Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feeling Patriotic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

You go there for a very expensive pint of Guinness or maybe at lunchtime for a really fat filled meal with stupid names like a "Dublin Dog" or "Kerry Casserole" ;)

We do have the Canberra Irish Club which I am a member of....don't go there often, but it's a licenced club where those that are Irish and those that are not...(LOL) can go for a drink, play the poker machines, have a meal etc. They have a great comedy night on Friday nights (they call it Green faces).
    There is one place in Philly where they do a "Traditional Irish Breakfast" that includes squash and zucchini sitting next to the rashers and pudding. And plenty of places that do those "Irishified" dishes like "Granny Murphy's Pasta Primavera" and "Galway Bay Chicken Lo Mein".

Near where I live, there's a place called "The Italian Club" where all the Irish used to hang out - and we'd hardly ever go into "McGillycuddy's Pub" which was practically next door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I had an Irish flag at the Nightwish concert in London...that was it...oh and when I lived in Scotland my then boyfriend had an Irish flag in the car which he had gotten friends from University (in the UK) to sign after graduation, and someone broke into the car and stole it among other things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

connundrum wrote:

Maybe one day when I've got a family and don't want to go on the 'mad one' holiday I'll change my opinion.

And here the true nature of the beast is revealed. A lad who goes to a Mediterranean island after watching Ibiza Uncovered as a teenager, thinking it'll be "fooking deadly buzz, with all de burds and da", discovering it's an absolute sausagefest because 50000 other over-hormonal morons though the same, getting trolleyed everyday because he has nothing better to do and coming home saying he had 2 birds every night, when in truth he wanked himself to sleep next to Anto or Finto on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭vector

Twas accidental initially but once i saw it i couldn't leave it out.

I'd like to see more irish flags flying in ireland, like on american tv programes, problem is you need a impressive building to fly a flag from, it looks takey if its flying from a semi-detached house with PVC windows and a one car driveway withing "commuting distance" of dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭the_menace

I was in Crete last summer and Cyprus two years beforehand. Now I don't mind people wearing their GAA jerseys during the day on hols - it's just the normal regalia... but the amount of people wearing them at night when they're out is hilarious. What's the story with that anyway? "GET YOUR GAA JERSEYS! TELL EVERYONE WHAT COUNTY YOU'RE FROM BY WEARING A GAA JERSEY!"

Aaaaaargh. Nobs. lol

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I'm proud to be Irish, serriously,

but people who think that waving an irish flag around on holidays annoy me, tbh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Connundrum, arent you South African?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

well atleast we don't use towels with our flag on them, I mean ALL the brits do! every time I go on holliers somewhere, all you have to do is look out the window to the pool and 2 out of 3 pool chairs will be covered with a union jack towel! I mean WTF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

at least its practical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭the_menace

but people who think that waving an irish flag around on holidays annoy me, tbh..

Agreed. It's generally only the Irish and British that do it too. There's nothing wrong with being patriotic but at least have some class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Johnson wrote:
    And here the true nature of the beast is revealed. A lad who goes to a Mediterranean island after watching Ibiza Uncovered as a teenager, thinking it'll be "fooking deadly buzz, with all de burds and da", discovering it's an absolute sausagefest because 50000 other over-hormonal morons though the same, getting trolleyed everyday because he has nothing better to do and coming home saying he had 2 birds every night, when in truth he wanked himself to sleep next to Anto or Finto on a regular basis.

Oh how wrong you are! Why so quick to stereotype conundrum?
    I believe the thread was started as a lighthearted observation, and not a declaration of past behaviours.
    Perhaps you shouldn't be so quick to judge, or at least have the decency to ask Conundrum about himself, or his past, before branding him a gormless larger lout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

Oh how wrong you are! Why so quick to stereotype conundrum?
    I believe the thread was started as a lighthearted observation, and not a declaration of past behaviours.
    Perhaps you shouldn't be so quick to judge, or at least have the decency to ask Conundrum about himself, or his past, before branding him a gormless larger lout.
    Agreed, if he managed to land a catch like his current lady, he's hardly the man described in that thread.

:o:p:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Connundrum, arent you South African?

Born in Ireland, raised in Joburg, living back here for the past 9+ years. Proud of both heritages - my family still live in SA.

Obviously my idea of a mad one, and Johnno/Anto/Decco's ideas of a mad one are completely different. I don't do the go out, score as many women as possible (I have a great one already), score as many drugs as possible and/or generally go round in a drunken stupor.

