v Middlesbrough, 20:00---- think its off?
    Liv 4-2
    Draw
    CHL 5-1
    NEW 2-1
    West Brom v Tottenham, 19:45
    TOT 1-0
    Wigan 3-1

i knew that couldn't go ahead, i wonder with all souness' and other managers(cant remember who to name them) moaning about the conjested fixture period how many of tonights postponments were aided ;)

Its listed on the Sky website as "postponed due to safety reasons".

Either way, my fantasy team is well fecked after a great day Monday. I'm now missing Whitehead, Gamst Pedersen, Stelios and Bent.

Yeah whats the craic with the FF teams? Will the players missing tonight get the points when the game is played at its later date or will subs just be implemented tonight? I'm missing over half my team. :(

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    LOL. The Charlton fans will be happy!

Took 306 to Middlesbrough on a Sunday back in August to see their team win 3-0, can't imagine too many would venture that far north on a freezing cold Wednesday when they're on a slump...:D

Still, pain in the arse for any of the brave souls who did travel.

Cancellation hits my fantasy football team hard, I'd transferred in Owen for Keane (2nd transfer so -4pts) when the match was "declared" on...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭digiman

Even worse news for Fantasy Teams is that Frank Lampard is out for Chelsea, thankfully I have Rooney as my captain tonight, you will also get no points for them this week. If you have them in your team the gameweek that the matches are played you will get the points then.

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Yeah whats the craic with the FF teams? Will the players missing tonight get the points when the game is played at its later date or will subs just be implemented tonight? I'm missing over half my team. :(

Open to correction, but if a team isn't playing on the night then players from that team will not be subbed out for you (its only if they miss their teams game that you get a sub).

digiman wrote:
    Even worse news for Fantasy Teams is that Frank Lampard is out for Chelsea, thankfully I have Rooney as my captain tonight, you will also get no points for them this week. If you have them in your team the gameweek that the matches are played you will get the points then.

Bo**ox! Bo**ox bo**ox bo**ox bo**ox bo**ox bo**ox bo**ox bo**ox!

:mad:

digiman wrote:
    Even worse news for Fantasy Teams is that Frank Lampard is out for Chelsea.

was he close to a record consecutive appearances or something?

On second thoughts, that Newcastle cancellation is a disgrace. BBC site says decision was made 25 minutes before the match was due to start, the few Charlton fans who'd travelled (and the Toon fans who braved a bitterly cold night to go out bare-chested ;) ) have every reason to be pissed off.

There should be a cut off point during the day for these decisions, 2pm at the latest, regardless of the effect it has on fixture congestion.

Passed it a few games ago.

On second thoughts, that Newcastle cancellation is a disgrace. BBC site says decision was made 25 minutes before the match was due to start, the few Charlton fans who'd travelled (and the Toon fans who braved a bitterly cold night to go out bare-chested ;) ) have every reason to be pissed off.

There should be a cut off point during the day for these decisions, 2pm at the latest, regardless of the effect it has on fixture congestion.

i cant believe they posted around word around 6:30 that it was definitely going ahead, and as sky sports were reporting this they had live pictures and at least 1/4 of the pitch was still covered in snow??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

i think he has the record already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭digiman

I think he now has the record, its something like 164 consecutive matches, he only broke it in the last couple of weeks as far as I know.

I also see that Fabregas is on the bench for Arsenal, not good again for my Fantasy team, there will be some very low scores in this gameweek I would imagine.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDUD :)
    Its gona be a nice game :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Arsenal 1 up, Man U 1 up, Bergkamp and Van Nist

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,048 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Early goals for both Man U and Arsenal, in their respective games. Van Nistlerooy for Man U after 5 mins and Bergkamp after 7 for Arsenal.

PHB wrote:
    RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDUD :)
    Its gona be a nice game :)

Well did you get a link

2-0 to Arsenal now Lovely finish from Reyes after 13 mins

25' Arsenal 2 - 0 Portsmouth
    25' Birmingham C. 1 - 1 Manchester U.
    25' Manchester C. 0 - 0 Chelsea
    Postp. Newcastle U. ? - ? Charlton Athletic
    25' West Bromwich A. 0 - 0 Tottenham H.
    25' West Ham U. 0 - 0 Wigan Athletic
    15' Fulham 1 - 0 Aston Villa
    Postp. Blackburn R. ? - ? Sunderland
    Postp. Bolton W. ? - ? Middlesbrough
    10' Everton 0 - 0 Liverpool

Birmingham have now equalised through Clapham against Man U.

Fulham 1 Villa 0 Mcbride
    West Brom 1 Spurs 0 Kanu

McBride for Fulham and Clapham for Brum.