Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Total Newbie

Options
  • 04-01-2006 5:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

Total newbie to programming always been into the networking and hardware side of things but i want to learn to do some scripting and possibly learn some form of a programming language....

Whats the most practical and bst language to learn? Also looking to learn by myself through self study etc....

Any advice or tips for getting started would be appreciated?

Also please remember i havent done much in the way of programming and the likes, only basic HTML stuff!

Cheers

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

PHP is very easy to learn, and it's very powerful. Fits in very nicely with MySQL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭deadfingers

Download one of the microsoft express visual studio IDE's, they have plenty of step-by-step tutorials on simiple programming. I would suggest the express visual web developer as you can use both ASP and C#. Also it will allow you to get something working quickly thus keeping your interest. Although some may say the only way to learn programming correctly is too use a text editor and debug yourself..ah well.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,508 ✭✭✭daymobrew

srdb20 wrote:
    but i want to learn to do some scripting and possibly learn some form of a programming language....
    What type of projects do you think you'll be dealing with? What tools/OS/stuff are you familar with?

I'm a big fan of perl. Useful for writing web CGI scripts and regular console scripts. It works on all platforms (where as Microsoft tools won't).