I do enjoy each holiday by socialising, a bit of sight-seeing and the odd activity... and I do tend to wear Irish related items of clothing, not always but a good bit of the time.

Where's the problem? I don't think I fall into any of the catergorys which people seem to have a problem with.. unless you wish to create a new 'problem catergory' which would include a highly educated, career orientated young person who is in a long term relationship - but loves to wear county and country jerseys whilst abroad. :v:

connundrum wrote:
    unless you wish to create a new 'problem catergory' which would include a highly educated, career orientated young person who is in a long term relationship - but loves to wear county and country jerseys whilst abroad. :v:

But the thing is, you don't make a point of wearing them abroad, as they feature in your everyday wardrobe when at home, in Ireland.
    It is only natural that they should also feature in your holiday wardrobe also.
    I can understand people having dome minor grievance with folk who purposefully go out and buy their county jersey, when they have no interest in GAA, with the sole intention of winding people up when abroad.
    However, I don't see a problem with people who wear county, and country jerseys on a regular basis, doing so, without malice, when on holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

I wear my Sligo Gaelic jersey and my Sligo Rovers jersey quite often over here - or I would if the temperature wasn't constantly below freezing. I also wore them a lot back home.

No-one knows what those jersey's mean, and I like it that way. I'm not wearing them to advertise my nationality to anyone. I wear them because I support those teams! If I'm a "disgrace" for doing that, so be it.

I wear them because I support those teams! If I'm a "disgrace" for doing that, so be it.

Hear Hear :D & Here Here too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Rodney Trotter

The idea of any adult wearing a football (soccer or gaelic) shirt is just so class-less, it's tacky. Football shirts are nothing but a primative tribal thing, especially given nearly 100% of the people wearing them have never represented the team in question.

I saw the same ginnets in France, last year, wearing their Dublin or Mayo jersies, for days in a row, the things must have been manky with BO by the end of the week. Are they so insecure they need the crutch of a "label" to identify themselves?

FFS, on holidays, in a foreign country, appreciate your surroundings and don't try to bring some pathetic team into the equation.

What about the number of Irish idiots wearing British soccer shirts, like Liverpool, United, or Celtic (yes they are 100% British)? All right if you're 12, but for an adult it is so pathetic.

The idea of any adult wearing a football (soccer or gaelic) shirt is just so class-less, it's tacky. Football shirts are nothing but a primative tribal thing, especially given nearly 100% of the people wearing them have never represented the team in question.
    I have no class then. What does the fact that "nearly 100% of the people wearing them have never represented the team in question" have to do with anything?
    Are they so insecure they need the crutch of a "label" to identify themselves?
    You aren't quoting me but I'll respond anyway.
    No, I am not so insecure that I need the crutch of a label to identify myself. I like to wear them, that is all. Does that mean that anyone who wears clothes designed by Tommy Hilfiger, Old Navy or Dunnes Stores(!) are insecure because they are labeling themselves with identifiable clothes? (Cast your mind back to Tommy Hilfiger clothes from a few years ago, they were as identifiable as any football jersey)
    FFS, on holidays, in a foreign country, appreciate your surroundings and don't try to bring some pathetic team into the equation.
    I'm not on holiday in Montreal. I live here and will be doing so for the next 18 months.

As far as representing the team in question goes, you are absolutely right, I can’t imagine they represent the team, unless they play for them or speak publicly about them, as a recognised official team spokesperson.

In general, people wearing said jerseys are supporters of respective team.

Your post, in my opinion, can only be described as unadulterated, uneducated snobbery.

*Looks up at Trotter on his pedestal, high above the rest of us common folk*

"I think he just called me class-less?!?!"

*Shakes the pedestal until Trotter looses balance and falls to the ground, where he is promptly robbed and kicked*

"None of this would have happened had I just left this damn jersey at home!"

*severe sarcasm implied, not a threat in any way or fashion

As far as representing the team in question goes, you absolutely right, I can’t imagine they represent the team, unless they play for them or speak publicly about them, as a recognised official team spokesperson.

In general, people wearing said jerseys are supporters of respective team.
    Thank you. A point I failed to mention in my reply is that most people who go to their teams games wear their teams colours. That necessitates bringing something with their teams colours along. In many cases, this is a team jersey.

I don't go around proclaiming my nationality to everyone, except jokingly to the wife. Just saying the fact in case I'm accused of that by anyone here. :rolleyes:

EDIT: This thread is getting a bit too serious again. I apologise. It's nearly 6AM and I haven't been able to get a wink of sleep tonight and I am not in the best of moods.

Football shirts should be worn by footballers, not grown adults out in the street. They are so tacky, and co class-less. (You will hear so many shirt-wearing "supporters" using the word "we", as if they had actually something to do with a particular team's performance.)

Be aware that every time you go out wearing such a shirt there will be thousands of people who will take one look at you and say, "how sad"! Most normal people dress properly, normally, and wouldn't be seen dead wearing something so tacky as a football shirt, in public.

It is really time for such football-shirt-wearing people to grow up and dress properly, get rid of the crutch and act normal.

I'm a snob? Not really, just someone with enough class to not go around beating my chest about some football team. For some people the success of a football team is actually deemed "important", for me, it's not. The British shirts really get my goat. At least the Irish Rugby shirt is properly tailored, unlike the crap the Irish soccer team wear. (I've never player Rugby, I've played soccer and Gaelic Football).

w.r.t. clothing labels? They are pathetic, if one sticks to one particular label, otherwise they are insignificant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Hmm, I do think you may be a bit of a snob Rodney! I agree with most of your views and can freely admit when it comes to the wearing of jerseys on non-game days I too am a total snob :) Very tacky, but to each his own, I think big gold necklaces, bracelets and earrings on men are tacky too, but not everyone who wears 'em can be said to be tacky. Doing a stupid thing doesn't automatically mean you are a stupid person!

Anyway, I think this thread was about showing your patriotism when abroad, rather than the tackiness of wearing poor quality sportswear :)

Football shirts should be worn by footballers, not grown adults out in the street. They are so tacky, and co class-less.

I didn't realise you held authority on what is deemed 'class-less'.
    Be aware that every time you go out wearing such a shirt there will be thousands of people who will take one look at you and say, "how sad"!

Be aware that most people reading your post will take one look at it and think "how sad".
    Most normal people dress properly, normally, and wouldn't be seen dead wearing something so tacky as a football shirt, in public.
    Define 'Normal'.
    It is really time for such football-shirt-wearing people to grow up and dress properly, get rid of the crutch and act normal.
    Define what it is, in your opinion, to 'Dress Normal'.
    I'm a snob? Not really, just someone with enough class to not go around beating my chest about some football team.

I don't think I have ever seen anyone 'beat their chest about some football team', perhaps you should widen your social circle.
    For some people the success of a football team is actually deemed "important", for me, it's not.

Fair enough, no one has branded you tacky or class-less for NOT supporting a team, or not wearing a team jersey, I don't think you have the right to brand others for doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭*Oul_Doll_Cork*

connundrum wrote:
    I started this thread meaning for it to be taken in a light hearted kinda way, but people seem to have a deep seeded want to make themselves seem great, superior and all the rest of it.

Get over yourselves.

I think this happens wayyy too much on boards.ie!!! In fact on almost every thread someone will come out with a "No your soooo wrong... I'm so right listen to be I'm so intelligent blaaa blaa bllaaaa"... some people would really want to lighten up I'm sick to death of it!!

Anyway, I don't think there is any harm in being proud of where your from! So what if people wear jerseys on holidays? People wear jerseys when they are here too?? At the end of the day, it's all for a bit of a laugh and who cares if it's not upsetting anyone? I think most of us like to show we are irish when we are abroad because we are loved by most countries!!!

Hmm :D

Fair enough, no one has branded you tacky or class-less for NOT supporting a team, or not wearing a team jersey, I don't think you have the right to brand others for doing so.

Lighten up lads. I support teams, I don't lower myself to chav-level to do so.

"No your soooo wrong... I'm so right listen to be I'm so intelligent blaaa blaa bllaaaa"... some people would really want to lighten up I'm sick to death of it!!!!!
    Hmm :D

Mirror Mirror on the wall... :rolleyes:

I was keeping it light, but then ya called me class-less. Sorry for the bee filled bonnet :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

finlma wrote:
    Its hardly like we chose to be Irish when we're born. It wrecks my head when I'm abroad and I see fools going around promoting their Irishness, equally with English, French and any other nationality. Fair enough for sporting events - I a jersey then myself.

Don't get me started on Sell-Thick jersies, they have nothing to do with Ireland. Hibs is far more an Irish club but most people here are too bigotted to realise this.

I couldnt agree more, why broadcast where you're from, it makes no sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

Just talking to the missus the other day about this..
    You know when you go away on Holliers, to anywhere basically - Florida, Thailand, Aussieland, Tralee, Santa Ponza (I'm lookin at you Jecinta ) do you bring loads of Ireland jerseys, county jerseys and flags for the apartment block??

I think that this performs an absolutely invaluable service and I'm completely in favour of it.

You land in a foreign country, you wonder whether the town you've arrived in is worth staying in, when all of a sudden you see them - tricolours & union jacks hanging over balconies; celtic, man u & county jerseys straining over beer bellies and all accompanied to the sounds of "here we go", "ole ole", "sweet chariot" or "the fields of athenry".

You think "I'd rather pull my fingernails out with a pliers than stay in this dump with these neanderthals for company" and head off to civilisation without wasting any unnecessary holiday time.

Long may this habit continue - it has contributed massively to my most enjoyable trips abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

why broadcast where you're from
    Why not, whats the big deal about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭finlma

ColHol wrote:
    Why not, whats the big deal about it?

Exactly, you answered your own question there.

I couldn't care less where someone is from as long as they're a decent person. Whats a country - only a big lump of rock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Lighten up lads. I support teams, I don't lower myself to chav-level to do so.

I agree completely. Except the bit about supporting teams.

Yawn,

Bored with this now.. meant to be a laugh, but people as always want to jump on with massive false egos and try to make themselves feel better by making crap points about how silly and crap others are. I hope ya'll feel better about yisser selves now :p

In fairness if I judged all English people by looking at the behaviour of the 'soccer louts', I wouldn't be working where I am today. Thats what I feel is happening here -

Person who wears jersey is more than likely low-life scum.

Whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

When I lived in France I used to wear a chain around my neck with my name in Ogham on it. A nice, subtle way of expressing Irishness, imo!

A friend of mine bought a cheesy CD of Irish music over there for people who kept wanting to hear some and it was one of the funniest recordings I've ever heard. Their version of the Riverdance was rofflesome for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

You're all calling Rodney a snob because he has an opinion on fashion, typical of boards folk... The fact that irish and brits wear jerseys abroad etc. is no surprise, we are tacky and tasteless compared to our european counterparts, in many aspects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭viking

connundrum wrote:
    ..but it does beg the question of why the hell do you go away to be more Irish than you are at home?

Seems a bit mental really - spend all the time in Ireland trying to make ourselves all cosmopolitan and European, then we go on holidays and become more Irish than Daniel O'Donnell. I don't have a problem with it but I just find it fascinating..
    My view is that because we are a fluent English speaking nation but not English and because most of us couldn't maintain a 5 minute conversation as Gaeilge when we go abroad we are not immediately identifiable as "Irish" .

Therefore, we feel it necessary to wear Irish jersey's, sing Irish songs etc in order to be identified as Irish and not mistaken for English (no offence to England).

Its all about national identity abroad, we aint fluent in the Irish langauge so we have to identify ourselves another way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

Johnson wrote:
    coming home saying he had 2 birds every night, when in truth he wanked himself to sleep next to Anto or Finto on a regular basis.

Ah come on now, Anto!!!!

That was only the once and I paid for the dry cleaning. Finto forgave me, so why can't you????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

finlma wrote:
    Anyone that brings an Irish flag on holiday unless they are going to a sporting event is pathetic. Its the type of carry-on adopted by uneducated, foolish people who make you embarrassed to be Irish. These people will be most likely seen in Irish bars on holiday reading a copy of the Irish Star.

Agreed.

Anyway people who read tabloids are losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    Agreed.

Anyway people who read tabloids are losers.

Totally off-topic, but true.

Actually, replace read with buy. ;)

viking wrote:
    Its all about national identity abroad, we aint fluent in the Irish langauge so we have to identify ourselves another way.

Fair enough point I guess.. as for 'anyone who reads/buys a tabloid is a loser' - I like to have a stash just in case I run out of bog roll :D

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

connundrum wrote:
    So what if people want to be out and about and showing their identity with pride?! How does that disgust someone?
    Because we're Irish, and we are supposed to be ashamed of where we come from of course. :p

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Because we're Irish, and we are supposed to be ashamed of where we come from of course. :p
    Sorry, I would have responded to this thread sooner, but I was too busy licking Europe’s arse, and apologising for my nationality, in between eating bowls of 'humble pie'. :)